The Oxford Handbook of Skepticism (Oxford Handbooks) 1st Edition

3 customer reviews
ISBN-13: 978-0195183214
ISBN-10: 0195183215
Why is ISBN important?
ISBN
This bar-code number lets you verify that you're getting exactly the right version or edition of a book. The 13-digit and 10-digit formats both work.
Scan an ISBN with your phone
Use the Amazon App to scan ISBNs and compare prices.
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $3.75
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Buy used
$73.35
Buy new
$160.00
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover, September 22, 2008
"Please retry"
$160.00
$126.72 $73.30
More Buying Choices
10 New from $126.72 12 Used from $73.30
Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student


InterDesign Brand Store Awareness Textbooks
$160.00 FREE Shipping. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

John Greco is an Associat Professor of Philosophy at Fordham University.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Series: Oxford Handbooks
  • Hardcover: 624 pages
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press; 1 edition (September 22, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0195183215
  • ISBN-13: 978-0195183214
  • Product Dimensions: 9.7 x 2 x 6.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 2.6 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #4,008,776 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

5 star
33%
4 star
67%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Jacob Kinnun on January 31, 2009
Format: Hardcover
The Oxford Handbook of Skepticism is a very complete source on modern Skepticism. It is definitely not for an average reader, but for those who have taken a philosophy class in college or read a few philosophy papers it should be fine. With that said, I must say this is the best book on Skepticism out there. I was really impressed by the quality of the articles presented. And the whole text is done with the perspective of a modern philosopher. You won't get much in the vein of Pyrrho, Sextus Empiricus or Descartes, but you will get modern justifications and arguements of their philosophies. And these justifications and arguements are very deep. Any philosopher which claims certainty or truth will need to defend themselves against each arguement in the book, as it does contain the wide array of views modern Skeptics have. Now this book does take a neutral approach and has arguements against Skepticism as well (the reader might note, though, these arguements are like the classical type, they refute specific types of Skepticism and not general forms). So this book offers an array of views on Skepticism, and it is the best coverage on a philosophical point of view yet to date. Now the only thing Skepticism needs is a book written for non-philosophers that has the coverage and quality this does.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Jman on July 5, 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
First off, I would like to say that this book really helped me understand my own skepticism and allowed me to find faults in my reasoning that I didn't even know existed! My central criticism would be the section on religious criticism. Though thought provoking at certain points, the author of that section, Paul K. Moser, essentially argues among other things, that people who are skeptical of religion(primarily judo-christian), should test there skepticism by (1)being completely devoted to a loving god(author uses judo-christian examples through out)and (2) maintain that belief until we receive authoritative evidence of gods existence. It just seems to me that the author is making too many presuppositions on the nature of god and dismissive of empirically based knowledge and the burden of proof when concerning gods existence. Though the author never outwardly states his personal religious beliefs out right in his paper, I am still utterly surprised that this paper made the book on skepticism. while I will admit that I am an atheist and my current logical point of vulnerability primarily revolves around religion, the author did bring up interesting points worth considering in my opinion. Don't let my criticism scare you, If you can get past the philosophical jargon, this is definitely a worthwhile read.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Brad Lencioni on November 25, 2013
Format: Paperback
To my mind, this book is an authoritative collection of resources on the ancient and modern philosophy of epistemological skepticism. Consisting of three parts (excluding the introduction, which frames the book and its topic)--concerning (I) the varieties of skepticism and skeptical arguments; (II) historically important responses to skepticism; and (III) contemporary issues and responses to skepticism--this book provides a rather thorough and useful introductory exploration of skepticism (the dually beauty and bitch) in philosophy. However, with that said, I rated the book only four stars instead of five because it exhibits one rather glaring flaw, which, as another reviewer critiqued, is the section on "Religious Skepticism" authored by Paul K. Moser. So while I would certainly recommend this book, the remainder of my review will consist of a critique of both Moser and, ultimately, the editor John Greco for their unfortunate (mis)representation of religious skepticism in this work.

Moser's chapter on Religious Skepticism, though very interesting, exemplifies a surprisingly bizarre choice made by the editor, Greco. I say this for the following reasons: Part one of the book is titled, " Varieties of Skepticism and Skeptical Arguments"; furthermore, in the introductory chapter, Greco says that "Each chapter is self-contained and offers a detailed but accessible treatment of its chapter" (3); and the chapter on religious skepticism is in part one of the book. Hence, I think the reasonable thing to infer from these facts is that the section on religious skepticism would consist of an analysis of the various varieties of and arguments for skepticism of religious thought.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
The Oxford Handbook of Skepticism (Oxford Handbooks)
This item: The Oxford Handbook of Skepticism (Oxford Handbooks)
Price: $160.00
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com