Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insulting Those You do not Know
I know Paul Washer. I have sat under his teaching. I have conversed with him, both regarding his teaching, and regarding the faith. He speaks hard things, but he speaks honest things. If you are looking to get your ears tickled, don't buy this book, because instead of getting them tickled you'll be getting them boxed. Paul teaches hard things, but he teaches honest...
Published on March 30, 2009 by William Maddock

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars group study only
I'm a fan of Paul Washer but this book is not that super duper. It is a workbook intended for a pencil in hand reading. It would only be usefull for group study as far as I can tell. I've looked it over several times since I got it a few months ago but can't get interested enough to do it alone. I'm hoping an oppurtunity to do a group study will present itself soon...
Published on July 17, 2011 by JASON


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insulting Those You do not Know, March 30, 2009
This review is from: The One True God (Spiral-bound)
I know Paul Washer. I have sat under his teaching. I have conversed with him, both regarding his teaching, and regarding the faith. He speaks hard things, but he speaks honest things. If you are looking to get your ears tickled, don't buy this book, because instead of getting them tickled you'll be getting them boxed. Paul teaches hard things, but he teaches honest things, he teaches solid things, and he teaches the true things. So, if you want to know God as He really is instead of like the ear-ticklers would prefer He was, park yourself between the pages of this book and don't come up except to eat, drink, and breathe the Bible, which is the Word of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid, Biblical Study, March 31, 2009
By 
This review is from: The One True God (Spiral-bound)
It is a question I am asked a lot: what Bible study curriculum do you recommend? I rarely know what to say. There are so many of them available; time would fail me to collect, examine and review them all. I was interested, then, to see that Paul Washer is releasing a new edition of The One True God, a title first released several years ago. It is published by Granted Ministries Press. No less than Iain Murray declares that it is "the best introductory work known to me. ... Young Christians could scarcely spend their time better than working carefully through these pages."

This is a 192 page hardcover book meant for serious study. "The great goal of this study is for the student to have an encounter with God through His Word. Founded upon the conviction that the Scriptures are the inspired and infallible Word of God, this study has been designed in such a way that it is literally impossible for the student to advance without an open Bible before him or her." And he is right. A person who seeks to skim through this study or who leaves it for the last minute will not only gain very little but will actually be unable to complete it.

Washer begins his book this necessary, valuable exhortation. "The study of doctrine is both an intellectual and devotional discipline. It is a passionate search for God that should always lead the student to greater personal transformation, obedience, and heartfelt worship. Therefore, the student should be on guard against the great error of seeking only impersonal knowledge, and not the person of God. Neither mindless devotion nor mere intellectual pursuits are profitable, for in either case, God is lost." The purpose of this study, then, is not merely to increase knowledge, but to increase devotion. At the same time, we must not downplay knowledge for "The mind is not the enemy of the heart, and doctrine is not an obstacle to devotion. The two are indispensable and should be inseparable." We must love God with heart, soul and mind; we must love God in both spirit and truth.

Each of the book's fourteen lessons looks to a specific attribute of God. Studies include "God is One," "God is Spirit," "God is Righteous," "God is Creator and Sustainer" and "The Names of God." The student will complete lessons only by looking to Scripture, studying it and understanding it. It is self-directed in that the benefit gained will be directly proportional to the work given to it. Says Washer, "The student will find that this is primarily a Biblical study and does not contain much in the way of colorful illustrations, quaint stories, or even theological commentaries. It was our desire to provide a work that only pointed the way to the Scriptures and allowed the Scriptures to speak for themselves." And this is exactly what he accomplishes.

The lessons are completed right within the book, ensuring that this is a book you will personalize and make your own. There are fill-in-the-blank questions, questions that will require turning to Scripture and completing a sentence or two of summary, and questions that will require thought and application. All of this is interspersed with solid, biblical teaching about the person and character of God. You can view an older edition of the book here if you would like to get a taste of the format (though you should note that the new edition looks quite a bit nicer, even if the content is the same).

Suitable for individual use, small groups or Sunday school classes, this is a valuable book and one that will serve you well. It will draw your mind, your heart and your affections to the One True God. I highly recommend it and agree with Iain Murray--a young Christian could scarcely do better than to work through it with care, keeping his Bible open all the while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meets A Real Need!, March 31, 2009
By 
Garrett Holthaus (Kirksville, MO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The One True God (Spiral-bound)
There are many excellent books on the attributes of God (e.g., Pink, Charnock Tozer), but this one meets a real need: the need for students of the Word to encounter the God of the Bible through the text of the Bible itself. This workbook is geared more towards new believers, but it should not be relegated to "beginner material" as there is plenty of meat here for all Christians to profit from. In short, if you desire a more intimate knowledge of the God of the Bible by digging into the Scriptures themselves, then this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for solid theology teaching!, December 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The One True God: A Biblical study of the Doctrine of God (Paperback)
This is a great workbook, that is well put together. It is a very systematic and eye opening. I am currently using this book to teach HS teens what the bible says about the One True God. This is a must for all Christians of today who want to be directed to key passages about who God says He is. This is a cut above anything else out on the internet or in the store hows today. Also is didn't cost anything to download it from the heart cry website. It is a free resource if you want to print it off yourself. It was so good I bought the softcopy. I think my church will be doing all of Paul washers books soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid, Truthful, Helpful, Biblically Sound with the Right Presuppositions, July 6, 2010
This review is from: The One True God (Spiral-bound)
There are a thousand study guides out there--which one to choose... which one to choose? Topics are endless, choices are endless--it can easily discourage even the most ardent study guide pursuer. This study guide helps alleviate many of the frustrating and discouraging thought-processes that can tie up a person's decision for so long they might not start studying for a good amount of time... if ever. What makes this such a treasured find is its basic and easy-to-follow format. Paul doesn't confuse the reader with his vast, deep knowledge of theological rhetoric. He makes the the teaching and learning of the one, true God basic enough for even the most unchurched person and the most churched person--as regenerate believers.

But the interesting part is whatever season in life you're in, in your religious pursuits, this study guide will only serve to deepen your pursuits. My personal opinion is that starting out with a right perspective and knowledge of the God of the bible is the only way you can really ever practically apply what God is demanding of us as His disciples.

I don't know Paul Washer, personally, so I can't attest to his life or godliness. I have, however, listened and read enough of Washer to know that he is biblically sound and knows his theology proper material, thoroughly.

This study guide has eternal value written throughout its pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food for the soul, February 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The One True God: A Biblical study of the Doctrine of God (Paperback)
A much needed and well executed workbook that should form a core part of any Christian's library. Paul Washer guides the reader through the Bible to reveal answers to the most important question anyone can ask; 'Who is God?'
The layout is clear and easy to follow, themes follow on from one another logically. The book is both informative and inspiring and passes the most important test of any Christian book in that it leads the heart to worship.
Whether you are Catholic, Pentecostal, Charismatic, Evangelical or Reformed this book is for you. It is rare to find such solid biblical teaching that is so refreshingly free of bias. The One True God stands out as a shining example of how to rightly divide the word of truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Truly Good Resource, January 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The One True God: A Biblical study of the Doctrine of God (Paperback)
I bought a few for my family and I to do after watching some Paul Washer vids and seeing the importance of having a Biblical understanding of how amazing and awesome God really is. This workbook will help anyone who will take their time going through it to truly study the Bible using this book as a guide.

One thing I like most about this workbook compared to other workbooks is that Washer allows the Scriptures (thru the Holy Spirit) to do the talking and convincing, and not his own personal opinion. It is laid out very well, and there is plenty of writing for you to do in answering the questions.

I'm actually writing this review while I'm here to buy a few more for discipling purposes so ya, I'd highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book, September 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The One True God: A Biblical study of the Doctrine of God (Paperback)
This book is a GREAT book for people who are students of God's word. The book lays out attributes of God and gives you a true prospective of who God truly is. Please get one!!!! I believe a lot of people are misinformed of who God truly is. We have a small view of God. Not to say you need a book to guide you but this book is definitely helpful. Please consider Ezra 7:10. We should be definitely studying God's word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great study book, September 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The One True God: A Biblical study of the Doctrine of God (Paperback)
The total picture of God and a study method to present those qualities in a interesting way to a group of people in various levels of spiritual maturity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes!, June 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am just a big supporter of Paul Washer, I think he is one of the top pastors out there. He is humble and loving. He speaks truth.God bless him and this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The One True God: A Biblical study of the Doctrine of God
The One True God: A Biblical study of the Doctrine of God by Paul Washer (Paperback - October 21, 2011)
$5.25 $4.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.