Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Other Conquest (La Otra Conquista)
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Adele Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$6.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 2, 2007
For some reason the Spanish Conquest, no doubt one of the most important interchanges of culture in history, has not received the kind of cinematic attention as other events such as Rome, Christ or even Vietnam. Mexican director Salvador Carrasco does us a great service here with "The Other Conquest," a visually stunning, powerful take on Hernan Crotes' conquest of Mexico and the consequences of the event which still affect us to this day.

Unlike many historical epics such as "Gladiator," where substance and character take a back seat to spectacle and bombast, "The Other Conquest" is impressive because of its emotional depth and dramatic qualities. Damian Delgado (Men With Guns) gives a riveting performance as Topiltzin, an Aztec scribe who sees his world burn down as foreign invaders raid the Aztec lands, destroy their gods and impose the new religion of Catholicism. Representing the Catholic church is Friar Diego (Jose Carlos Rodriguez) who attempts with all his might to turn Topiltzin into a model Catholic indian. The scenes between these two are sharply written and Carrasco's script has a clear understanding of the spiritual, intellectual struggle of one religion trying to wipe out another one. The other two notable performances are by Elpidia Carrillo (Salvador, Predator) as Tecuichpo, daughter of the slain Aztec Emperor Moctezuma, and Inaki Aierra as the famed conqueror Hernan Cortes (Aierra is the spitting image of the controversial figure). Both also bring passionate intensity to the roles, one could even say raising the bar for the kinds of performances you usually find in historical epics.

There is excellent conflict in the story because this is not a tale of revenge or one army trying to destroy another, here we have actual human beings caught in the tide of history, a history that is deeply touching their personal lives and well-being. This is the only film I can recall that captures on a deep human level the results of the Spanish Conquest. We don't get cartoon characters here. The lush cinematography adds to the effect with it's rich colors and gritty tones. Jorge Reyes and Samuel Zyman's beautiful score is hypnotic and elevates the material, it is a potent mix of classical and indigenous music that transports us to the era of the story with full effect.

"The Other Conquest" is a kind of alternative to the blood spectacle that was Mel Gibson's "Apocalypto" which concentrated itself more on being a chase movie with little educational or even dramatic value. Here Carrasco and his team have captured a real sense of authenticity in showing us the Aztec world, it's customs, traditions and those of the Spanish invaders as well. "The Other Conquest" is also a relevant film for our times considering events like Iraq have once again raised the question of one culture imposing itself on another. Even those wondering about the rise of figures like Hugo Chavez and Evo Morales in Latin America will see in this story the roots of the social conditions which have brought about these changes and movements. "The Other Conquest" is a grand epic, but a grand epic with heart and a story that has more to it than just the glossy re-creations of a world long gone. A very special film, not to miss.
22 comments|131 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2007
Topiltzin is an Aztec survivor of the Spanish invasion of 1502 where his people and culture have been ruthlessly destroyed at the hands of Hernando Cortes and his Conquistadores in the name of Christianity. Topiltzin is the murdered Moctezuma's illegitimate son. Refusing to surrender to the Spanish, he struggles to preserve the cult of Tonantzin and adapt to a hostile new order imposed by raging battles and ruthless suppression. In the end, he is alone, depressed, and gravely ill. As fever-born hallucinations merge Christian and Aztec imagery together in the mind of Topiltzin, the viewers come to understand the complex and ambiguous origins of a new hybrid Latino culture that would come to be called "Mestizo', and which would still be a part of Mexican culture some five centuries later. Beautifully produced and very highly recommended for personal viewing and community library DVD collections, "The Other Conquest" is filmed in Spanish and Nahuatl (with English subtitles), and has a total running time of 105 minutes. The DVD format allows for the addition of special features including a featurette with cast and crew interviews, deleted scenes from the theatrical release, and a director's commentary.
11 comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2007
In case you missed it in the theaters, here's a great opportunity to see this engaging film. The DVD extras, including omitted scenes that show some of the events after the main narrative, help make the DVD well worth buying.

Visually gorgeous, with well-chosen music, this movie really grabs you. Since the basic story, of a young Aztec's inventive resistance to Spanish colonization, is so exciting, the movie works just as a gripping story, but there's a lot more to it if you're of a philosophical bent. It doesn't answer all the questions it poses.

One thing I particularly liked was the totally unconventional handling of the main characters -- the hero of the story starts off where most movie heroes end up -- with a strong sense of personal pride and certainty. He ends up questioning that, and finding a new, much richer and more complex understanding of his place in the world. Also, the women in this film are incredibly strong and interesting, really 3-dimensional.

This movie works on a lot of levels -- it's a historical drama as well as a stirring allegory about resistance -- and it's also a quite profound piece about the ways in which a person's deepest sense of self can be found in times of extreme duress. It's a great history lesson that avoids all the usual idiotic cliches, and like all history lessons it's also remarkably relevant to the present day.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2009
I saw this film in the theater in Mexico City around 1998, 8 years BEFORE Apocalypto. I was fascinated, there are very few Mexican productions of this quality. Over the years, I had lost hope to ever see it on DVD until now. To a point, I am thankful to Apocalypto because it brough attention to Mexican native topics, and made this film come back. Anyway, this is art cinema, not a popcorn movie like Apocalypto. They also correspond to very different chronology. I am really sad to see poor reviews because "it wasn't better than Apocalypto"... it wasn't meant to be, the box is misleading. La Otra Conquista has a lot of symbolism to Mexicans, both visually and verbally. I can understand some frustration in English-speaking viewers because a lot is lost in translation. The Nahuatl language spoken in many scenes is beautiful! The sets are astounding, while watching the movie, we played trying to identify the locations, it wasn't filmed in studios. The central story is not obvious, it is not a biography or adventure, but a succession of scenes showing the struggle of an indian of noble ascent that becomes a slave, his family and world torn apart, and forced to believe in a religion he doesn't understand. At the same time, the struggle of an Spanish priest whose world and beliefs are also challenged with new, uncompromised points of view, and the barbaric acts from his "civilized" compatriots. If you are only expecting some family fun and a bash of culture, this is not your film, and has nothing to do with Apocalypto, Indiana, or any other big Hollywood production. It isn't a documentary either. This is a deep film to prompt reflexion.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2007
For such a big topic of history there has always seemed to be a lack of films concerning the discovery of the Americas and the conquistadors. The few that there have been have usually been bad quality or totally historically inacurate. The Other Conquest is a great cinematic work produced by the Mexican film industry. It gives a real insight into some of the issues surrounding faith in the new world. The only down side seems to be a lack of dialouge in some areas and long periods of silence. While I enjoyed it, it won't be for everyone as it can be quite slow in some places. I just hope some film producers out there make more films about this period of History of discovery and conquest from both sides.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2008
***** 5 STARS *****
Update on 08/24/2008:
The more I think about this movie, the more it amazes me. I haven't seen a movie with such a profound message in a long time. This movie is definitely a masterpiece. I find it very strange that so few people know about this wonderful movie. It's one of those movies that has the potential to change your life and how you see the world. Too bad I cannot change the 4 star rating I gave earlier.. it deserves nothing less than 5 stars.

Original review:
'The Other Conquest' is a movie in Spanish about Spain's conquest of Mexico and its impact on the lives of the native people and their religion. I think many people who liked 'Apocalypto' would want to watch this movie. However, they don't have too much in common other than the fact that both stories are about the same geographical region and happen around the same time - 'Apocalypto' was before Spanish conquest and this one following the conquest. It is not a fast-paced thriller and drama in the mould of 'Apocalypto'. Rather it explores the cultural and religious differences of two worlds. It is fascinating to watch, visually great and transports the audience to 16th century Mexico. The movie has a strong social and spiritual message. Must see for people who like movies of the thought-provoking or historical genre.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2009
Being a lover of pre-Columbian cultures, I was very disappointed when I watched Apocalipto which, even though it had some beautiful scenes, photographically speaking, it lacked real substance. That's why I was so pleased when I found this movie, made many years before the Gibson's film. I don't know how it was possible I had never heard from it. I immediately felt connected with what I was seeing. It was an almost unexplained sense that this was right. Be aware that you will not find here either the tempo nor the simplicity you usually find in Hollywood movies. This is an art film, depicting the clash between two different ways of looking life and religion. I loved the Mexican characters. The women portrait a natural and non-spoiled beauty that is impossible to find in any Hollywood movie nowadays. And the protagonist, Topiltzin, seems like a character out of an Aztec code. I wish there were more movies about the Spanish conquest like this.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2014
I enjoyed this movie, but have to admit that I watched it twice on back-to-back days to fully appreciate it. There's a very natural feel to the film even though much of the subject matter is spiritual. A great deal of effort was made to film at actual Mexican locations that hasn't been made, in my opinion, since the "Captain From Castille-1947". Although I speak neither, the use of Spanish and Nahuatl (English sub-titles) added to the cultural class and antagonism that the use of a single language wouldn't have captured. The only other recent films one might tend compare this to would be "The Mission-1986" or "Apocalypto-2006", but those wouldn't really be good comparisons except for the visual impact both films make. I won't discuss The Mission as most folks interested in this film probably know that epic film. In Apocalypto a fictional, pre-conquest clash between native cultures in the Maya-region is portrayed and on about the same scale. This film is post-conquest Spanish/Aztec based upon historical figures and situations. I was visually intrigued and constantly thinking about these characters and what their motivations were in this film; in a good way. Well worth adding to the collection!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2007
This is a film certainly worthwatching for it provides a look from the perspective of the one that was been discipline. We see the constant struggle between the colonized and colonizer, where the native was simply seen as an non-educated/salvage person who needed to be converted to christianity. The movie shows that religion was the means used to control the natives, which infact was just an excuse to continue the conquest. Even thought religion was manipulated, the native indian still was open minded to try to relate or undertand the good part of religion as it try to fight back.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2007
If you have not seen this movie yet go out and buy it, rent it, Netflix it... what ever you have to do to see it. Beautiful touching and intensely spiritual movie about a man's quest to hold on to his tradition. This was one of those life transforming movies for me. I agree with the previous review that its a shame it is paired with Mel Gibsons "Apocolypto" here on amazon. This movie is NOTHING like that terrible monster of a movie. If you want to treat yourself and kindle the spirit, add this movie to your collection of gems.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.04

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.