Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There isn't a better book on Entrepreneurial Spirit.
I own 4 businesses and this work by Don Hutson and Ken Blanchard has given me many great insights.
If you don't read it, it will be a mistake.
Published on April 30, 2008 by Thomas J. Winninger

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, Blanchard really phones this one in.
Compared to some of his previous books this one really disappoints. The story is told as a hokey narrative (as is Blanchard's style) of the hapless protagonist as he struggles to start his career in sales and then start his own business. It quickly dissolves into a shameless ad for a half dozen or so motivational speakers and fellow authors. Very little meat on the bone...
Published on July 25, 2008 by R. Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, Blanchard really phones this one in., July 25, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The One Minute Entrepreneur: The Secret to Creating and Sustaining a Successful Business (Hardcover)
Compared to some of his previous books this one really disappoints. The story is told as a hokey narrative (as is Blanchard's style) of the hapless protagonist as he struggles to start his career in sales and then start his own business. It quickly dissolves into a shameless ad for a half dozen or so motivational speakers and fellow authors. Very little meat on the bone. Each chapter ends with a list of a few folksy hints and tips our hero learns, but they are often not well developed or supported in the story and add little to this boring shallow book. Pass on this one. For a good getting started in business story with better take-aways read Maverick: The Success Story Behind the World's Most Unusual Workplace by Ricardo Semler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flat, traditional, and sickeningly 'wholesome', June 5, 2008
By 
Jacob Hart (Norman, Oklahoma) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The One Minute Entrepreneur: The Secret to Creating and Sustaining a Successful Business (Hardcover)
I understand that this is supposed to be a "parable," but I find the characters one-dimensional and difficult to identify with. There is a traditional, conservative thread running throughout the book -- Jud is very, very much a down-home, clean-cut type. He marries (of course), has two children (of course), and ends up creating a corporate culture that includes the typical terminology we're all so sick of -- "contact with the customer" is relabeled as "moments of truth," the company's philosophy is centered around some acrostic of the words "I CARE," and so on.

I couldn't quite finish this book, short though it was. There were some pieces of wisdom that may or may not be obvious ("play to your passion," "listen to others," "don't be afraid to ask for help"), but overall, I found the characters and story to be too flat and smarmy to endure. The book seems to be a poor approximation of life. I like the fact that the authors made an attempt to put their advice into context by forming a story around it, but the entire book is unrealistic.

Jud and Terri are not like real people. I couldn't identify with them. The whole adventure reads like a "family-values" sitcom written by conservative businessmen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Summarizes Many Other Books in a Fable about a Public Speaking Business, July 28, 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The One Minute Entrepreneur: The Secret to Creating and Sustaining a Successful Business (Hardcover)
Fables can be an effective way to communicate if the fable is based on something that everyone can relate to. If you make a living getting paid thousands of dollars for speaking just a few minutes, you'll really relate to this book. Oh, you don't do that? I guess the fable won't work as well if you run a pizza shop, clean drains, or sell bicycles.

The book's second problem is that the authors are trying to cram in too much information. The One Minute Manager had three points in it. This book has dozens. As a result, you get lots of lists that you won't quite understand unless you've read all the other books referenced here.

If you want to be an entrepreneur, my advice would be to skip this book and read something about what someone has done in your line of business that's not being duplicated near where you are. You'll understand that kind of book much better, and you'll get more benefit from your reading.

I think that the wonderful Ken Blanchard is spreading himself too thin if he thought this was a well-done book that would help millions of entrepreneurs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing..., May 21, 2008
This review is from: The One Minute Entrepreneur: The Secret to Creating and Sustaining a Successful Business (Hardcover)
I've read and learned from other books in the "One Minute" series, but this book was pure drivel. The entire book revolves around simple, common-sense concepts any entrepreneur better already know - make more money than you spend, treat your customers well, don't abuse your employees...

In the world this book was created in, everybody wants to help, be on your advisory board, donate money, mentor you, etc, and totally for free (including the time to talk with you, be on your board, fly to your office at their own expense...). It's pretty rare for any of that to come in the real world without a steep price tag.

I remember their advice on open-book finances being a quickly passing fad 15 years ago or so. If you're having financial problems, don't count on your employees to care as much about the business as you do. For the most part, employees care about their paycheques, not about your bottom line. Yes, you can be careful with your screening process and get some good employees, but people are more worried about their own problems, not yours. Nothing is as simple as this book would lead you to believe.

There is nothing practical about the advice in this book. Nothing in the book will help you start a business from scratch. Go read The One Minute Salesperson instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I'm embarassed for Blanchard..., August 28, 2008
By 
nrossiter (Amelia Island, FL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I agree with the other one-star reviews - Blanchard's "one minute manager" was a fantastic book - a completely new way of managing presented in a thoughtful, concise manner. His other books (Gung Ho, Raving Fans, etc.) are also well done, so I was VERY dissapointed with this text. The characters are hokey, and the "plot" is very cliche. Additionally this book does not add anything to the body of material that is out there regarding entreprenrship. The tagline "The secret to creating and maintianing a successful business" is much better illustrated through Tim Ferriss' "The 4-Hour Workweek: Escape 9-5, Live Anywhere, and Join the New Rich".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars close your eyes--the entrepreneur has no clothes, March 4, 2010
This review is from: The One Minute Entrepreneur: The Secret to Creating and Sustaining a Successful Business (Hardcover)
What you're getting: A silly parable with some self-help bullets tacked-up on the end of each chapter.

This is the One-Minute formula, so on the one hand, no surprise there. You don't buy the One-Minute-Hot-Workplace-Topic-of-the-Week expecting leading edge knowledge or even profundity. You're buying a pick-me-up. A quick, feel-good read in hopes of gaining 1-2 takeaways.

This fails to meet even those low-expectations.

The story--aside from being ridiculously irrelevant to planet earth entrepreneurs--is poorly written. Horrible. The only thing the characters inspired in me was the urge to give Jud McCarley (the protagonist) a wedgie.

And, as for those signature distilled points of wisdom? You'd swear they were taken from the discard pile of a 1950's Reader's Digest draft. Nothing more than tired, recycled, and randomly applied self-help cliches. Half of them aren't even particularly relevant to entrepreneurism.

The pro? It's a short book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Laced to the brim with Cheese, June 13, 2013
This review is from: The One Minute Entrepreneur: The Secret to Creating and Sustaining a Successful Business (Hardcover)
While three pieces of cake are generally better than one. The formula doesn't translate the same way when it comes to authors. Somehow this book managed to suck while having three authors on board!

This business book is written in a story format about a guy named Jud who pursues a career in motivational speaking and winds up starting his own company. He grows that company from just him and his wife to a large corporation. The lessons that this book has for entrepreneurs are cliché, outdated and naive.

For example, the author talks about a hotel morning wakeup call where the receptionist tells the character "It's seven O'clock. It's going to be 75 degrees..." and then she asks him where is he going when he checks out? He says New York City. So she then checks the weather map on her USA today (I guess the internet wasn't out yet) and says it's going to be rainy there can't you stay another day! The author hails this experience as amazing.

Furthermore, the authors never get into the details of execution, or the tough questions that arise when the entrepreneur is met with failure. For example, in the book the main character Jud was faced with some tough times and asked his staff to take a pay cut. Amazingly they all accepted the pay cut! Not only is this not realistic, the authors here missed the opportunity to teach others how to deal with uncooperative employees.

In addition to all of this, the story is laced to the brim with cheesy lines, and sentimental material that will make even the most feminine of women puke! Everyone in the story is giving everyone else hugs and cheesy lines like "profit is the applause you get for taking care of your customers" and so on.

Also starting a motivational speaking business is an easy way out for the authors. It's like an accountant starting a tax filing company. The authors missed the chance to make this a more useful business book. If this was a product based business, one can learn how to go through the design phase, to manufacturing, marketing, selling, operations, logistics, warranty claims and more! But if you take a motivational speaker and tell me that he wants to start a motivational/public speaking company then how much is there to do really?

These authors are too old to be relevant. They don't have the agility or the hunger to learn new tricks to keep up with the new entrepreneurial trends of selling your own app, starting you own Software Company or even opening a new franchise-able restaurant. They wrote a book about their business, featured their own friends as heroes in the book (who surprisingly then wrote raving reviews on the book's cover) and just put no work or real effort into this. This book is garbage. Stay away from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dont hope for too much, June 26, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The One Minute Entrepreneur: The Secret to Creating and Sustaining a Successful Business (Hardcover)
A pleasant book to read as it conveys ideas and teachings in the form of a story. 3 stars for the content though...as it could have conveyed more useful information as suggested by the lucrative front cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fast, Easy Read, June 26, 2008
By 
Stace (FL, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The One Minute Entrepreneur: The Secret to Creating and Sustaining a Successful Business (Hardcover)
This book is a fast, easy read to remind those in business to keep what is important in the forefront of their minds. For most business professionals the key points are common sense, however, sometimes we all need to be reminded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There isn't a better book on Entrepreneurial Spirit., April 30, 2008
This review is from: The One Minute Entrepreneur: The Secret to Creating and Sustaining a Successful Business (Hardcover)
I own 4 businesses and this work by Don Hutson and Ken Blanchard has given me many great insights.
If you don't read it, it will be a mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The One Minute Entrepreneur: The Secret to Creating and Sustaining a Successful Business
$19.95 $15.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.