Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun to read, easy to understand, hard to master- not just for salesmen!
This book is not actually part of the famed "One Minute Manager" series by Ken Blanchard- although Ken does provide a Foreword and the overall presentation is quite a bit like those books. Author Don Hudson has also co-authored The One Minute Entrepreneur with Ken Blanchard.

I can only hope you have read "The One Minute Manger" already- it's a classic, and so...
Published on September 2, 2010 by Wulfstan

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Marketing tool
This book is nothing but a marketing tool to expose the reader to their co. I think that would be fine, should they have delivered a bit more of content. If you have read negotiation books or have had formal negotiation training this book is not very helpful. Would not buy this book. Instead, I would go to youtube and watch a few of Don Hutson's talks. He is a very good...
Published on October 14, 2010 by FNL


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun to read, easy to understand, hard to master- not just for salesmen!, September 2, 2010
By 
Wulfstan "wulfstan" (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The One Minute Negotiator: Simple Steps to Reach Better Agreements (Hardcover)
This book is not actually part of the famed "One Minute Manager" series by Ken Blanchard- although Ken does provide a Foreword and the overall presentation is quite a bit like those books. Author Don Hudson has also co-authored The One Minute Entrepreneur with Ken Blanchard.

I can only hope you have read "The One Minute Manger" already- it's a classic, and so are several other of Ken Blanchard's books. (Who Moved My Cheese? Is another fun title).

The One Minute Negotiator: Simple Steps to Reach Better Agreements is an easy read, with plenty of fun little anecdotes (or as they say "parables" ), just like the One Minute Manager. Here, rather than finding cheese, the two main characters try to master their "negotiaphobia".

This book teaches you the four basic negotiation steps- in a "EASY" method - E.A.S.Y (Engage, Assess, Strategize, Your One Minute Drill).

Now, I know you're saying "well, I don't really negotiate all that much, I am in ....... not sales. " Well, sure, but negotiation is something we use more than just on the job, it's also something we use with family members and as consumers- how about getting a better loaner car, or getting a fair shake when your hotel reservation is lost, or even in a big-box retail store? YOU also need to conquer your "negotiaphobia".

To quote the authors: "Other people pride themselves in always being a competitive battler. This is not a good strategy when you run out of gas in the middle of the desert, and a tow truck comes by with a gas can. Unless you want to end up being a buzzard's entree, you had best be somewhat agreeable.

The One Minute Negotiator model gives you four alternative strategies to choose from in your quest for a desirable outcome. With this model, you can innovatively match the strategy to the situation--rather than using a one-size-fits-all approach."

This book is easy to understand, fun to read and even if you never master the techniques here (it's harder than they make it seem, trust me) you will certainly learn the basic techniques (Be Flexible!) and be better (and less nervous) at those every day negotiations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Marketing tool, October 14, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The One Minute Negotiator: Simple Steps to Reach Better Agreements (Hardcover)
This book is nothing but a marketing tool to expose the reader to their co. I think that would be fine, should they have delivered a bit more of content. If you have read negotiation books or have had formal negotiation training this book is not very helpful. Would not buy this book. Instead, I would go to youtube and watch a few of Don Hutson's talks. He is a very good speaker and you will get the same content of the book for free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good framework to look at negotiation, February 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The One Minute Negotiator: Simple Steps to Reach Better Agreements (Hardcover)
There are tons of negotiation books, and that's just on my shelves. However, there is always room for another, especially if it is an easy read with some practical suggestions, and that is just what "The One Minute Negotiator: Simple Steps to Reach Better Agreements" by Don Hutson and George Lucas provides. It has a Foreword by Ken Blanchard, author of "The One Minute Manager," and like that classic text, this book is written as a parable with the negotiation lessons coming out as the main character of the story learns them. It's not earth shattering, especially to someone who teaches mediation and negotiation skills. But it is a good, simple book, that will help those who suffer from what the authors call negotiaphobia.

The story is about Jay Baxter, who works for XL Information Solutions, and who embarks on a company cruise. It just so happens, that a speaker on the cruise will be presenting a seminar called "Treating Your Negotiaphobia." Jay is reluctant to attend, and even puts his foot in his mouth while talking to the negotiation instructor the night before the seminar, as he does not know who he is talking to. (Yes, it is predictable, and you the reader know right away the mistake he is making.)

Jay decides to be committed to the course and see what he can learn. To his surprise, the concepts the instructor teaches make sense and he embraces the information and enjoys the seminar. Obviously, he uses the newly learned strategies and concepts after leaving the cruise to succeed in his position.

So, yes, it is a simple story and predictable. But you are not really reading it to be entertained and kept in suspense. The key to the book is the formula the instructor teaches during his on board seminar. It is a simple process that entails recognizing you are in a negotiation and reviewing the viable strategies, evaluating your tendency to use each of the negotiation strategies, as well as the tendencies of the other side(s), and selecting the proper strategy for the particular negotiation.

The authors do a good job of explaining the concepts and why they are important. At the end of each chapter there is a summary of the chapter's insights. At the beginning of this review, I commented on how many negotiation books are out there. Many of them teach specific negotiation strategies and tactics. This book is different in that it teaches a framework to look at negotiations and I would encourage people to look at the techniques and tactics learned elsewhere through this framework.

One thing about the book is that it is very easy to read. It's not long at all, and if it provides a framework for you to look at negotiations differently, especially if you suffer from negotiaphobia, it will be worth your time. We negotiate all of the time, and any time you can learn to increase your effectiveness in this valuable skill, it will pay off. This was a good addition to my conflict and negotiation resources, and I'm sure I'll review it now and then as I continue to teach others, learn, and negotiate myself.

Reviewed by Alain Burrese, J.D., author of a regular column on negotiation for The Montana Lawyer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Things Come From This Small Package, September 3, 2010
This review is from: The One Minute Negotiator: Simple Steps to Reach Better Agreements (Hardcover)
"The One Minute Negotiator" follows the simple formula of short, sweet, and to the point as do the other books in the "One Minute" series. Aiming to cure "negotiaphobia" is the subtext of this book that does a surprisingly great job of keeping the reader turning the page the deeper he or she delves into the book. Overall a great, short read with vast amounts of information crammed into just over 100 pages. Reading this, you might just learn how to put money back in your pocket instead of leaving it on the table...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Negotiate Your Way to Buying This Book!, September 3, 2010
By 
Shep Hyken (St. Louis, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The One Minute Negotiator: Simple Steps to Reach Better Agreements (Hardcover)
I admit to being a Don Hutson fan. I've been reading his books and studying his sales programs for years. This book did not let me down. As a matter of fact, it may be my favorite Don Hutson book to date. I also admit to being a fan of learning through story. Don and George tell a simple story that brings in numerous examples that teaches how to negotiate in various situations. In addition to enjoying the book myself, I have a client that used Don as a speaker earlier this year. The material Don delivered was right out of the book. My client said he "hit it out of the park." What that tells me is that executives and sales people love the content. I think you will to.

-- Shep Hyken, New York Times and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of "The Amazement Revolution: Seven Customer Service Strategies to Create Amazing Customer (and Employee) Experiences."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We all need to negotiate more, September 7, 2010
By 
This review is from: The One Minute Negotiator: Simple Steps to Reach Better Agreements (Hardcover)
This quick read by George Lucas and Don Hutson gives the reader simple steps (as the subtitle states) to getting over our fear of negotiating. Many cultures negotiate for almost everything, but we Americans rarely do -- except for cars and houses. Everyone can learn and confidently try the suggestions given in everyday situations and purchases.
While a very informative book for people who negotiate in business, it is also written for the rest of us.
I have had the opportunity to try a couple of the book's suggestions this past week and am really pleased with the results. I will definitely keep practicing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Negotiations..., January 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The One Minute Negotiator: Simple Steps to Reach Better Agreements (Hardcover)
The book of the week was The One Minute Negotiator by Don Hutson and George Lucas. This was a very good book. I had a couple take-aways that I am excited to use in my daily leadership detail. The book is about taking simple steps to reaching a better agreement.

When most people think about negotiating they think about big business deals and before I read this book that is what my first thought was when thinking about a negotiation. However, you don't need to be putting on your negotiation hat just for the big things in the business world. Any small conversation with someone within your organization can be a time to use what we know about negotiating. Let me take a little time and illustrate some of the main ideas from this particular book.

Like all the 'One Minute..." books the main idea is encompassed within a story format. It makes it entertaining for a lot of people and helps with the memorization of the subject matter. But I'm not going to go into the story... just the proverbial "meat and potatoes" here at The Guide to Get Rich....

My favorite part of the whole book stems from Hutson and Lucas's Negotiation Strategy Matrix shown here:

You can either have a proactive or reactive strategy while at the same time having low cooperation or high cooperation. The ideal quadrant to operate within while negotiating is collaboration; this will result in a win-win. Any other quadrant will result in a win-lose situation for the most part. Again you can negotiate within any small conversation that you intend to reach an agreement. Generally, when people have what is perceived to them as a small conversation they will be reactive instead of proactive, so they either avoid the conversation, letting the other person make the decision without them involved or they will accommodate and give into whatever decision the other person wants. Being reactive can have devastating long-term consequences.

And the other side you can be proactive in your negotiations. On one hand you can be collaborative and make your ideal win-win solution, however, if you are on the low end of cooperation you end up in the competition quadrant and you end up with a win-lose situation. But while the previous situations led to you being the loser, this situation leads you to be the winner and the other party being the loser. This still isn't ideal because you end up tearing down that relationship in the long-term.

If you focus on this very simple negotiation strategy matrix you can effectively make better agreements and build up your long-term relationships. Ultimately, resulting in the strengthening of your personal leadership abilities and, additionally, achieving results within your organization.

A little more about the book... it was just released a couple weeks ago. Inside the book is a quiz to analyze what quadrant you are most inclined to use on a regular basis. The quiz is a very effective tool in self-evaluating your subconscious negotiation technique. The authors also add an EASY process for negotiations... it stands for Engage, Assess, Strategize, and Your One Minute Drill. It's a fun little tool to help you habitualize (it's not a real word, but you get the idea) your negotiation strategy.

Overall, very good book and simple read. I recommend it to everyone because not only is it something you can use in the business world, but since we now know that negotiations are not just intended for the business world, you can use the techniques from this book at home and have tremendous results. As always, if you have any questions on the book don't hesitate to ask. I would be more than happy to help anyone that wants it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short book but power packed and easy to read, December 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The One Minute Negotiator: Simple Steps to Reach Better Agreements (Hardcover)
One minute negotiator is a short book. But don't judge this book by the size of it. This one is power packed and also easy to read.

The author presents a simple negotiation framework, that is easy to grasp and also implement. The framework is called "EASY" - Engage, Assess, Strategize and Your one minute drill.

Engage - Identify whether you are in a negotiation and review the viable negotiation strategies

Assess - Assess your tendency in using these strategies and also what strategy opponent's will use

Strategize - Select the proper strategy for this particular situation

Your one minute drill - Before you begin the negotiation, take a minute to review the above three steps.

Entire content of this book circles around the above mentioned steps and the author elaborates the same with suitable samples.

Anyone who wants to improve his/her skill set in negotiation should read this book first.

I highly recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Negotiating Tips - Enjoyable Writing Style, September 28, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The One Minute Negotiator: Simple Steps to Reach Better Agreements (Hardcover)
This is one of the best negotiating books I've ever read. It's a quick, easy read; you can complete it in a day or two. If you liked the One-Minute Salesperson or Raving Fans, the style is similar and there is plenty of substance. I highly recommend this for both the person who considers him/herself to be an experienced negotiator and the person who dreads the thought of negotiating anything. That it will appeal to both types and teach everyone something is a good indicator that this is an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Business collections will find this appealing!, December 11, 2010
This review is from: The One Minute Negotiator: Simple Steps to Reach Better Agreements (Hardcover)
The One Minute Negotiator: Simple Steps to Reach Better Agreements comes from the co-author of The One Minute Entrepreneur and offers a proven approach to negotiating anything. It comes in a 'business story' format to make for easy access and presents the story of a sales pro who learns how to navigate the finer art of negotiation. Business collections will find this appealing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The One Minute Negotiator: Simple Steps to Reach Better Agreements
The One Minute Negotiator: Simple Steps to Reach Better Agreements by Don Hutson (Hardcover - August 30, 2010)
$22.95 $12.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.