Customer Reviews


1,682 Reviews
5 star:
 (762)
4 star:
 (410)
3 star:
 (217)
2 star:
 (125)
1 star:
 (168)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If the revenge is this bad, the love must have been good.
At first blush this movie appears to be a jilted wife/ mistress triangle movie which has been explored many times in the movies, and on the Lifetime Channel, or as I like to call it, the 'I hate Men' channel, so I was not overly enthused with the premise, and plunked down some money while scanning to see what movies might be starting slightly later, just in case...
Published 4 months ago by L. Power

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Enough Distraction While Doing Other Things
The Other Woman was good for what it was, a distraction on my tablet while I worked out on a cardio machine. Had a paid to see it in the theater I would have been disappointed. The trailers promised madcap physical comedy. It takes a special acting talent to pull off madcap physical comedy. Lucille Ball and Jerry Lewis being at the tippy top. Today Jim Carey can do it...
Published 26 days ago by A. Langston


‹ Previous | 1 2169 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If the revenge is this bad, the love must have been good., April 26, 2014
At first blush this movie appears to be a jilted wife/ mistress triangle movie which has been explored many times in the movies, and on the Lifetime Channel, or as I like to call it, the 'I hate Men' channel, so I was not overly enthused with the premise, and plunked down some money while scanning to see what movies might be starting slightly later, just in case.

Directed by Nick Cassavetes The Notebook (2004), and Alpha Dog (which he also wrote), son of actor and director John Cassavetes this movie has quite a pedigree. Screenwriter Melissa Stack has crafted a brilliant comedy.

Leslie Mann has gotten better every time I have seen her. When she starred in the Change Up with Ryan Reynolds and Jason Bateman, I thought she was the saving grace in a somewhat obnoxious comedy, and I thought her performance was brave, daring and endearing, and pushed boundaries.

Here her performance is off the charts brilliant, and I do not think it unreasonable to say no actress on the planet could have played the part better, and she is the single most compelling reason to see this movie.

She manages to be all things, funny, emotional, endearing, charming, sympathetic, easily matching the more experienced A list actress Cameron Diaz, comedically brilliant, and possessed of a marvellous feminity.

The Other Woman is a much better than expected comedy which worked on every level for me. Cameron Diaz plays an unmarried lawyer who has fished extensively in the dating pool, and been disappointed with her catches. Her secretary played by Nicki Minaj offers very dubious dating advice. Her new love turns out to be an already taken man, Leslie Mann his wife.

Wife and alleged mistress after initial awkwardness form an unlikely alliance to seek a witty revenge on a cheating husband. The movie produces a serious of scenes, some based on witty humor, much based on physical comedy. I found myself so wrapped up in the moment that I rarely thought ahead, and loved every moment, as did the audience around me many of whom were women. Kate Upton plays another...let's just say that this husband gets around, and this small but determined group seeks a means of justice.

I enjoyed Kate Upton. I don't know if acting is something she wishes to pursue as a career, but one had the sense of her authentic nature coming through, and she seems to be a sweet girl, who fit in easily and comfortably with her more accomplished acting colleagues.

There were a number of scenes where I had to cover my eyes, and the absurdity of the nature of revenge was absolutely delightful.

Though female energy drives the movie most men who see it will also enjoy and not simply dismiss as a 'chick flick.'
The Other woman gave me a much better than expected experience.

If you like this movie you will also probably like The First Wives Club with Bette Midler and Goldie Hawn.

I think most people will enjoy this movie and I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A PATCH OF HAPPINESS, May 3, 2014
This review is from: The Other Woman (Amazon Instant Video)
Kate (Leslie Mann) discovers her husband Mark (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau) has been cheating on him with Carly (Cameron Diaz) and Amber (Kate Upton). The three women form a sisterhood making me feel like I was watching a "Sex in the City" episode. Together they conspire to "hurt" Mark.

The movie is a chick flick. Cameron Diaz is not the spry Charlies' Angel anymore. Leslie Mann plays an unrealistic character that was fun to watch. And Kate Upton ran in slow motion in a white bikini. This was a fun formulaic film that is not deep. Good sound track helped in the enjoyment.

Parental Guide: No nudity. 2 mouthed f-bombs. Sex talk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes, friendship can be found in the most unlikely of places., May 8, 2014
This review is from: The Other Woman (Amazon Instant Video)
My mom said she would like to see this. Once again, we saw a movie that neither of us knew anything about.

I know who Diaz and Mann are, two great actresses. Kate Upton was one whom I’ve never seen. She did a good job for her part.

The movie is really about three women, who learn to be strong and stand up for them selves for the fact that they are all important and deserve to be treated like people instead of objects.

There may be spoilers below.

Mann’s character is married. At first, her husband seems like a nice guy. But, he is cheating on her. Over the first part of the movie, you really get to see how bad of a guy he is. He does not think he is doing anything wrong. His marriage does not mean a thing to him. He is also seeing Diaz’s character. He treats her like she is the only woman in his life. One day, Mann’s Character sees Diaz’s characters number and calls her. They realize what is happening. First, they do not really seem to get along. Diaz’s character is a bit heartless. She is a busy lady who has little time for friends, while Mann’s character is the exact opposite. She has that grandmother thing. Super nice, loving and wants to have fun and be kiddy. They do a good job of expressing the characters personalities. Thing happen and they start talking. Slowly, they realize that they only really have each other. That is until they both realize that the man is cheating again. This time of both of them! Then they meet the third lady. They start hanging out. Mann’s character learns that though she is a nice person, there is a time when you have to forget about being kind and take up for yourself. Diaz’s character learns to open up a little and be friendly and trustworthy. The third girl, well, hey, she is beautiful. Haha You’ll see. The movie is all about them finding strength in and from one another. Though I am a 29 year old guy, I like this movie. It just leaves you with a happy feeling. I laughed so hard at many parts of this movie. I will pre order the blu-ray as soon as it is available. I look forward to seeing outtakes. So, check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Enough Distraction While Doing Other Things, August 27, 2014
By 
A. Langston (California, USA.) - See all my reviews
The Other Woman was good for what it was, a distraction on my tablet while I worked out on a cardio machine. Had a paid to see it in the theater I would have been disappointed. The trailers promised madcap physical comedy. It takes a special acting talent to pull off madcap physical comedy. Lucille Ball and Jerry Lewis being at the tippy top. Today Jim Carey can do it to hilarious effect and Bullock and McCarthy pulled it off in The Heat. Leslie Mann, the redhead in The Other Woman, kinda has what it takes to pull off physical comedy in this film but not to the level to carry all the laughs in this film. And Carmen Diaz and Kate Upton simply do not have it at all.

The movie does offer some laughs, but the big payoffs the audience is suppose to get from the physical comedy scenes just do not pay off. Carmen Diaz falls out of a second story window and through a gazebo after hiding in the tool of a wedding dress where she nearly suffocated and NONE of the scene is very funny.

A lot of the scenes are slight and you can tell they are slight because pop music is used as emotional filler. The plot is predictable, which is fine, I mean, it is a revenge film where the wronged women band together to get back at the philandering guy, so the fact that it is predictable is not a big crime. But the predictability actually works against how the characters are played.

Leslie Mann's character of Kate King is so clingy when she meets Carmen Diaz's character and so smitten when she meets Kate Upton's (smitten to the point where she likes the way the Upton character's sweat smells and she smacks the Upton character's behind which is shaking in front of her face as the two of them dance) character that I really thought Kate King was going to be liberated by her husband's cheating because it allowed her to finally realize that she is a lesbian (which would explain why she makes up hygiene excuses to put off having sex with her husband). Well, obviously the film does not go that way, which left me puzzled as to why this wronged woman was so deeply "into" the females with whom her husband cheated.

Don Johnson shows up and is underused as a comedic character. Nikki Manaj can't act at all but is just funny being herself.

If you want to sit down and really watch a movie. Do not watch this movie because it will not hold up to the scrutiny. If you want to use a movie to distract you from exercising or putting on nail polish or folding laundry, then go for it for the light laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Other Woman, August 3, 2014
This review is from: The Other Woman (DVD)
In The Other Woman, Carmen Diaz plays a beautiful lawyer who learns her boyfriend isn't as perfect as he seems. Not only is he married, he has a second mistress of the side. When these ladies find out they've been betrayed, they don't waste time with cat fights. They join forces to make Mark pay for the stunts he's pulled. What ensues is a hilarious tale of revenge, and in the midst of it, the three girls become fast friends that prove you don't need a man to be happy.

The Other Woman is a delightful comedy that takes a totally different spin on jilted lovers. I love how the three woman find strength in each other instead of turning to bitterness and anger. The unique ways they find to get back at Mark are hilarious and combine both witty humor and physical comedy. Though it may be a little unrealistic on some levels, its still fun to see Mark get what he deserves. While most may want to categorize this as a chick flick, and there are a few sentimental scenes, its actually a film both men and women will enjoy watching together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I love Cameron Diaz, September 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love Cameron Diaz. I love Leslie Mann. Kate Upton is hot. But this movie is SO DAMN STUPID. I am a serious lover of chick flicks, cheesy, dumb movies, but this was actually painful to watch. First, Leslie Mann's character is so annoying. There is a scene where she is "overwhelmed" and crying and I just had to mute my TV. Cameron Diaz, as always, plays the "woman who has everything and seems to have it all together but is emotionally unavailable because of a past relationship trauma" but falls way short in this film. And Kate Upton CAN NOT ACT. She was horrific. Girlfriend, stick to floating in space in your bikini. I knew this movie would be bad, but I was hoping for fun bad, not straight up cringe-worthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining / Unoriginal, May 12, 2014
This review is from: The Other Woman (Amazon Instant Video)
"The Other Woman" (TOW) has its moments of inspired slapstickery and contains one of the most over-the-top, yet engaging performances by a grown woman in a comedy (Leslie Mann) I've yet seen. Her controlled physical and emotional histrionics are hardly balanced by moments of resolve and clarity, yet we feel for her and her inability to come to a decision regarding her philandering husband.

While not an incredibly well-written, plotted, or directed movie, TOW is nonetheless eminently watchable regardless of which sex you represent. I didn't feel particularly put upon or slandered as a male primarily due to the fact that the triple-timing husband seemed to relish in his moral paucity. The guy is pretty much a total creep.

However, TOW is weighed down by the hugely exaggerated stereotypes of just about everyone save Ms. Mann's character. (SPOILER ALERT) And the final climax wherein the cheating husband is confronted is silly, overblown, and straight out of the Three Stooges. Subtlety is not this picture's forte'.

And as for Ms. Upton. As an actress she's a very good bathing suit model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Other Mediocre Comedy, August 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not bad at all, but it loses its steam. There are some genuinely funny moments. Most of them coming from Mann and Diaz. The girls have chemistry on screen, though.

Very different characters linking up, but you don't get as many comedic scenes as serious ones with the girls. Which is weird for a comedy. I wished that these girls had been on more adventures and mishaps together--truly a great trio.

Kate Upton can act! And she is obviously incredible to look at, so win-win.

Waldau is perhaps at his best when he suffers from a few of the ladies' vengeful tactics. His performance in the bathroom stall deserves an Oscar. Let's just say it was a VERY tense and suspenseful "Game of Throne." His estrogen-plump nipple scene is great too, but short.

The movie ends its interaction with the husband in a totally inappropriate and horrific encounter that makes no sense. One of the worst comedic scenes that should have been in a psychological horror movie. Again, well-acted. Shocking. But not funny at all.

Coincidentally that is when Minaj is at her worst with the fakest laugh in the history of cinema. Otherwise, she was surprisingly good.

The writing is half-done. Nothing spectacular. So many comedic scene opportunities missed. It felt more like a drama that had some funny parts. It also felt like the writers were not really looking for funny situations, but leaving all the hard work up to the actors.

The cinematography and soundtrack are excellent. There are some touching moments where the effects of the affairs change the main character and are brought into focus for us by thoughtful camera work and music.

Also, everywhere you go in this film there are good-looking people. LOL. For once, I'd love a movie to include a bunch of skinny, obese, odd-featured, and plain people into the mix. They exist too. I've seen them.

So, all in all, worth a rent. If The Other Woman had been thought through more carefully, it could have been a comedy hit. Like Role Models or Step Brothers. But the characters do more contemplating and bonding than wriggling out of trouble and awkward situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally a new twist to a romantic comedy, September 9, 2014
This review is from: The Other Woman (DVD)
At this time there are 1400 reviews of this movie, so I am not going to go into a lot of detail. Besides, there are some twists in the story, and I wouldn't want to give anything away. What I will say is that my wife and I started watching this and it seemed to be a stereotypical movie about a cheating husband, and we had our doubts that we would stick with it as it seemed like there must only be two or three directions it could take.

But the movie quickly took a turn that felt rather fresh and new - quite a feat in the romantic comedy genre. There were plenty of laughs and the developing chemistry between the women was fun to watch. Having said all that, I will admit that after the twists in the story were played out and the movie settled into its ending, we thought the very end was rather predictable and uninteresting, compared to the rest of the movie. But really, that was just the last two minutes so it's not like it affected how much we enjoyed the movie. In a genre like rom-com, it is the chemistry of the stars and high quality writing that leads to quality, and this movie has both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot better than I expected., August 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Other Woman (DVD)
I always love a movie where he done her wrong and she got even big time. With 3 women he did wrong it's 3 times the fun. I've never particularly cared for Cameron Diaz. She always seems to play the same sort of role and she just isn't a pretty woman. Huge nose. Pretty eyes though and apparently she never takes her eye makeup off even to go to bed. I didn't expect an awful lot from this movie as so many fairly new movies are just not very well done. But, this was clever and in some places it was laugh out loud funny. And, in the end, he got exactly what he deserved. Great ending. If you just want to have fun, watch this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2169 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Other Woman
The Other Woman by Nick Cassavetes
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.