Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Black Dirty Harry of the 1970's
In the spirit of Kojak TV show (1973-1978), Bullitt (1968), In the Heat of the Night (1967), They Call Mister Tibbs!(1970), Dirty Harry (1971). The Oganization (1971) takes place on the streets of San Francisco, Sidney Poitier plays a police detective who gets dragged into a conspiracy involving stolen drugs and a larger than life organization which is the center of this...
Published 3 months ago by Luke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars s.potier rules.
pretty good. in the heat of the night is the classic virgil tibbs movie, but this is a decent (second) sequel. doesn't deal with racism the way the original did, which made it such a classic, but deals with a fictional organized crime operation. it ends abruptly, a bit formulaic, but worth a look.
Published 10 months ago by edgar christensen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Black Dirty Harry of the 1970's, March 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Organization (DVD)
In the spirit of Kojak TV show (1973-1978), Bullitt (1968), In the Heat of the Night (1967), They Call Mister Tibbs!(1970), Dirty Harry (1971). The Oganization (1971) takes place on the streets of San Francisco, Sidney Poitier plays a police detective who gets dragged into a conspiracy involving stolen drugs and a larger than life organization which is the center of this first class 70's crime-thrillers. The ending is really original for its time...that's for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable actor of all times, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Organization (Amazon Instant Video)
This movie showed Poitier in fine form as he always did in all of his movies.
I was always thoroughly entertained watching his movies. He is truly one of the greatest actors of all times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Hero!, October 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Organization (Amazon Instant Video)
I saw this movie years ago when it first came out at the movie s, this is one you can see over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars s.potier rules., September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Organization (Amazon Instant Video)
pretty good. in the heat of the night is the classic virgil tibbs movie, but this is a decent (second) sequel. doesn't deal with racism the way the original did, which made it such a classic, but deals with a fictional organized crime operation. it ends abruptly, a bit formulaic, but worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than first sequel, August 3, 2013
By 
nathan (Benbrook, TX, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Organization (Amazon Instant Video)
I wasn't impressed with the first sequel to "In the Heat of the Night," "They Call Me Mr. Tibbs." However, I did enjoy this movie more. It is a better written story, and with the exceptional acting of Poitier in the Virgil Tibbs role, I would give it 4 stars, but not the 5 stars I would give "In the Heat of the Night."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sir portier, December 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Organization (DVD)
Beyond the current scripts of fortuitousness and heroic stances there was a actor. His steadfast criticism of movies and their ideals segregated the label of black cinema a label which would condemn any other would-be star. Sir Portier transcended every ideal of individual and corralled the hopes of every movie-goer and rallied for himself. We sat in awe of him thanking him individually for be for being better than any condemnation that woefully considedered him as less.

G.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Ensemble Cast With A Terrific Plot Twist At The End, July 6, 2012
This review is from: The Organization (DVD)
This review is for the video version of the movie. I have yet to see it on DVD. But I will say this: It was so enjoyable seeing it on Showtime that I remember wishing the movie would never end.

The movie starts with a heist. But what makes it (The First Scene Of Movie) so unique is that there is almost no dialogue for the first opening 10 minutes of the film. A style rarely used in Hollywood (Although Brian DePalma Has Been Known To Use The Technique).

SPOILER ALERT!!!

The group of youngsters who seek to take down the Organization (Mafia?) are a courageous and brave bunch. Unfortunately they are in over their heads. Drug dealers play for keeps, and they leave no live witnesses behind. The group of heisters are well-balanced and likeable (Save For Perhaps Joe) and one can only find oneself rooting for them. Had Joe not been found out they (The Group) might well have been able to hang onto the stolen skag indefinately.

When contacted by the group and asked for his help to undermine the Organization, Virgil Tibbs--against his better judgement--joins the revolutionaries in an effort to find out who is at the top of the Organization. Unfortunately things begin to unravel after Joe is beaten and later run over by the Mafia toughs attempting to recover the skag. From then on it goes downhill for the group as one of them is brutally murdured and another is shot down towards the end of the film.

I greatly liked this movie and I recommend it to those who enjoy a good mystery yarn. There are a few contrivances and even a few unanswered questions. Like did Dave Thomas survive the bullet wound? He was moaning when his camera was stolen from him, which would imply that he would have lived long enough to reach a hospital. What happened to the rest of the group? Did they stay together or split up? I for one would have loved to see where they were in the 1980s or 1990s. I so wish that Poitier had reprised the role two or three more times into the 1980s before handing it off to Howard Rollins. But alas, that was not to be. As John Wayne Peel (Of IMDB Post) said: "It is a shame that Sidney Poitier did not again portray Virgil Tibbs, but we do have these three films, two of which are sensational. It is a privilege to add it to my detective movies on video collection." I will do that too, Mr. Peel. However, I would also recommend to you these movies: Little Nikita, Shoot To Kill and The Jackal are three more movies with Poitier where he plays a Virgil Tibbs-kind of character. I've seen the latter two and can tell you I was very pleased.

This movie is a Four And a Half Star movie rounded up to Five Stars. It was close to perfect and set in one of the Five greatest American cities-- San Francisco!!

A. Nathaniel Wallace, Jr.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars tolerable, July 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Organization (DVD)
The movie begins slow and somewhat confusing. Several things are occurring for you to figure out as a viewer. Eventually things come together, Sidney Poitier enters the picture and all is forgiven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Imperfect but Perfectly Watchable Thriller, March 14, 2009
This review is from: The Organization (DVD)
Sidney Poitier - like Gregory Peck, Cary Grant, Toshiro Mifune, and others of a bygone era - is an iconic movie star. Smart, talented, handsome, he's unique in this age of mostly interchangeable "actors" who star in the latest noisy but forgettable big-budget videogame or special effects extravaganza. His early films, such as the delightful "Lilies of the Field," showcased his obvious charisma, and by the time he graduated to light dramas like "To Sir, with Love," he was a bonafide leading man. But, oddly, his career seemed to zenith by the early 1970s, when "The Organization," one of two sequels to the Oscar-winning "In the Heat of the Night," continued the efforts of Virgil Tibbs, a clean cut police detective often fighting social injustice as much as outright crime, this time in San Francisco. He's pulled into a drug war, when a group of hardnosed idealists steal millions in heroin inadvertently from the mob and then try to use the theft to bring the leaders into the open. While "The Organization" lacks the ballast of the first film, it has enough twists and turns to merit as a thriller, with a look and feel inspired more by the superior Steve McQueen vehicle "Bullitt" than the 1967 film in which Poitier sparred with police chief Rod Steiger over racial politics while investigating a murder in a southern town. The acting is, of course, stagier than the "naturalistic" style of today, yet with few distractions from excessive violence or foul language, the film seems much more authentic. Look for familiar faces like Raul Julia and Daniel J. Travanti showing up in smaller roles - homelier in their youth than people might recall when they later became stars - but it's Poitier who makes it all work. Since so much of the 1970s has returned to fashion, viewers might also enjoy digesting what inspired today's "contemporary" look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tibbs RIP, September 9, 2008
This review is from: The Organization (DVD)
Sidney Poitier recreates Vigil Tibbs for the last time in this film. Thank Goodness. The twice prevous times (the classic In the Heat of the Night (40th Anniversary Collector's Edition) and its sequel They Call Me Mister Tibbs!) had plots and were better developed than this film. This, perhaps, is the Poitier film that has aged least gracefully.

This film seems standard TV cop fare of 1970's. It would be like a TV movie, if not for the star power of Poitier. However if you are a fan of old cop shows, this cast is filled with future TV cops..such as Gerald S. O'Loughlin (The Rookies and Automan), Max Gail (Barney Miller), Bernie Hamilton (Starkey and Hutch), Ron O.Neal (The Equalizer and Superfly), Garry Walberg (Quincy ME) and Daniel J. Travanti (Hill Street Blues)

The plot wears thin after a half hour. Gil Melle's jazz score overwhelms the watcher long before them. It seem to make a point, you need to have a louder jazz score..it dont work for me!

It is the acting talent of Poitier that makes this film more than something you throw in a trash heap. His cool demeaner makes his character and this film still stand up. This film was Tibbs's film swan song and it acts like it...and please dont bring up the 1990's TV version of "In the Heat of the Night", that charcter was so watered down for TV , it was BAD.

One would wish someone in Hollywood remake land would recreate Tibbs for the movies, I would enjoy Don Cheadle playing it...ah wishful thinking

R.I.P. Vigil Tibbs

Bennet Pomerantz AUDIOWORLD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Organization
The Organization by Don Medford
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.