Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GORGEOUS AND FILLED WITH SURPRISES!, December 10, 2006
This review is from: The Art of Open Season (Paperback)
One thing that surprises me about the recent wave of computer animated feature films has been their consistency. Not all of them have been great, but I can honestly say I don't think that any were bad. Compare that to the traditional cell animation of the 70's and 80's where so many studios (outside of Disney) seemed to be only going through the motions. "Open Season" was one of those films that seemed to have gotten a bit lost in the shuffle when it opened a few months back. It certainly seemed to be a film more appreciated by filmgoers than the critics and I thought it was very well done and a lot of fun.

Animated films like these always generate a lot of marketing tie-ins and promotional items, most of it fairly bland, but not so with "The Art of Open Season" by Insight Editions. This is one stunning book! It weighs about as much as a cinder block but looks a whole lot nicer. Its 180 pages but seems much bigger as it is as stuffed as a Thanksgiving Turkey with all manner of surprises that make it a truly interactive experience. On top of that, this hardcover comes in a sturdy, die-cut slipcase, perfectly suited for the collector of fine books.

The book begins with a look at the creation of the characters including stars Boog the Bear (Martin Lawrence) and Elliot the deer (Ashton Kutcher). The book contains dozens of concept sketches full color paintings, and digital paintings on these and all of the other major characters in the film with credits given to the appropriate artist, which is a very nice touch. There are pages with nothing but facial sketches showing the characters with various expressions. I particularly like the gallery of the various redneck weekend warrior hunters.

Next up is the visual development of the film with commentary by visual development supervisor Richie Chavez. Chavez takes readers on a tour of how the 3D landscape of the town of Timberline was created, even including a map of the town with all of the important buildings and landmarks noted.

I mentioned that the book was loaded with surprises beyond the book itself and I wasn't exaggerating. Bound into the book is all sorts of interactive goodies. The Character section includes postcards (covered in tissue for protection) that can be pulled out and used if one wishes. The visual development section has a number of little booklets inside the book itself. These include a booklet on the art of the late Eyvind Earle whose landscapes inspired the wilderness look in Open Season. The Production Design section features more little booklets including one on the films voice talent, and another with art from Chavez. Finally, there is a collection of 16 large stickers in the back of the book depicting the various characters.

There is so much to see in this book that it will keep you busy for hours. Kids will love the book but it's definitely not a kid's book. This is one to own and keep on your shelves.

Reviewed by Tim Janson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open Season, May 12, 2007
By 
Pascal (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Open Season (Paperback)
I have seen the movie and wanted to walk out on it within the fist five minutes. NOT because the animation was bad, or the art direction awful, simply because the pacing and the main character's voices were just getting in the way of the experience I look for in a movie, any movie : The escape.

When I picked up the book, I was almost shocked to see that the exact oposite was happening. I found myself flipping through the pages, being brought in to this magnificent world inspired by the older Disney designers, and really enjoyed the book.

I would recommend it as a standalone Art Book, rather than a complement to the movie. In fact, you might like the movie better if you just go through the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Well Crafted Book!, October 25, 2006
By 
ufobooks (Plano, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of Open Season (Paperback)
This is a extraordinary book crafted in the highest quality. You will receive a beautiful embossed slipcase and inside is the hardcover book. The slipcase is a art all its own with vibrant color, embossing, and cutouts of the 2 main characters. The cutouts show the hardcover underneath.

Once you slide the book out you will be amazed at the paper engineering and whole design of the book. The publisher went to great lengths to make one of the best "Art of" books I have EVER seen as of today (and I have seen many). Every attention to detail is provided; sketches, paintings, and detail concept art. On every other page there are tons of inserts that are separate from the books content, like postcards, greeting cards, fold-outs etc. with even more art (I don't want to spoil the surprises of what is in the inserts). The book is made up to look like a Park Guide. I am very surprised by the thought and look that went into the book. Even though its paper it still has a interactive quality that seems to make you part of the book, by folding back each insert etc. it's like you are unwrapping a secret.

Even if you liked or didn't like the movie, everyone can enjoy the book's art/design and content. One of the best "Art of" books I have seen yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better "Art Of..." books out there!, January 21, 2007
This review is from: The Art of Open Season (Paperback)
If you are a serious student or professional of the animation field and/or a fan of the movie, "The Art of Open Season" is a must-have in your library. This book contains TONS of great early conceptual art and designs from the film. Additionally, the artworks are large and fills up all of the negative spaces of the pages, as opposed to small thumbnailed images that are often found in other "Art Of.." books. The presentation of the book is also of very high quality and neatly put together. Inspiring and informative, I believe this book sets a new standard for future "Art Of..." books (and I own quite a few myself). Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing piece, August 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Open Season (Paperback)
It's a well crafted book, full of snipets like stickers, sketch pages and background stories. I have one more of this same publisher (surf's up art book) and the quality is VERY GOOD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Artbook, August 28, 2008
By 
François (Annecy, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of Open Season (Paperback)
This book is really a gold mine for those who look for concept art, drawings, sketches, paintings about the movie. You will find some beautiful artworks from Eyvind Earle, the guys behind every tree of the movie. Dense, full of great artworks, great book !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scrapbook styled artbook, July 9, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Open Season (Paperback)
Length:: 0:36 Mins

I bought this book prior to watching the movie. It's slightly better than all of my Pixar artbooks. Mine was bought off amazon.com.

The hardcover book was housed in a protective cardboard cover box with two holes cut into it. Boog and Elliot peeked out the holes.

When you pull the book out of it's cover box, you'll notice that there's something different about this book from other artbooks. Goodies were packed everywhere in the book. They were post cards, posters, mini booklets and even stickers!

Tons of original sketches, movie stills and story boards filled the pages. The content was so vibrant and full of life. Captions and write up were short and nice to read. A scrapbook, of top notch quality, is perhaps a better description.

(More pictures are available on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better 'Art of' book than Pixar's!, May 25, 2007
By 
Adele Thomas (Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Open Season (Paperback)
Pixar may want to review their delivery of any future art books now that Sony is delivering books like Open Season, chocked with goodies. This book is so packed full of art you would think the film was traditional. I enjoyed Open Season and wondered why since I cant stand most CG films except for Pixar's (excluding Cars). I know why now I see all the pre-production that went into it...for me Im a colour and environment lover and I was so happy to see Sony included colour scripts and beat boards! I really think this one is a great investment! The presentation is a real treat, I am looking forward to the Aardman art of books now that they are partners with Sony...keep it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing artbook!!!, March 15, 2007
By 
This review is from: The Art of Open Season (Paperback)
Great artbook. really relly great!!! with lot of little details, postcards and beautiful sketches, backgrounds and3D modellings, etc and a really beaituful and perfect edition, with a "2nd cover" (I don't know how it's called in english)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, September 30, 2006
By 
stephen smelley (glenarden, Maryland United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of Open Season (Paperback)
Just received the book and it is absolutely great!!! From preproduction art to the finished product on screen, This book has everything you want in a "making of" art book. A must have for any animation fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Art of Open Season
The Art of Open Season by Linda Sunshine (Paperback - September 26, 2006)
$45.00 $35.21
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.