Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheated!!
Forget "Pretty Woman." Streisand was the original hooker with a heart, and can act comedic circles around Julia Roberts. The theatrical release was R rated for language (one specific word really), so I was shocked to find out that the DVD is an edited version!!! Are the republicans at it again? Is it because Streisand is a democrat? All kidding aside, I'm very...
Published on July 24, 2004 by G. Rosas

versus
98 of 99 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Movie.. BUT on DVD it's upsetting because it's CUT!!!
This is Barbra Striesand's best comedy!
Columbia Home Video has finely introduced this classic onto DVD but they forgot a few major key DVD laws!
1 . If no extras can be included then at least add the theatrical trailer!
and the biggest DVD law! 2. Include an UNCUT version of a film as it was originally intended by the film maker!
When this film was...
Published on December 9, 2001 by movie man


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

98 of 99 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Movie.. BUT on DVD it's upsetting because it's CUT!!!, December 9, 2001
By 
movie man "mrmonopoly" (Queens, ny United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Owl and the Pussycat (DVD)
This is Barbra Striesand's best comedy!
Columbia Home Video has finely introduced this classic onto DVD but they forgot a few major key DVD laws!
1 . If no extras can be included then at least add the theatrical trailer!
and the biggest DVD law! 2. Include an UNCUT version of a film as it was originally intended by the film maker!
When this film was originally released back in 1970 it was stamped with an 'R' rating then in it's re-release in 1972 they had re-cut the film down to a 'PG' rating.

This DVD contains the 'PG' version! while watching this version you'll notice where the cuts were made.
This DVD includes a two page booklet that states how the film was cut in the 70's including language and a scene revealing a topless "Funny Girl". It then states how the profanity was restored in 1999 for a re-release but without the nude Barbra because it was destroyed in the 70's. Well I hate to tell Columbia but this film isn't restored and is lacking a very funny moment in the original film.
One scene is when Streisand and Segal are walking down a city street talking and a car of guys starts following them yelling out insults, then Streisand walks over to them to tell them to
"F@&# OFF!"(cut out dialog) followed by these guys chasing them. This scene was so badly edited that it ends up making no sense.
There was a television version of the film that contained the whole scene intact with muting out the four letter word.
As far as the picture quality it is very good but if you're a fan of the movie i'm sure you'll be upset as well as i am with this hacked up verson.
Why did columbia home video do this??

UPDATE

3-06
Amazon has this DVD listed as being rated 'R' this is incorrect and this needs to be corrected so it doesn't confuse people or Amazon will be receiving a lot of returns.

7-30-07

Now Amazon has this movie listed as being unrated? This is a PG version of an original "R" rated movie!

*Update 10-12-10

I can't believe It's been about 10 years since this butchered version had been in circulation and STILL! hasn't been pulled or properly restored and released! Are Sony kidding us? really disgraceful!
I really think they owe all that bought this a replacement....10 years late but still. I want to see the version I remember and love before I drop dead from old age.

Amazon has changed the ratting to 'PG' finally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I'm with the critics -- DON'T CUT IT!!, November 17, 2004
Enough reviewers have groused that the verdict is in -- The Owl and the Pussycat WAS a classic that rocked, until the idiot Babs and the Columbia scissor boys got hold of it. If I were Buck Henry, I'd be angry. The majority of people who would be interested in this film ALREADY SAW IT in our relative youth. That means we saw Babs nude and we heard the "F" word that had everyone talking, as she tells off a bunch of moochers. More than a few of us need to give Columbia a piece of our minds. This is unconscionable. The nude scene was NOT destroyed, it was BLOCKED from the collar bone down (she was laying in Barney's bed, asking "Whatdaya think?" just before Felix joined her. It still exists in the vault. I own a copy with the "F" word intact, and in context, it only makes it funny. COLUMBIA, NOW HEAR THIS: GIVE US THIS FILM IN ITS ORIGINAL FORM, OR GIVE US NOTHING!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Owl Falls Flat, June 16, 2002
By 
Michael R. Mccall (Minneapolis, MN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Owl and the Pussycat (DVD)
I was dissapointed when I watched this in DVD format.....It has been edited from the Original version of which I saw when it first hit the Big Screen and later on VHS. There was no mention of this in the techical information portion. I wouldn't of bought it if I had known, and once opened, I couldn't return it. I felt I was Robbed. Usually the DVD is so much better than VHS because it Adds so much More information and Extras....Not this time........I am confused to WHY they edited it to begin with....The movie stood on it Laurels for All these years and now they decide to "soften" it........Very unacceptable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning - misleading listing, July 21, 2004
By 
Donald Briggs "drbriggz" (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Owl and the Pussycat (DVD)
This item is advertised as being the R-rated (original) version. It is not! It is the reissued (and censored) GP-13 version which is not nearly as good or as funny.

The listing should be corrected and we can only hope that one day the studio will release the DVD in its original version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BUTCHERED CLASSIC, September 10, 2002
This review is from: The Owl and the Pussycat (DVD)
It's amazing how one cut can ruin a film. Well, here's the proof! I can understand why Barbra demanded her topless scene destroyed, but editing the 'F' word in a major key scene is unforgivable. This is a true classic comedy and a beautifully transferred DVD with its heart cut out! There oughta' be laws against this kind of hollywood butchery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What's happening to DVD's of the 70's????, February 8, 2005
By 
lost in space "Sam" (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Owl and the Pussycat (DVD)
I was really shocked and disappointed to find this DVD had been cut... this was one of the best films I saw in the 70's. I also discovered that another great movie, "Goodbye Columbus," has been edited down to a PG since its release on DVD with the original nude scenes deleted. I'm encouraging people NOT to buy or rent these DVD's and to write the studios and complain... it's bad enough that Columbia and Paramount have ruined their own product, but they didn't even have the courtesy to notify buyers that they weren't purchasing the original films. I agree with another reviewer here... we're being robbed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Babs and Segal charm in dated romantic comedy., December 19, 2001
This review is from: The Owl and the Pussycat (DVD)
Way back in 1970, Barbra Streisand paired with George Segal in this sleazier than Neil Simon,opposites attract, romantic comedy, written by Buck Henry based on a play by Bill Manhoff.. While Owl and the Pussycat is far better than your average romantic comedy (just try the 'Touch of Class' movies today for instance), the film is little more than an unrealistic, though entertaining sit-com.
Barbra Streisand risked a lot by playing Doris, a slutty, gutter talking (more rude than crude) part-time prostitute who is 'an actress with three, well two commercials' to her name. This was a far cry from the beloved Funny Girl or Broadway Diva who starred on T.V. specials the audiences accepted. George Segal is Felix, the overly nervous intellectual struggling writer. They live in the same apartment building. [...] About halfway through the film, the film gets a bit more serious and we learn a little more about the characters. This is not a utter fantasy type film like say Pretty Woman, but the characters are clearly not particularly realistic either.
The film is a relic of its era and perhaps a bit more interesting now because of that. Streisand appearing as a prostitute in skimpy outfits (you'll perhaps remember the lingerie with the strategically placed pink hand silhouettes when you see it from the old poster for this film). Streisand proved with her thicker than usual Bronx accent, and her portrayal of a risqué character that she had talent as an actress/comedian and there was more to her than Funny Girl. George Segal is at his best. His reactions, comic timing and slow burn frustrations are amusing and very entertaining to watch.
Robert Klein pops up as Barney, a friend of Segal's Felix (and his girlfriend is none other than former Ivory Soap star turn porn star Marilyn Chambers), and there's Allan Garfield as a manager of a dress shop and Jacques Sandulescu as the cranky apartment manager/super, but this is almost entirely a two character film and the charisma and talent of Segal and Streisand carry the picture easily. Don't expect Streisand to break out singing--she doesn't warble a note in character here in this movie.
PC WARNING: When Doris first meets Felix she insists he's gay and continually taunts him for being a weak gay man. The sensitive among you may find the dated, insensitive and not politically correct references more insulting than funny.
NOTE: This is the re-released PG rated film which is two minutes shorter then the original R rated film that was released in 1970. Barbra says the F word in the original, but does not do so here and there was also a few other cuts for language (and one peek-a-boo revealing shot of
Bab's anatomy now excised). A bit of a cheat to release the re-release of the film without a note or explanation about it.
In the end of course the film doesn't stray very far from the formula of your typical Doris Day/ Rock Hudson film. Eventually the characters reveal their softer sides to each other but the film doesn't let itself get too soppy.
If you like the stars at all you'll want to see the film, but even if you aren't a fan of Streisand, she's playing an interesting bigger than life character here worth taking a look at , particularly if you like plays and films like Barefoot in the Park or The Odd Couple.
DVD STUFF
The film is presented in 1:85:1 Anamorphic widescreen of you can watch a pan and scan version as well (don't). The film has been digitally remastered from an excellent print that has only occasional specks of grain and a few scratches. The colors look good, the black levels are strong and very little edge enhancement is visible.
The Audio is Dolby Digital Mono, (in both English and French.). The over-lapping dialogue is easy to hear and the dialogue, sparse sound effects and background music is sharp and free from distortion or signs of age.
EXTRAS:
The only extra feature on the DVD are three theatrical trailers for The Mirror has Two Faces (a bad Streisand film), For Pete's Sake (a forced dated Streisand comedy) and Roxanne (the Steve Martin romantic comedy). No trailer for Owl and the Pussycat however.
There are the not quite complete filmographies of the director and stars, and lots of different subtitle choices.
This is a no frills DVD.
bottom line:
Here's a slightly risqué and racy romantic comedy sit-com feature film relic from 1970. It's dated but if you have any affection for either one of the stars or have forgotten that Diva Barbra is actually a pretty impressive actress when she wants to be, there's a lot to encourage you to give this film a try. The film boasts many funny one-liners and director Herb Ross never lets things get too soppy. The DVD looks and sounds very good but there are no extras..
Christopher Jarmick, is the author of The Glass Cocoon with Serena F. Holder a critically acclaimed, steamy suspense thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OWL & THE PUSSYCAT DVD CENSORED???, July 4, 2004
By 
avidfann "avidfann" (HIGHLAND MILLS, NY. USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Owl and the Pussycat (DVD)
Finally, one of the funniest STREISAND films Comes to DVD, unfortunately in a PG-EDITED version! Why can't Columbia picture heads let us decide what we can and cannot see? I own the almost unedited R rated VHS copy, and waited for years for it's widescreen DVD debut. Much to my dismay, it finally comes out EDITED!!!! WHY??? Because i wanted the widescreen version i plopped down my $25.00 for it anyway. Transfer is great and i highly recommend this DVD if you don't mind Corporate Censorship! Shame on Columbia Pictures DVD, do they honestly think someone underage will shell out for a movie they probably never heard of?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The studios ruined this movie on DVD!, February 2, 2002
By 
Robert J. Krakehl (Orlando, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Owl and the Pussycat (DVD)
When I first saw this movie I thought it was just great. I was EXTATIC that they were FINALLY releasing it on DVD. When I bought the movie and watched it I was EXTREMELY disappointed that things and some language was edited from the movie. The movie to my knowledge was originally rated X way back when and then it was cut down, a nude scene by Barbra, and was rated R. Then it was rated PG with more edited. I thought the whole purpose of the new invention of DVD was to release a movie in it's ORIGINAL FORM....nothing edited. They use the "F" word in PG movies today and they cut it from this one?
With the way movies are these days I can't believe the stuff they cut was taken out actually was taken out. Columbia you ruined the movie and should of just left it on the shelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the owl and the pussycat, February 19, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Owl and the Pussycat (DVD)
Edited from the original R rated theatrical release to get a PG rating with no mention of this on the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Owl and the Pussycat
The Owl and the Pussycat by Herbert Ross (DVD - 2001)
$14.99 $5.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.