Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read!
The Unearthing grabs sci-fi readers by the shirt and shakes them awake with possibilities. What would the world's political and religious climate be like if we suddenly discovered that we truly aren't alone in the universe? Karmazenuk's colorful description of how it might all unfold will take you from cover to cover at lightspeed. Even if you're not an avid sci-fi...
Published on March 16, 2011 by sonik J

versus
62 of 68 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars meh.... ok time waster.. lots of room for improvement
If this story is a highway, it is full of potholes that jar you out of the drivers seat.

First... The author needs a proof reader. There were glaring errors every few pages that continually take you out of the story.

Second... Political bias... I have no problem with politics being intrinsic to the story, but when the author makes random political...
Published on August 28, 2011 by RB


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 68 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars meh.... ok time waster.. lots of room for improvement, August 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Omniverse The Unearthing (Kindle Edition)
If this story is a highway, it is full of potholes that jar you out of the drivers seat.

First... The author needs a proof reader. There were glaring errors every few pages that continually take you out of the story.

Second... Political bias... I have no problem with politics being intrinsic to the story, but when the author makes random political jabs that really have nothing to do with the story... it is another pothole. It is hard to maintain suspension of disbelief when characters some time in the future are still blaming George W. Bush.

Third... The author needs an editor. Badly! There are lengthy subplots that are never concluded, or conclude incompletely, such as the Gabriel Ashe subplot and he bug test pilot subplot. The James and Allison subplot don't really add anything to the story either. Additionally, while I'm not opposed to gratuitous sex scenes, the one in this book seemed grossly out of place. I felt as if the author lifted the text from some soft core porn novella, and dropped into a sci-fi novel.

I can certainly find worse ways to blow a dollar, but can't recommend wasting one on this in its current form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 66 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unsatisfactory On Every Level, August 22, 2011
By 
Harold (Walkertown, NC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Omniverse The Unearthing (Kindle Edition)
Let me begin with a caveat, I could only read the first half of the book. It is definitely not a book you can't put down and I had to force myself to read as much as I did. There are a number of absurdities in this book to list a few: a largely uninhabited region of the American Southwest was hit by a nuclear weapon during a world war but Los Angeles wasn't; the US and Britian set up the World Council but don't dominate it; evidently India, China and Russia don't exist as no mention is made of them; a world wide terroristic cult with at least tens of thousands of members comprised of drug addicts believe that their leader is the son of Christ commit thousands of coordinated terrorist strikes across the world all while remaining un-infiltrated by intelligence agents despite operating semi-openly; the Pope calls a council and invites all major and many minor religions to participate all while the Catholic Church hasn't come to any conclusions as to the theological implications for the discovery of an alien ship as to its own teachings; intelligent people are debating whether the ship interfered with evolution and is responsible for life as we know it despite the fact that life existed prior to the ship landing and the ship was buried by the impact of the KT asteroid and remained buried for 65 million years; and the author apparently believes that Popes can do as they please despite what previous Popes have decreed (ie Catholic priestesses are implied in the book). There are certainly more absurdities but these are the ones that come to me without introspection. As far as the writing style the plot moves in fits and bits. Generally a scene will advance no further than a couple or three pages before it cuts to another scene with different characters and location. Just let me say I really enjoy science fiction but reading this was not the least bit enjoyable. The author apparently has no idea how the military, politics or religion works and yet has set out to expound on all three. There isn't even much in the way of science. I only wish I could give it zero stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written, but intriguing!, September 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Omniverse The Unearthing (Kindle Edition)
The Unearthing, the first book in the Omniverse series, is poorly written, yet it is intriguing, enough so for me to read the sequel, Through Darkness and Stars. It is full of awkward sentences and typographical and editing errors. Most disconcerting is the character structure. I thought the book was about Dr. Mark Echohawk, yet a significant way into the book, for reasons I won't mention for fear of spoiling, that turned out not to be the case. Other characters received a lot of attention as well, only to be discarded in the story line (I keep wondering if they're going to come back in the next book, though that would take substantial creativity!).

Some scenes, such as a body viewing scene, received WAY TOO MUCH attention, while more interesting opportunities were frequently overlooked, resulting in my great disappointment. Overall, I had the impression that the book was the work of an untrained writer who sat down and just wrote the story from beginning to end, without planning or going back for a rework. It also struck me that there was no editorial guidance, either. It sure seems like a self-publishing effort, which is too bad, because professional input could have really made this book, in my opinion. I get it, though, and am generally in favor of self-publishing. However, I would urge all self-publishers to try and raise the quality of their projects to the highest possible levels to keep readers interested.

That said, The Unearthing is built around a very interesting premise, and I enjoyed the hints of philosophical and religious thought it tried to provoke. Although it was unsuccessful in exploring these areas, in my opinion, it did get me to thinking. The seeming randomness of so many things in this book make me wonder what's coming next in the sequel, Through Darkness and Star. So I'll plunk down $.99 to find out, although I suspect it may be predictable, based on the synopsis. My hope is it will be better than The Unearthing, and I do see it's getting higher ratings.

Still, serious flaws and all, I cannot lay down Mr. Karmazenuk's books. I hope he can grow technically as a writer, because he has some good and intriguing ideas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read!, March 16, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Omniverse The Unearthing (Kindle Edition)
The Unearthing grabs sci-fi readers by the shirt and shakes them awake with possibilities. What would the world's political and religious climate be like if we suddenly discovered that we truly aren't alone in the universe? Karmazenuk's colorful description of how it might all unfold will take you from cover to cover at lightspeed. Even if you're not an avid sci-fi reader, this book explores the sociology of alien discovery in such a way, you won't be able to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs focus and an editor, September 12, 2011
By 
Gerald Pauly (Auburn Hills, MI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Omniverse The Unearthing (Kindle Edition)
The Good:

The book has a great concept that I found very fascinating. The vision of the world was wonderful and I liked how a lot of the book dealt with the reactions of the people.

The Bad:

Grammar and spelling. The author needs an editor. The constant use of EXO for executive officer hurt because in the military it is abbreviated XO. Which told me that the author had done little research on the military or had little knowledge.

Also - the concept of the "Committee" was a little out there and didn't play any major part in the plot. Why create this concept when it wasn't needed.

The book could have been tighter. Get rid of the South American war. Right - does anyone remember it? Why did the ship allow certain people in who didn't pass the test? I know, probably handled in the next book.

I would have asked the ship - why didn't anyone come looking for you? Not a single crew member survived?

I'll read the next book to see where it goes but the story dragged to much to really excite me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Science Fiction, August 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Omniverse The Unearthing (Kindle Edition)
This one was really hard to read...I kept saying it has to get better with each click of the next page button on my Kindle. I came close to just stop reading it and moving on, but something kept me going as I thought it was going to get better: underneath a really drawn out storyline that really didn't focus on science fiction, the basic idea of the story was intriguing and could have been a grand slam hit. Alas, it really didn't deliver and it was "ok."

The author wastes a lot of words and space here - going down the rathole of a drug addict to the point it almost made me stop. I kept asking myself "where is the true science fiction?" I think fans of science fiction will say the same as it takes a long time for the author to make a point.

As I write this review, the Kindle version is just 99 cents - if you enjoy good and hard science fiction as I do, the price is certainly right but at the conclusion of the book you will be very disappointed. I would save your buck and, more important, your time and try something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original, if unpolished, September 11, 2011
By 
David Studhalter "Ionus" (North Hollywood, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Omniverse The Unearthing (Kindle Edition)
Some of the criticisms of this book in the reviews here are justified: there is some rather unnecessary dialog, overlong and not especially interesting "real life" scenes with the characters, and a certain amount of implausibility in some of the set-up. But, come on, folks, this is practically a first novel, and it has some REALLY clever alien tech ideas and some very intriguing speculations about the past and future of life in the universe, as well as an unfolding mystery about where it's all going, that are head and shoulders above most of the commercial science fiction being written these days. If you didn't find in this book at least a little bit of that Golden Age sense of wonder we all read science fiction FOR, then maybe you just don't really like real science fiction at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced, engrossing, and an excellent read..., March 17, 2011
This review is from: The Omniverse The Unearthing (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't put this book down. The alternate history (who knows, maybe it isn't as "alternate" as we think!), fed to the reader one bread crumb at a time, is entirely believable and quite fascinating. The characters are developed well and the subplots are all very relevant to the main story, unlike some other books I've recently read. The author provides just enough in terms of setting details to allow your mind to create a vision. You won't find yourself skipping lines or entire paragraphs since he doesn't bog you down with unnecessary details.

The story itself is a space opera in the making. As a fledgling author myself, I finished this book with all sorts of ideas on where it could go. I know that the author is involved in other projects, but I do hope he decides to continue this story over several novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lots of great ideas, author just didn't have the experience to execute, September 14, 2011
By 
Andrew Pollack (Cumberland, Maine USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Omniverse The Unearthing (Kindle Edition)
Overall, with the right editor giving some guidance, the author could produce some really fantastic work. It takes a crazy amount of talent and experience to produce world class results without an editor, however, and he just doesn't have those chops yet.

I really don't like being negative on a review of a self published book. The author put a lot of time and work into this book and he's got a lot of good ideas. I just don't think he has the experience yet to tie them all together and keep the pacing and story together.

I don't agree with some of the criticisms of excessive violence, drugs, sex, or political agenda. I don't even understand where those criticisms come from at all. The only sex or drugs in the book were central to one of the sub plots. Some of the prose around the casual softer drug use was awkward, but it was clearly there as exposition for later. There was very little actual sex in the novel, and the two heavy scenes were actually very well executed and while unusual in the science fiction book world, would be considered reasonable or even a little tame in more mainstream fiction. The same holds true for religion. I thought Karmazenuk treated the topic with a great deal of respect and balance, though I think he overplayed the detail on his 'bad guy' religious figure.

I frequently -- almost constantly -- found myself outside the story and noticing the writing.

The writing itself:

From the beginning, I found the dialog uncomfortable and a little stilted. The formatting on the page wasn't quite standard either. It wasn't unreadable, it just felt awkward. Frequent grammar mistakes really highlight the value an editor. One of my pet peeves is when an author makes the mistake of starting a sentence with an article like "but" or "and" and he does that frequently.

The concepts:

Karmazenuk, the author, has a lot of very sophisticated ideas wrapped up in here, and a good editor could have helped him flesh those out into something fascinating; instead, they really didn't go anywhere in this novel. Aside from main "first contact" idea he examines the impact of first contact on religion and the impact of violence on his characters. There is a lot of sophistication there, and I think his treatment of the ramifications of being involved in a violent incident on one of his main characters was really quite good and unusual in a genre book. His religious exploration was more idealized and less sophisticated -- particularly the mainstream religious 'good guys'.

The Plot:

There really wasn't anything I would call a single overall plot holding the book together. There was a melange of subplots, most of which had very little actual conflict in them. The one clear case of a bad guy in a plot had a very ambiguous 'good guy' to play off and ultimately that whole line of the story just petered out and ended without any kind of real resolution. The story moved along more like a long shaggy dog story than anything else and ultimately didn't build tension on any of the plot lines. The balance of time spent on the various sub plots was also really strange. The whole thing just never came together. By the end, I didn't care much about anyone in it.

This has been a really negative review because the book wasn't very readable in its current state. The same book could become something awesome with some rework, some tuning, and a good editor to help give it shape. I really would like to encourage Karmazenuk to keep writing, to find a good editor to work with and then listen to him or her.

Is it worth a dollar? Sure it is, but it isn't something you're going to lose yourself in on a summer day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Soap Opera in Print, October 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Omniverse The Unearthing (Kindle Edition)
After you get through all the Anti-American, and Anti-Military attitude/rhetoric, you can finally get to the soap opera, oops, I mean story.
Speaking of Anti-Military, where in the world did the author get "War Theater" from. I've been involved in operations that required a CCC, C-in-C, or even a Forwards Operations center before, (most people just call it the company HQ). But come on, a "War Theater" for a company sized unit.
Also, it's XO, not Exo for an executive officer.
I forced myself to read this entire book, waiting for it to get better, it didn't.
This book's climatic conclusion, was some forty odd pages of people packing, prior to launching the Ship.
Save yourself money and boredom.
If you've already waded through this book, read some Weber, Anderson, Meluch, or Larson, to get the bad taste out of your mouth, I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Omniverse The Unearthing
The Omniverse The Unearthing by Steve Karmazenuk
$4.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.