Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well-written
4 stars for fullfilling its intended purposes. One lacking star for apparently disappointing readers for its lacking anticipated business pointers.

This book is obviously targeted toward eBay newbies, and for that purpose it makes a heck of a good job in providing both clarity and motivation. While at the same time being embedded with corporate self-marketing...
Published on January 25, 2006 by Donald Duck

versus
99 of 101 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very basic. Good for beginners.
The book is very basic, along the lines of the Dummies series. There is a screenshot of everything, which makes the book long. If you are just starting out, the book is good because it is comprehensive. However, there is a high percentage of garbage in the book, such as detailed instructions on how to bookmark a page in a Web browser, and a couple chapters on how to write...
Published on April 1, 2005 by M. Chabot


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

99 of 101 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very basic. Good for beginners., April 1, 2005
This review is from: The Official eBay Bible (Paperback)
The book is very basic, along the lines of the Dummies series. There is a screenshot of everything, which makes the book long. If you are just starting out, the book is good because it is comprehensive. However, there is a high percentage of garbage in the book, such as detailed instructions on how to bookmark a page in a Web browser, and a couple chapters on how to write HTML. The book is mainly a how-to book, not a book with many advanced selling and buying tips.

After reading the top eBay books, below are my recommendations:

---Beginner with eBay and computers---

1. The Official eBay Bible

---eBay Seller---

1. Sell it on eBay

2. eBay Hacks

---Full-Time eBay Business (not for the casual seller)---

1. eBay Strategies

2. eBay Business the Smart Way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


161 of 168 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long on Process, Coy on Fees, Formatted for the Nearsighted, November 18, 2003
This review is from: The Official eBay Bible (Paperback)
I picked up this book to find out Quickly how to sell something on eBay, and what it would cost me. I found out eventually how to sell, but not the cost, and not quickly.
I began by browsing the inspirational stories of people who'd sold all they wanted and more and of people who'd bought an item they'd been searching for for years. Then I went to the beginning to learn about eBay. But the beginning is geared for people who are turning on their computers for the first time: what is email? what is a browser? "Clicking a link will move you forward to that page" etc...
So I skipped to the section on how to sell. Again I found myself swamped with basic info. For example, Griffith devotes several pages to explaining step by step the sort of registration process most people have gone through dozens of times on other sites. Then he goes into digital photography for 36 pages. All useful, no doubt, to someone who has decided to sell. But not to someone who wants some idea of PRICE.
I went to the index to look up "fees". I found three entries, two of which (Final Value Fee and Turbolister) were arcane and of no use to me. The other was "listings". Thinking I'd found what I wanted, I quickly flipped to p.273, where I found, not a schedule of fees nor a percentage of any kind, but rather a tiny reproduction of a web page with tiny numbers representing the fees for a ceramic jug pictured on the previous page.
What is going on here? Is eBay shy about money? Are they ashamed of charging fees and making money? Do they want to imply in their "Official Bible" that their services are free? Did Griffith neglect to put in this information because it was not upbeat enough for his enthusiastic compendium of online auctioneering?
Another annoying feature is the vast amount of white space on each page, with tiny reproductions of web pages marooned in the middle. Is it too much to ask that publishers blow up the web page images so that their text is at least equal in font size to that of the book itself? I've noticed this trend in other computer books. What is this passion for empty white space? If a web page image is so unimportant that it can be shown at one third the size of the regular text, why show it at all?
Griffith goes on to discuss topics such as setting up your own store and dealing with piles of feedback, but this reader had lost heart, and in any case could not find his magnifying glass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 102 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't get unless you are absolutely new to Ebay!, July 11, 2003
This review is from: The Official eBay Bible (Paperback)
This book states that there is plenty for the new and seasoned Ebayer, but I could hardly find anything that would help experienced users. There is a large part devoted to using HTML...c'mon now, who would want to type in your own HTML from scratch when there is so many free or cheap editors out there! I thought this book would give some good tips on saving time on producing auctions.
The rest of the book pretty much just steps you through the basics of registering, site tours, and other really basic stuff. There is a lot of opinions and blatant advertising. There is a lot of good "How I got started with Ebay" stories that will show new Ebayers, just how much you can accomplish. I was hping there would be a lot more funny or uplifting stories from long time Ebayers, but apparently only a small group of Ebayers were picked to be in this book.
Uncle Griff....there is definately another book to be made from all the Ebay experiences out there! I know you must have tons more stuff!
Again....there just isn't enough info in this book worth getting, unless you are brand new to Ebay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK, but not great - there are better eBay books out there, June 9, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Official eBay Bible (Paperback)
For something that bills itself as the Bible, totally comprehensive, and everything you need to know, this book left me feeling a little left out. It doesn't offer enough coverage on the topics I really want to know about (getting the best price for my items, trusting your buyer and seller) and too much on areas that are pretty self explantory (seller rankings for one). The tone of the book is lacking as well, with a dry, almost hokey presenation. I found myself talking back to the book at times, in frustration. All in all, this is not the best eBay book out there - eBay The Smart Way or one of the EBay dummies books get that nod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars VISIT EBAY AND FORGET THE BOOK, January 24, 2005
This review is from: The Official eBay Bible (Paperback)
Unless you are absolutely..and do mean ABSOLUTELY, completely new to eBay and have never even navigated the site, then this book might be somewhat useful. It instructs you on all you need to know about such as searching eBay, bidding, buying, paying, selling items, setting up your own eBay storefront, security and resolving issues, etc...it is a wealth of information.

But if you've been an eBay user, you already know most of this information already. There aren't any buried secrets to be found in the book. No "get rich quick" magic pill ideas. The fact is that all of this information and a LOT more can be found on the eBay site itself. EBay has done a marvelous job of putting all of this information on their website. You need only visit the help links to go to screens that will provide everything you need to know about bidding and buying.

Then there's the vast links of various sellers tools that teach you all about listing items, taking and uploading pictures, accepting payments, etc. What's made eBay so popular is the fact that is really is so very easy, step-by-step to use and anytime you get hung up there are a vast array of help screens, message boards, even Live, one-on-one help chats with eBay personnel you can use to help.

Perhaps it's nice having all of this info in one convenient play as opposed to navigating a lot of onscreen pages, but once you know where to get answers there's really not much need for the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Long winded - and not enough of what I needed, July 10, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Official eBay Bible (Paperback)
I thought a new book about ebay would give me some fresh ideas. It didn't. There was a long, step by step HTML tutorial. It is no longer valid for use on ebay since they have their own HTML online designer to help you with your auctions. Mr. Griffith's opinions are his own, and although he may have worked for ebay for a long time, he obviously isn't sucessfully selling on the site regularly. His opinions on transactions and feedback left me cold. This book seems only to reveal what ebay (the company) wants us to know. It just doesn't live up to the high levels that some other books on ebay have established.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 90 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you can turn on your computer, you don't need this!, April 18, 2004
This review is from: The Official eBay Bible (Paperback)
How can you sign onto your computer and not be able to follow the menu driven eBay sign up and sell stuff on the web site? You really need to look at a book that is showing you the same thing that's on your screen? Believe me all eBay wants to do is get sellers on, so they can sell, so eBay can grab a share of the profit.
This book is really a bunch of dribble about how great eBay is and how it changes your life. No metion of eBay supporting the sellers only; no buyer protection, and eBay's total lack of care about fraud and no buying customer support. Is this snake oil salesman getting a kickback from eBay!?
But this book will change "Griff's" life...cause there is a sucker born every nanosecond. Like the bloated shipping and handling fees on eBay, you'll get nothing for something with this pile of pulp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 86 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Official ebay Bible by Jim Griffith, June 10, 2003
By 
"katybug2002" (Glendale, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Official eBay Bible (Paperback)
The word "bible" denotes an "authoritative" guide....this book, unfortunately, is anything but. Rather, it is a highly opinionated rant about how things should be done on Ebay, according to Jim Griffith. It is sad when an ebay employee who doesn't understand the buying, selling, and feedback problems of the ordinary ebayer writes an "Official" guide. This should have been called an "Unofficial Opinion". The small disclaimer stating that it is only opinion does nothing to sway the perception that this IS the authoritative guide to ebay. Instead of this drivel, ebay should have taken the time to ask REAL buyers and sellers for input. As it is, they simply let Griff rant, then stamped it with their seal of approval. Anything to make a buck, I guess. This book is a major disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Public Relations Fluff Piece, July 28, 2004
This review is from: The Official eBay Bible (Paperback)
The book is little more than a one-sided publicity fluff piece to snag new fee-paying customers with a promise of an easy path to the good life. The book does not address any of the problems which many ebay sellers that I know have encountered when dealing with this company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well-written, January 25, 2006
4 stars for fullfilling its intended purposes. One lacking star for apparently disappointing readers for its lacking anticipated business pointers.

This book is obviously targeted toward eBay newbies, and for that purpose it makes a heck of a good job in providing both clarity and motivation. While at the same time being embedded with corporate self-marketing lines without being offensive.

It seems as though the author has retained a centered state of mind while writing this entire book. Even if the topics are basic, such as how to list items and packing items, it's being presented in an entertaining way and may well do a good job in hooking up new members to eBay. It's definitely a helpful place to start.
Since the intentions of the book are ambiguous however (it's not clear wether selling eBay or teaching people how to sell on ebay is the central purpose here), it's also reasonable to contend that level-wise, this is not the best book out there. But the quality of that level is yet high and consistent. Everything that's being taught in the book is easy to grasp and follow, and there's a certain underlying energy in terms of writing style that makes eBay selling look fun. Because of that this book does a very good job in marketing eBay (both as a selling enterprise, and its individual services) and in convincing readers to sign up for their own accounts. That's not an easy balance to achieve without being a hypocrite. But the author even promotes environmental responsibilites, which kind of defies the notion of being a hypocrite, such as being a mere greedy prick behind the smile. It's more than that.

So this is a good book, not only content-wise, but also motivation-wise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Official eBay Bible
The Official eBay Bible by Jim Griffith (Paperback - June 2003)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.