Customer Reviews


170 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


277 of 293 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Friends - The Complete 7th Season!!!
The Seventh Series of Friends, I hate to admit, is not my favourite. I believe the storylines are a little to mundane and the actors try and do the best with what they're given. Their are 24 episodes in all. Below is a description of each to refresh your memories.
The One With Monica's Thunder - Chandler begins to worry about his performance in the bedroom. Monica...
Published on January 23, 2004 by S. N. LLOYD-COOMBS

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I knew they were edited!
I was planning to replace my DVDs with the download versions. Mistake! I am not concerned with the extras but did expect the whole episode to be included.... I quit buying after my second season purchase.
Published 24 months ago by Holly


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

277 of 293 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Friends - The Complete 7th Season!!!, January 23, 2004
By 
This review is from: Friends: Season 7 (DVD)
The Seventh Series of Friends, I hate to admit, is not my favourite. I believe the storylines are a little to mundane and the actors try and do the best with what they're given. Their are 24 episodes in all. Below is a description of each to refresh your memories.
The One With Monica's Thunder - Chandler begins to worry about his performance in the bedroom. Monica catches Rachel and Ross kissing and thinks Rachel is trying to upstage her recent engagement

The One With Rachel's Book - Everyone begins planning for Chandler and Monica's wedding - except her parents, who blow her wedding money on a beach house.

The One With Phoebe's Cookies - Phoebe holds the key to the best-tasting cookies ever, which drives chef Monica crazy. Rachel gets high-handed while trying to teach Joey how to sail.
The One With Rachel's Assistant - Given the chance to employ her own assistant, Rachel overlooks more able female candidates in favour of a young, attractive man.

The One With The Engagement Picture - While taking an engagement picture for himself and Monica, Chandler can't help pulling a weird face.

The One With The Nap Partners - Rachel and Phoebe compete to be Monica's maid of honour. Joey and Ross find themselves in awkward positions after a nap.

The One With Ross's Library Book - Monica runs into Janice and accidentally invites her to the wedding. Ross is upset that his dissertation is in the section of the library where students go to make out.

The One Where Chandler Doesn't Like Dogs - Tag joins the gang for Thanksgiving dinner, where Joey proceeds to spill the beans about Rachel's crush on him. Phoebe sneaks a dog into the apartment, making Chandler extremely nervous

The One With All The Candy - Monica decides to make candy for the neighbors in her apartment building so that she can get to know all of them.

The One With the Holiday Armadillo - Chandler and Monica go on a special date, where he realizes he's not as smooth as her ex, Richard. Phoebe worries that Rachel would rather stay living with Joey instead of moving into their new apartment together.
The One With All The Cheesecakes - Monica is hurt when she isn't invited to her cousin's wedding but Ross is.

The One Where They're Up All Night - Ross assembles the gang on the roof to watch a meteor shower, but becomes trapped up there with Joey.

The One Where Rosita Dies - Phoebe's first day as a telemarketer takes a bizarre turn when she encounters a distraught office supply manager who wants to end it all.

The One Where They All Turn Thirty - As the gang celebrate Rachel's 30th birthday, she ponders what she should do to achieve her remaining life ambitions. The others look back at their own 30th birthday parties.

The One With Joey's New Brain - Joey accidentally tells a fellow cast member on 'Days of Our Lives' that she is to be fired.
The One With The Truth About London - Chandler finds out that Monica actually wanted to sleep with Joey in London.
The One With The Cheap Wedding Dress - Monica regrets telling a fellow bride-to-be about a cheaper bridal store when she has to fight the woman tooth and nail for a unique wedding dress.

The One With Joey's Award - Joey is nominated for a Soapy award and takes Rachael as his date. Ross's student confesses that he has fallen in love with him.
The One With Ross and Monica's Cousin - When Ross and Monica's alluring cousin arrives for a visit, her beauty causes serious distractions for all the men who meet her, including Ross.
The One With Rachel's Big Kiss - An embarrassed Rachel bumps into her old sorority sister and wonders whether to confront her old friend about an incident from their college days.
The One With The Vows - Monica and Chandler try to write their wedding vows, with both asking the others for help.
The One With Chandler's Dad - Monica convinces a reluctant Chandler to travel to Las Vegas and invite his estranged father to their wedding.
The One With Monica and Chandler's Wedding, Part 1 - Monica and Chandler have the rehersal dinner, chandler freaks out and disappears. Ross and Phoebe look for him while Rachel keeps monica from knowing.
The One With Monica and Chandler's Wedding, Part 2 - Ross and Phoebe find a panicked Chandler at his office and take him home to get ready, but he disappears again when he learns what Phoebe and Rachel know.
EXTRAS - Audio Commentary, Gag Reel, Friends of Friends Part 2, Monica's wedding book trivia challenge, Gunther spills the beans about Series 8.
A must have box set for Friends fanatics anywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Season Hands Down, February 11, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Friends: Season 7 (DVD)
I never quite understood why people always complain about the seventh season of Friends. For once, there was no Ross-Rachel storyline (by that time their relationship was taking a lull until the following year) and the idea of just having individual episodes focusing on the daily adventures these characters faced was quite refreshing and extremely funny. Personally, I love this year of Friends. Its a bit more adult and a bit more mature - in terms of the characters growing up and entering a new, exciting phase of their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Season !, January 18, 2004
This review is from: Friends: Season 7 (DVD)
The seventh season of Friends is for sure my favorite season ever ! With great episodes like "The One With Monica's Thunder", "The One With Rachel's Book", "The One With The Nap Partners", "The One With All the Cheesecakes", and much more !... And the seventh season is also the first one introducing the Super Sizes episodes such as "The One With The Truth About London" and "The One With Joey's New Brain" with Susan Sarandon guest-starring !
Above all, the Season Finale is the best one Friends ever produced ! With great stoylines, suspens and guest stars (Gary Oldman, Morgan Fairchild and Kathleen Turner as Chandler's dad !), the cliffhanger is insufferable and the only thing we want to do at the end is to watch the Season 8 Premiere !
Also guest-starring this season : Eddie Cahill, Denise Richard, Winona Ryder ans more !
The seventh season is also a season with a lot of humour, emotion and friendship (well... It's Friends actually ! ;-).
From Rachel's crush on her new younger assistant to her pregnancy; from Monica's wedding plans to her wedding ceremony; from Phoebe's secret cookies recipe to her secret kiss with Rachel; from Joey's laugh finding Rachel's dirty book to his movie collaboration with Oldman; from Chandler's strained smile in pictures to his runaway marriage plan; from Ross's nap with Joey to his crush on her cousin...
Plus, with Never-Before-Seen Moments on every episode making each moment with them even more special, an hilarious Gag Reel, Monica's Wedding Book Trivia Challenge, Friends of Friends Celebrity Interviews and Producers Commentaries, you can't lose with "Friends" and its best season ever !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Such Thing as a Bad Friends Season, February 21, 2004
This review is from: Friends: Season 7 (DVD)
Friends has truely shaped todays society worldwide. Very few shows in the history of television can make that claim. It will be truely missed when it goes off the air. I think that NBC will flounder for a long time in trying to fill that Thursday night time spot.
I can't wait until season seven comes out. I own all the rest and intend to own the remaining four seasons so my own children will understand why my husband and I are the way we are.
Finally, everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but if you don't like Friends to begin with, then you shouldn't buy the series and then go on to actually tell all the Friends fans how much you hate the show. Find a show that you do like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Friends Season 7: Surviving The Survivor, May 25, 2005
This review is from: Friends: Season 7 (DVD)
Season 7 is probably known to the Friends fan community as the dark years probably until Season 10 came along. Everything plunged all at the same time, the ratings, the hype, creativity, personal lives of the cast (Matthew Perry's addiction), and that show called Survivor: Australian Outback. But of course I have to mention that the season was doomed from the very start because critics are already panning the season because they anticipated that the season would be populated by the predictable wedding preparation plotlines for Chandler and Monica's wedding and it didn't help that the season did focus too much to it.

But years have passed and people can now view Season 7 without the distraction and preconceptions and I myself think it is a hugely underrated season. Standout episodes have to be TOW Monica's Thunder, TOW Rachel's Assistant, TOW the Nap Partners (very funny, bridesmaid competition), TOW They All Turn Thirty (hugely entertaining episodes, Lisa Kudrow especially stole all scenes she was in), TOW Joey's New Brain, TOW Monica and Ross' Cousin, and the big finale TOW Chandler and Monica's wedding.

A lot of people think that Matt le Blanc was the MVP of Season 7 and they could be right. But personally I think Season 7 is one the most ensemble-based seasons of Friends, nobody took really the spotlight. Everybody got a fine share of episodes like Jennifer Aniston in TOW Rachel's Book, David Schwimmer in TOW Monica and Ross' Cousin, Lisa Kudrow in TOW they all turn thirty and TO the Cheesecakes, le blanc in TOW Monica's Thunder and Cox and Perry in TOW Chandler and Monica's Wedding.

Compared to other seasons of Friends, season 7 is probably still the weakest but that doesn't say much because the show at it's weakest still delivers superb episodes.

Grade: A-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest season of one of the greatest shows., September 4, 2004
This review is from: Friends: Season 7 (DVD)
Some people may consider season seven to be a weaker season because it's the only season that's not focused as much on Ross and Rachel as it is on Chandler and Monica. The main focus is the buildup to the wedding, which involves buying cheap wedding dresses, a maid of honor, an uninvited (gasp!) Janice, and famous tuxes. There are many episodes not about the wedding including, in my opinion, the BEST episode of season seven: The One Where They All Turn Thirty. Of course (Spoiler warning of season eight) there HAS to be some Rachel and Ross. We find out in the last episode that sometime during season seven Ross and Rachel sleep together and conceive (accidentally) Emma.
All in all, I would consider season seven to be a great season of Friends with great special features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Stuff, February 25, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Friends: Season 7 (DVD)
After the charming year that was season six, Friends came back stronger than ever. Season Seven was a great ride building up to what became the best cliffhanger of the entire series. Monica and Chandler tying the knot is just one of the bonuses of this season. Many of the episodes were Supersized, because of ratings competition from Survivor, so fans will get to see longer episodes of Friends than usual. Also the acting, writing, and guest stars this year are some of the best and most intelligent.
This season was one of the show's greatest, which just goes to show how long and consistently rewarding Friends has been throughout the years and why it still is popular an entire decade later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Season, February 24, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Friends: Season 7 (DVD)
I enjoyed the seventh season of Friends a lot. I love the laid back attitude of this season where everything is gearing up towards the memorable wedding. In between you have a number of memorable episodes (cheescake, nap partners, cheap wedding dress etc.) focused on issues we experience in our daily lives, but much funnier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the Best Season Ever!, April 17, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Friends: Season 7 (DVD)
As the sitcom is counting the days to its series finale, many have bought this deluxe 4-disc set of Season 7. Season 7 is one of my personal favorites because the gang is preparing for Chandler and Monica's wedding! For once, the spotlight is on the couple instead of the whole Ross and Rachel relationship, and it is relieving. There were many faboulous episodes this season including:
The One With Rachel's Book- Joey finds Rachel's late night reading material and makes fun of her.
The One With Phoebe's Cookies- Monica tries to replicate Phoebe's grandmother's cookie recipe. Chandler has some bonding time with his future father-in-law. Joey and Rachel go sailing.
The One With the Holiday Armadillo- Ross teaches his son Ben about Chanukkah.
The One With All the Candy- Monica makes holiday candy for the neighbors, and they take advantage of her. Ross buys Phoebe a bike and teaches her how to ride it.
The One With Joey's New Brain- Joey tells one of the Days of Our Lives actors that she is being written out of the show.
The One With Ross and Monica's Cousin- Cassie, their cousin, comes for a visit distracting all the guys. Joey has an audition which requires him to be uncircumsised.
The One With All the Cheesecakes- Rachel and Chandler enjoy eating the cheesecake of their neighbor.
The One With Chandler and Monica's Wedding- Chandler goes missing on the eve of their wedding, and someone finds out she is pregnant. Of course, Chandler and Monica are happily married by minister Joey.
This season was absolutely more realistic than most seasons because of the wedding jitters the couple deal with. Season 7 is very hilarious, moving, and just plain sweet. Plus, there are the special features including the producers' commentary, gag reel, and the trailer for the Emmy-winning Season 8. This season cannot be missed! If you have not started your collection yet, this is a great season to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic As Always, May 20, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Friends: Season 7 (DVD)
To me this show represents great comedy simply because it makes me laugh until tears flow. I don't care if people think it isn't groundbreaking, cynical, overly immersed in emotion, or frivilous (all points I disagree with), but considering how unplesant life can get, it's nice to watch a show that takes you away for all that for just a moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.