Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great, and well-priced, addition to your collection
If you're a Holmes fan, this book will make a great addition to your collection: it reproduces the original illustrations created by Sydney Paget for the stories in Strand Magazine. (But it's not the "complete" Sherlock Holmes -- some of the stories were published elsewhere.) Paget was originally a fashion illustrator, hired by mistake for his brother Walter...
Published on July 1, 1998

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holms
purchased for my 10 year, he found it difficult to read, would like more illustration and large fonts. thantk you
Published 14 months ago by Larisa zelenko,Larisa zelenko


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great New Addition to my Sherlock Holmes Library, January 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Original Illustrated Sherlock Holmes (Hardcover)
The original format, type and illustrated drawings were something unique. Seeing it in it's original format gives you a flavor for the original readings when done by Arthur Conan Doyle for the Strand Magazine. Being a devoted Sherlock Holmes fan I found them very interesting. The price was very reasonable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Curious Collection, February 18, 2011
By 
Brixy Sun (Enchantment, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Original Illustrated Sherlock Holmes (Hardcover)
Doyle's dry humor offered up in limited nuggets via Watson's introductory narratives crack me up.

"An anomaly which often struck me in the character of my friend Sherlock Holmes was that, although in his methods of thought he was the neatest and most methodical of mankind, and although also he affected a certain quiet primness of dress, he was none the less in his personal habits one of the most untidy men that ever drove a fellow-lodger to distraction. Not that I am in the least conventional in that respect myself. The rough-and-tumble work in Afghanistan, coming on the top of natural Bohemianism of disposition, has made me rather more lax than befits a medical man. But with me there is a limit, and when I find a man who keeps his cigars in the coal-scuttle, his tobacco in the toe end of a Persian slipper, and his unanswered correspondence transfixed by a jack-knife into the very centre of his wooden mantelpiece, then I begin to give myself virtuous airs. I have always held, too, that pistol practice should be distinctly an open-air pastime; and when Holmes, in one of his queer humours, would sit in an armchair with his hair-trigger and a hundred Boxer cartridges and proceed to adorn the opposite wall with a patriotic V. R. done in bullet-pocks, I felt strongly that neither the atmosphere nor the appearance of our room was improved by it." (The Musgrave Ritual).

In this volume, it's easy to get your Victorian groove on because Paget's illustrations mimic the stories rather literally and the typeface/look from the Strand brings the whole experience home. I hadn't read any of Holmes adventures in quite some time but Doyle's writing remains succinct and fun to read. A treat that's hard not to like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever, April 9, 1998
By 
This review is from: The Original Illustrated Sherlock Holmes (Hardcover)
This fine volume has the original illustrations of Sydney Paget and Arthur Conan Doyle's stories as they originally appeared in The Strand magazine a century ago. The adventures and pictures are as thrilling as ever, while the mysteries Holmes and his sidekick Dr. Watson tackle have lost none of their allure. These are most enjoyable tales, full of intrigue that will arouse the reader's curiosity, and this particular edition is nicely complemented by Paget's fine illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Sherlock Holmes Book, November 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Original Illustrated Sherlock Holmes (Hardcover)
Being a long time fan of Sir Arthur Conan Doyles' Sherlock Holmes books, I was thrilled to borrow this book from a dear friend. Wonderful illustration's of this
character and enjoyed every momemt of reading again, I had to have my own copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great version of Holmes, December 21, 2008
By 
Hasemeister (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Original Illustrated Sherlock Holmes (Hardcover)
This is one of the nicest editions of Conan Doyle's Sherlock mysteries that I have come across in a long time. It is a beautifully bound version with good illustrations, nice type, and a handsome cover. I'm delighted I purchased this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From 'The Strand Magazine', November 29, 2012
This review is from: The Original Illustrated Sherlock Holmes (Hardcover)
The Original Illustrated Sherlock Holmes, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

This one volume book contains three of the five sets of short stories and the best known novel.
You will find more details for each set of short stories and each of the novels. The drawings that illustrate the text are by Sidney Paget (which defined the look of the characters).

"The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes" has 12 stories.
A Scandal in Bohemia. The Red-Headed League.
A Case of Identity. The Boscombe Valley Mystery.
The Five Orange Pips. The Man With the Twisted Lip.
The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle. The Adventure of the Speckled Band.
The Adventure of the Engineer's Thumb. The Adventure of the Noble Bachelor.
The Adventure of the Beryl Coronet. The Adventure of the Copper Beeches.

"The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes" has 12 stories.
The Adventure of Silver Blaze. The Adventure of The Cardboard Box.
The Adventure of The Yellow Face. The Adventure of The Stockbroker's Clerk.
The Adventure of The "Gloria Scott". The Adventure of The Musgrave Ritual.
The Adventure of The Reigate Puzzle. The Adventure of The Crooked Man.
The Adventure of The Resident Patient. The Adventure of The Greek Interpreter.
The Adventure of The Naval Treaty. The Adventure of The Final Problem.

"The Return of Sherlock Holmes" has 13 stories.
The Adventure of The Empty House. The Adventure of The Norwood Builder.
The Adventure of The Dancing Men. The Adventure of Solitary Cyclist.
The Adventure of The Priory School. The Adventure of Black Peter.
The Adventure of Charles Augustus Milverton.
The Adventure of The Six Napoleons. The Adventure of The Three Students.
The Adventure of The Golden Pince-Nez. The Adventure of The Missing Three-Quarter.
The Adventure of The Abbey Grange. The Adventure of The Second Stain.

"The Hound of the Baskervilles". This may be the most popular of Doyle's four Sherlock Holmes novels. It does not involve a religion, imperial looting, or a company town. Did Doyle implicitly criticize a hereditary aristocracy that passed down evils to each generation? The character traits of the villain seem like those in true crime stories. Inheritance through murder has inspired other stories. There is one flaw in this story. How could the purchase of food for a giant hound be kept secret? Sherlock Holmes could question the grocers in the area to find the buyer of horse meat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A joy to read, so many fundamentals of the crime-fighting stories were established by Doyle, September 8, 2012
This review is from: The Original Illustrated Sherlock Holmes (Hardcover)
My first encounter with the print version of Sherlock Holmes was a story that was required reading in a middle school English class, "The Adventure of the Speckled Band." However, I had some previous familiarity through the episodes seen on television starring Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce, an experience that has permanently soured me on anyone else playing those two characters.
Reading this book is a wonderful experience, for the Holmes character established so much of the private detective genre that is such a staple of modern entertainment. The police are depicted as unable to solve the case, making it possible for the great detective to come in and make the "logical and obvious" conclusion as to what happened.
The companion character of Dr. Watson also established forever the concept of the secondary, yet important character of the sidekick. Watson plays the role of the loyal friend and aide that is not the brightest, yet provides the input of information and receptacle that allows the story to proceed and the reader to be informed.
Another great feature of this book is that it includes all of the original illustrations, giving a brief history lesson of the fashions and life of London at the dawn of the twentieth century. No matter how many times I read the stories of the great detective Holmes, they never bore me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original Illustrated Serlock Holmes, February 8, 2011
By 
Former tomboy (San Antonio, TX USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Original Illustrated Sherlock Holmes (Hardcover)
Excellent! My 17-year-old grandson was thrilled to get his own copy after seeing mine. The original language and illustrations are perfect for recalling the Victorian era and reminds us why Sherlock is such an enduring character and whats great about the printed page within a hefty book to hold in your hands. Makes great read-aloud material, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended edition of Sherlock Holmes' stories., April 18, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Original Illustrated Sherlock Holmes (Hardcover)
In the very first review here on Amazon, "customer" describes the various merits of this particular edition of Sherlock Holmes' stories; I won't repeat his excellent comments.

Instead I'll talk about these most entertaining novels and stories from one the great writers of detective fiction. From our first encounter with Holmes in Conan Doyle's introductory novel, A Study in Scarlet, we are fascinated by the uniqueness of Sherlock Holmes's eccentric personality, his incredible intelligence in all thing related to crime and its detection, his total dedication to his craft and his constant research into the smallest details concerning the criminal mind and behavior, and the enormous resources of energy and determination he calls on to solve problems that frustrate and baffle Scotland Yard.

Holmes is a consulting detective; that is, he is the man police and private citizens turn to when normal agencies of the law are baffled by seemingly inexplicable criminal behavior. What makes Holmes special is not only his vast knowledge concerning crime and criminals, but also his incredible powers of observation and deduction, which he uses in every story to the amazement of Dr. Watson, his good friend and helper, and the various detectives of Scotland Yard who come seeking his help.

Conan Doyle is a fine writer who wanted to turn his attention to other literary projects and so he decided that Holmes would die at the Reichbach falls in a final meeting with arch enemy Professor Moriarty -- The Adventure of the Final Problem. Fortunately for us, the reading public would not accept the death of their favorite detective and put pressure on Conan Doyle to write a final volume of stories about the greatest detective in literature.

Many years ago PBS Mystery televised many of the great stories with Jeremy Brett, now sadly deceased, as the definitive Sherlock Holmes. Readers who loves the stories in The Original Sherlock Holmes are almost certain to enjoy Brett's portrayal of the master detective in DVD's available on Amazon. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheers!, October 19, 2011
This review is from: The Original Illustrated Sherlock Holmes (Hardcover)
This particular book has been one of the most amazing books I have ever read! Thanks a lot Amamzon! Cheers! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Original Illustrated Sherlock Holmes
The Original Illustrated Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle (Hardcover - 1976)
$9.99 $8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.