Customer Reviews


301 Reviews
5 star:
 (263)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Painful, hilarious
OK, so it's an imitation of a British show. But it's a good imitation. The Pam/Jim saga is heart breaking and wonderful, the Dwight/Jim hostility is satisfying in a naughty way. The supporting characters are wonderfully real and flawed. Not to single any one of them out, as they're all worth watching (and how often can you say that about such a big cast), but Creed is a...
Published on October 8, 2007 by documentboy

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but Much Darker Humor
The third season of The Office lives up to the promise of the second season but - viewer beware - offers a much darker and, dare I say, creepier brand of humor than season 2, which may turn some viewers off. The Office has always taken delight in the kind of jokes and irony that will make you squirm, but this season is relentless in this kind of offbeat laugh...
Published on September 30, 2007 by CB


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Painful, hilarious, October 8, 2007
By 
documentboy (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Office: Season Three (DVD)
OK, so it's an imitation of a British show. But it's a good imitation. The Pam/Jim saga is heart breaking and wonderful, the Dwight/Jim hostility is satisfying in a naughty way. The supporting characters are wonderfully real and flawed. Not to single any one of them out, as they're all worth watching (and how often can you say that about such a big cast), but Creed is a scream. How many layers of creepiness can one guy have? I haven't mentioned Michael Scott (Steve Carell) because his obvious comic brilliance is sort of compromised for me by the pain of watching his character in action. It's almost too painful to bear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly fantastic, February 5, 2008
This review is from: The Office: Season Three (DVD)
This is by far one of the most clever and creative shows on television. It delights in taking a politically incorrect stance about just about everything and, in so doing, shows how susceptible we all are to stereotypes and prejudice. To say that this show is a sendup of corporate culture is really only discussing one aspect of the show. It is a complex and colorful story whose characters continue to grow and to shock and amaze the viewer. It also happens to be one of the funniest shows I have ever had the pleasure of viewing.

This season is a standout because of the continuing evolution of the characters. Like real people, they sometimes act in ways that seem out of character but are the perfect example of the contrast between the face we put on in public and what really makes us who we are on the inside.

One of the best examples of the evolution of the character of Michael Scott can be seen in "The Job". As always, Michael assumes too much and thinks too little. He makes a terrible decision about a romantic relationship on the basis of some very sexist interests in a woman's appearance. However, in the end, he proves that he is actually a stand-up guy who is loyal to those who are not always deserving of this loyalty. His character has the mentality of an overgrown child in that he can be unforgivably cruel and petty one moment and then truly lovable the next.

One of my personal favorites was "Beach Games" because it exemplifies the development of Pam's character. Pam has long been my favorite but she is almost pathological in allowing others to walk all over her and take advantage of her good nature. Her outburst in this episode was great to watch because it shows how determined she is to finally take charge of her life. Throughout the season, she remains the nice woman she has always been but she begins to grow a backbone and to learn that being nice doesn't mean pleasing everyone at all times at the expense of her own happiness.

"The Negotiation" is also an excellent episode because it shows the petty side of Jim and the heroic side of Dwight. Jim's pettiness becomes more and more evident throughout the season and his seeming determination to hold Pam responible for Roy's actions and his cutting comments to her in the aftermath underscore just how mean he can be at times. As for Dwight, the season has served to show what a surprisingly great guy he can be and this episode exemplifies this as he refuses to allow Jim to thank him for something he considers to have been his duty.

Aside from the powerhouse main characters, the tertiary characters of this show continue to astonish. There is the often silly Kelly with the cheer I simply can't get out of my head ("This day is bananas. B-A-N-A-N-A-S"). There is the creepy Creed whose encounter with a fish in "Beach Games" made my husband and I roar with laughter. There's the rather pathetic Toby, who is constantly dumped on by Mike and who takes his lovelorn status to new levels in "Cocktails" where his act of kindness is brushed off by an oblivious Pam. I could go on and on for hours but, really, the best thing to do is to witness the series for yourself. You'll doubtless become every bit as hooked as my husband and I are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Office - The Most Compelling Show Not Yet Cancelled, September 9, 2007
This review is from: The Office: Season Three (DVD)
Not too long ago, Arrested Development had me laughing hysterically, dropping my jaw in shock, and then laughing even more hysterically every episode. Until, of course, it got canned.

I went through all 5 stages of grief. Denial: another network will pick it up! Anger: why this show? WHY? It is so funny! Bargaining: Cancel my other favorite shows, I don't care, just don't take this one! Depression: A show this funny will never come again! NEVER! *Cries*

It wasn't until I saw The Office, specifically season 3, that I finally reached stage 5 with acceptance. This show is not only as hilarious and shocking as Arrested Development, it actually has a sweet sprinkle of heart that Arrested Development never really had.

The Pam/Jim struggle has always been compelling, and season 2 left off with a frustrating cliff hanger. But this time, the romance is switched from Jim chasing Pam to Pam chasing Jim. It's truly compelling TV, watching Pam try to win Jim back, while trying to break into the art scene, all while keeping the whole Office family together.

While Michael and Dwight may provide the most laughs, Pam is who made me watch all of season 3 in just one weekend. I just had to see what she was going to do; whether she would give up and be back with Roy again, or if she would have the courage to stand up and fight for what she really wants.

Season 1 was good, Season 2, despite the frustrating cliff hanger, was great. Season 3? Fantastic. And this particular cliff hanger has to be the sweetest in television history. You'll see what I mean.

There's also several other surprises in store. I won't ruin them for you. Must watch TV, my highest recommendations!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best shows on right now, September 5, 2007
This review is from: The Office: Season Three (DVD)
Despite the fact it received tons of comparisons to the UK version, I always found the US version to be way better done. The show has finally felt like its own show and not just a simple offshoot like the other versions I've seen out there. While it does follow similar plot ideas, it kind of takes them and makes them feel fresh and not just simply "well the Brits did it so we have to do it too".

The start of the show centers on the fallout after Jim's big confession to Pam at the end of season 2. Having rejected him, twice, he has to make a change and moves to the Stamford branch. Of course, that branch closes and brings with it most of the personnel, leaving new office employees Andy and Karen. Meanwhile, Michael's still in the love/hate relationship between himself and his superior Jan while Roy is trying to get Pam back.

I tried to be intentionally small in describing the big events of this season because that's the fun out of it, in seeing how it develops and thankfully it's not handled in that unrealistic way I've seen in other shows (Grey's Anatomy fans, sorry). For example the Jim/Pam storyline has little moments to suggest their care they have still yet not fully say it such as a funny joke that no one else will get. The only one I'm not completely sold on is Andy since, while given many funny scenes or lines, he seems to be more noticeable from the other employees like he was put on the show specifically to be that wacky co-worker.

As for the comedy, there's definately elements of situation comedy where people can relate, there's just outright funny moments or lines and then of course there's that uncomfortable awkwardness that the UK did but at times I felt the British version relied on it too much, as well as their boss, David Brent. Brent was kind of an intentionally annoying and often mean-spirited guy whereas Michael Scott is just so oblivious to it.

I find it to be one of the more funnier shows on TV but also one with an actual sense of heart and characters that were endearing (unlike Tim, Dawn and Brent and a bunch of no-name people from the UK), I find it to be one of the more better-written comedies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Office Season 3 is Awesome, September 3, 2007
By 
Jonathan Kim (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Office: Season Three (DVD)
Season 3 of "The Office" not only hilariously distinguishes itself from other generic comedies, but further extends the identity of the US version of "The Office" beyond the UK version. In fact, i dare say that future reviewers shouldn't even bother with any comparisons.

When it comes to balance, "The Office" shows undeniable poise. The format of the show with its pseudo-documentary camera work with the talking heads sections gives the show an aire of seriousness countered by the witty onscreen action and dialogue. Also, while Michael (Steve Carell) and Dwight (Rainn Wilson) and their interaction with other characters provide the bulk of the awkward humor (i.e. Michael's obvious discomfort with topics like Oscar's out'ed homosexuality and being dominated in his relationship with Jan), the sweetness and sentimentality of Jim (John Krasinski) and Pam (Jenna Fischer) anchor the action with a love story caught in the lines of inevitability.

Sometimes characters seem to be one dimensional, but solid writing breaks them into instantly relatable people. The forever strangeness of Dwight, but a sense of humanity in his relationship with Angela. The everyman quality in Jim and his back and forth with the girl of his dreams. The clueless boss in Michael that really just wants attention just like everyone else.

Overall, the third season of "The Office" comes highly recommended even without the additional special features and deleted scenes. The humor may seem a bit slow for newcomers, but after a couple episodes its personality and humor is infectious. "Bears, Beets, Battlestar Galactica."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Television Perfection!!, September 10, 2007
This review is from: The Office: Season Three (DVD)
As I each watched each episode last season, I was in constant awe that a television series could maintain this amazing level of excellence. My wife and son knew to avoid me when I was watching "The Office" since I would laugh hysterically and actually feel my stomach hurt. Each episode added another piece to the puzzle and really did a number on fleshing out secondary characters (Jan, Kelly, Angela, etc.). Even more amazing is the fact that the actors who play Ryan and Kelly wrote and directed some of this season. When the season ended, I was so excited to get all episodes in one place, I began counting down the days to September. With the Ryan angle set up during the last 10 seconds of the season, I am waiting anxiously for Season 4. We should all rejoice that a show of this high quality is on right now for us to enjoy!!!!! Hallelujah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this show!!, September 11, 2007
This review is from: The Office: Season Three (DVD)
In my opinion The Office is one of the funniest shows that has ever been on television.. this season was the best so far but, every episode of all 3 seasons has made me laugh, which no other show has done, i cant wait for season 4 to start on the 27th!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best-Ever!, September 10, 2007
This review is from: The Office: Season Three (DVD)
This is an excellent DVD set for a number of reasons.

First, is just the quality of the show. I think this show will go down in TV history as one of the best. I watched them as aired on the network and the episodes were just as funny and entertaining the second time around. Also, there were quite a few things that I missed the first time around.

The extras are great, especially the deleted scenes. Most episodes are around 20 minutes and each show has 5-10 minutes of deleted scenes, all new and as funny as what was aired.

This is what a DVD set of a TV show should be and I give my highest recommendation-worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but Much Darker Humor, September 30, 2007
This review is from: The Office: Season Three (DVD)
The third season of The Office lives up to the promise of the second season but - viewer beware - offers a much darker and, dare I say, creepier brand of humor than season 2, which may turn some viewers off. The Office has always taken delight in the kind of jokes and irony that will make you squirm, but this season is relentless in this kind of offbeat laugh.

As the season opens, Jim, rejected by Pam, transfers to the Stamford Branch and encounters a wacky group of co-workers there, including the sycophantic Andy and the ambitious Karen, with whom he strikes up a romanticv relationship. Back at Scranton, the usual Shenanigans are ongoing, until the Stamford branch closes and Scranton absorbs its workers, including Jim. What follows is a cold war between Pan (nominally back with Roy) and Karen for Jim's affections, Michael's continued on-again/off-again relationship with Jan, and more craziness than you can shake a stick at.

This season boasts a number of triumphs: "Diwali," in which the office crew attends a Hindu festival and Michael makes a big mistake with his current ladyfriend; "The Convict," in which the Scranton office is thrown into panic (especially Dwight) when it is discovered one of the Stamford employees once did time; "Ben Franklin," in which simultaneous bachelor and bachelorette parties go horribly wrong; "Business School," in which Michael is asked to lecture at a business school class and a bat is on the loose in the Scranton office; "Beach Games," in which the Scranton crew goes to the beach for a day of fun - but Michael uses it as a chance to pick out his successor; and the season finale, "The Job," in which Michael and Jan's relationship undergoes some extensive changes, Jim considers his future, and Dwight gives a sneak peek of how he would run the Scranton branch.

What I didn't like about this season is the near-absence of belly-laughs. The second season, with Jim's endless antagonism of Dwight, Jim and Pam's romantic flirtation, and the general insaniy of the Scranton crew, was a delight and will surely end up on the list of one of the greatest television seasons of all time. This season gets off to a slow start - Jims absense from Scranton is deeply felt and the season doesn't get going until about eight episodes in (although the season opener is pretty brilliant). Also, while Pam comes into her own as a character, her chemistry with Jim is missing due to his relationship with Karen, and the show thus loses one of its most valuable assets. This show functions best when everyone works as an ensemble - Steve Carell, for all his brilliance, cannot carry this show.

Additionally, as I mention above, the humor in this season tends towards the dark and creepy - characters show new sides that weren't there before, and it becomes rather unsettling (this becomes abundantly clear in the deleted scenes). Overall, however, a good season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, September 18, 2007
By 
Robinson Sears (MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Office: Season Three (DVD)
What a great show. The DVD extras are cool. This is the kind of DVD you can put in on a cold winter weekend day and spend all day watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Office: Season Three
The Office: Season Three by Rainn Wilson (DVD - 2007)
$39.98 $4.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.