Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now Leaving 'The OC', B*tch
And with these final 16 episodes, the once pop-cultural phenomenon "The OC" finally fades to white. It had been a rocky road for the series and the characters over the 4-years that `The OC' aired on the FOX network, but through it all the series persisted.

The theme of season 4 was essentially `going back to the beginning' and that was exactly what happened in...
Published on February 23, 2007 by T. Stewart

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not awful but it still hurt
The season started out awful and there were only a few glances of the show from past.

Ryan is a cage fighter!!! Come on, yes you heard me right a CAGE FIGHTER. Isn't this the same person who gets beat up almost everytime he got into a fight with someone? I also think that no matter how good of a speech Sandy Cohen can give you, if you go months trying to...
Published on May 21, 2008 by H. Miranda


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now Leaving 'The OC', B*tch, February 23, 2007
This review is from: The O.C.: Season 4 (DVD)
And with these final 16 episodes, the once pop-cultural phenomenon "The OC" finally fades to white. It had been a rocky road for the series and the characters over the 4-years that `The OC' aired on the FOX network, but through it all the series persisted.

The theme of season 4 was essentially `going back to the beginning' and that was exactly what happened in this final season. Since all the main characters either died or graduated high school in the third season finale, the four season premier seemed more like a pilot than a season finale of a show near its end. And for 15 additional episodes the writers brought the humor, wackiness, and pop cultural refrences that made the series so popular to begin with back, leaving the melodrama at a bare minimum.

I'm sad to see `the OC' go, it will always be a part of my history because for better or for worse I watched the show through every-one of its 94 episodes, and I will remember these characters fondly. I also need to mention the series finale, which to my amazement didn't dissapoint in the least, it was lighthearted, fun, zany, and had all the right ingredients, and definitely worth a rental if you just want to see how the series comes to a close.

This DVD set contains all 16-episodes on 5 discs, in additional to deleted Scenes, Gag Reel, 2 Featurettes, as well as a commentary on the final episode, `The end is not Near, it's Here'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly strong rebound for a series that still had some life in it, April 10, 2007
This review is from: The O.C.: Season 4 (DVD)
I deeply regret both that FOX didn't order a slate of episodes for THE O.C.'s final season and even more strongly regret that they cancelled it when it still had a lot of life left in it. Season Three had been a thudding disappointment that both chased off a lot of previous fans and made FOX consider ending it. The network never really gave it a chance in its final season, putting it in a timeslot in which it couldn't possible maintain strong ratings. Nonetheless, after the dismal third season, it was great to see the series regain the charm that had made it so much fun to watch in its first and most of its second season.

One of the reasons for the success of the show in the fourth season is that they finally seemed to realize that the endless number of hated characters that popped up over the years were simply that: hated. They were not characters we loved to hate, we simply didn't like them. It all started with Oliver and then mushroomed in the next two seasons, exploding in Season Three. But this year they managed to avoid introducing any truly awful characters. I never really warmed up to Ché and Taylor's French ex-husband was not very likable, but neither approached the loathsome characters of the first two season. Instead, we were left mainly with the same characters that were the real reasons we enjoyed the show all along.

I must admit that at first I was leery about the reappearance of Taylor and Kaitlin. The latter in Season Three seemed to be on the verge of being as self-destructive as Marissa had been. With Marissa gone I was certain that Kaitlin was going to go down her path. Instead, the writers took her character in a number of unexpected ways and she ended up being a delightful character. But even more shocking was what they did with Taylor. Even in Season Three they had done a great deal to redeem her character. Taylor had started out as one of the least likable characters on the show, but they gradually made her sympathetic. Still, at the end of Season Three she at most could be described as irritating. This year they managed to make her actually likable. And by the time that we realized that they were actually going to have her and Ryan get together I had actually warmed to her. She was still high strung and obsessive, but she was also shown to be someone with a large heart. And in a way that Marissa never was, she turned out to be good for Ryan.

All in all, the show had a good four-year run. I think it had another year or two in it and would have enjoyed seeing it come back. But given how terrible Season Three was, I must confess that my overwhelming feeling about Season Four was gratitude. The most abused and meaningless phrase in talking about television is "jumped the shark." If any show ever had truly jumped the shark, that was THE O.C. in Season Three. But Season Four was a wonderful return to form. I'm not sure that any other show ever had such a terrible year and then followed it with such a great one. So it ended, but at least it ended well. Not many series can make that claim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Rebound from Season 3, March 2, 2007
This review is from: The O.C.: Season 4 (DVD)
For those who aren't sure if Season 4 would be good after a terrible season 3, I assure you that this is a great rebound. I didn't expect much after Marissa's death, but the show rebuilt itself from the ground up in the 4th Season. The show was dying on its old legs and dynamics, but with the colossal event that changed the series, Marissa's death, new life was breathed into the show.

You'll find much more comedy this season than in Season 3, much like in the show's glory days in Season 1. So if you strayed from this show after a mediocre to decent Season 2 and a terrible Season 3, your faith should be restored with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not awful but it still hurt, May 21, 2008
This review is from: The O.C.: Season 4 (DVD)
The season started out awful and there were only a few glances of the show from past.

Ryan is a cage fighter!!! Come on, yes you heard me right a CAGE FIGHTER. Isn't this the same person who gets beat up almost everytime he got into a fight with someone? I also think that no matter how good of a speech Sandy Cohen can give you, if you go months trying to locate someone to kill them you aren't going to find them and only punch them.

Summer decides as a way to avoid dealing with Marissa dying she will go to Brown and become a hippie activist, and apparently stop grooming.

Julie must have some secret power which she uses on men. How do you throw a man out of his own house and him apparently just accept it. Also you go from a state of cationic to being alright about your daughter's death in a span on 2 episodes.

Taylor just seems to be filler. She shares too much with people that she barely knows. She just moves into Summer's room and no one seems to notice or care that she is there.

Kaitlin comes home so she can rule the school since Marrisa was going to be graduating, but and scenes they show of school most people don't really like her unless she is throwing a party, except for the twins.

Seth is just Seth

I usually I have to fight to go to bed cause with the show I want to see the next episode and with this season I fought to get through it just so I can be done with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Season Next to the First Season, March 18, 2007
This review is from: The O.C.: Season 4 (DVD)
The second best season out of the four. It really got me loving the show again. Even though it is a shorter season, with 16 episodes instead of the usual 24 or 25, it makes up for content with quality. This season has a fantastic primiere and a great finale which caps off the show so if you love the O.C., then you will want to buy this DVD set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars California! California! California! ("Bang"!), March 2, 2007
This review is from: The O.C.: Season 4 (DVD)
The fourth season of The O.C. was one of the highlights of the 2006-2007 season. After a good but not outstanding second season and a very bad third one, the show finally began to face the sun that made its fame during its first speech perfect season. Yes, killing Marissa Cooper was a tough decision to make and the way it was taken care of wasn't really thrilling or good even if you hated that character. But then you watch the season premiere and you feel like her death was just useful.

The show finally focused on three characters portrayed by three amazing actors : Julie (Melinda Clarke), Summer (Rachel Bilson) and of course Ryan (Ben McKenzie). And it was just great again. The awesome and beautiful Autumn Reeser and Willa Holland were made regulars and they were a great addition to the cast, making sure the balance between drama and comedy was respected. In fact the season is more funny than dramatic. Because all the plotlines revolve about quality and light stuffs : new romances, old romances, babies, weddings, French talkshows, fun natural disasters, slutty aliens and of course family.

With great indie music, Christmukkuh and all the things that made The O.C. the phenomenon that redefined a generation, you will not want to miss this season which will only leave you with anger concerning the network that cancelled the show, Fox. But again you will think this is the perfect way to end this history. Rating : A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting End to a Fantastic Series, March 20, 2007
By 
This review is from: The O.C.: Season 4 (DVD)
"The O.C." was a great show full of memorable characters and performances, great wit and satire, and best of all - it was very heartfelt. Season 4 was cut short by Fox and as a result the show suffered in its last 5 to 8 episodes, but really pulled through with an emotional and uplifting series finale. Just keep in mind the season 3 finale is actually the real final episode (cause in essence the show has always been tragic) and Season 4 is the epilogue - its basically to just follow up what happened in that season. In the end, order all four seasons and you will realize why "The O.C." is great and possibly one of the most underrated shows in television history.

Season 1- A-

Season 2- B-

Season 3- B

Season 4- B+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 4th season o.c., April 11, 2010
This review is from: The O.C.: Season 4 (DVD)
i think they could have done a better job with these last epi's.
i love it very much though, and the right people got married. i just thought they should have done alittle more with ryan's character. i wished they brought trey back one more time. but over it was awesome, and sad to see it end. my fav part, and this has been always my fav part, is when he drives down the drive of the house and in the haze of sunlight he passes marrisa watching him.....i think it was very beautiful. very touching scence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finishes my Collection!, March 10, 2008
This review is from: The O.C.: Season 4 (DVD)
I have all the other seasons of the OC, so I was verry happy to get this one to finish my collection. Even though it is my least favorite of all the seasons (I missed Marissa and The "Chae guy: kinda freaked me out).. But I was a faithful watcher, and it didn't turn out too bad :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I will Miss the O.C>, December 21, 2007
This review is from: The O.C.: Season 4 (DVD)
Season 1 of the O. C. is touted as being the best, and while it was extraordinary, it didn't match up to the final season. I struggled through season 2 and 3, watched it over and over, but found the storylines and characters dark and depressing. Marissa's death was like a personal death in our family and I thought I, nor the series could never pull out of the darkeness. But Season 4 was a true winner! Autumn Reeser, Taylor Townsend, was transformed into a likeable, neurotic delight. The best part was she knew she had problems. My favorite line to Ryan was, when she set up Ryan , herself and Frank for Dinner, and said I know I am meddling, after I get this stalker issue resolved, that's what I am going to work on next. You just loved her more and more with each episode. While her french husband was a bit of a distraction, there were some funny moments, like everytime she heard the word peaches, she clutched hers. Ryan finally translating the french divorce documents was funny, and of course, him being the ultimate hero, saving her at the very last second from having to go back to that dianmal marriage in France. The Peach torte reward was amusing too. And Kaitlin, Willa Holland, became a genuinely likeable character. Trying to capture her little girl, just looking for love and stability. I love the scenes with her and Bullit. He calling her squirt, and him letting her get the Ferrari purring, he'll be right out.Ping Pong, , so normal yet so bizarre. Her Manipulation of this billionaire tycoon on how to woo her Mom was funny. Ryan reached his potential as a Human and lost some of the defensive baggage he had in all the prior seasons. All 4 of them watching Meerkat Manor after Sandy slugged Frank was a classic Cohen moment. Sandy and Kirsten are a true love story. Sandy, the tough New Yawrker, and Kirsten the Belle of Newport, their chemistry never failed to entertain me. I wish I had a marriage like that! Season 4 was happy, funny and the witty quips just keep on coming. So sorry it is gone, but my DVD's will live on.
Thanks O>C>

I hate getting emotionally invested in these series, because ultimately they end, always too soon, but this one was worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The O.C.: Season 4
The O.C.: Season 4 by Peter Gallagher (DVD - 2007)
$49.98 $19.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.