Your Garage Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Blake Shelton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 30, 2015
This was a nice way to spend a few hours, although, it was not spectacular, it was real, sometimes a reality check is what you need, and for some of the people in this movie, I believe it was for closure and new beginnings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2014
I never saw any trailers for this movie when it came out, or any type of promotion for it. This is another movie that I recently saw a trailer for on another DVD that I had purchased, and it looked like another movie that would be great to watch. And man was I right again, it has an all-star cast, with a really great story line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 15, 2009
I am a big Jeff Bridges fan and appreciate everything he has done and such, but I didn't feel grabbed by this one at all. Not that there were horrible performances or bad film making, it just had a slew of little things peppered throughout that made me not give this the above average recommendation.

The story follows a minor league ball player (Timberlake) suffering a slump, who has to get his famous big league dad (Bridges) to make a final visit to his estranged and dying ex-wife. Through some poorly staged events, they have to make it a road trip together across several states (instead of flying) to make this union happen. The scenery is quite beautiful in some of the sequences, and it even upstages some of the sparse dialogue as the long-parted kin find a way to re-connect. Kate Mara is the tag-along friend who offers the love interest of Timberlake, but the chemistry never materializes in ways it should have.

The Blu quality is average to below average, with the strong showing being the opening aerial shot of the baseball game (must have used a different camera - they usually seem to in those kinds of scenes). Some of the color/contrasts in the open road shots shine nicely, but the amount of indoor and dark sequences show several weaknesses. The 5.1 is uneventful, and the only supplement offers little insight other than some typical fluff. Did not get to the commentary as I could not venture sitting through this twice. Three for the film content and Mr. Bridges (the supporting cast of Steenburgen and Harry Dean Stanton are not present enough to warrant dissecting their screen time). I love road films so maybe this will give you some light entertainment on a slow night.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As Jeff Bridges, to me, has always been one of the most underrated actors of his period--I'm glad to see him finally getting the recognition he deserves. His recent Oscar win for "Crazy Heart" is just a capper on his previous four nominations (The Last Picture Show, Thunderbolt and Lightfoot, Starman, and The Contender) which spanned nearly 40 years. Aside from "Picture Show," these films only hint at Bridges' range and I've always maintained that his best work often flew under the radar (Tucker: The Man And His Dream, The Fisher King, the incredible Oscar worthy Fearless, and dare I mention The Dude from The Big Lebowski) and were the true heights of his acting genius. It's only natural that Bridges has settled into somewhat of a comfort zone and "The Open Road" is a film he could do in his sleep. Playing a disheveled and obstinate man in a mid-life crisis has been Bridges' go-to role for several years now and it's on display again in this dysfunctional road trip dramedy.

Justin Timberlake plays a struggling minor league ball player who is distressed to learn that his mother (Mary Steenburgen) is in need of a heart operation. She refuses the procedure unless her ex-husband (Timberlake's father Bridges) comes to see her. Bridges plays a former baseball champion now boozing through his glory years signing autographs and reliving past successes. Needless to say, his relationship with his son is fairly non-existent and suitably strained. Timberlake and faithful gal pal (and former girlfriend) Kate Mara fly out to retrieve Bridges at a baseball convention. Of course, if this were the real world--there wouldn't be much drama to this scenario. But through movie magic and contrived situations, the three are forced into a road trip across country. It's not the least bit believable, but are these things ever? What do you suspect might happen? If I have to tell you, you don't see many movies! There are plenty of confrontations between Bridges and Timberlake, unexpected bonding, mild humor and anything else that might provoke a new understanding between the central characters.

Many people I know have attacked this movie due to Timberlake (this was prior to him appearing in higher profile roles). In truth, he's fine. I appreciated that he actually wanted to do something more low key and small to develop his talent. Bridges is, of course, a reliable trooper. But the movie's secret weapon, to my mind, is the thoroughly charming Mara. I've liked her for years (check out Transsiberian if you haven't seen it), but here she really gets a chance to hold her own. Look, nothing in "The Open Road" will surprise you from a plotting standpoint--but it is an agreeable and amiable diversion. I certainly liked it, but its lack of surprises or originality keep it firmly grounded as a pleasant, but not great, experience. If you are a fan of any of the principles, check this out. Slight and predictable, but fairly engaging nevertheless. KGHarris, 10/11.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As Jeff Bridges, to me, has always been one of the most underrated actors of his period--I'm glad to see him finally getting the recognition he deserves. His recent Oscar win for "Crazy Heart" is just a capper on his previous four nominations (The Last Picture Show, Thunderbolt and Lightfoot, Starman, and The Contender) which spanned nearly 40 years. Aside from "Picture Show," these films only hint at Bridges' range and I've always maintained that his best work often flew under the radar (Tucker: The Man And His Dream, The Fisher King, the incredible Oscar worthy Fearless, and dare I mention The Dude from The Big Lebowski) and were the true heights of his acting genius. It's only natural that Bridges has settled into somewhat of a comfort zone and "The Open Road" is a film he could do in his sleep. Playing a disheveled and obstinate man in a mid-life crisis has been Bridges' go-to role for several years now and it's on display again in this dysfunctional road trip dramedy.

Justin Timberlake plays a struggling minor league ball player who is distressed to learn that his mother (Mary Steenburgen) is in need of a heart operation. She refuses the procedure unless her ex-husband (Timberlake's father Bridges) comes to see her. Bridges plays a former baseball champion now boozing through his glory years signing autographs and reliving past successes. Needless to say, his relationship with his son is fairly non-existent and suitably strained. Timberlake and faithful gal pal (and former girlfriend) Kate Mara fly out to retrieve Bridges at a baseball convention. Of course, if this were the real world--there wouldn't be much drama to this scenario. But through movie magic and contrived situations, the three are forced into a road trip across country. It's not the least bit believable, but are these things ever? What do you suspect might happen? If I have to tell you, you don't see many movies! There are plenty of confrontations between Bridges and Timberlake, unexpected bonding, mild humor and anything else that might provoke a new understanding between the central characters.

Many people I know have attacked this movie due to Timberlake (this was prior to him appearing in higher profile roles). In truth, he's fine. I appreciated that he actually wanted to do something more low key and small to develop his talent. Bridges is, of course, a reliable trooper. But the movie's secret weapon, to my mind, is the thoroughly charming Mara. I've liked her for years (check out Transsiberian if you haven't seen it), but here she really gets a chance to hold her own. Look, nothing in "The Open Road" will surprise you from a plotting standpoint--but it is an agreeable and amiable diversion. I certainly liked it, but its lack of surprises or originality keep it firmly grounded as a pleasant, but not great, experience. If you are a fan of any of the principles, check this out. Slight and predictable, but fairly engaging nevertheless. KGHarris, 10/11.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2015
Jeff Bridges never lets you down. What a family of great actors,it always brings back memories of Sea Hunt with their dad Loyd back in the early sixties. The movie is okay only because of Jeff Bridges.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2010
Good actors, bad movie. Sad, boring and somewhat mean-spirited. The plot and the movie will cure insomnia. I kept falling asleep watching this, but like a fool, would go back to try to finish it the next night, hoping that SOMETHING would be funny or interesting. Well, it never did get interesting, it wasn't funny, and the story wasn't much of a story. Maybe the editor and director fell asleep while making it, or someone lost half the script and made the movie anyhow.

If this goes on sale for a penny, you might get your money's worth.

Written by Dear Miss Mermaid, Author of "Hurricanes and Hangovers".
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2014
Didn't care for this one. No chemistry to the film. Jeff Bridges is engaging as the happy-go-lucky ex-baseball player drunken good old boy, but you just get a feel of untruthfulness from the character. There is no real warmth from Timberlake at all. He keeps saying he loves Kate Mara, but it is not believable. No magic. I guess I don't think he is a very good actor and when I look at him I think -- shave that peach fuzz off your face, you look stupid. Just a ho-hum movie at best. You might watch it to fill time, but it is not much of a film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 19, 2010
Oscar winner Jeff Bridges try to be the glue in this piece, he tries too hard. His role as a self centered, washed up Veteran Ball player who really does not want to be the responsible one in life. He also is estranged from his son, who he has not kept in touch with for years.

Justin Timberlake shows his acting chops here. in this reviewer's opinion, He needs a few more classes, but he tries hard here. His role as a Baseball player who is in a bad playing slump. His mother (Mary Steenburgen) is refusing a heart operation unless she sees her estranged husband (Bridges). He bring his former girlfriend (Kate Mara) for support.

Bridges states he forgot his wallet, so they drive. The father and son try to reconnect, but each are too hard headed foreach other to let their guards down.

The film is disjointed tale of fathers and sons. There are times it clicked together on so many levels.Then other times, the tempo and the dialog makes this film fall apart. Making this film more of a chores to view

This is the kind of film you want to rent after all your main selections have gone.

Bennet Pomerantz AUDIOWORLD
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 30, 2012
Some movies are just dumb. It's sad when those said movies star talented actors. Jeff Bridges is one of the best ever born, and Justin Timberlake is more than a pretty face (he can sing, he can dance and...yes, he can act). Still, they cannot save a boring and ill-advised `father/son' bonding film from being anything but what it is, boring and ill-advised. The storyline is a mixed bag of preposterous and clichéd and the direction is so generic that it bears repeating. I just wish that there had been some spark to be had here, but instead we get Bridges muddling through `too familiar' territory with nothing to really color in and Timberlake pouting and trying his hardest not to appear uninteresting. Oh yeah, and Oscar nominee Rooney Mara's less talented yet more famous sister is here to play Timberlake's would be/should be flame who really warrants no mention whatsoever. I would have loved to like this. It's nice to have a light and frothy warm hearted film every once in a while. This is just bland and forgettable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$8.79
$5.20

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.