Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


215 of 221 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manhattan GMAT's Review and Analysis of the 13th Ed of The Official Guide for GMAT Review
The OG13 has flaws, as did its predecessors. Why five stars, then? Because, hands down, this latest incarnation of the OG is still the one book to get, if you can only get one book to prepare for the GMAT with. There's simply no better all-in-one source of retired GMAT problems.

Could the explanations be better? Sure.
Could the GMAT folks have replaced...
Published on March 20, 2012 by Thomas Williams

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING
Received everything ok and on time. Warning: This is not the book to study for GMAT.UNLESS you already have a math AND english degree. The way they explain how they got to the conclusion of each question is missing data that leaves the reader clueless on how the math equation or reading question was reached. I still stuggled through the entire book anyway and I do not...
Published 22 months ago by Jeruard


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 90% of questions were similar to the 12th Edition, May 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Guide for GMAT Review (Paperback)
I already owned a copy of the 12th Edition Review. I was hoping the 13th Edition comes with new questions but I was very wrong. The questions were mostly identical, I was very disappointed that I basically bought the 12th Edition again with very minimal new materials. The Integrated Reasoning questions are online and you need to register with the code provided with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best way to prepare for the GMAT's, May 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Guide for GMAT Review (Paperback)
I bought this book about three months prior to taking my GMAT's. I did no other preparations or studying outside of this book and I was able to get a 750 on my GMAT's.

I did about 40 verbal questions and 40 quantitative questions every time I sat down to study (comparable to the number of questions on the actual GMAT's). Studying about 2-3 times a week for about 3 hours each time, I felt fully prepared for the GMAT's. This is a great book that will help you prepare for the exam and this is a must-have for anyone looking to take the exam in the future. The hardest thing for me was the pacing though. While studying for the exam, I highly recommend timing yourself (75 mins for ~40 questions).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars you can get all the information for free when you register for the GMAT, July 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Guide for GMAT Review (Paperback)
When you register for the GMAT you get a couple practice tests and 90 practice questions with explanations. This book doesn't appear to give any unique information. If 90 problems isn't enough you can get more 400 more for $25. That's the same price as the book and the computerized practice is is a lot easier to use than flipping around in the book.

This book isn't much to help breaking down the way you should attack each type of problem. It's all practice problems and then explains (not in the best detail) why the incorrect answers are wrong. The unofficial books might give you some better information as far as what to look for when solving different problems. (?)

I would strongly recommend not spending money on this book because it doesn't contain anything that the GMAT folks won't give you (included with your $250 registration fee) once you sign up to take the test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anyone who plans to take GMAT should buy this..., November 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Guide for GMAT Review (Paperback)
I practice on this and then go back and practice on my weakness. This contains past exams and provide your with a great practice set... This however needs to be complemented with a fantastic content book set - Manhattan GMAT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, especially with Manhattan GMAT strategy guides, November 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Guide for GMAT Review (Paperback)
Just took the GMAT today and could not recommend this book more. I used it in conjunction with Manhattan GMAT strategy guides (that I would totally recommend since they give you an order with which to approach these questions). It was very similar to the GMAT content in difficulty and content. On my official GMAT I had questions that were extremely similar to the ones in this book. Use it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 out of 5, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Guide for GMAT Review (Paperback)
it is helpful but can be improved a lot in terms of rearranging thechapters. sometimes it gets confusing to find certain chapters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars no strategies all practive, September 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Guide for GMAT Review (Paperback)
this book offers little or no strategies. it just offers a ton of practice question. if supplemented with other books, it would be a great practice book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for GMAT takers, August 30, 2013
By 
Fu Ziyi (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Guide for GMAT Review (Paperback)
This is the only version with Integrated Reasoning portion (online access only though), which is a new question type added to the test in 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ann, March 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Guide for GMAT Review (Paperback)
I am a beginner in GMAT, and I find this book very helpful. It is very easy to understand and you can go through it without any tutor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for GMAT exam!, February 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Guide for GMAT Review (Paperback)
Must have for GMAT exam. It prepares me well in all ways. Explanatory details and all materials covered! Perfect one to notch GMAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Official Guide for GMAT Review
The Official Guide for GMAT Review by Graduate Management Admission Council (GMAC) (Paperback - March 27, 2012)
$42.95 $24.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.