Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


252 of 253 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb British Period Drama!
The Pallisers is a 1974 BBC production based on Anthony Trollope's six-volume series of novels which takes place in the mid to late 1800s and covers more than 20 years. Where Trollope's Barchester series revolves around the church, his Palliser series revolves around the world of politics. Throughout the course of the series, one gains some familiarity with the political...
Published on December 14, 2004 by Tiggah

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trollope fans
For fans of Anthony Trollope (and there seem to be a lot of us, existing in the shadows like aliens banished to this odd planet), this series is a must have because it covers a lot of ground. The production values are somewhat dated, and the acting is a bit strained, but it stands up pretty well. It's not as good, all in all, as the Barchester Chronicles (which is worth...
Published 11 months ago by Vince Marinelli


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

252 of 253 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb British Period Drama!, December 14, 2004
By 
Tiggah "the Anglophile" (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Pallisers - The Complete Collection (DVD)
The Pallisers is a 1974 BBC production based on Anthony Trollope's six-volume series of novels which takes place in the mid to late 1800s and covers more than 20 years. Where Trollope's Barchester series revolves around the church, his Palliser series revolves around the world of politics. Throughout the course of the series, one gains some familiarity with the political issues of the time--issues such as Irish tenant rights, the implementation of secret ballots, the abolition of rotten boroughs, the decimalization of the currency, and so on. If you're not particularly interested in politics or political history, you needn't worry, for the issues are not the focal point of the series. The show is primarily about individuals, their relationships with one another, and the scandals and intrigues that arise--we're even treated along the way to a murder and the ensuing court case.

The series primarily follows the lives of wealthy Plantagenet Palliser (Philip Latham), a Member of Parliament for the Liberal Party, the heir to a dukedom, and a very serious, conscientious, and morally upright gentleman; and the beautiful, spirited, and wealthy Lady Glencora (Susan Hampshire (The Barchester Chronicles, The Forsyte Saga, The First Churchills, The Grand, The Monarch of the Glen))--a young woman who, as the story opens, is head over heels in love with an avaricious but charismatic gambler, but whose hand is destined (if her guardian has her way) for Plantagenet.

I might just mention that each novel is an independent entity, and one can usually tell when one has reached the end of the dramatisation of each one, for there is a sense of closure to that particular story and we often see no more of individuals who were introduced for that story. Having said that, a couple of characters worth mentioning are the new, cash-strapped Irish MP Phineas Finn (Donal McCann), and Madame Max (Barbara Murray), a shrewd, resourceful and wealthy Austrian, both of whom feature prominently throughout much of the series.

The series consists of twenty-six 50-minute episodes, and one ought not to expect a slick production like those one has come to expect of 90's efforts. The production is very well done, but it is done according to 1970's standards. In other words, if you're familiar with Upstairs Downstairs, The Duchess of Duke Street, Lillie, and other 70's productions, you can expect the same sort of look and feel here. The only complaint I have (and it's a minor one) concerns the first episode or two which, unfortunately, appear to have been either overexposed or overdeveloped.

In short, this is a splendid period drama punctuated with plenty of comic relief, seasoned with a memorable cast of characters, and consummately acted by an all-star British cast. To name but a few: a bewhiskered Derek Jacobi (I Claudius, Cadfael) plays Lord Fawn, a cash-strapped man who has no luck with women. Penelope Keith (To the Manor Born, Good Neighbours) briefly appears in a few episodes as Fawn's domineering sister (just the type of character at which she excels!). Peter Sallis (Last of the Summer Wine's Norman Clegg) portrays the surly, unpleasant Mr. Bonteen. Anthony Andrews (Brideshead Revisited) appears in the later episodes as a grown-up Silverbridge, the Duke's eldest son, with Jeremy Irons (also Brideshead Revisited) as Frank Tregear, Silverbridge's best friend.

I highly recommend this captivating, intelligent, and all around enjoyable series (which I for one had never seen before). If you enjoy period drama, it's a safe bet that you'll soon find yourself hooked on this one--our family certainly was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


119 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fabulous, December 1, 2004
By 
Book Freak (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Pallisers - The Complete Collection (DVD)
This set of DVDs encompasses six of Anthony Trollope's books. However, it is very much a television phenomenon - lavish costumes, beautiful sets, and superb acting. Several disparate stories are held together by the lives of Glencora Palliser and her husband Plantagenet. Although 30 years old, the film has held up extremely well, it looks marvellous. The dialog has not dated at all, the acting is fresh and the directing seamless. I noticed a couple of rather poor backdrops purporting to be out of doors, and merely two wobbles of scenery in the nearly twenty hours of viewing. However, you watch this for the stories, which are entrancing, and which are ably supported by a matchless cast of characters. The acting is flawless - I cannot praise it too highly, and the costumes are a delight. The DVD contains an interesting interview with the lovely Susan Hampshire, from 2000, with many insights into the making of the series. They don't make them like this any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid Entertainment, May 31, 2005
This review is from: The Pallisers - The Complete Collection (DVD)
The entire collection is marvelous viewing, the actors are superb, the period costumes and sets are beautiful to look at. Most of all Susuan Hampshire is amazing and classy as Lady Glencora (the Duchess of Omnium & Gatherum),she brings such life to any character she portrays. Barbara Murray (Mrs. Finn)is beautiful and very classy too. You grow to love Philip Latham (the Duke of Omnium & Gatherum)too, The entire cast are really excellent. I enjoyed watching several times over the years and still do watch it occasionally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not complete!!, March 18, 2008
This review is from: The Pallisers - The Complete Collection (DVD)
I agree with everything the five-star reviewers say, but I should like to mention something that American viewers may not be in a position to know: this version has been abridged from the original BBC production, which I remember very clearly; and this is nowhere stated!

For instance, to take just the trial of Phineas Finn, the introduction of the Archbishop of Canterbury as a character-witness has been cut, and so has the rôle of Mr Chaffanbrass (Peter Vaughan).

I'm used to this butchery on the part of PBS, but I had hoped that the DVDs at least would give me the whole thing.

The UK edition comes in four volumes, totalling 1260 minutes. The US edition lists 1335 minutes, but this presumably includes the three-part interview with Susan Hampshire.

I don't yet know whether the UK edition includes the missing footage; but if so, those in the US with an international DVD player may care to have the whole thing and sacrifice the interview, interesting though it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL!, March 20, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Pallisers - The Complete Collection (DVD)
I liked this set so much, I bought it twice -- once for me and once for a friend!!! The actors are all very engaging. I would say that the costumes had a staring role -- absolutely beautiful. Susan Hampshire is very lovely and carries the piece. Also you get a very early performance from Jeremy Irons. It is everything a period drama should be. I haven't read the books yet, but I've certainly put them on my list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pallisers - The Complete Collection, March 8, 2007
This review is from: The Pallisers - The Complete Collection (DVD)
Watching the episodes of The Pallisers has brought back all of the memories of what first made my wife and I look forward to each episode on Masterpiece Theater. It is a brilliant period piece with all of the Victorian and British imperial social and class conflicts beautifully architected. Having read all of The Palliser novels, one gets a real appreciation of the art of the screen writer who has taken the richness of the many plot lines and woven them into a sequential story line that is a delight to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Madame Max...I want you!, February 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Pallisers - The Complete Collection (DVD)
Buy this one for the acting and writing, folks. It's 1970's, so you don't get the slick production but you do get what's missing today...actual, real, professional actors! Imagine that. Talent. Not special effects. My, oh, my, they sure can't make one like this today because it doesn't need gimicks to trick the audience. Now, there aren't a lot of shots of country houses (but what there are are not bad) and it looked to me like most of the inside shots were in a studio, not on-site. But it doesn't matter because it is so well done. Oh, and I lost my heart to Madame Max...the sexiest woman alive! Only one flaw...the characters from America had blatantly English accents. Other than that, not a one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pallisers - The complete collection, March 21, 2007
This review is from: The Pallisers - The Complete Collection (DVD)
I was a little disappointed when I first started watching - probably trying to understand the heavy British accent and with trying to tie all of the characters together. Once into watching, everything fit together - I found it hard to turn off the TV and could hardly wait to continue. The costumes, scenery and Real Estate is absolutely beautiful, - some of the best that I've seen. I just finished watching it and feel it was well worth purchasing. The whole series was well acted and well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to have a wonderful time!, August 16, 2006
This review is from: The Pallisers - The Complete Collection (DVD)
I'm not a native speaker but I understood perfecty well the film and had a wonderful time watching it. I gave myself a treat with it and I hope to buy more movies of the same kind because I have become a fanatic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Must for Trollope Fans, November 21, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Pallisers - The Complete Collection (DVD)
This TV-drama from the 1970s still packs a punch,despite its years.Best of all its characterizations fom the novels ring true.The episodes work not from "special effects" but from authentic renderings of the people and issues that Trollope wanted to present to the reader.The producers have brought together a very talented team of actors,so that the stories come to life as real 19th Century types.Susan Hampshire is unforgettable as Lady Glencora and we are introduced to a very young Jeremy Irons and Anthony Andrewes.This boxed set is a treasure to be watched over and over.It keeps its value and it continues to offer new insights into life among the movers and shakers of Victorian Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Pallisers - The Complete Collection
The Pallisers - The Complete Collection by Susan Hampshire (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: $38.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.