Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars film noir with elements of romance: holds up well after 70 years; subtle
Miss Stanwyck changed American films. To review her work takes a lot of knowledge.
Anyway, here are my comments as a "movie-goer": The Other Love is a subtle, detailed, and touching film based on a short story : a world-famous, fictional concert pianist falls seriously ill and is forced to find treatment. Money is no problem, apparently, and the pianist (named...
Published 16 months ago by benedicta

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars but I enjoyed it.
Interesting because of the actors--David Niven, Barbara Stanwyck, especially. The story takes some surprising twists, but it is more a psychological drama than having much action. The main character (Stanwyck) is at a sanitarium because of an undisclosed illness, but it is probably tuberculosis--she has the right symptoms, and sending a patient to a sanitarium for rest...
Published 1 month ago by SciMed Reviewer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars film noir with elements of romance: holds up well after 70 years; subtle, October 4, 2013
Miss Stanwyck changed American films. To review her work takes a lot of knowledge.
Anyway, here are my comments as a "movie-goer": The Other Love is a subtle, detailed, and touching film based on a short story : a world-famous, fictional concert pianist falls seriously ill and is forced to find treatment. Money is no problem, apparently, and the pianist (named Karen Duncan) enters a (tuberculosis?) sanatarium, or sanatorium, if you wish, in the mountains of Switzerland. Film-noir aspects ensue: did the previous occupant of her room die, and why? Is the genuinely friendly lady in the next room ill or on holiday as she says. Why are white orchids anonymously delivered? Can Karen Duncan recover ? (We can treat some lung disease these days, but when this movie was made,in 1947, we couldn't treat it as well, and so rest was prescribed. Demands are made on the movie viewer to know things like this. We are rewarded, though)

In her films, Miss Stanwyck did some of her own stunt work; in this film,for example, she (1)drives herself on a real road in a small carriage with a single horse. Entering a main road, her carriage is nearly struck by the speeding car of a race-cardriver, played by Richard Conte. Which is how she meets the other love.

Stuntwork(2) in this film, Miss Stanwyck's hands are shown as she plays the grand piano. The usual movie way is to film a movie star seated at the piano but not show the hands. Miss Stanwyck had 3-hours a day coaching to learn to handle the keyboard like a pro.. It is said of her that she regarded every day making films as a learning experience. (Especially with Mr. Demille). Score points for her.

The Other Love has fine, detailed acting by Miss Stanwyck and by her costars as they tell the story.. Very film noir. Lots of shadows, misleading camera shots, unusual camera angles, and, of course, the film is romantic but not exclusively so.

Her costars David Niven as the physician and Richard Conte as the racecar driver have been criticized as lukewarm, but this is unfair, I think. And no one even mentions the young actress Joan Lorring (about 21 years old at the time of this film)She was the supporting actress who played the mysterous patient in the next room. Her work adds a lot to the film. By the way, the actor Gilbert Roland appears briefly as a casino dealer or croupier who encounters Karen Duncan (Stanwyck)at night in the rain when she is wandering unwell, with an attempted rape the result.

On the other hand,there are some very deftly composed romantic scenes that include Miss Stanwyck's character waking in a hotel room, getting a phone call, opening the doors to the balcony, and seeing the "other love" on an adjoining balcony. He asks her whether the pajamas were satisfactory. Miss Stanwyck is wearing men's pajamas--you have to see this to believe how well it is presented. The movie is 70 years old and holds up well , but makes demands on viewers used to seeing less subtle stuff.
Andre De Toth directed this, with camera angles misleading and mysterious, the way film noir leads us along.

The last scene --
Which I won't describe--was puzzling to me. Even so, I really think you will enjoy this film noir with its romantic overtones, and white orchids, pajamas, chaise-longue ,gambling casinos, mountains, piano keyboards, and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Stanwyck in a beautiful film, February 22, 2014
I love Stanwyck and I love this film. I see more in it every time I watch it: the looks that pass over her face, the subtle gestures, the way her voice goes ever more breathless as the story moves along. Sadly, we know longer see the original ending. For some strange reason, that ending was discarded when the movie was acquired from Enterprise and re-released in 1953 -- with the unfortunate and utterly unfitting title of "Man Killer". The original title soon returned, although the deleted ending never has.

Stanwyck herself was appalled when she the movie on television, and her dark victory was gone. She felt the loss of ending made everything she did in the later part of the film seem ridiculous. I don't agree with that, but I do wish the footage of that original ending could be found and restored to the film.

The movie deserves it and Barbara Stanwyck deserves it. The greatest screen actress of all time warrants whatever time and effort it takes to see that all her work is restored and shown in it's original glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly beautiful film, February 13, 2014
I had never fully appreciated either Barbara Stanwyck or David Nivens before this film.

Barbara Stanwyck is a simply haunting beauty in this film. She embodies the character's grace, elegance, strength and fragility beautifully.

Made me reach out to learn more about her.

Made me nostalgic for the Golden Age of Film.

Chris
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful film with Barbara Stanwyck, December 11, 2014
A wonderful film with Barbara Stanwyck . Great chemistry between all 3 leading characters and a good story. Stanwyck is breathtaking and as always gives an amazing performance. I am a huge fan of hers and try to watch any and every movie she has ever been in. She was such a talent. I don't think there are half a dozen actresses now that could compare to a few dozen actresses from the silent era up to the the early sixties that are any where near as talented now. Most today bore me to death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ... that the dvd of "The Other Love"was of very good guality and it was purchased at a reasonable price, August 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Other Love (DVD)
I thought that the dvd of "The Other Love"was of very good guality and it was purchased at a reasonable price.
This film showed Barbara Stanwyck at her best in flattering costumes by Edith Head. Barbara displayed her
versatility as a conscert pianist and looked rather convincing doing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars meaningful melodrama, August 15, 2014
By 
Bookski (Chicagoland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Other Love (DVD)
After having seen this movie free on Amazon Prime, I was happy to find that it was being released as a dvd through Olive Films. I own many of Olive Films' dvds and blurays and have been modestly pleased with all of them. They are noted for not putting much into the restoration, which may not satisfy some, but they also leave the film looking like film, with grain and some signs of aging. I love a perfect looking bluray, but films like this with a few flaws in picture quality trigger a feeling of nostalgia for all the grainy, muffled sounding TV broadcast films of my youth that cemented my love of movies, classic Hollywood movies in particular.
This film, featuring the incomparable Barbara Stanwyck, falls into the category of melodrama, also known by the more endearing term of '"weeper." ******SPOILER ALERT******She finds herself in a sanitarium under the care of David Niven, a doctor who soon quietly falls in love with her. Rebelling against her confinement and the strict treatment plan for her unnamed illness, she runs away to an elegant, casino-filled resort town with Richard Conte, the fun-loving antithesis of her sensible physician. Sadly, her illness has followed her, and her plans for freedom and a life of gaiety do not work out as she'd hoped and she is ultimately faced with a difficult choice. *****End of spoilers
When the plot of a melodrama is diluted to its bare essentials, it often cannot avoid sounding silly and somewhat ridiculous. But, with such leads as those featured in this film, and the beautiful production values associated with the Golden Age of Hollywood, true depth of feeling and a believable search for meaning when faced with one's possibly imminent death shine through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not to Be Missed!!, July 29, 2014
By 
Any of the early movies with Barbara Stanwyck sizzling up the screen are worth watching more than once. They just don't make them like they did back then! Why waste your time with what Hollywood puts out today? It's all just trash. And they leave nothing to the imagination because they think we're all just idiots anyway without half a brain to figure out what they're trying to say; hence the reason for the current lack of real stars such as Stanwyck, with a body of work spanning her lifetime. She didn't need to dis-robe to film a love scene; just one arched eyebrow and a sultry look while slowly closing the door and the audience knew what was going on behind closed doors. Funny thing, I never met the young Stanwyck, as she first entered my life as a teenager through "The Thorn Birds" and I hated her for years. Now, I'm the one who's 50. Guess who's laughing now? Sleep with the angels, Barbara. You were one of Best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars but I enjoyed it., December 23, 2014
By 
Interesting because of the actors--David Niven, Barbara Stanwyck, especially. The story takes some surprising twists, but it is more a psychological drama than having much action. The main character (Stanwyck) is at a sanitarium because of an undisclosed illness, but it is probably tuberculosis--she has the right symptoms, and sending a patient to a sanitarium for rest was the treatment in those days. Movie is a little slow, but I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, February 3, 2014
By 
David Niven really has you wondering at first. I wonder what illness was he treating at this asylum. Tuberculosis? Does anyone know?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this movie, September 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Other Love (DVD)
Love this movie. Stanwyck is a pianist and comes down with Consumption. It is a story of her treatment, and how she leaves to live abit, but then comes back to the treatment center, but I never figured out if she died or made it. Wonderful movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Other Love
The Other Love by Andre De Toth (DVD - 2014)
$24.95 $14.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.