Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Official Rules of Baseball Illustrated
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 21, 2014
The majority of this book is devoted to providing the historical background of many of the rules of baseball, which I found interesting. The 2005 rules of baseball are also included although there are limited illustrations in the latter part of this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2009
Incredibly thoroughly researched. This is at once a definitive rulebook AND a fun ride through the history of how these rules developed and were sometimes cleverly or critically employed. It helps to have a good understanding of the game, but it is an easy and enjoyable read as the author walks us through accessible explanations of sometimes arcane rules by using exciting examples of how they came about and often historic moments when they decided a key game.

A "must read" for all fans and trivia buffs.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2014
Let’s face it; reading the 72 pages of the complete rules in the appendix is pretty brutal, and best used as a reference. The first part of the book however, is a delight. Portions of the rules highlighted and a historical example included of why the rule was put into effect, and many of the players back in the day were about pushing the boundaries! Some of the historical graphics are superb, for example from the 1903 Word Series, where overflow spectators are packed into the outfield. In more modern time, the look of Joe Niekro’s face when his pockets are turned out to find an emery board is priceless. I particularly appreciated the chapter on scoring, and clear definition of the pitchers ERA. For some of the rules, checking out Youtube for visual explanation also helps.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2013
I will make this short and sweet. I have well over 100 books on baseball with my primary interest in 19th century baseball and rate this as the best book I have ever read. No other book even comes close. Whenever I see a copy, I buy it and gift it to a friend. To rate this book only five stars is to say Babe Ruth was a pretty good player. I cannot think of a better gift for a baseball fan who wants to know about the history of the game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2012
Baseball fans know - or think we do - the rules of baseball. Nemec gives the rules followed by delightful history of the rules. Ever think a book about rules would be fun to anyone but a lawyer? Think again and do yourself a favor and grab this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2009
Okay, so maybe it hasn't saved our marriage, but it has resolved an argument or two! You can find the answer to any baseball rule in this book!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2010
This book is an excellent supplement to the baseball rules. All umpires should have a copy to learn the finer points of the rules as well as the history of the game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2012
Ever since I got the book I look in to it almost every day.
Great to be able to tell people how rules got to be, with the story behind it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2015
Great Book on the history of the rules. As an umpire, I got a lot out of this book. Well written and easy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2015
Very good book but not as thorough as "A Game Of Inches" by Peter Morris.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse