Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes You Think Twice Before Picking Up A Hitchhiker
Actually she only picks up a hitchhiker thinking she was going to get trouble from a group of bikers. A great french film that leads you to believe that this is another cannibalistic or sadistic family type of film. A good turn of what the film is really about when the bodies are hung left for dead. This film is up there along with my other favorite french horror films...
Published 16 months ago by Aria Araya

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Impressive Cast, Poorly Told Story
Here is yet another French horror about some unspeakable things going on somewhere in the countryside. Compared with such titles as "High Tension," however, "The Pack" ("La meute") is far less shocking, but that really didn't bother me. The problem with the cross genre attempt of writer/director Franck Richard has less to do with the idea of blending two genre templates...
Published 11 months ago by Tsuyoshi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes You Think Twice Before Picking Up A Hitchhiker, April 30, 2013
By 
Aria Araya (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Pack (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
Actually she only picks up a hitchhiker thinking she was going to get trouble from a group of bikers. A great french film that leads you to believe that this is another cannibalistic or sadistic family type of film. A good turn of what the film is really about when the bodies are hung left for dead. This film is up there along with my other favorite french horror films (Frontier(s), High Tension, High Lane, Martyrs, Inside, and Them) just to name a few.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy, creepy, creepy!!!, August 14, 2014
This review is from: The Pack (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
This is a great horror movie! Don't let negative reviewers turn you away from this super creepy and weird movie.
The setting is the French country side. Everything in this movie is dirty, dark, dank and covered with moss. A tough chick, going nowhere, picks up an unkempt hitchhiker; when the two of them pull into dingy pub for a break, they leave the familiar world behind.
This movie reminds me of "Rest Stop", which I also like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Horror, October 17, 2012
By 
PR GUY "PR Guy" (Redlands, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Pack (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
This one is a nugget for horror film fans. It has all of the ingredients to terrorize you...make your skin crawl...keep you guessing. Nothing predictable about this one. Pure horror. Loved every minute...from the eery backdrops to the creepy soundtrack. It reminded me very much of a Stephen King flick...but there was no humor in this one. Pure horror! ENJOY! All 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish horror 'a la francaise', June 10, 2012
This review is from: The Pack (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
It's amazing how two people can have virtually polar opposite experiences watching the same movie. If you like your horror films well-directed, well-acted with bizarre characters, beautifully photographed, with a constantly surprising script, filled with the necessary gore, and yet flecked with bits of quirky humor, you'll love "The Pack"! I was totally riveted to the film the whole time - the sets were absolutely outrageous, the editing and the music were excellent (but not intrusive), and the main character, 'La Spack' will not soon be forgotten. I just watched it streaming online, but I'm going to order my own copy from Amazon right away. By the way, this film won awards at both the New York City Horror Film Festival (best screenplay, best actress) and Screamfest in Los Angeles (best special effects). What are you waiting for? Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Impressive Cast, Poorly Told Story, October 3, 2013
By 
Tsuyoshi (Kyoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Pack (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
Here is yet another French horror about some unspeakable things going on somewhere in the countryside. Compared with such titles as "High Tension," however, "The Pack" ("La meute") is far less shocking, but that really didn't bother me. The problem with the cross genre attempt of writer/director Franck Richard has less to do with the idea of blending two genre templates than it does with the way the idea is executed.

The film begins with a young woman driving alone in a desolate part of the countryside, who picks up a hitchhiker. At a roadside diner the two travelers drop in, things start to look bad, and they get worse when it turns out one of the characters is not what he/she seems.

In adding one big twist to the conventional storyline, Franck Richard successfully surprises us for a while, but soon the potential for something new vanishes, because of the director's unsure hand at the helm. The film includes some absurd moments that are intentionally done, but for what purpose I have no idea.

See, if you notice something strange running wild before entering your restaurant, you will most likely turn back. They don't. The film jumps from one incredible situation to another, often in a most unexpected way. Unpredictability is usually something to be welcomed, but here it only suggests that the film does not know what it is doing.

With the cast that includes talents like Yolande Moreau, Émilie Dequenne and Philippe Nahon, I would expect something more substantial from the result. The players are all good at what they do. They did not disappoint me. The film did because of its poor storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, October 16, 2012
This review is from: The Pack (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
I didn't have high hopes for this movie when I sat down to watch it. French films tend to be full go gore but lacking the supernatural element that I am craving underneath. This movie surprised me and delivered in full. While the plot wasn't totally new, it was a different take on the zombie craze (zombies, mutants, whatever...they came out of the ground). Compared to crap like Saw (are there seriously 8 of those stupid movies???) The Pack was refreshing and entertaining. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars recommended, July 9, 2012
This review is from: The Pack (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
Its as though a cool French film maker has collated all the genres in American horror and put them in one cool film minus the usual bullshite that is the usual pandering marketing to corney american teenage sensabities. Its truly scary with surprising twists. Well-made. The busted hag and her steadfast duoble-edged son are refreshingly colouful as Breton type locals and the cloudy Breton sky adds its own oppressiveness. The girl is no bimbo - actually starting out with as tough sly humour that includes quite a funny joke that could allude to all the genres in American horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is this writer serious, August 26, 2012
This review is from: The Pack (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
These 5 star reviews are absurd. Don't waste your time or money. This has to be the worst writing in cinematic history, and I've seen some horrid films. The characters reactions and choices are so unbelievebale that its annoying, in fact it pissed me off. How could a writer/director this bad get funding for a move. Lets have a lady get shot three times and survive. Lets have a man who feeds people to monsters have a sudden change of heart, and decide to let his mother die. And lets have a man who is being attacked by mutants calmly read a book. This was a joke, and whatever twist there was suppose to be at the end made no sense and didn't connect to the movie no matter how you put it. This movie gives me hope, I now know I could move to France and put those shitty writers to shame. Watch Prey, that is the only good french horror film I've seen in years. Or go check out some Korean horror, they know how to do it right. It serially is not that hard to make a movie that makes just a little sense to audience. Here we have a copout, the writer doesn't have to explain anything about anything, for the sake of being "obscure" well guess what, being unintelligible doesn't make you seem smart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Crap., April 4, 2013
This review is from: The Pack (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
La Meute (The Pack) (Franck Richard, 2010)

A little over halfway into The Pack, Franck Richard's debut film, it changes from a generic, mindless torture porn film to "what the hell am I watching?". Had it stayed there, I think, it could have been at least half of something special--but instead after that first bout of WTFery, the film goes right back to mindless, derivative joylessness, and I started hating it all over again. It never recovered.

The movie begins with Charlotte Massot (Brotherhood of the Wolf's Émilie Dequenne) driving through a snowy wasteland, where she encounters chilly hitchhiker Max (Stella's Benjamin Biolay). They stop at a diner to grab some coffee and warm up, and find themselves menaced by a trio of bikers who are chased off by the diner's shotgun-wielding owner (Micmacs' Yolande Moreau). However, when Max disappears into thin air after a quick trip to the restroom, Charlotte goes looking for him--and finds that things are not at all as they seem...

...all of which seems very promising, but as I said in the opening paragraph, things go downhill very quickly from there until the scene where you suddenly realize what the title of the movie has to do with anything. You get that amazing WHAT...WHAT moment and start thinking "hey, there might actually be a movie underneath all the stupid!" But... no. I wish I could tell you that one scene, and the generally-decent acting ability displayed by both Dequenne and Moreau, makes this worth watching, but again... no. **
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sick and twisted, yet totally boring, June 3, 2012
This review is from: The Pack (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
If I had known beforehand that this was a French horror film, I probably wouldn't have watched The Pack. Oh, the French try to make horror films, but they always seem to insist upon filling them with all kinds of weird abstractions and a brooding aura of pseudo-intellectual thought. Watching one of these films usually feels like watching a 90-minute version of one of those nonsensical Calvin Klein ads from a few years ago -- except there's a lot more blood. Dialogue seems to be treated as a necessary evil to be used as little as possible. It's too bad because there are some pretty sick freaks making French horror movies. Unfortunately, even a gore fest like The Pack leaves me feeling like I'm supposed to do some kind of deconstructive analysis of the central motif for a film class, and that's a feeling that is not conducive at all with enjoyment.

We start with young Charlotte Massot (Emilie Dequenne) who's taking an extended road trip in a beat-up station wagon for no apparent reason. She wears a leather jacket and smokes, so she's probably meant to symbolize some kind of alienation from modern society or something. In any event, needing a buffer between herself and a trio of disgusting old bikers chasing her tail, she decides to pick up a hitchhiker. He eventually leads them to a disgusting little bar in the middle of some trailer park, whereupon he goes to the bathroom and never comes back. Even though she barely knows the guy, Charlotte never even thinks about leaving; no, she waits around until the middle of the night, so she can break into the bar and search for him behind a hidden door in the bathroom. Big mistake. Really big mistake. Thus begins a nightmare scenario that might be a little frightening if it weren't so darned French. What happens to this poor girl may not be exactly what you're expecting, though, which is about the only good thing I can say about the rest of the movie. I take that back - the special effects makeup was pretty good, too.

Not unexpectedly, there is virtually no character development in the film, and we're apparently just supposed to accept the most unnatural of circumstances without question. I guess I'm not supposed to wonder why so many characters make so many stupid decisions, either - and that's fine because I could hardly care less about any one of them. As with most of the French horror films I've seen, I think you'd need to be morbidly depressed in order to have the slightest chance of enjoying The Pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Pack (Bloody Disgusting Selects)
The Pack (Bloody Disgusting Selects) by Franck Richard (DVD - 2012)
$14.93 $9.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.