Truck Month Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now SnS

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$14.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 23, 2014
In the spirit of Kojak TV show (1973-1978), Bullitt (1968), In the Heat of the Night (1967), They Call Mister Tibbs!(1970), Dirty Harry (1971). The Oganization (1971) takes place on the streets of San Francisco, Sidney Poitier plays a police detective who gets dragged into a conspiracy involving stolen drugs and a larger than life organization which is the center of this first class 70's crime-thrillers. The ending is really original for its time...that's for sure.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2012
This review is for the video version of the movie. I have yet to see it on DVD. But I will say this: It was so enjoyable seeing it on Showtime that I remember wishing the movie would never end.

The movie starts with a heist. But what makes it (The First Scene Of Movie) so unique is that there is almost no dialogue for the first opening 10 minutes of the film. A style rarely used in Hollywood (Although Brian DePalma Has Been Known To Use The Technique).

SPOILER ALERT!!!

The group of youngsters who seek to take down the Organization (Mafia?) are a courageous and brave bunch. Unfortunately they are in over their heads. Drug dealers play for keeps, and they leave no live witnesses behind. The group of heisters are well-balanced and likeable (Save For Perhaps Joe) and one can only find oneself rooting for them. Had Joe not been found out they (The Group) might well have been able to hang onto the stolen skag indefinately.

When contacted by the group and asked for his help to undermine the Organization, Virgil Tibbs--against his better judgement--joins the revolutionaries in an effort to find out who is at the top of the Organization. Unfortunately things begin to unravel after Joe is beaten and later run over by the Mafia toughs attempting to recover the skag. From then on it goes downhill for the group as one of them is brutally murdured and another is shot down towards the end of the film.

I greatly liked this movie and I recommend it to those who enjoy a good mystery yarn. There are a few contrivances and even a few unanswered questions. Like did Dave Thomas survive the bullet wound? He was moaning when his camera was stolen from him, which would imply that he would have lived long enough to reach a hospital. What happened to the rest of the group? Did they stay together or split up? I for one would have loved to see where they were in the 1980s or 1990s. I so wish that Poitier had reprised the role two or three more times into the 1980s before handing it off to Howard Rollins. But alas, that was not to be. As John Wayne Peel (Of IMDB Post) said: "It is a shame that Sidney Poitier did not again portray Virgil Tibbs, but we do have these three films, two of which are sensational. It is a privilege to add it to my detective movies on video collection." I will do that too, Mr. Peel. However, I would also recommend to you these movies: Little Nikita, Shoot To Kill and The Jackal are three more movies with Poitier where he plays a Virgil Tibbs-kind of character. I've seen the latter two and can tell you I was very pleased.

This movie is a Four And a Half Star movie rounded up to Five Stars. It was close to perfect and set in one of the Five greatest American cities-- San Francisco!!

A. Nathaniel Wallace, Jr.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2012
Beyond the current scripts of fortuitousness and heroic stances there was a actor. His steadfast criticism of movies and their ideals segregated the label of black cinema a label which would condemn any other would-be star. Sir Portier transcended every ideal of individual and corralled the hopes of every movie-goer and rallied for himself. We sat in awe of him thanking him individually for be for being better than any condemnation that woefully considedered him as less.

G.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2013
pretty good. in the heat of the night is the classic virgil tibbs movie, but this is a decent (second) sequel. doesn't deal with racism the way the original did, which made it such a classic, but deals with a fictional organized crime operation. it ends abruptly, a bit formulaic, but worth a look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2014
The Organization is an all right movie. Almost every movie Mr. Sidney Poitier plays in is good. It has a fairly good plot and sequence. It has an all star cast of some of the best well known actors in Hollywood. Again, my issue with the DVD was the picture quality it displayed, " it had a fuzzy and blurry picture quality ". My dub came out better than that. It also didn't have an English subtitling feature or function.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2013
I wasn't impressed with the first sequel to "In the Heat of the Night," "They Call Me Mr. Tibbs." However, I did enjoy this movie more. It is a better written story, and with the exceptional acting of Poitier in the Virgil Tibbs role, I would give it 4 stars, but not the 5 stars I would give "In the Heat of the Night."
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2009
Sidney Poitier - like Gregory Peck, Cary Grant, Toshiro Mifune, and others of a bygone era - is an iconic movie star. Smart, talented, handsome, he's unique in this age of mostly interchangeable "actors" who star in the latest noisy but forgettable big-budget videogame or special effects extravaganza. His early films, such as the delightful "Lilies of the Field," showcased his obvious charisma, and by the time he graduated to light dramas like "To Sir, with Love," he was a bonafide leading man. But, oddly, his career seemed to zenith by the early 1970s, when "The Organization," one of two sequels to the Oscar-winning "In the Heat of the Night," continued the efforts of Virgil Tibbs, a clean cut police detective often fighting social injustice as much as outright crime, this time in San Francisco. He's pulled into a drug war, when a group of hardnosed idealists steal millions in heroin inadvertently from the mob and then try to use the theft to bring the leaders into the open. While "The Organization" lacks the ballast of the first film, it has enough twists and turns to merit as a thriller, with a look and feel inspired more by the superior Steve McQueen vehicle "Bullitt" than the 1967 film in which Poitier sparred with police chief Rod Steiger over racial politics while investigating a murder in a southern town. The acting is, of course, stagier than the "naturalistic" style of today, yet with few distractions from excessive violence or foul language, the film seems much more authentic. Look for familiar faces like Raul Julia and Daniel J. Travanti showing up in smaller roles - homelier in their youth than people might recall when they later became stars - but it's Poitier who makes it all work. Since so much of the 1970s has returned to fashion, viewers might also enjoy digesting what inspired today's "contemporary" look.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2010
The movie begins slow and somewhat confusing. Several things are occurring for you to figure out as a viewer. Eventually things come together, Sidney Poitier enters the picture and all is forgiven.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2014
This movie showed Poitier in fine form as he always did in all of his movies.
I was always thoroughly entertained watching his movies. He is truly one of the greatest actors of all times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2013
I saw this movie years ago when it first came out at the movie s, this is one you can see over and over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.