Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lifestyles of the rich and shallow
I enjoyed this silly handbook about the über rich. Reading it, I never laughed out loud but did smile. I also learned some interesting trivia, such as the fact that actress Julia Louis-Dreyfus' father has an estimated $3.4 billion fortune. Get out!

The book opens with the Plutocrat Primer, a welcome to the newly wealthy. A field guide to the filthy rich...
Published on June 23, 2008 by Julie Neal

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lifestyles of the journalists of the rich and famous
Mostly a journalist's catalogue of actual things billionaires have done and a diary of their haunts. Structure is straight out of "The Preppy Handbook" and "The MBA Handbook" so it is a familiar page-turner. Nice reference for aspiring novelists who need detail for the billionaire lifestyle, although G--gle Maps is probably the next best reference after this. Not exactly...
Published on December 8, 2008 by Bachelier


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lifestyles of the rich and shallow, June 23, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Filthy Rich Handbook (Paperback)
I enjoyed this silly handbook about the über rich. Reading it, I never laughed out loud but did smile. I also learned some interesting trivia, such as the fact that actress Julia Louis-Dreyfus' father has an estimated $3.4 billion fortune. Get out!

The book opens with the Plutocrat Primer, a welcome to the newly wealthy. A field guide to the filthy rich diagrams some common types, such as The Wastrel, The Nerdling, The Impresario and The Heirhead, whose patron saint is Paris Hilton.

Some sections seem like an actual handbook, though, and aren't funny. A five-page Members Only segment lists and describes actual country clubs by such categories as how long the wait list is to join, and who some of the famous members are. Each chapter has a directory with contact information on actual businesses that cater to wealthy customers. Did you know you can buy Almas caviar that comes from a 100-year-old beluga sturgeon for $25,000 a tin from the Caviar House in London? I didn't, and didn't care.

Far better are the acidly cynical segments that skewer the shallow rich, such as the piece about plastic surgery called "Daddy, I Hate My Nose!" Another piece teaches you what to say for your cover story after liposuction makes it appear you've lost a ton of post-childbirth weight: "It's so true what they say. Breast-feeding torches the calories!"

Here's the chapter list:

1. The Plutocrat Primer: Meet your new friends
2. Where to Live: Homing patterns
3. It Takes a Village: The art of staffing up
4. Buying a Better You: Looking the part
5. The Social Whirl: Out & about
6. Travel & Leisure: Summer is a verb
7. Float Some & Jet Some: Tycoons on the move
8. Playgrounds & Pastimes: Get a hobby
9. To Heir is Divine: Billionaire breeding habits
10. Afflictions & Pretensions: Surviving at the top
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lifestyles of the journalists of the rich and famous, December 8, 2008
This review is from: The Official Filthy Rich Handbook (Paperback)
Mostly a journalist's catalogue of actual things billionaires have done and a diary of their haunts. Structure is straight out of "The Preppy Handbook" and "The MBA Handbook" so it is a familiar page-turner. Nice reference for aspiring novelists who need detail for the billionaire lifestyle, although G--gle Maps is probably the next best reference after this. Not exactly "har-har" funny, more droll. The index is great, although it lists "Peter Luger Steaks" under "Peter." Tennant cleverly avoids "the Russians" for most of the book, probably in a nice life-saving mode, so there is a bit of tiptoeing around and you need to read between the lines some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty dissection of a subculture, July 3, 2008
By 
Dale Hrabi (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Official Filthy Rich Handbook (Paperback)
If, like me, you find the immoderately rich kinda fascinating in their loathsomeness--think Goldie Hawn in the guilty-pleasure movie, Overboard--this book will totally feed that fascination. It's also quite impressive as a tour de force of McSweeney's-esque chartiness.

It reminds me of the time I visited a college friend in Ohio and quickly realized she'd failed to warn me she was filthy rich. Her grandmother's "cottage" turned out to be a sprawling turn-of-the-century home with a vast formal English Rose Garden and a daunting assortment of cutlery (each piece intended for some insanely specific purpose...I remember they had a fork specifically for duck.) The whole trip was a nightmare and I ruined an entire set of "heirloom sheets" with ink from a cheap, crappy Bic pen while documenting the family's alien qualities in my journal.

Had I been equipped with this comprehensive book, things might have gone a lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough and Witty. a bonafide precious gem in a sea of cult lit cubic zirconia, July 7, 2008
This review is from: The Official Filthy Rich Handbook (Paperback)
First, let me start by saying, based solely upon Tennant's book jacket author photo, he is probably one of the best looking straight dude authors I have seen in ages. This alone, would normally make me a little skeptical but the book is just so damn thorough that it makes it impossible to hate the guy.

Not only does he have an encyclopedic understanding of the lifestyles of the rich and fabulous but he actually conveys knowledge about stuff most people (including myself, and I happen to have impeccable taste) don't already know, and in a way that is informative, witty, impassioned and borderline satirical.

Also, following up the Preppy Handbook is no small feat but Tennant really gets an ace in the hole on this one. Doesn't disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Help After Winning the Lotto, February 14, 2012
By 
Bill Baehr "whipperin1" (Partsunknown, Wyoming, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Official Filthy Rich Handbook (Paperback)
I wish I would have had this book after winning my first Powerball. It would have saved me a lot of stupid mistakes like buying a new bowling ball and getting season tickets for NASCAR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great primer for the newly minted, March 4, 2009
This review is from: The Official Filthy Rich Handbook (Paperback)
This book is a great start. However, some necessary information keeps changing regularly, and for that reason, we all know that the real handbook for the filthy rich is not a book at all. In fact it's Robb Report magazine.

The best thing a newly minted millionaire could do is marry an unfortunate blue blood who has lost his/her family fortune. It's as fair a trade as any.

This wonderful primer should be handed out to anyone who wins a lottery jackpot. Although they will surely lose it all in a short period of time; this book might help to keep their middle-class ways to a minimum or at least until they go back to their proper place. I look forward to an updated version of this in the future. 4 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can act and be just like the filthy rich!!!!, January 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Filthy Rich Handbook (Paperback)
One of the most enjoyable reads.....tells all about what the filthy rich drive, buy, where they eat and what they wear as well as everything else to allow you to duplicate them if you want...great reference guide....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reads like The Official Preppy Handbook, November 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Filthy Rich Handbook (Paperback)
The physical book with its Michelin-looking wrapper is typical of Workman publishing quality: substantial,smart,impressive, chic. On leafing through the first few pages, it is quickly apparent where the inspiration and format for this book came from; Lisa Birnbach would be flattered. Although wittily written, by today's standards, it lacks the warmth and charm of its predecessor. Although dealing with the cousins of the Prep genre, describing the filthy rich requires, and has the required amount of cynicism, but the constant over-the-top descriptions of fabulous wealth tends to leave the reader numb and distenced, largly unable to relate (which is the point of it all) to the class, something that almost anyone reading Preppy could share. Fun, but tiring after 100 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious commentary with abundant brands, places, and drawings, January 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Filthy Rich Handbook (Paperback)
This book is so funny. It's a heavily illustrated guide to wealthy people and their brands, attitudes, faults, and hangouts. The details are useful for those who want to pick up tips, and the ironic observations are entertaining. Supplement it with Paul Fussell's Class and you'll have a comprehensive mental catalogue of class clues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Read, September 26, 2009
By 
Ann (Land of the Free) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Filthy Rich Handbook (Paperback)
Full of interesting tidbits about the rich, where they live, items they own and what they do... most enjoyed the picture descriptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Official Filthy Rich Handbook
The Official Filthy Rich Handbook by Christopher Tennant (Paperback - June 19, 2008)
$11.95 $10.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.