Customer Reviews


848 Reviews
5 star:
 (490)
4 star:
 (227)
3 star:
 (61)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art, entertainment and many subtle layers and messages
This movie has a number of levels, many of which are not immediately apparent because of the excellent acting, near perfect casting and exquisite cinematography. On the artistic level the movie will appeal more to artists and writers, and to those who enjoy a well crafted plot and a surprise ending.
On another level, though, this movie will inspire a self...
Published on May 31, 2002 by kate_hartshorn

versus
91 of 107 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Unique Ghost Story
The Others isn't your typical ghost story; there isn't the quantity of jump-out-of-your-seat thrills you'd expect to find in a film like this. In fact, The Others is virtually chill-free for the first hour. But what The Others lacks in quantity, it makes up in quality. Instead of a roller coaster of cheap chills and thrills, The Others takes a much denser and darker...
Published on July 26, 2001 by Geoffrey Kleinman


‹ Previous | 1 285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

108 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art, entertainment and many subtle layers and messages, May 31, 2002
By 
This movie has a number of levels, many of which are not immediately apparent because of the excellent acting, near perfect casting and exquisite cinematography. On the artistic level the movie will appeal more to artists and writers, and to those who enjoy a well crafted plot and a surprise ending.
On another level, though, this movie will inspire a self examination of how one perceives realities. It does this by exposing the filters and assumptions that we all use when observing and mentally correlating those observations with our knowledge of fact into our realities. It also has an obvious message about coexistence and acceptance.
Regardless of whether or not one believes in the supernatural, the story and the ending will be completely unexpected for most who watch this movie. The many clues wrapped in foreshadowing and other plot devices will not make sense until the end, but if you carefully examine them a day or so after watching this movie you'll have some keen insights into your own unique set of filters and assumptions that you use daily.
There are other levels and messages within this movie that will surface days or weeks after watching it, such as the way the female characters are portrayed as more proactive, central figures than the male characters. The movie also challenges religious beliefs in subtle and not-so-subtle ways. I am not sure if this is yet another subtle layer of the plot or if it reflects the views and biases of the writers and director - but these elements are there.
If you enjoy great dialog and a masterful story with an interesting plot that is presented with beautiful visuals then you'll love this movie on an artistic level. If you enjoy mental challenges and subtlety that is presented with social and cogitative challenges you'll love this movie on a deeper level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strikingly original and genuinely scary., August 21, 2001
By 
D. Litton (Wilmington, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Highly atmospheric and foreboding, "The Others" is unlike any ghost story I've seen since Robert Wise's "The Haunting" in 1963. Director Alejandro Amenabar brings to the screen a uniquely chilling tale that slowly makes its way under our skin until it's almost unbearable. I don't know which aspect of the film I liked better: the ominous setting where the eerie story takes place, or the magnificent performance from Nicole Kidman.
Kidman plays Grace, a mother of two children living in an expansive New England mansion surrounded by a ceaseless fog and dry vegetation. When three house servants show up at her door, they are bewildered by the manner in which Grace runs the household, closing each door before opening another, and closing any and all curtains to prevent all sunlight from invading the rooms.
We learn the sunlight is harmful to her young children, Anne (Alakina Mann) and Nicholas (James Bentley). From the beginning, Anne speaks of a past event that occurred between her and her mother, and of apparitions throughout the house. Grace dismisses her comments as rubbish, but becomes increasingly uneasy once she begins hearing voices in the upstairs rooms, and finds that doors in the house open and close by themselves without a key.
As the movie progresses, Amenabar creates a distinctly uneasy atmosphere in which even the audience knows better than to look at this house as little more than an expensive home. From a continuous fog to the whisperings of voices and things that go bump in the night, the scares come not from what we see, but what we don't see, which is even scarier than you may think. Amenabar proves that one needn't be subjected to a special effect in order to be frightened.
What helps the movie is the fact that it has a solid story to back its scares. What starts out as a slow-moving introduction to the characters and settings evolves into a first-class mystery on par with such mysteries as "The Sixth Sense," though this film's clues are much more apparent. You may have found the pieces to the puzzle involving the three housekeepers, but that doesn't mean you've solved the film's resolution, which is an unexpected gem.
The real delight comes from the involving performance from Nicole Kidman, who evokes much of the fear throughout the film. There are times when she slowly makes her way into rooms to investigate suspicious noises, her eyes growing wider with psychological fear, and times when she becomes frantic, such as when she searches desperately for the curtains taken from the windows.
"The Others" may very well be one of the best scare films we've ever seen. Amenabar gives his unique story a sense of fear that comes from the mind. In a decade of born-again slasher pics and gory bloodshed and mayhem, it's nice to be able to embrace something entirely different from the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 107 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Unique Ghost Story, July 26, 2001
The Others isn't your typical ghost story; there isn't the quantity of jump-out-of-your-seat thrills you'd expect to find in a film like this. In fact, The Others is virtually chill-free for the first hour. But what The Others lacks in quantity, it makes up in quality. Instead of a roller coaster of cheap chills and thrills, The Others takes a much denser and darker approach to the ghost story.
The Others takes a considerable amount of time to set everything up - almost too much. Halfway through the movie I wondered if there was going to be a pay off. Ultimately there is quite a pay off, but it takes so long to get there you might not feel it's 'worth it'. Despite the fact that I found The Others to be quite slow, I did enjoy it. Nicole Kidman does a great job as the neurotic and tortured lead, and she's backed up by a strong supporting cast. Spanish director Alejandro Amenabar lights almost the entire movie by candle light, something I haven't seen since Barry Lyndon. This gives The Others a soft and warm look that is uncommon to the genre. Amenabar also makes light a character in the film, where daylight becomes much scarier than the warmth and comfort of the dark. If you're planning on seeing The Others, I'd advise you to avoid reading any reviews which talk about the plot. The film takes a number of twists and turns which can easily be spoiled. This might be a good film to wait for DVD, except for the risk of the plot getting spoiled before you get a chance to see it. [Geoffrey Kleinman ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We Will Never Leave This House, February 24, 2003
To a certain extent, one's enjoyment of THE OTHERS will depend on how quickly you recognize the major plot device on which the entire film turns. Once recognition sets in, how much you are able to further enjoy the film will then depend on how much you have become engaged by the characters--and it is here, really, that the film stumbles a bit, not so much through the way it is done but rather through the way the characters must be played in order for their behavior to make sense at the film's conclusion.
The premise, which seems deeply influenced by both Henry James' THE TURN OF THE SCREW and the 1960s film version known as THE INNOCENTS, concerns a woman who resides with her two children in an isloated mansion following World War II. Her situation is dire: her husband is missing in action and presumed dead; her children suffer from a rare genetic disease that makes sunlight dangerous to them; her servants have departed in the night without a word of warning. The latter problem seems remedied by the arrival of new servants--but no sooner are they installed than odd happenings begin to occur. Is the woman going mad? Are the servants involved? Have intruders secretly entered the house? Or could it be--something unearthly?
The cast is exceptionally good here, with Fionnula Flanagan as the newly arrived servant Mrs. Mills and children Alakina Mann and James Bentley giving remarkable performances. But the focus is on Nicole Kiddman as Grace, a role that Kiddman plays with a white-knuckled grip and considerable ferocity--so much so that it becomes extremely difficult to like, much less sympathize, with the character. In some respects, however, this is ultimately necessary for this extremely plot-driven film to have any significant impact, and in hindsight it is hard to imagine that the role could be played in any other way; still, hindsight does not allow you to engage fully with the character when you are in the midst of the film. It is a flaw, but it is an unavoidable one--and the film is so remarkably stylish that it largely overcomes both the anticipated plot-twist and Kiddman's necessarily ferocious performance.
The production values are first rate all the way down the line. Everything looks right, sounds right, feels right. But two items deserve special mention: the exceptional soundtrack, which was composed by director Alejandro Amenabar himself, and the stunning cinematography, which has tremendous visual texture and which neatly blends a fluidity of movement with a remarkably claustrophobic feel. If your tastes run to special effects and blood-spatter horror films, you are likely to disappointed, for there are none in THE OTHERS; Amenabar craftily creates tension more via what is suggested rather than shown, and doors left ajar and half-heard sounds are his devices of choice; it is all very subtle and yet remarkably chilling.
The DVD package is a double-disk set, with the film on one disk and bonuses on the other. Although the bonuses are often quite interesting--particularly a documentary on individuals who actually suffer from hyper-sensitively to sunlight--they actually contribute little to the film itself, and it is a bit surprising that such a small bonus package would require a second disk. The sound for the feature is also problematic re home viewing, and I recommend that viewers play it at top volume, for there is no middle ground--everything is very quiet or very loud, and the contrast adds tremendously to the film's effect.
It is extremely difficult to know how to rate this film, for as I've noted the very nature of the story has two embedded flaws: the almost inevitable recognition of the major plot device and the necessity of Kiddman's over-the-top performance. But even though I recognized the nature of the plot device very early in the film, and even though I found "Grace" an unlikeable woman, this did not actually prevent me from feeling the icy breath with which director Amenabar endows THE OTHERS. Torn between giving the film four stars and five, I err on the side of generosity; it is a classic-style ghost story, and I think most viewers will enjoy it. Reccommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a movie worth seeing this summer!, August 18, 2001
By 
A. Bouardi (San Antonio, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Others is one of the most brilliantly paced horror films I've ever seen. It has a delightful eerieness the entire way through and the casting is amazing. The character of Bertha really creates fear and distrust in your heart along with Mr. Tuttle and Lydia. The children were magnificently chosen and Nicole Kidman hasn't been this good since Dead Calm, if not better. Turns out she is a very talented actress. The dialogue in this is also cunning and brilliant. One of the most interesting and amusing lines to me was when Kidman is looking through the "dead photos" and says to Ms. Mills..."group portraits?". The ending is so very clever, very eerie and it really does surprise you. Not to mention, all throughout the movie, there are little heart in your throat moments. Everyone keeps comparing it, but this is so much better than Sixth Sense. I think the mood and tone are much more like Village of the Damned with those spooky children. Definitely recommend checking it out for yourself. Don't take the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars --And Things That Go Bump In the Night, June 29, 2002
By 
sweetmolly (RICHMOND, VA USA) - See all my reviews
This eerie, candlelit film mostly taking place in a large but claustrophobic manor house exerts a static pressure that is relentless. So many doors and all must be locked, unlocked, and relocked. Curtains must be closed at all times, then drawn tighter lest a ray of lights gets through. The two children of the house have a rare genetic allergy to light (Polymorphic Light Reaction Syndrome) and can suffer blisters, boils, even 3rd degree burns if exposed to sunlight. The time is 1945, the mother and children are alone in the house, the husband/father is missing in action, presumed dead
While the credits roll, the mother, Grace Stewart (Nicole Kidman) is reading to the children by candlelight. All are seated around a table presenting a homey, if somewhat shadowy, scene. The movie formally begins with a petrifying scream by Grace jolted awake from a nightmare in her pleasant sun-filled bedroom. She quickly dresses and rushes to answer the doorbell. Nicole Kidman convinces in a glance that her character is strung out taut as a bowstring, but striving to contain her many fears and anxieties. She dresses in a dowdy manner---skirt a bit long, dowdy shoes, and sensible tweeds. She has a remarkable resemblance to the late Grace Kelly in this film, which I think shows Kidman's forensic abilities. Kidman is naturally graceful, which Kelly was not. The mother's edgy movements and slight awkwardness heighten her fragility and rigid inflexibility.
A strange trio greets her at the door who inform her they have come in response to her need for servants. (Grace has not yet advertised). They are housekeeper Mrs. Mills (the marvelous Fionnula Flanagan, who is presently appearing in the Divine Secrets of the YaYa Sisterhood in a completely different type of role), a Gardner, and a mute girl-of-all-work. Grace, though flustered, immediately shows them around and explains their complicated duties. They meet the two children who are quickly drawn to the kindly Ms. Mills. The little girl Anne (Alakina Mann) is especially commendable for her perfect balance of sweetness, suspicions, and stubbornness that always seem just right for a very bright little girl.
Particularly grating on the mother is the ghostly goings on in the old house. Music plays, doors open and shut, footsteps are heard, and the children refer to a boy named Victor who visits them. These occurrences are almost too much for the mother who has an unbending, fundamental, religious outlook. The servants obviously know a lot more than they are saying about what is going on in the house.
This somber, almost stately film has a jolting crash of a conclusion. So startling was this finale, the moviegoer does not even have time to grasp the consequences---and it is over. An excellent film. Kudos to the director and his star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Suspense/Horror/Thrillers in a long time., September 16, 2001
By 
Cam-Fu (Seattle, WA, USA, Earth) - See all my reviews
Nicole Kidman? Scary movie? A Miramax Film? Yeah, that's what I thought when I first heard of "The Others." Now, I work at a movie theatre, so I get to see the movies before they actually come out (which is why I love to review them). So, I watched the staff showing, only because everyone else decided to. I was amazed at how awesome this movie is. It's freaky, it really is! There is barely any music in the whole movie, so it gives a very eerie quiet feeling. Yes, this movie will make you jump in your seat...a couple of times actually. Kidman didn't do that bad of a job acting scared, and the two kids (with cool British accents [I love British accents]) are great young actors. The ending rules too!!! See it as soon as you can when you're in the mood for a freaky movie. I suggest 13 and older for this movie due to thematic elements and frightening moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true Masterpiece! Smart, lush, suspenseful!, May 31, 2002
By 
David Stein (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Alejandro Amenabar is the creative genius behind the Cruise/Wagner sleeper hit, The Others starring Nicole Kidman. I hadn't seen this film in the theatres and fortunately, no one had spoiled the ending for me. Thank God, because part of this movies attraction is the way the plot unfolds little by little, setting up a mystery that's a lot of fun to guess at. It's a truly "Hitchcockian" storyline that teases the audience throughout the film. I had to watch this film twice to pick up on all the subtle clues.
Aside from the great story, the acting in this film is fantastic. I've heard people say that Nicole Kidman is the star of this movie, but the one who really shines is new comer Alkina Mann who plays Kidmans daughter. Her reactions are so real and geniune you forget she's an actor playing a character.
This movie is also scary. If the Blair Witch Project had you squirming and you liked The Sixth Sense, this movie will have you jumping out of your skin in some places.
It's amazing to think that this is Alejandro Amenabars first English speaking movie. Not only that but he wrote it, directed it AND did the music for it, which is nicely stark, baroque and very beautiful in some places. A true cinematic Masterpiece.
Story A+
Cinematography A+
Acting A+
Costumes A+
Music A+
See this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Gothic thriller!, November 2, 2006
By 
What can one add to a masterpiece?

The cast is superb, the dialogues are perfect, the house is both creepy and engaging, and the rhythm is just as it must be.

I had my quibbles about Kidman, but she surely shows why she could act so well in "The Hours". She's just great. Such a pent up neurotic would steer one inch and she would become a caricature. Instead, every gesture is perfect, every fit of hysteria just has to be there. Like every note in a Bach sonata. Her icy, statuesque beauty, allure and hairdo (!) make it all "come together". The scene in an unexpected sexy white night gown asking for love from his estranged husband is a small, very small gem :).

Cinematography is BEAUTIFUL, I want to live in this house! (Unocuppied if possible :)). To all of us who have read "The castle of Otranto" in loony early teens, this was what Walpole was talking about :)!

Horror is the contrary to gore. It's atmosphere, not ketchup. This is more of a psychological study (and a lesson in acting, let us not forget "Fionnula Flanagan" and Grace's bratty daughter. By the way, I LOVE everybody's English usage, and how it reveals class differences between "Master and servant". Body language too!

This is a MENTAL drama, the plot wisely gives us SOME keys to keep us engaged, but never enough to foresee what's coming. At least not me! "kate_hartshorn" (Irvine, CA) is right: this could well be a practical case of a "psychology of perception" course. And I agree with Mr. Kleinman from Portland (also on Amazon) that one should better NOT read much before the film. I was lucky enough this time to only watch the pictures and a general look at the cast. Had I read even Amazon's "plot keywords" would have basically spoilt all the fun (as it has, many times before).

I didn't really FEEL much for the characters, although I confess I suffered with poor troubled Grace. I give it a ten although, for I suspect it follows the "rules of the genre" that preclude any glorious and hefty monologue alla "Pacino" or something heroic, political or socially relevant.

I can't see how this film could be improved, but I am not so sure it would stand a "second viewing". At least, not in the near future. And certainly NOT a third one!! I suspect this is what separates the films that you "carry to the grave" to other "mental exercises". Like some piano players like Perahia, with perfect technique, but somewhat lacking "soul".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Chiller, April 13, 2005
By 
thornhillatthemovies.com (Venice, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I waited a long time to see "The Others" but only because it was playing at all of the worst, most inconvenient theaters in LA. I was waiting for the opportunity to see it on a somewhat respectable screen, to enhance my viewing experience. I fully believe that the screen and theater play a big part in the overall enjoyment of a film. If you see an OK film at a shoebox theater, you will likely report that the film was no good. If you see a bad film at a good theater, you will probably enjoy the film a little more. Over the Labor Day Weekend, I found myself on vacation, with a few hours on my hand, and `The Others' playing at a theater nearby. Unfortunately, the theater was one of the absolute worst that I have ever been in, so it may have colored my judgement a little. Note to theater goers: It is absolutely the most inconsiderate thing in the world to bring a cell phone to a movie theater and take calls during the film. It is inconceivably inconsiderate to take calls on a cell phone that lights up, casting shadows and a laser light show throughout the small, darkened theater. If this happened once, I could understand the mistake, but three or four times? Turn your damn cell phones and pagers off. People can call you back after the movie!

Now, about the movie...

Grace (Nicole Kidman) and her two children, Anne (Alakina Mann) and Nicholas (James Bentley) live in an old mansion on Jersey, an island off the English coast, during World War II. Grace, a puritanical woman, devoutly quoting the bible, teaches her children at home and in fact won't let them go into a room in which the sun is shining. Each child has a rare condition which can kill them if they are exposed to sunlight. Grace closes the curtains of each room as they move through, to protect them. Naturally, both Grace and the children become a little sick of being confined to the house. The perpetual fog outside does little to alleviate anyone's spirits. Grace and the children are also concerned about the whereabouts of the man of the family, Charles (Christopher Eccleston). He went off to fight in the war, but has not been heard from since, and the war has been over for at least a year. One day, three people show up on the doorstep to answer Grace's ad for domestic help. The previous three servants simply disappeared a week before. They are: Mrs. Mills (Fionnula Flannagan), Lydia (Elaine Cassidy) and Mr. Tuttle (Eric Sykes). About the same time, Grace and the children begin hearing noises.

"The Others", written and directed by Alejandro Amenabar, is a haunted house film like they used to make, more similar to the original "The Haunting" or any other good horror film. The filmmaker relies on acting and storytelling to create an atmosphere of fright and horror, eschewing all CGI and gross-out tricks. How refreshing!

Nicole Kidman has now created two films in a row that any actor would like to be remembered for. In my eyes, this is a huge achievement. Previously, I couldn't stand her. Every role made her seem like an ice princess. Only "To Die For" showed any acting ability and even this role did nothing for her personality. Now with "Moulin Rouge" and "The Others", Kidman is showing both range and warmth, shattering previous conceptions of her. Both films show an actress with amazing ability.

Fionnula Flanagan, Elaine Cassidy and Eric Sykes are all very effective as the competent, but at times, mysterious help who arrive mysteriously. Their characters are most effective when they aren't revealing things to the audience. This was a mistake on Amenabar's part, as it reveals too much of their characters. It is always better to keep the audience in the dark for as long as possible.

Alakina Mann and James Bentley are especially effective as Grace's children. Never able to run and play, they seem perfect as they try to remain in their mother's good graces. As they talk of `mother's episodes', we don't know if they are simply telling tall tales or revealing something that we should really pay attention to.

The cinematography and set design help to create an atmosphere of confusion and dread. The fog surrounding the house serves to confine them further. As Grace fanatically moves from one room to the next, closing curtains, to shield the children from light, she herself creates an atmosphere of dread that we as the audience never seem to be able to escape.

A lot has been said of the `big twist' at the end. The less said about this, the better. Most reviews of this film compare the big twist to another very memorable big twist in another very memorable film. If you know what this previous twists is, you can pretty much figure out the twist in "The Others", which is too bad.

A lot has also been said about the film being too slow. I didn't find it slow at all. The suspense and tension build as we learn more about the story and the characters. I don't think it is necessary or relevant for every film to have quick or MTV-like editing. It wouldn't be appropriate to this story and I am thankful that they didn't use it here.

"The Others" is a chilling, frightening old-fashioned haunted house film. Great entertainment worth your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Others
The Others by Alejandro Amenábar (DVD - 2011)
$9.98 $5.34
Usually ships in 2 to 3 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.