Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great playing
This is a July 1975 Montreux session, to all intensive purposes its a jam session. Theres only the 4 tracks, and they are all over 10 mins long.

The afterburners are certainly on, and the band is flying from the first number. The band is:
Oscar Peterson - Piano
Milt Jackson - Vibes
Joe Pass - Guitar
Toots Thielmans - Harmonica
Niels...
Published on July 14, 2007 by S J Buck

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Toots Ruined It! Awful! Don't Buy This One!
Toots Thielemans should not be allowed to perform if he persists on playing harmonica. Harmonica is one of the worst instruments ever created. Not only is it annoying, but it ruins the music.

The band is great. I love Oscar Peterson, but you couldn't hear him or the rest of the band over Toots' annoying harmonica playing. I didn't know Toots was going to be...
Published on January 25, 2008 by Transfigured Knight


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great playing, July 14, 2007
By 
This review is from: The Oscar Peterson Big 6 At Montreux (Audio CD)
This is a July 1975 Montreux session, to all intensive purposes its a jam session. Theres only the 4 tracks, and they are all over 10 mins long.

The afterburners are certainly on, and the band is flying from the first number. The band is:
Oscar Peterson - Piano
Milt Jackson - Vibes
Joe Pass - Guitar
Toots Thielmans - Harmonica
Niels Pederson - Bass
Louis Bellson - drums

The unusual element to this is the Harmonica, but as soon as you hear the opening solo on the album you realise that Thielmans is a virtuoso player. He's not playing a diatonic harp but the chromatic, and it sounds great. Goes without saying that the rest of the band swing like crazy and you wont be disappointed by this.

The reason it doesn't get 5 stars is that the sound is a bit dodgy in places (not unlistenable though), but don't let that put you off its well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best there is, June 13, 2002
By 
Julian E. Jacoby (New York, New York USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Oscar Peterson Big 6 At Montreux (Audio CD)
I have been a classical jazz buff since 1950, when the first 331/3 (Benny Goodman's '38 jazz concert) was released. This album is Peterson at his very best, each cut is better than the next. The only albums which may rival this is the Peterson 5 album set -the Blue Note reunion series on Telarc. In my humble opinion, it may be the greatest jazz ever recorded. It prompted me to buy the whole Montrieux series ('75-'77). I can't understand why it did not get greater play over the years in the media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Outstanding Delight, April 30, 2000
By 
Sean J. Wagner (100 miles from Montreux, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Oscar Peterson Big 6 At Montreux (Audio CD)
This is the kind of impromptu performance I'm constantly looking for. Playfully intricate 'till the last bit. Enough said: Let the music talk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure joy of playing..., September 6, 2002
By 
virgilio venditti (Italy, Avezzano (AQ)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Oscar Peterson Big 6 At Montreux (Audio CD)
When you play jazz, there's only one true thing: if you - as a musician - enjoy the moment of the creation with your fellow friends, it will get right into the heart of the listeners. This is evident here and there's not a single misplaced beat or a bad note. Pure soul from them to you within four beautiful themes. Listen in particular to how Toots Thielemans gives his harmonica full dignity among giants like Joe Pass, Milt Jackson and Oscar self!! Don't miss it: your heart deserves some real good care each now and then!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, April 7, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Oscar Peterson Big 6 At Montreux (Audio CD)
Oscar Peterson was one of the finest jazzmen in the history of jazz. When he was "on", NO ONE could cut him. He is definitely "on" here. Surrounded by musicians nearly equally competent, this CD is a prize. Milt Jackson is driving, Joe Pass is brilliant, Toots Thielemans is wonderful and the rhythm section pushes things along beautifully. This is not only great jazz, this is GREAT JAZZ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O.Peterson big six at Montreux '75:great!!, October 19, 1999
By 
Filippo Fontana (Milano, MI Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Oscar Peterson Big 6 At Montreux (Audio CD)
I cannot realize how could you continue living if you have not listened to!Great composition,superb performance....Do not wait and listen to these exceptional artists!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Toots Ruined It! Awful! Don't Buy This One!, January 25, 2008
This review is from: The Oscar Peterson Big 6 At Montreux (Audio CD)
Toots Thielemans should not be allowed to perform if he persists on playing harmonica. Harmonica is one of the worst instruments ever created. Not only is it annoying, but it ruins the music.

The band is great. I love Oscar Peterson, but you couldn't hear him or the rest of the band over Toots' annoying harmonica playing. I didn't know Toots was going to be playing the whole concert. One of the worst albums I ever heard thanks to Toots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Oscar Peterson Big 6 At Montreux
The Oscar Peterson Big 6 At Montreux by Oscar Peterson (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.