Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


216 of 222 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manhattan GMAT's Review and Analysis of the 13th Ed of The Official Guide for GMAT Review
The OG13 has flaws, as did its predecessors. Why five stars, then? Because, hands down, this latest incarnation of the OG is still the one book to get, if you can only get one book to prepare for the GMAT with. There's simply no better all-in-one source of retired GMAT problems.

Could the explanations be better? Sure.
Could the GMAT folks have replaced...
Published on March 20, 2012 by Thomas Williams

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING
Received everything ok and on time. Warning: This is not the book to study for GMAT.UNLESS you already have a math AND english degree. The way they explain how they got to the conclusion of each question is missing data that leaves the reader clueless on how the math equation or reading question was reached. I still stuggled through the entire book anyway and I do not...
Published on November 29, 2012 by Jeruard


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 90% of questions were similar to the 12th Edition, May 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Guide for GMAT Review (Paperback)
I already owned a copy of the 12th Edition Review. I was hoping the 13th Edition comes with new questions but I was very wrong. The questions were mostly identical, I was very disappointed that I basically bought the 12th Edition again with very minimal new materials. The Integrated Reasoning questions are online and you need to register with the code provided with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Many many practice questions, August 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although the book contains hundreds of practice questions, I think most are average and lower level. It is very good in that you can practice a lot but it is also good to get other resources for practicing higher level questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars you can get all the information for free when you register for the GMAT, July 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Guide for GMAT Review (Paperback)
When you register for the GMAT you get a couple practice tests and 90 practice questions with explanations. This book doesn't appear to give any unique information. If 90 problems isn't enough you can get more 400 more for $25. That's the same price as the book and the computerized practice is is a lot easier to use than flipping around in the book.

This book isn't much to help breaking down the way you should attack each type of problem. It's all practice problems and then explains (not in the best detail) why the incorrect answers are wrong. The unofficial books might give you some better information as far as what to look for when solving different problems. (?)

I would strongly recommend not spending money on this book because it doesn't contain anything that the GMAT folks won't give you (included with your $250 registration fee) once you sign up to take the test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not enough., November 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Guide for GMAT Review (Paperback)
Good but not enough. It will give you a general idea. To get a high score 660+ you will certainly need to buy individual books for each area of study. I had a collection of 10 books. Buy them USED on amazon like $8/per book. Previous edition! but worked same way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unclear Math Explanations at times, February 12, 2013
By 
Rong Yang (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Official Guide for GMAT Review (Paperback)
I am a math tutor. I wrote a GMAT test-pre book on amazon and very familiar with the test. This official guide is a good resource for tutors and test-takers. Some of the math solution explanations are unclear and hard to understand by my students, even myself. The GMAT math covers only the basic math areas with arithmetic, algebra, geometry, and word problems. It is not necessary to emphasize the ranking of difficulty on each math question, just need practice, practice, and practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, especially with Manhattan GMAT strategy guides, November 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Guide for GMAT Review (Paperback)
Just took the GMAT today and could not recommend this book more. I used it in conjunction with Manhattan GMAT strategy guides (that I would totally recommend since they give you an order with which to approach these questions). It was very similar to the GMAT content in difficulty and content. On my official GMAT I had questions that were extremely similar to the ones in this book. Use it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It makes Gmat easy to learn and understand, February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
everybody recommends this book to me as I am very newbie of Gmat, which s helpful to understand Gmat and makes the gamt look very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just for the new section, January 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There are no signifficant diferences between this and the 12th edition. You could study from previous editions and complement with another book for the new section. if you don't have a previous edition then it is ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anyone who plans to take GMAT should buy this..., November 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Guide for GMAT Review (Paperback)
I practice on this and then go back and practice on my weakness. This contains past exams and provide your with a great practice set... This however needs to be complemented with a fantastic content book set - Manhattan GMAT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pair with workbooks, September 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Guide for GMAT Review (Paperback)
would recommend purchasing the math and verbal workbooks along with this book in order to get more practice for the exam. the workbooks provide practice problems and more detailed review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Official Guide for GMAT Review
The Official Guide for GMAT Review by Graduate Management Admission Council (GMAC) (Paperback - March 27, 2012)
Used & New from: $2.15
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.