Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational and uplifting
This is an amazing CD. If you only know of Billy Ray as that "Achey Breaky Heart" guy, you need to check out this CD. Billy Ray released one of the years best CDs that includes a great mix of country, pop/rock and gospel. No filler here - every single song on this CD is worth a listen. The songs themselves are inspirational and uplifting. A great CD from a...
Published on April 14, 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Other Side...of ...
You have to really like BRC to pull this one out again after you have listened to it once or twice. I was a fan of the old school Billy Ray. The subtle changes in his vocals, the way he projects his self and the lyrics of late, just not the same confident musician belting out songs that everyone could relate too.
Published on October 4, 2008 by Linda A. Stevens


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational and uplifting, April 14, 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Other Side (Audio CD)
This is an amazing CD. If you only know of Billy Ray as that "Achey Breaky Heart" guy, you need to check out this CD. Billy Ray released one of the years best CDs that includes a great mix of country, pop/rock and gospel. No filler here - every single song on this CD is worth a listen. The songs themselves are inspirational and uplifting. A great CD from a tremendously underrated performer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proud to be his fan!, February 21, 2004
By 
Ray (Kowloon Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Other Side (Audio CD)
He touches my heart with his remarkable voice. And it feels like he truly meant every word that he sang. The moment he started the first note of "Face of God", I was hooked and couldn't stop the CD player. It's that good.
A talented singer like him is really rare nowadays, regardless of music genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS MUSIC TAKES YOU TO ALL SIDES, November 6, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Other Side (Audio CD)
Both mainstream, country, and christian music lovers will enjoy this awesome CD. Every song has great meaning, and with today's world, we need some uplifting, yet really good music like THE OTHER SIDE. With great songs like TIP OF MY HEART, FACE OF GOD, WOULDN'T YOU DO THIS FOR ME, THIS MUCH, and all the rest. I highly recommend this music....and, like so many people who have listened to it, your car radio will not be the same. Billy Ray has outdid himself, and should win an award for this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Other Side" is a great CD, January 15, 2004
This review is from: The Other Side (Audio CD)
Billy Ray has outdone himself on this one. His voice is so soft and soothing on this CD. He has always been my favorite. If it wasn't for Billy Ray, I would never have listened to country music. I'm not very happy with the country music stations not playing his works of art. "Always Sixteen" off this new CD is a wonderful song with a great message, and I haven't heard it played at all. I've called to request that it be played, and they don't play it. MAKES ME VERY ANGRY!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Other Side By Billy Ray Cyrus, October 29, 2003
By 
shirley barrow (lady lake, florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Other Side (Audio CD)
this has to be the best cd put out so far by billy ray cyrus. the title song The Other Side was written by billy ray and is so true to life for him. my favorite on the cd. but they are all great and really hard to pick just one. the face of god though not written by billy ray well could have been the story of his relationship with his daughter. the bluesy version of Amazing Grace is fantastic. Tip of my Heart is one you will enjoy either country or christian. this cd is christian but country also.you will not be disappointed in it at all. if you are lucky enough to get the bonus dvd with it you are in for a real treat. gives great insite to the making of this cd and his relationship with his family and god. one cd you will enjoy for sure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRC knows how to sing!, January 2, 2004
This review is from: The Other Side (Audio CD)
Billy Ray Cyrus is one of country music's best (and most underrated) singers. He hasn't been in the Top 40 since what? Does that mean he's not making any good music anymore? Not at all!
This isn't BRC's best album (that title probably goes to his last record, TIME FLIES), but it's top-quality nonetheless. And don't be deterred by the fact that it's labeled "gospel;" personally, I don't see how that term applies, since not all of the songs on here are about God or faith.
BRC knows how to sing, and he knows how to rock--without ever leaving country music. Take "Always Sixteen" and "Love Has No Walls"--two songs that'll get you singing along and tapping your foot. "Did I Forget To Pray" is a little corny, but it has a good beat, and BRC's voice is stellar. "Holding Onto a Dream" is also a good rocker, about how sometimes dreams are the hardest things to acheive, but you gotta keep 'em within reach.
There are some good ballads on here, as well. "I Love You This Much" (didn't John Berry record this one?) is of semi-emotional quality; it's probably pretty good, but since it appears alongside "Wouldn't You Do This For Me" (the next "Three Wooden Crosses") and the absolutely stunning "I Need You Now," your attention is torn away.
The biggest surprise on the album is bound to turn some heads. You're probably used to a laid-back, vocal-powered "Amazing Grace." Me too. And I like that. However, BRC's version of the song is a bluesy-rocking number that focuses not only on his voice, but on some awesome piano/slide guitar playing as well. Some won't like it; fans of good music will.
So, don't let the fact that people call this a "gospel" album stop you from buying it. Billy Ray Cyrus's latest, "The Other Side," is an album of inspiration--set to some great southern rock-flavored country tones.
Call it gospel if you want. That's your perogative. I'm not overly reglious, but I have to say: if this is gospel music, then I'll let Billy Ray Cyrus take me to church any day, as long as he brings a mike and a guitar! Preach on, BRC, as long as you rock the pulpit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Other Side, February 27, 2004
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Other Side (Audio CD)
This is Billy Ray Cyrus best CD Ever. I want him to make more like this. I love the words to the songs They mean a lot. Great!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Other Side, November 6, 2003
By 
Roberta Ann Loerlein2 (Traverse City, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Other Side (Audio CD)
This is my first Billy Ray Cyrus CD and I am glad I bought it. It really is great. He is such a humble and kind person. I am glad he is doing well. Keep it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best effort, January 18, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Other Side (Audio CD)
I truly believe this is Billy Ray's finest effort to date.

The songs are beautiful and really showcase his great voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God Bless You Billy Ray :), November 7, 2003
This review is from: The Other Side (Audio CD)
This new cd is absolutely the most heartwarming and spiritually uplifting gift anyone could share...God Bless you Billy for sharing this wonderful music. ALL of the songs on "The Other Side" have very special meanings that I believe everyone of us can relate to today, in one way or another. It's so hard to decide on which one is a favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Other Side
The Other Side by Billy Ray Cyrus (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.