Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


103 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice try to upset egyptologists
The nature of the pyramids is still a mystery, no matter how much the official Egyptology believes in its tomb theory and in the dates when the Fourth Dynasty built those enormous constructions.
You just have to visit Giza to realize there is something very strange, very impressive and so much beyond our understanding about Khufu, Khefren and Menkaure pyramids...
Published on August 11, 2000 by vlad

versus
46 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable, if flawed.
The basic message of the forebodingly titled "The Orion Mystery" is that the ground plan of many, if not all, of the Egyptian pyramids, as well as their basic architecture, was intentionally designed to reflect the positions of stars in the sky. The most basic pattern to which Bauval calls attention is the correlation between the three pyramids at Giza with...
Published on May 15, 1999 by Michael Bulger


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

103 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice try to upset egyptologists, August 11, 2000
By 
The nature of the pyramids is still a mystery, no matter how much the official Egyptology believes in its tomb theory and in the dates when the Fourth Dynasty built those enormous constructions.
You just have to visit Giza to realize there is something very strange, very impressive and so much beyond our understanding about Khufu, Khefren and Menkaure pyramids. You can even go to Meidum, Saqqara, or visit the Bent pyramid and the Red one to strenghten the impression about the Giza pyramids: they are simply unique, and that is really difficult to answer the questions like when and why were they constructed.
The Bauval's theory is well-shaped and rather smart enough. It may be one to entertain readers, or it may be true - one can hardly find out the truth right away. But it is really strong and explains so many things that were never explained before.
The importance of the theory, and the book as the whole, however, is in the different field: it shakes up the mainstream Egyptology, it wakes it, as well as other people, up, and it opens our eyes making us see that there is always a place for an alternate reality, and there is always a chance to explain what the official science fails to explain.
The book places a lot of evidence again that the ancient egyptians, or the people lived there before them, possessed the knowledge so much underestimated by modern egyptologists, the knowledge that was really huge and comparable with a today's one. That makes the book another breakthrough in the process of discussing the history of humankind.
The book will remind you now that it is not an easy way to argue with, or contradict the established scientific theory. The saddest story of all times is Gantenbrink's tries to solve some of the Great pyramid's puzzles: since 1994 nobody, including egyptian egyptologists, has ever let him continue his investigations, no matter how hard he tried to get the permission, or how perfect his robot finally became.
The Orion Mystery may be considered another brick in the building of the real science. A must-read for everyone who does not feel indifferent to the problems of history and modern science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History revised, November 29, 1999
This book not only takes apart the basic history of Egypt you learned in school, it introduces the radical concept that the Eygyptians weren't a). stupid, b). primitive, or c). superstitious twits.
Bauval shows how the pyramids were arranged so precisely because they were creating a heaven on earth--they reflect the patterns of Orion's belt on the ground. This had deep significance to a race of people who believed ''as above, so below.''
The reader who claims that Bauval now refutes his own Orion theory is sadly misinformed. Anyone who is interested can go read Bauval's letter to the BBC at [...] Apparently, the ''Horizon'' program, in its zeal to knock both Hancock (not a pseudo-scientist but a talented journalist)badly mis-represented Bauval's theories to the British viewing public.
But read it for yourself. I think the sequel, ''The Message of the Sphinx,''is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Orion Mystery - Unlocking the Secrets of the Pyramids, April 15, 2000
I found this book to be absolutely stunning. A 'must read' for amateur Egyptologist. This book unlocks one of the most interesting secrets of the Pyramids at Giza and shows evidence of a long range organized master plan of the layout of the pyramids that must have been conceived many years before they were built. The relationship to the stars is uncanny and so accurate that the writer claims he is able to date the exact construction period of the pyramids within 50 years of the date they were actually built.
I was convinced without a doubt that the pyramids were built with measuring tools that have yet to be discovered. This books lays claim to one such tool although the actual physical device has proved elusive and only drawings exist to date.
The book leaves you hanging for a part II, which shows new convincing evidence that yet another hidden chamber, may exist in one of the pyramids that may contain the designs and the signature of the king who built it. As of the writing of this book, the door to this room was discovered but not yet opened. (An investigation was planned for 1994, but no details of this project have been given in this book.)
You will also see that the mathematics behind the pyramids are nothing less that electrifying. The relationship between the angles used and the rising sun and the relationship to other cities that may reference other stars, will keep you glued till the end. It doesn't take a scientist to figure out that the pyramids are a well-planned map of the stars...but you be the judge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read with new and fresh ideas!, July 14, 2002
By A Customer
I find "THE ORION MYSTERY" an interesting book, and was quite hard to put down after reading the 1st chapter. Robert Bauval introduces new revolutionary theories that the Egyptians were not a heliocentric (solar-based) culture but an astral (star-based) one. Also included in his book are interesting details of the Upuaut 2 robotic exploration of the shafts in the Great Pyramid of Khufu. His writing was very down-to-earth and not confusing or scientific - a wonderful book for anyone interested in Egypt and the pyramids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable, if flawed., May 15, 1999
By 
Michael Bulger (Rochester, NY, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The basic message of the forebodingly titled "The Orion Mystery" is that the ground plan of many, if not all, of the Egyptian pyramids, as well as their basic architecture, was intentionally designed to reflect the positions of stars in the sky. The most basic pattern to which Bauval calls attention is the correlation between the three pyramids at Giza with the positions of the three belt stars in the constellation of Orion. Bauval's hypothesis is reasonable, and though it may be difficult to test, it may provide some insight into the precepts that underlie the construction of these massive monuments. In particular, it is refreshing to read a book on the subject of pyramid-star correlations that is relatively free of the sort of pseudoscience practiced by the likes of Graham Hancock and others. The prospective reader should be warned, however, that the extension of the correlation of ground plan to star positions at Giza to other pyramids in Egypt has been effectively discredited, as I understand even Bauval admits; it would appear that there was no grand plan to draw Orion/Osiris across such a large region. This essentially reduces the useful portion of the book by half, but the remainder is still worthwhile. The writing fails to win awards, but is serviceable. I would assign three different recommendations: for those who plan to eventually take the plunge into the mystical fringes of pseudoscientific archaeology, this is a good gateway book; for those who have already dived in, this is tame stuff that will probably only bore you; for everyone else, this is speculative, but still rational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was the most facinating book I've ever read., March 26, 1999
By A Customer
I thought that The Orion Mystery was very facinating. I have always liked ancient mysteries and what they are connected to, kinds of books. This book proposed a specifically interesting mystery. The book was about a group of pyramids from Egypt's forth dynasty. It said that the group of pyramids coincided with the orion constellation. It also says that the pyramids are on the exact position of the stars in this particular constellation. The Benben stone that the egyptians believe to be linked to the creation of the world was also in these pyramids. I believe that The Orion Mystery made me want to keep reading and also to read other books to keep finding out about these pyramids in Egypt. I found myself unable to put it down. I liked this book because it did not propose anything inpossible but something that you could actually believe. I think that if you like this sort of mystery or like to here about Egyption findings I think you will definately find that you like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those who like a mystery, June 10, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book required extensive research. It is an in-depth discussion of placement of the pyramids. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth Will Out, October 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Orion Mystery: Unlocking the Secrets of the Pyramids. A Revolutionary New Interpretation of the Ancient Enigma. (Hardcover)
This is a Great Book. I highly recommend it and David Rohl's Book, A Test of Time or as published in the USA as Pharaohs and Kings.

There is a tremendous longstanding bias and prejudice in Egyptology that is probably the worst I have ever encountered in any so called Experts's field of endeavor. You can overcome it by having an open mind and judging the facts yourself by looking at the evidence with an open mind.

If you have any interest in Egyptology or the Ancient past that tells the truth based upon evidence on the Ground and in the Sky in plain view, rather than the pontifications of old biased, apparently blind, alleged Scholars, add this book and Mr. Rohl's Book(s) to your Library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alternative insight spark new interest in pyramids, January 4, 2000
For those who are interested in the pyramids, this book cut across very strong conventional thinking of what they are thought to be and sprout new insights into their purpose. For those who support the underdogs, the story of the obstacles the author faced to bring us this alternative insight is also worth reading about. After first reading this book in 1994, my interest in the pyramids was rekindled and my suspicion of their purpose lifted slightly. My sixth sense have always told me that the pyramids are not just tombs, even for pharaohs. To view them as a stellar temples are more "acceptable conventionally". Are we a step closer to finding out the truth about the pyramids? I remember a time what someone suggest that the earth is round when the catholic church believe that it is flat. Perhaps, we are heading in the right direction this time. I first read about the Pyramid Text in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating........., March 23, 2000
Being a novice on the pyraminds, I found this book absolutely fascinating. To think that all those years ago the people of Egypt could have known that much information about the stars is amazing. We usually think of these people as undeveloped, but if the pyramids are truly as complex as these two think than we are talking a whole different ball game. As a novice, I do have a couple of comments about how the book was written. For the most part it flowed fairly smooth. There were a couple of spots where I felt the authors delved a "little too deep" with technical information. But than again, the book was intended to bring attention from the professional fiend about their work, not to be read by a woman engineer who has no experience with the pyramids. One warning, have a lot of time if you are not familiar with the pyramids because it will take you awhile to get thru all the information and make sense of it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.