Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Drowners Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon February 11, 2007
"On November 13th, Felix Unger was asked to remove himself from his place of residence. That request came from his wife. Deep down, he knew she was right. But he also knew that someday he would return to her. With nowhere else to go, he appeared at the home of his childhood friend, Oscar Madison. Some time earlier, Madison's wife had thrown him out, requesting that he never return. Can two divorced men share an apartment without driving each other crazy?"

That question, delivered in a hilarious monotone by veteran narrator William Woodson ("Battle of the Planets"), would scratch at the minds of Odd Couple viewers for 5 seasons (1970-1975). Starring Tony Randall as fastidious photographer Felix Unger and Jack Klugman as sloppy sportswriter Oscar Madison, "The Odd Couple" (based on Neil Simon's play and the 1968 film) was a humorous yet brilliant character study of one of television's greatest comedy duos. The beauty of the show is in the simplicity of the premise which practically begs the question: Are you (the viewer) a Felix or an Oscar?

The show's supporting cast include Monica Evans & Carole Shelley (reprising their 1968 film roles) as daffy neighbors Cecily & Gwendolyn Pidgeon; Garry Walberg, Ryan MacDonald, Larry Gelman, and Al ("Happy Days") Molinaro as poker pals Speed, Roy, Vinnie, and Murray the cop. Look for Penny ("Laverne & Shirley") Marshall and Joan Hotchkis later on as Oscar's secretary, Myrna Turner and girlfriend, Dr. Nancy Cunningham respectively.

The Odd Couple - The First Season is a 5-disc set featuring all 24 episodes in Full Frame (1.33:1) video and English mono, plus the following Special Features: audio intros on each episode by producer Garry Marshall, cast and crew commentary on select episodes, original network promos, Emmy Award acceptance footage, cast talk show appearances, Tony Randall and Jack Klugman on stage in "The Odd Couple" in 1993 and more! Here are how the discs will be configured:

Disc One:
"The Laundry Orgy"
"The Fight of the Felix"
"Felix Gets Sick"
"The Jury Story"
"The Breakup"
"Oscar's Ulcer"

Disc Two:
"I Do, I Don't"
"Oscar The Model"
"The Big Brothers"
"It's All Over Now, Baby Bird"
"Felix Is Missing"
"Scrooge Gets An Oscar"

Disc Three:
"The Blackout"
"They Use Horseradish, Don't They?"
"The Hideaway"
"Lovers Don't Make House Calls"
"Engrave Trouble"
"Bunny Is Missing Down By the Lake"

Disc Four:
"You've Come A Long Way, Baby"
"A Taste of Money"
"Oscar's New Life"
"What Makes Felix Run"
"What Does A Naked Lady Say To You?"
"Trapped"

Disc Five:
(Tony Randall and Jack Klugman's all-time favorite episodes)
"Sleepwalker" from Season Two
"Password" from Season Three
"Last Tango in Newark" from Season Four
"The New Car" from Season Four

Highly Recommended!
66 comments|103 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2007
It's should'nt surprize me that Paramount has finally taken an interest in releasing The Odd Couple's first season on dvd, after Time/Life released it back in August and it sold like hotcakes. I suppose they (the idiots in charge of dvd releases) was'nt smart enough to realize that The Odd Couple still has a huge fanbase and people will definately buy the entire series on dvd!!!

Needless to say I already bought the first season release from Time/Life and it was fantastic!!! The episodes were even funnier than I remembered in syndication! This release from Paramount seems pretty similiar to Time/Life's, except for the cover art and perhaps an extra disc of Tony Randall's and Jack Klugman's favorite episodes. The good thing about this release from Paramount is there's good chance The Odd Couple's remaining seasons will see the light of day, and the bad thing is it will be a long wait for season 2!!!
1616 comments|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 6, 2007
Tony Randal & Jack Klugman take over from Jack Lemmon and Walter Matthau in the Television version and make this version their own.

This first season of the TV show on DVD has a few extra, each episode has Garry Marshall, creator for Television/Producer and director doing openning intros to each episode. Marshall and Jack Klugman do audio commentary. One would wish Tony Randel was still with us toi do to hear what he says. Also missing is commentary by Penny Marshall, one can hope for season two

What I loved about this set is the odd partner and the chemestry Randall and Klugman have on the screen, it is amazing to watch. This partnership will never come again, but it so great to watch it

There are extras as in audio commentary on assorted episodes, Mike Douglas shows and Emmy win speech from Klugman.

and a 5th disk that is not in the Time Life release with 4 episode which are Randall & Klugman favorites..Password, Sleepwalker, Last Tango in Newark and The New Car

It is worth it? You better believe it

Bennet Pomerantz AUDIOWORLD
55 comments|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2007
Well it's about time!!!! And speaking of time, I also picked up season one from Time/Life. It is simply fantastic! I can't wait until the rest of the seasons are available. Jack Klugman and Tony Randall are truly one of the best comedy teams on TV.
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2007
why would anybody spend 200 clams for this item when you can go to time-life and get it for about 40 bucks...

just a warning, and a favor, to all...
44 comments|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2007
The content is solid 5-star material, and other reviewers have already covered well the brilliance of the acting and writing that made The Odd Couple one of the best sitcoms ever produced. However, while the video transfer is excellent, the audio is unsynchronized to the video to varying degrees. Sometimes the voices are so out of synch with the lips that it is very distracting. Perhaps this flaw is not present in all copies of the DVDs, but let the buyer beware.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2009
Paramount has completely destroyed this series. I was looking forward to sharing this series with my daughters but wind up trying to explain what was missing and why it might have been funny. This is nothing short of criminal and whoever did this at Paramount deserves to be fired. I have never NEVER seen anything like the utter disregard for anything in the arts. It's not just the music. There are definitely other cuts throughout the series. Like I'm pretty sure they cut the line from "I Gotta Be Me" in Season 3 where Oscar (in role reversal as felix) during the wine tasting tells the dinner guests to 'roll it around in your mouth until it tastes like shoe polish. 'What's next, Paramount? Going to strip the Nino Rota score from the Godfather?? You owe fans an apology and you also owe them new uncut DVDs that we paid good money for.
55 comments|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This show proves that opposites may not attract, but, with some work, they can at least peacefully coexist. Felix is not just compulsively neat, he literally worships at the altar of order. Oscar's philosophy is not to sweat the small stuff and thinks everything is small stuff. One of the reasons this show is still funny today is that most people have personalities that lie between these two extremes and can therefore sympathize and laugh at the actions of both men. This first season of "The Odd Couple" contains four episodes from the four subsequent seasons probably for the purpose of showing the viewer how much the style of the show changed after that first 1970-71 season. The first season focuses on the relationship between Oscar and Felix, pretty much stays in the same neighborhood as the 1968 movie from which it sprang as to storylines, and even has the same actresses from the film playing the Pidgeon Sisters. The first season is good, and helps establish the complete personalities of Oscar and Felix in a way a two hour film just doesn't have time to do, but I think it lacks something in the way of the energy and pace that the subsequent seasons had. "The Odd Couple" had the misfortune of premiering right before shows like "All In the Family" would give birth to modern television as we know it today, along with the frank discussion of controversial subject matter in a comic context.

Quite frankly, I think the show would probably have been canceled after its second season if it had not changed to the live set it used from seasons two forward and started breeching more modern topics like it did to help keep pace with the great changes that were taking place in television during the early 70's. I have to give credit to producer Garry Marshall - if he saw something that wasn't quite working in one of his shows, he wasn't afraid to make drastic changes to try and get things back on track. I would say that the "Odd Couple" is one of the few shows that managed to never jump the shark during its five year run. Considering the fact that it aired during a period of great change in American culture - 1970-1975 - that is saying something.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2007
You can get the same DVD, brand new, at Time Life. I love this series, but will not pay an exorbitant price, especially when it's available for a fraction of the cost.
22 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2007
Thoroughly looking forward to this release. I live in the UK and TV stations here seem to avoid classic TV shows like this (and Gilligan's Island; I love Lucy; Green Acres to name a few) like the plague!

A few select episodes where shown here during the 1970's but we never got to see complete season runs.

I tried to purchase the set when Time Life released it but they would not ship to the UK no matter how much I begged.

In fact it really bugs me that so many places in the USA will not ship to the UK despite our supposed close relationship. Thank God for Amazon that I am now allowed to wallow in TV heaven and also introduce my family to classic TV where comedy meant comedy and not a whole script of swearing and sexual innuendos just to get a (cheap)laugh.

I remember the shows very well and often tell my daughter she is like Oscar for her tidyness (she has no idea who he is....but she soon will!).

I would recommend anyone to purchase this season (and any subsequent season when they are released), I don't ever remember a bad show (but then maybe I am biased) and the chemistry between Jack and Tony was magical.

I would like to say that if you only make one purchase this year then this should be the one. However I can't as there are other classic TV shows being released therefore however many DVD's you purchase this year make sure that this is one of them!!

Enjoy your viewing

Paul
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.