Customer Reviews


198 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (80)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood didn't have a clue!
This was the best Christian movie out there. Of course this isn't the best "movie" but it's the best Christian movie. I loved the whole movie, It was great! It seemed a little hurried at the end though, but it's still great. By the way, this movie IS RATED. It's RATED PG-13. The rating isn't listed above, so I thought I'd tell you!
Published on March 6, 2000 by Buck Lewis

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Christian End of Days film that really isn't very Christian at all
The Omega Code is a rather strange film; a product of the Trinity Broadcasting Network, it is an Armageddon film that portrays the End Times with increasingly little regard to actual Biblical prophecy and only mentions Jesus once in passing. Strictly as a film, it's not all that bad. Sure, there are some plot holes and a few goofs, but the cast is surprisingly...
Published on July 2, 2005 by Daniel Jolley


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Christian End of Days film that really isn't very Christian at all, July 2, 2005
This review is from: The Omega Code (DVD)
The Omega Code is a rather strange film; a product of the Trinity Broadcasting Network, it is an Armageddon film that portrays the End Times with increasingly little regard to actual Biblical prophecy and only mentions Jesus once in passing. Strictly as a film, it's not all that bad. Sure, there are some plot holes and a few goofs, but the cast is surprisingly well-known and the special effects are actually pretty good (especially for a $7 million dollar film). The real problem comes with the storyline and the tendency for lead players to ham it up. Frankly, I don't really consider this a Christian film at all, as it basically just exploits the popularity of the dubious Bible code and wanders far afield from actual Biblical prophecy.

The "hero" of this film is, of all things, a motivational speaker named Gillen Lane (Casper Van Dien) who just happens to be an expert of sorts on the Bible Code (despite the fact he is in no way religious). When we first meet him, he's jumping all over the furniture of a talk show set like Tom Cruise on Oprah, preaching his secular message of personal evolution through the proper mindset. A short while later, he joins up with the fabulously rich philanthropist Alexander Stone (Michael York) to help make the world a better place. Stone does so much good for less fortunate people that he is appointed chairman of the European Union. Stone isn't what he seems, however; as we in the audience know, he has gone to great lengths, including murder, to acquire the key to the biblical Omega Code. By reading the computer-generated prophecies of the code, he determines what to do and when to do it. So it is that he sets his Jerusalem Plan in motion, blowing up the Tomb of the Rock, only to swoop in and do the impossible: secure a genuine peace deal between Israel and Palestine. As part of the seven-year deal, he pledges to rebuild the Tomb of the Rock as well as Solomon's Temple side by side on the Temple Mount. Lane is with him all the way, handling all of the PR. Stone's henchman (Michael Ironside), a former priest turned bodyguard/hit man, gets jealous of Lane's influence and kills Stone, pinning the blame on Lane. While Lane is on the run, though, a miracle happens: Stone is resurrected (luckily, the hospital folks had just left him in a private room still hooked up to monitors for untold hours after declaring him deceased). Stone's resurrection only adds to his fame and influence. When he says the world needs one government, nations get in line to kiss his hand. Nationalism just vanishes overnight, which is absurd; there's certainly no way America would just sit idly by and let some pasty European become king of the world.

During his coronation inside the brand new Jerusalem Temple, Stone goes far beyond proclaiming himself king; he actually declares himself God. At that point, all masks are pretty much off, with Stone pledging to annihilate any nations who oppose his leadership. The only thing Stone lacks is the final piece of the Omega Code, crucial data which just so happens to fall in Lane's hands. There is one pretty effective plot twist that brings Stone and Lane back together at the end, but it's hard to categorize the ultimate conclusion as a contest between ultimate good and ultimate evil.

As a Christian, I have to say that this movie does not carry any sort of effective Christian message at all. While it does draw some material from actual Biblical prophecy, it increasingly goes its own way, relying on insipid pronouncements from its fictional Omega Code to push the apocalyptic story forward. Jesus and the Gospel are almost completely ignored altogether. To me, this is the kind of Biblical prophecy film that non-religious writers would produce - yet its origins lie with the Trinity Broadcasting Network, and that is what makes the whole movie experience somewhat unsettling. In the end, you're basically left with special effects and an increasingly sensationalist story to carry the day. As such, The Omega Code, whatever its origins and purported intentions, really does little to distinguish itself from all manner of End of Days films coming out of Hollywood in the last decade. Don't consign this film to viewers here in the Bible Belt, as it really doesn't have all that much to offer Christians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst than the Antichrist!!!!!!, March 18, 2002
This review is from: The Omega Code (DVD)
This movie is worst than the Antichrist!
Because TBN is a better lier than "he"!
I'll never watch a TBN film "ever" again,this garbage is not even worth
a rental.
How could a "Christian" Org
screw and twist the book of Rev
to such a degree and pretend that
it's a fine "great!!" movie?
I would expect "Christians" of TBN
to do an exact story of the Bible..
or one that is very close.
What a joke! Don't spend your money or time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Painfully, Painfully Bad., April 15, 2003
By 
This review is from: The Omega Code [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I thought this movie was not only horribly, painfully, awfully bad, but also offensive. Let�s break this down into bullet points:
-Plot: This is the least bad of the points I�ll go over. It�s a somewhat interesting idea. One major problem is that the Biblical code they use seems to involve writing passages in a grid, with no spaces, and then picking letters in a regular, mathematical pattern to get messages. This is actually a genuine trick used in Judaic mysticism, and I believe also Islamic mysticism. There are a few errors, though. First off, it�s shown once being done in English. The Old Testament wasn�t done in English. It was in Hebrew or Jewish Aramaic. Further, this trick only works well in those languages because the vowels are not written. The consonants carry unwritten vowels. This makes puzzles like this work well in Semitic languages (Hebrew, Arabic, Aramaic, etc.). Now, what I immediately noticed is that this little "trick" is portrayed as if the Jews never realized it, even though they�ve been doing it for millennia. A Christian, who doesn�t seem to speak Hebrew or Aramaic, has to figure it out using English (see point above), and "show them the light".
-Acting: I cringe using that word here. "Acting" implies that people actually act, or have some talent at it. The most interesting characters were the two angels, and the devil. The angels were, in my opinion, under-used. (I was also sad to see that they didn�t pull out any Old Testament style smiting. I was looking forward to seeing a special effects loaded can of Righteous Wrath being opened at some point in the movie.) I actually ended up sympathizing with the devil because that was the only character who showed *any* acting skill. Everyone else ranged from cardboard props to annoying.
- Music and Setting: Nice. Nothing special. Ok. However, some of the props used lead to.
- Message: The message I got was, "Other religions are just fumbling around, waiting for a Christina leader to show them what�s really going on...The movie is none-too-subtle about Catholic bashing. If you look closely, the only visibly Catholic character is an ex-priest who was de-frocked for murder, or homosexuality, or both, and who is in knowing service of Satan. If you look even closer, the big golden thingy on the Devil�s desk is called a "monstrum". It�s a sacramental used to hold a Eucharistic host for public adoration and some benedictions. They are found in Catholic churches. (I�m not sure about Anglican.) They are something distinctly Catholic, and the Devil uses one to decorate his desk.
So, overall, the movie is horrible. I found the Catholic-bashing in a "Christian" movie particularly offensive. I thought the portrayal of other religions was demeaning. The acting was horrible. The whole thing is worse than a waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible!, May 1, 2002
By 
PhilBobEverly "bobbbythec" (Maple Grove, Mn United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Omega Code (DVD)
Okay first of all It doesn't surprise me that TBN would make such a terrible movie. Besides being full of the heresy you would come to expect from the people who bring you the cultic prosperity movement. It laughable, Micheal Ironside as the false Prophet? He plays the same guy in every film he does. The plot is so laughable I dont see how any Christian could sit through it. The whole Bible Code idea is another TBN Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Apocalypse Now ?..., August 8, 2000
This review is from: The Omega Code (DVD)
Intentions were excellent by the writers, actors and director; but not enough to save this film from it's own apocalyptic demise. Why ? The acting was either dismal or melo-dramatic.The special f/x were not exactly near the caliber of ILM (George Lucas' special effects company).
Yet, the subject matter is very fascinating and the timing to release the movie for theatres was no coincidence;2000, new millennium, etc.,etc.).On an entertainment value level it comes close to a good thriller for a rental...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TBN needs to quit doing this., August 12, 2001
By 
Jason Williams (Nixa, Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Omega Code (DVD)
I am a Christian. I also don't like this movie. I think that this is just an attempt by the ever burgeoning Trinity Broadcasting Network to expand their influence into secular society. If this indeed was a film for Christians, or to convert people then leave it at that. Quit vieing for an academy award. Hey I'll be the first to admit that Christians, in terms of entertainment, have always had secondhand stuff. Mostly because the producers and performers never had enough money to do anything of descent quality. I think in terms of production quality and acting that it is much better than some of its predecessors like ""A Thief in the Night", or "Image of the Beast". But for the scare conversion factor those films were overwhelmingly better than this one. I think the trinity broadcasting network should take a lesson from the bible on this. That lesson - when Jesus triumphantly entered Jerusalem it was on one of the most lowly forms of transportation - not a Rolls Royce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Millennium Madness, March 4, 2002
By 
Timothy Hulsey (Charlottesville, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Omega Code (DVD)
Michael York's hammy performance as the Antichrist is the highlight of this incoherent, unintentionally humorous apocalyptic thriller. He even sneaks a few good ad-libs past the screenwriters -- no mean feat in a movie so poorly written.
The film may be execrable, but at least it's never dull. Non-fundamentalists might prefer to view it as an anthropological document (or a psychoanalytic diagnosis) than as a legitimate cinematic narrative, especially given that a sizable number of Americans think the story here is practically Gospel truth.
As might be expected of an end-times Christian thriller, the spiritual and religious value of _Omega Code_ is virtually nill...
Watch, if you must, for the film's not-so-latent racism and geopolitical ignorance -- more sources of accidental humor than legitimate targets for outrage. And aren't those Catholic bishops dolled up in Greek Orthdox robes? As Boris Badinov would say, "Hoo boy."
A footnote: The film relies heavily on the thoroughly discredited "Bible Code" theory, which claims that we can find hidden messages in the Bible if we read only every third letter, or search for acrostic patterns, etc. This goes to prove that sometimes computer searches can be A Bad Thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The first decent attempt at trying to flesh out end times, April 19, 2000
By 
E. Berry "zeetwo8" (Lincoln Park, Michigan USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Omega Code (DVD)
This movie was not all that bad, to me. It was a pretty good attempt at fleshing out end times events and I can appreciate that. For a low budget movie, I say they did a pretty good job. I did feel, however, that there were some big weaknesses it though. The military power and influence of Micheal York's character was not established enough for me. When he started barking out for his Generals to act, I wondered who he was refering to. His military influence was nowhere spelled out. And Casper Van Dien's Tony Robins like character was a bit too much in the talk show sceens. I can't believe he let the director make him jump around like he did. Other than that, Van Dien is a pretty good actor to me. The Abomonation that makes Desolate scene was the WORST! Personally, I REALLY like Micheal Ironside's character; seeing him in an Orthodox Jewish costume gave me a new respect for him having a good sense of humor. Like I said, it's a pretty good attempt on this topic. If the producers make another film on this or other topic and listen to some of the critique here, I believe that a really good work that is widely accepted is possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good thing I only rented it, April 7, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Omega Code [VHS] (VHS Tape)
But $3 was still way to much to pay to watch this. I thought the story would be good... the bible code... sounds pretty interesting, and it probably could be if not for the horrible acting and writing. I cannot overstate how terrible and laughable the acting of Casper Van Dien is in this movie. And there is a fine line in writing that teeters between profound and cheesy, unfortunately the Omega Code writer(s)slipped and stumbled blindly into cheesy.
This movie is worth a laugh, but that's about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood didn't have a clue!, March 6, 2000
This review is from: The Omega Code (DVD)
This was the best Christian movie out there. Of course this isn't the best "movie" but it's the best Christian movie. I loved the whole movie, It was great! It seemed a little hurried at the end though, but it's still great. By the way, this movie IS RATED. It's RATED PG-13. The rating isn't listed above, so I thought I'd tell you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Omega Code
The Omega Code by Robert Marcarelli (DVD - 2002)
Used & New from: $0.63
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.