Customer Reviews


259 Reviews
5 star:
 (200)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


177 of 181 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understanding Coin Price Guides
Here is the scoop on what you need to know. First, the Red book is retail pricing what you should expect to pay. The Blue book is what the coin is worth at re-sell to a dealer or between two individuals. Again, Red book prices are higher than Blue book prices.

**Very Important** Dealers do not use the Red or Blue book they use the greysheet as a go to guide...
Published on April 8, 2012 by Camera Man

versus
40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't purchase this eBook for Kindle, buy the physical book!
I purchased the Kindle eBook version because I liked the thought of having a copy on my Kindle and both my iPhone and iPad. However once I downloaded it, I saw that the headers for the various coin grades only appear on the first page for a coin, and not on the subsequent pages. It made looking up values by grade confusing, unless it was a coin within the first few years...
Published on June 10, 2012 by Brandon A. Fortuno


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

177 of 181 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understanding Coin Price Guides, April 8, 2012
This review is from: The Official Red Book: A Guide Book of U.S. Coins 2013 (Official Red Book: A Guide Book of United States Coins) (Hardcover)
Here is the scoop on what you need to know. First, the Red book is retail pricing what you should expect to pay. The Blue book is what the coin is worth at re-sell to a dealer or between two individuals. Again, Red book prices are higher than Blue book prices.

**Very Important** Dealers do not use the Red or Blue book they use the greysheet as a go to guide since pricing can go up or down past the published book. It does cost to buy the greysheet, but this guide give the general guideline for you to buy and sell your coins. Unless you really know what you are doing stay away from Raw ungraded coins. Their are a few third party grading services. PCGS and NGC are the big two and I prefer PCGS personally. You also have the Blue-sheet for sight unseen coins, the green sheet for currency to just name a few.

Here is an example using the 2012 guides. I will use a Morgan dollar for example. The Blue book on the 1891 Morgan dollar graded MS-63 is $90, the Red Book is $200 and Greysheet is $170 bid and $185 ask (this weeks pricing 4.8.12. What this means is in this case if you have a raw ungraded 1891 Morgan that you think is MS-63 or has been officially graded you should be able to sell the coin for $170 - $200 as well as buy it for that. The reality is if you go in with an ungraded coin you may not get more than that $90 - $100. So using the grading service is a plus but that also costs. I would get multiple opinions (professional) before submitting a raw coin you think is gradable.

The worse case is you coin if silver or gold is worth melt or what the current spot price is at any given time. Currently a Morgan dollar is worth about $30 regardless even if its been cleaned, polished, dipped it is still a ounce of silver. Last, I personally got mislead on Ebay buying Raw coins and after taking to a local dealer found they were polished, cleaned or otherwise altered to look better. Unless you really know what your doing and just speaking for me I returned the problem coins and will only buy graded coins. Even then if its does not look good then skip it is at least what I personally do.

Here is the coin dealer news letter. In addition to the grey sheet the monthly supplements are very helpful as they list other items not on the greysheet.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't purchase this eBook for Kindle, buy the physical book!, June 10, 2012
By 
Brandon A. Fortuno (JACKSONVILLE, FL, US) - See all my reviews
I purchased the Kindle eBook version because I liked the thought of having a copy on my Kindle and both my iPhone and iPad. However once I downloaded it, I saw that the headers for the various coin grades only appear on the first page for a coin, and not on the subsequent pages. It made looking up values by grade confusing, unless it was a coin within the first few years of the series. This is an obvious oversight by whoever converted this book for Kindle, but maybe one day they will fix it. So fair warning, the electronic version of this book is confusing due to missing headers. I would recommend buying the real thing. Sometimes it's hard to beat having a real book in your hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My little Red Book from Amazon, May 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My RED BOOK serves me well. It's great for evaluating and identifying coins. Helps in determining coin conditions. The book is clear and concise. I also use this to keep track of my inventory. Without this guide I wouldn't be able to locate all the mint marks. All in all I find the Red Book a great reference tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Been using the red books and blue books for 49 years, April 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Red Book: A Guide Book of U.S. Coins 2013 (Official Red Book: A Guide Book of United States Coins) (Hardcover)
I began coin collecting when I was 12 years and got my real introduction into the basics of coin grading, coin history and a general idea as to what to expect to pay from a coin dealer from the Red book. Unfortunately, when I was a kid, grabbing rare coins was a lot easier than it is today, finding Indian pennies, silver coins, buffalo nickels, silver dollars and a whole host of coins that are now nearly impossible to find in general circulation. Nevertheless, for a great intro into numismatics, coin history, coin mintage and general prices to expect to pay ( not sell to a dealer) a coin, the Red book is exceptional. And now that it comes in a ring binder, it is all the better. Just remember a few things:

1. Coin prices can fluctuate far more than in years past and therefore a subscription to a monthly coin magazine or the grey sheet is an important addition for the serious collector, as well as a specific guide to coin grading. the Red book does a decent basic introduction to grading of coins, but there are better guides available. 2. The Red book is for American coins, though information on old Spanish doubloons, Continental money, etc. can be found. Don't lower your rating just because you expected something it isn't. 3. Coin prices are constantly changing. This book is a guide, not necessarily the final answer to the most current value though it is good at letting you know the general rating of a coin, and the wide variations in value based on the quality and demand of the coin. 4. As a newbie to coin collecting in my younger days, I learned more from this book than any other. I highly recommend it, especially for newer collectors, though I continue to use current editions even after 49 years. 5: coin prices listed here are generally the high end prices. Be realistic in your price negotiations. This simply provides a price guide. 6. I like most coin dealers, but you get a better price selling to an independent buyer, at least in my experience, though selling to a dealer is certainly faster and easier.

The price on the book was fair, shipping prompt and it arrived in pristine conduction. Am very happy with the transaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Classic - But Some Luster Lost, June 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Red Book is a classic and the editors have worked hard to supply an incredible range of information on United States coins. Unfortunately, efforts to update coin prices seem to be lackluster at best and non-existent at worst. The problem encompasses everything from sleepers like the 1909-O Barber quarter (very tough and expensive at fine or above) to classics like the 1921 Peace dollar (difficult to find in uncirculated with decent luster and strike). It is clearly time the editors went back to basics, stopped expanding the informational elements, and made a concerted effort to bring the pricing portion of the book back into line with the real world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How much should you pay for that coin?, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Red Book shows coin prices realized the year before due to publishing constraints. However, it's a good start when trying to determine how much to pay for a certain coin. Use this book as a guide to what's available, the dates and mint marks in a series, etc., then go online to a large grading service's web site or eBay to determine for how much a particular coin recently sold. That should give you a good idea of how much you may have to pay for one like it. The book gives an overall view of most U.S. coins with a lot of valuable collecting information packed between its covers. Plus, the books themselves have become collectors' items over the years. As always, the best rule for collecting coins is read the book first then buy the coin. Read lots of books because this hobby has changed over the years. Today collectors are confronted with Chinese fakes, some online sellers who overprice coins, 1964-D Peace Dollars without "copy" on the back, etc. The more knowledge a collector has the better the outcome when purchasing coins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great resource for collectors., October 2, 2012
This review is from: The Official Red Book: A Guide Book of U.S. Coins 2013 (Official Red Book: A Guide Book of United States Coins) (Hardcover)
The 2013 US Coins "Red Book" is a great reference for United States coin collectors. A couple things to keep in mind are that if you are collecting foreign coins they will not be covered in this publication. Additionally, keep in mind that the price of coins is constantly changing so the values listed within the books will not always show current coin market value.

I recommend buying the book for two reasons. First it gives you a complete guide of all US coins, it shows you detailed pictures and gives you valuable information about what is contained within the special coin sets. Secondly, it gives you a price reference based on the condition of the coin, this a starting point for buying or selling coins. Third, it lists the production quantities which helps determine the scarcity of a coin when comparing it to various other coins of different years. The Red Book is a valuable resource and it's a great tool for the collector. Have you bought your copy yet?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spend the extra cash...., December 4, 2012
By 
Renagade "Alexander" (Florida, where the old come to die....) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
and get the big binder version. The amount of info this book gives is a tremendous asset to any coin collector. Great stats and numbers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars COIN BOOK, July 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I HAVE USED THIS COIN BOOK FOR SEVERAL YEARS. I BUY A NEW ONE EVERY 1-2 YEARS. THIS HELPS ME KNOW IF I SEE A GOOD DEAL AT AN AUCTION OR COIN SHOP. IT IS FUN TO LOOK THROUGH THE COINS YOU GET IN CHANGE TO SEE IF YOU HAVE ONE THAT IS WORTH MORE THAN FACE VALUE. LISTENING TO THE COIN SHOWS ON TV WITH THIS AS A REFERENCE, YOU CAN SEE IF THEY ARE GIVING GOOD PRICES ON THEIR "DEALS".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great edition of the Redbook, July 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official Red Book: A Guide Book of U.S. Coins 2013 (Official Red Book: A Guide Book of United States Coins) (Hardcover)
The Guide to United States Coins is an annual treat for myself, I collect them and the 2013 edition is as good as the rest. Gives you a good insight into what the prices of US Coins should be. Also lets you know the price of other Redbooks are for collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.