Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon October 14, 2008
This is one of my all time favorite horror series. All three movies look and sound better than I have ever seen. The original Omen comes loaded with extra features on Blu-ray. Omen 2 and 3 however have nothing extra on them that did not appear on the DVD editions. This was a little disappointing for me. At least they could have thrown in a trivia track or something. The Omen remake is the same exact disc that was previously released on Blu. My one BIG complaint about this set would have to be the packaging. Considering the price of the set, it comes packaged in a very shoddily made box. I'm not sure if this is supposed to be "Earth Friendly" by not using any plastic housing for the discs, but Fox seriously dropped the ball on the packaging. The outer case has very cool artwork, but it is not sturdy at all. The movies are housed on a fold out inner jacket where each movie is simply held in place with a foam rubber hub. There is no booklet or anything else. Not only is the box cheaply constructed, it is also waaaay too big for a Blu-ray. It is about the size of a regular DVD, which causes it to really stick out amongst the rest of my collection.

Bottom Line: If you love the Omen series as much as I, you won't be disappointed with the actual movies. However, be warned that the packaging is really not in keeping with other sets in this price range (e.g. The Matrix, The Godfather)
66 comments|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This collection is one that all those who love gothic style thrillers will enjoy. It features the nineteen seventy six blockbuster, "The Omen" and all its progeny.
THE OMEN - ***** STARS
This is the jewel in this collection. It is a first class, gothic thriller with an outstanding cast, a riveting story line, and a musical score that will make the viewer want to sleep with the lights on! A first rate film, it had audiences riveted to the screen when it was first released and has withstood the test of time, as it is as gripping today, as when it was first released.
David Seltzer wrote a terrific screenplay in which an older, affluent, and socially prominent couple, Kathy and Robert Thorn (Lee Remick and Gregory Peck), have a baby, whom they name Damien. The baby turns out to be the Anti-Christ, who ends up causing a lot of trouble. This first class production, which is deftly directed by Richard Donner, is played with straightforward sincerity by its outstanding cast. The casting of Gregory Peck and Lee Remick was pure genius, as their distinguished reputations infused the movie with a believability not thought possible, given the theme of the script. Playing it straight, as a couple caught in a vortex of events over which they have little control, they sweep the viewer along with them. Supported by a fine cast, there are notable performances given by Billie Whitelaw, as the nanny with a mission, David Warner, as the photographer who begins to notice that something odd seems to be going on, and Harvey Stephens, as Damien, whose angelic countenance belies his satanic nature.
This is a riveting, subtle film that, with a few well planned, shocking moments, and an effectively creepy musical score that builds suspense to a crescendo, manages to thoroughly engage the viewer. If one is looking for a blood and gore fest, there is really none of that here. Instead, look to be scared out of the seat of your pants by a superb script, wonderful acting, deft direction, and a musical score that will long linger in one's memory. It is little wonder that Jerry Goldsmith, the composer of the original score for The Omen, won an Academy Award for his efforts.
DAMIEN: OMEN II - **** STARS
This sequel, released two years after the blockbuster success of "The Omen", is itself a stylish thriller. Featuring an excellent cast, it attempts to continue the momentum of the original. While having some shortcomings, the film, nonetheless, manages to entertain and shock. This is due in large part to its excellent cast and another chilling musical score by Jerry Goldsmith that is used to great effect.
This film continues the story begun in "The Omen". The Antichrist, Damien (Jonathan Scott Taylor), is here on earth and is now twelve, a little older and a little wiser to his true nature. Damien is being raised by his uncle, Richard Thorn (William Holden) and his second wife, Ann (Lee Grant).
William Holden and Lee Grant are terrific. With straightforward, sincere portrayals, they are the linchpins of this movie. Jonathan Scott Taylor is good as Damien but not particularly charismatic. Well nuanced performances are given by Richard Foxworth and Lance Hendriksen, Damien's earthly sentinels. Old timer Lew Ayres is wonderful as the ethical business man, and Sylvia Sidney is terrific as the aunt who knows that there is something wrong with Damien. Lucas Donat is excellent as Damien's cousin Mark.
There is a surprising twist at the end of this film, that is sure to catch the viewer unawares. Still, that is not enough to make this sequel comparable to the original. It lacks the subtlety and deft direction of "The Omen". While the director, Don Taylor, does a competent job of directing this sequel, some of the scenes are heavy handed, giving in to special effects that detract from the film, rather than enhance it. The opening scene is a prime example of gratuitous excess. Less is sometimes more, something that the director, Don Taylor, should remember.
OMEN III: THE FINAL CONFLICT - *** STARS
This 1981 film is the second sequel to the oustanding, 1976 gothic thriller "The Omen". The Antichrist, Damien Thorn (Sam Neill), is now all grown up and, having inherited the entire Thorn family mega fortune, is now in the process of fulfilling both his destiny and a biblical prophecy of calamitous proportions. Unfortunately for him, however, his very existence is in jeopardy, as the second coming of Christ appears imminent.
Damien is kept busy in this film. As Ambassador to England, as well as spiritual leader to a denizen of devil worshippers, he is the target of an assassination plot by a group of priests led by Father DeCarlo (Rossano Brazzi). Damien keeps busy thwarting his would be assassins, usually by consigning them to a brutal demise. He also carries on a romance that ends badly. Damien is very much aware of who he is and where his destiny lies.
This is a relatively well acted film that suffers from a somewhat weak script. Sam Neill is well cast as the grownup Damien, giving a powerful performance. Rossano Brazzi is excellent as Father DeCarlo, the priest determined to end the stranglehold that the Antichrist has on the world. Composer Jerry Goldsmith contributes to the gothic atmosphere of the film with his chillingly creepy, musical score, just as he did in "The Omen" and in the first sequel. Due to its weak script, however, the film pales in comparison to its predecessors.
OMEN IV: THE AWAKENING - ** STARS

This 1991 made for television movie was certainly trying to capitalize on the popularity of the 1976 blockbuster film "The Omen" and the two sequels it spawned. It is not really a sequel. It tries to update the original story. This time the Anti-Christ a girl named Delia.
Unfortunately, the reality is that this film ends up being nothing like the original film upon which it is based. The plot becomes convoluted and ridiculous. In updating the story line, the writer brought in some new age gobbledegook that goes nowhere. The story, which starts out promisingly enough, degenerates into total absurdity and becomes unbelievable and downright laughable. Unlike the original, which was believable because of the subtlety that was employed through its straightforward presentation and deft direction, this film is anything but. Ham handedly directed and with a poor script with which to work, the actors cast never even had a chance. Consider this film just to be a bonus feature of this collection. I did not include it in the overall rating I awarded this set.
Only "The Omen" DVD in the only DVD in the set that can be said to be a loaded DVD with a lot of interesting features. It provides a forty six minute documetary on the making of the film, which is quite interesting, as well as a director's commentary. There is a also an intriguing, six minute short on some of the pitfalls that beset the cast and crew during the filming of the movie. The composer also has a small segment of his own. The DVD for "Damien: Omen II" features a comentary by producer Harvey Bernhard, while the DVD for "Omen III: The Final Conflict" has a commentary by the director Graham Baker. All four DVDs provide clarity of picure and sound, theatrical trailers, and subtitles in English and Spanish.
33 comments|82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2011
I have the box set on DVD. It features all five films. This Blu-Ray release only has four films.

Although, it is drifting from the likeliness of following the tiresome "Book of Revelation" biblical writings of the future coming of Satan and Jesus Christ Revisiting, I still thought that "The Omen IV: The Awakening" is still a worthy addition to "The Omen" series.

If anything, I think the 2006 remake of the original first Omen film was totally pointless. It actually seems to follow the first story, word for word, and with no surprising new spin on the subject. Just new actors, but the same written story. Therefore, the original is all that you would need.

If this Blu-Ray box set had the made-for-TV film "The Omen IV: The Awakening", and NOT the remake of the first film, I would have bought this box, so I guess I'll have to pass.
33 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2002
Unless you're a Hammer Horror Fan, this is THE Horror Collection you were waiting for.
Good acting, mixed with good and chilling stories make these the one to own.
This is a TRILOGY. Unfortunately Fox Studios tried to rehash it for TV a fourth time without even coming near to the first and only three original ones. It is divided like an opera in three acts.
Remember that the Calibre of cast members in the first three ranges from Gregory Peck, Lee Remick, David Warner to William Holden, Lee Grant and finally Sam Neill.
A cast who could never be assembled for a TV movie.
The first act, "The Omen", is perhaps the best of the trilogy because it introduces us to the Evil one. The protagonists are as shocked and horrified when they learn, step by step as we do, who and what the Evil one is and is planning to do.
From there on we are involved in an intensive investigation and a race against time to save the world from what is to come, if at all possible...
The second act, "Damien - Omen II", is the natural evolution of the first one, in which we follow the growth in strength and power of Lucifer (or Satan if you prefer, although his name is never openly pronounced in all three movies). The interesting part is when the Evil one gets confirmation of who He really is and suddenly has a "panic attack" followed by sheer despair!
Act three, "Omen III - The Final Conflict", is the Apotheosis of the Trilogy in which Damien is at the top of the world, literally. He is finally ready to take possession of his Kingdom on Earth. People are ready, conditions are ready and it seems there's nothing able to stop him. Nothing, except...
Less gory than the Exorcist, The Omen Trilogy still has vicious and very graphic death scenes. The beauty of them is that there is no direct murder involved, at least not in the first two. They all happen by accident and very conveniently...
The Horror doesn't come in the form of monsters or monstruous beings, but is brought to us by angelic beings and "natural" coincidences, which make this even more controversial and eerie than any other Horror movie ever made.
Also consider the haunting Evil Messianic Chants for Choir and Full Symphonic Orchestra composed by Jerry Goldsmith for all three movies. They all are masterpieces in musical composition and if the movies won't scare you, then the music will.
Everything is well balanced. The acting, the stories, the effects and the music, they all promise you a true ride through Hell on Earth.
Definetly not for the faint-hearted. If you're easily scared by a door squeeking or a window lashing then forget all about it.
This trilogy can truly cause you nightmares without end.
Moreover, if you're the religious believer, be advised, this is nothing for you, even though references are just very loosely based on the Scriptures it still might cause you some problems.
For all the others, go ahead, make the Devil's Day!
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2001
The Omen trilogy (Omen 1, 2, and 3) is a great set of movies. Even though 3 is a little watered down, it still rounds out the story.
Then the Omen 4 comes along. Yes I know it was a made for TV thing, but come on, this is crap.
They should rename Omen 4 to "Upside Down Cross Movie + Rehashed Omen Stuff", because seriously, it was mainly about the makers of this movie trying to figure out how many times they can show an updside down cross (like it's all spooky and stuff). They were probably just sitting around and going "Hey, that stick over there kinda looks like an upside down cross... make the girl play with it and start shooting". Besides that all that was done was try to recreate old parts of the earlier Omen movies but with bad actors and without the subtlety that was one of the most important parts of the series. Also they try to add in this stupid mumbo jumbo New Age crystal rubbing aura crap that is just lame. The "satanic" choir of punk rockers also didn't do anything except make me laugh at the stupidity of it. This could have been a good movie, but they ruined it.
Get the set for the first 3... it's worth it. But only watch the last if you're drunk or something.
66 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2008
Packaging: 20th Century Fox should be ashamed of the packaging for this disc set. I have collected movies for over 25 years. This included VHS, LaserDisc, DVDs and Blu-Rays. I currently own over 3500 DVD/Blu-Rays. I typically don't submit reviews, but the Omen (original) is one of my favorite movies. Regrettably, the packaging is one of the worst I've seen. It remindes me of the cheap Warner Brother's cardboard covers. But worse, this cover doesn't even have standard spindle retainers. The cover is a thin (too thin) carboard with adhesive circular foam spindles. On the copy I receive the "security tag" was glued to the foam spindle. In order to remove the disc, I had to pull off the security tag which in turn pulled off the spindle. I now have a new collection with 1 disc that won't stay in the case.

Move/Transfer: The movies are great. The Omen 1 and 2 hold up well and are great movies. The Omen III is not up to par with the first 2, but completes the series. The new version does not have the magic of the original Omen (missing the well acted transformation of Gregory Peck). The video and audio transfers are both very good.

Despite the packaging, I'm happy to see the collection on Blu-Ray. I may try and purchase each movie seperately in an effort to get the standard Blu-Ray covers. The packaging issue is not limited to The Omen. The irregular packaging of The Planet of the Apes suffers as well. When will the studios spend the extra 20 cents and standardize the packaging which will help with disc storage, and with disc protection over time.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2014
The first is the best and a classic, which I watch almost every Halloween. Classy and well put together, it kick-started Richard Donner's career.

The second Omen is okay, good progression from the first, has a few good set-pieces, some good performances, good anamorphic cinematography and a good score by Jerry Goldsmith. Love the chorale-belch whenever that crow shows up. However, it falls into the formula of the first. Even if it is called the "Omen" it doesn't mean that there has to a be an endless series of omen deaths, IE the entire conceit of the "Final Destination" series. It's really about the antichrist taking over, so I don't think it's necessary for all these "accidents" to happen to his opponents. Even with the third film, things never get overt as you are waiting for them to do.
Sometimes it gets close, like in the second film and the brother's brain-anyeurism, but you never get a fire and brimstone standoff, like you are waiting for.

Third film has great performance from a very young Sam Neil, some good photography, good score again by Goldsmith, but that's about it. It's just the same formula again. Lots of talking, someone gets in the way of Damien's vague plans and boom, fatal "accident". Stand out scene is Damien's conversation with a giant crucifix he keeps in his attic.

The remake is not worth repeat visits, it's an exercise in brand-whoring. The filmmakers have no clue on what to do with this material. While there is plenty of opportunity for gothic-supernatural-thriller awesomeness, they find none...at all. It's like a cover of one of your favorite songs. Sometimes it's great, showing you a different side and that the song was just awesome no matter how it's presented. Sometimes it so bad, it not only makes you hate the artist who is doing the cover, it makes you second guess loving the original. This remake does no favors to the Omen series. It is pretty taint-ish, but I love the original so much I have blocked it from being tainted by this ungodly mess. Pun intended.

FYI, the packaging on this set is cheaper than a preschool construction paper project that someone spilt lunch milk on.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2011
Ok, first of all the digital transfer was OK, but far from perfect. Another case of the film company milking as many dollars from us as they can without truly putting allot of effort into it. What ticks me off the most is that they never even bothered to include ALL the films in this box set...does not have The Omen IV: The Awakening which was included in the DVD set I have. However the price was low and as I am replacing my out of date DVD's with BluRay I still can't complain....but very glad I didn't pay a dime more!!!!
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2012
First let me say I love these movies. This review is not on the movies, but on the packaging. I read negative reviews sometimes on other types of packaging, for things I have ordered, and for the most part it was exaggerated. I should have listened to the reviews for this though. I can see why it was so cheap to buy. Although it was nice getting four of the movies on blu-ray in one box, the cheap paper box they come in is pitiful. It came all bent up and the discs were not in their holders. It really does feel like a thick paper box, as stated by another reviewer, and not a cardboard box. The disc center holders in this box are made of some cheap foam with a thin piece of plastic over it in an attempt to hold in the discs. If you jostle these even a little the discs slide right off. If you are going to order this be prepared to, potentially, receive a damaged disc. If you don't receive a damaged disc I recommend picking up either four blu-ray cases or a four disc holder of some sort to replace this box.
33 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2002
I'm writing this review only to confirm what the other reviewers rightly said before me. The first 3 Omen movies in the collection make up a great horror trilogy. "Omen 3: The Final Conflict" is slightly disappointing compared to the previous two, but still manages to entertain.
Then comes "Omen 4:The Awakening". This made-for-tv horror movie should have never been made; it completely destroyed the whole series. Apart from the movie itself having many limitations, the plot does not even make sense. I mean, wasn't it supposed to be Judgement day at the end of "Omen 3"? The second coming of Christ meant that Satan would be defintely destroyed; bringing a definite end to darkness and evil and a new beginning for humanity. This was completely ignored in "Omen 4"; as was duly expected. Having the fourth installment in mind, obvious questions spring up; like "Where did Christ go after ascending on Earth?" "Did he come for a vacation"? "What actually happened on Judgement day?" "Was there even a judgement day"? Questions which certainly remain unanswered even by the creators of "Omen 4".
So if you are going to get this box set, don't expect much from no.4. As a matter of fact, expect nothing from 4. I only bought this box set because of the nice packaging; otherwise I would have purchased Omen 1,2 and 3 seperately. The choice is yours; at least you were warned!
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse