Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars writing about an ethical dilemma with warmth and humanity
This first novel from Gil Porat is promising and lively. The Other Face of Murder is a treatment of an ethical dilemma wrapped inside a murder mystery, layered with warmth, humor and empathy. It's the little details that imbue the story - even about such a difficult subject - with honesty and humanity. You can read the first three chapters at the author's web site:...
Published on March 25, 2009 by Jeannine Hall Gailey

versus
4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Poorly Written Novel
Reading this book was arduous because the writing is so poor. Almost every sentence is "wrong", with the wrong word chosen to depict a feeling, mood or to describe a character.
There is no depth here, no genuine reflection. How the other folks could get through the book and think it is either funny or riveting just baffles me. I don't see the characters, know them...
Published on September 13, 2008 by Jane Werner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars writing about an ethical dilemma with warmth and humanity, March 25, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Other Face of Murder (Paperback)
This first novel from Gil Porat is promising and lively. The Other Face of Murder is a treatment of an ethical dilemma wrapped inside a murder mystery, layered with warmth, humor and empathy. It's the little details that imbue the story - even about such a difficult subject - with honesty and humanity. You can read the first three chapters at the author's web site:
[...] I'm looking forward to this author's next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, June 24, 2008
This review is from: The Other Face of Murder (Paperback)
Dr Gil Porat has the unique ability to inject laugh out loud humor into a very poignant reality, facing death. He does it with comedic timing, grace, thoughtfulness and unpretentiousness. I alternated between great amusement and feeling very introspective. The icing on the cake is the mystery that developes that keeps you reading till the end. The debate over the right of the terminally ill to have the choice on the manner and timing of death vs the need to preverse life for as long as possible makes death with dignity a very real complexed ethical dilemma. This book is a fast read that you won't want to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!, June 12, 2008
This review is from: The Other Face of Murder (Paperback)
Very good read! This book keeps you interested from the first page. With such unique characters and storyline, I did not realize how funny this book was until about halfway through it! Not only was it very funny, but it was also very thought provoking. Dr. Porat very subtly opens the reader's eyes to the complexity of end of life issues. Impressive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!!, June 12, 2008
By 
K. Simonic "Avid fan" (Colorado Springs, Colorado) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Other Face of Murder (Paperback)
Dr Porat genuinely, tastefully and with humor brought a serious subject to the forefront of our minds. He successfully brought to my attention the question What if? I am looking forward to the next book and will always be a big supporter of Dr Porat. Way to go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Page turner, May 22, 2008
This review is from: The Other Face of Murder (Paperback)
I read this book before bed over the course of a few nights. The plot pulled me right along, often causing me to read well beyond my desired bedtime. A great first novel. The overlay of humor on a mystery, addressing a serious topic, in a natural tone. That is hard to find, but the author found it. Very much looking forward to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT READ!, May 11, 2008
This review is from: The Other Face of Murder (Paperback)
This hilarious and provocative mystery, filled with twists and turns, invites the reader to consider the most controversial issue facing us today. While Dr. Porat doesn't provide absolute answers, in his unique way he asks all the right questions.
I don't know of another book like this...Funny, but with the potential to change lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny Book!, May 6, 2008
By 
I. Koch (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Other Face of Murder (Paperback)
While I am not much of a laugh-out-loud person, I have to admit that I laughed out loud a number of times reading this book. Some of the scenes are hilarious and yet it is not a simple comedy. It's a medically-based murder mystery, even philosophical at times, peppered with outrageous tales of the sort you might hear on Howard Stern. Definitely worth the read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FRESH, FUNNY, AWESOME NOVEL, May 6, 2008
This review is from: The Other Face of Murder (Paperback)
If you put ER, House, and Scrubs together into a book written by an experienced physician with a great sense of humor - THE OTHER FACE OF MURDER would be the result. The intruiging mystery contained within is not the point. The motive and results of an unprecedented death is what make this a unique read.Do the typical definitions of suicide and murder even apply to end-of-life care issues? The reader gets to decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Ethical Mystery, May 1, 2008
This review is from: The Other Face of Murder (Paperback)
This is an amazing first novel that combines in-depth ethics, suspense, and humor. Though some may find the murder predictable (given the book's stated topic), the true value of the book is in the subsequent fall-out. Rich characters (including a wry doctor and his not-to-be-missed Jewish mother) fight their way through grief, suspicion, and foggy morals. The result is wholly believable (that is if you believe a cross-dressing Princess Leia is necessary for a good murder mystery), and wholly unexpected. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murder?, May 30, 2008
This review is from: The Other Face of Murder (Paperback)
Great reading for anyone in the health care field and for anyone with a palpable pulse. The practice of medicine (and nursing) should include compassionate and thoughtful care of individuals who wish to die with dignity and grace on their terms and in their time frame. Your novel is a great proponent of this idea. Thankyou for not treating your characters as stereotypes and for writing a genuinely intriguing, intelligent, thought provoking and yes, funny story. As a nurse and as someone who has recently cared for my dying sister, I found great comfort in your words. Thankyou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Other Face of Murder
The Other Face of Murder by Gil Porat (Paperback - April 15, 2008)
$12.95 $11.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.