Customer Reviews


1,990 Reviews
5 star:
 (988)
4 star:
 (625)
3 star:
 (230)
2 star:
 (87)
1 star:
 (60)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,095 of 1,126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Papa" was a rolling stone
At the end of Ernest Hemingway's memoir, A Moveable Feast , he writes of his first wife, Hadley Richardson, "I wish I had died before I loved anyone but her." After their divorce, Hemingway marries three more times, each one prompt to follow, like serial wives. This is the story of the woman that loved him before he was famous.

Paula McLain researched their...
Published on February 3, 2011 by "switterbug" Betsey Va...

versus
515 of 564 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hemingway fans will pass.
I didn't know much about Ernest Hemingway or his wives before I started The Paris Wife by Paula McLain. This is the story of his first wife, Hadley; a story of how they met, the depth of their love, and how it came to wither away. Set mainly in Paris during prohibition, McLain paints us a picture of two newlyweds on the cusp of greatness. Perched to seize the world by...
Published on February 22, 2011 by Alayne


‹ Previous | 1 2199 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1,095 of 1,126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Papa" was a rolling stone, February 3, 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
At the end of Ernest Hemingway's memoir, A Moveable Feast , he writes of his first wife, Hadley Richardson, "I wish I had died before I loved anyone but her." After their divorce, Hemingway marries three more times, each one prompt to follow, like serial wives. This is the story of the woman that loved him before he was famous.

Paula McLain researched their biographies, letters, and Hemingway's novels, culling the material to imagine a story of their charmed and battered marriage in Paris, from 1921-1926. The tortured life and tragically foreshadowed suicide of Ernest Hemingway is public knowledge, as was his legendary womanizing. McLain's novel dodges the palaver, blending the facts that are known together with credible inference, creating a plausible, informed depiction of Hemingway and Hadley's marriage--the quotidian, the famed, the halcyon, the harsh.

The author writes from Hadley's point of view, inviting the reader inside their most tender and demolishing moments. A few choice sections belong to Hemingway's perspective, urgent and telling. The narrative deftly folds in their histories--the years before they met--artfully revealing early and private woes, which ripple and sometimes hiss beneath the ardor. We get the back stories without muddled exposition; by the time it arrives at the failure of their union, readers have acquired a fluency of Hadley's nature and Hemingway's core.

Hadley sustained several painful childhood experiences that eerily parallel Hemingway's, and was a recluse and "spinster" at twenty-eight, when she met and was courted by the twenty-one-year-old Hemingway. He was a struggling, ambitious writer, home after the shock and agonies of the Great War, where he endured trauma and its aftereffects, described today as PTSD (post-traumatic stress disorder). He couldn't sleep without a light. His mother was an insufferable controller, and he didn't want to marry a woman like that.

The pliable and less progressive Hadley was a sound match for the needy, talented, and egocentric Ernest. He required a woman who would unshakably support his career. Hadley was a generous lover and devoted supporter who sacrificed her personal ambitions for Ernest. She was also playful and warm and smart, but not savvy and edgy like the emerging modern women of the 1920's.

In prose that reflects the style of the era, McLain illustrates a glittering world of élan expatriates and literati. Hadley and Ernest (and their baby, Bumby) lived in the (then) modest Latin Quarter, and soon became a vibrant part of the Left Bank artists, such as Gertrude Stein, Zelda and F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ezra Pound, James Joyce, Ford Maddox Ford, Jean Rhys, and many others. Open marriage, and mistresses living in the same house with wives, were not unheard of in this set.

Blithe talk, bottomless glasses of whiskey, and bottle after bottle of wine was the norm in their active social lives. In the mornings, the hair of the dog was the cure for the night on the town. Jaunts to Pamplona to see the bullfights were illustrated by McClain in all their gory splendor.

During this time, Hemingway wrote copiously and tirelessly, jealous of some of his peers who were already established. The germination and completion of The Sun Also Rises is covered, as well as his ruthless parody of Sherwood Anderson's work, The TORRENTS OF SPRING. Hadley loved him utterly, propped him up buoyantly, and assured him of his inevitable success. Eventually, Ernest acquired more expansive needs, and Hadley needed less, but got more than she bargained for. McClain limns their marriage as more than just a cautionary tale.

"To keep you from thinking, there was liquor, an ocean's worth at least, all the usual vices and plenty of rope to hang yourself with. But some of us, a very few in the end, bet on marriage against the odds."

This isn't standard "chick-lit" fare, nor is it cloying. I recommend this to anyone interested in the psyche of Hemingway, his first marriage, and his genesis as one of the greatest American authors of our time--from a wife's perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


186 of 195 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a winner, February 18, 2011
By 
Rushmore (CHICAGO, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I had the most curious reaction to this book. About 3/4 of the way through I had decided I would give it 4 stars, and I wasn't happy about it. Although it felt very authentic, the prose didn't sing, and I thought I knew why. Hadley Richardson Hemingway simply didn't have a dynamic personality. The story as told mostly through her voice contained lots of detail but Hadley felt more like an observer than a player much of the time. Then when Ernest strayed, the game changed. Hadley showed her considerable inner strength and I felt her heart breaking. She let down her guard enough to show that she was in fact a remarkable woman, and this is a remarkable book.

Paula McLain has clearly read lots of Hemingway. The writing style is Hemingwayesque. It feels right for this story and for Hadley's voice because she was so much more reserved than the others in their circle. In the end, McLain quite neatly analyzes Ernest and the marriage, and the book is so readable. Although it is fiction, I don't doubt that it really could have happened this way. The book is obviously thoroughly researched. Historic fiction is so tricky, and I think it fails more often than it succeeds. This is by far the best historic novel I have ever read. I don't want to spoil the delights in these pages, but I will share a highlight for me. When Hemingway and Fitzgerald were editing The Sum Also Rises at the kitchen table, Hadley compared them to surgeons. At that point I think she realized that Ernest's greatness as a writer would surmount his failings as a husband and a human being. I thought it was a fabulous moment.

I really think this book is a triumph. The subject matter definitely piqued my interest, the writing was flawless, and I wish there could be a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


345 of 370 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Intriguing, Engrossing Read., February 11, 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Ernest Hemingway, 21, marries Hadley Richardson eight years his senior and promptly moves with her to Paris to be among the upstarts, the in crowd, the expatriates that worshipped Paris as their city of creativity. Ezra Pound, Gertrude Stein, F. Scott Fitzgerald not to mention famous actors, musicians and painters were their companions though they often lived hand to mouth. Content to live in Ernest's shadow, providing him with much needed stability and a shoulder, Hadley embraces his love of of the outdoors, spontaneous moves to various Euorpean locals, bull fighting, horse racing and for a time, drinking. But soon the lure and glamour began to fade. The eccentricities of open marriages, mistresses and provocative lifestyles leaves Hadley at loss especially after the birth of their son. Hemingway's constant moodiness, carousing, heavy drinking, lack of decorum and superior attitude begin to unravel his wife's resolve. His resentment of her few friendships also speak to his possessiveness and selfish nature. When "fame" arrives it shatters all handrails that Hadley has clung to. The intense love she feels for Ernest drives her to fight for their marriage and for Ernest's life, but to what avail?

I adored the book, "Loving Frank" by Nancy Horner all about Frank Lloyd Wright and his mistress; it as well as "The Paris Wife," demonstrate the incredible sacrifices a companion must make to cajole an artist's tender ego. Not surprisingly I see Nancy Horan endorsed this book and rightfully she should. The writing is so beautifully strong as it exposes lifestyles of creative geniuses. Paula MClain does an amazing job of keeping the reader glued to the perils of this complex couple. Homage is paid to many parts of Europe and sent me to the computer to look at the sites the Hemingway's enjoyed. When a book fires your curiosity you know you have found a treasure.

Though a fictionalized account, the author did extensive research and to my mind didn't make any major mistakes in her accuracy. The tale is riveting because of her ability to breath life into all the major players.

Great novel that I highly endorse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


515 of 564 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hemingway fans will pass., February 22, 2011
By 
I didn't know much about Ernest Hemingway or his wives before I started The Paris Wife by Paula McLain. This is the story of his first wife, Hadley; a story of how they met, the depth of their love, and how it came to wither away. Set mainly in Paris during prohibition, McLain paints us a picture of two newlyweds on the cusp of greatness. Perched to seize the world by storm, Hadley and Ernest rock on the edge of several lives: that of the happily married couple, that of the poor writer trying to make a living, and that of disaster brought on by depression and angst.

The positive aspect of Paula McLain's writing is that I forgot this book was about Hemingway's first wife. Meaning I was able to sink into Hadley's mind and Ernest's love and then feel emotional heartbreak as their marriage fell apart. The dialogue for the time period is authentic; quick, sharp, witty and sassy. We are very much inside Hadley's mind and our emotional connection with her is strong, we feel her passions and pains, her desires and needs. We support her entirely. But I also grew sick of her simpering passiveness, waiting for something to happen as she struggles to find her role in Ernest's life. Upon discovering this annoyance half-way through the novel, I was pulled out of it entirely. It made me question how much of what I was reading was actually fact. Was this really how Hem's first wife felt? Was he really this big of an ass?

Beneath my questions of the authenticity of Hadley is Ernest himself, and his pain and waywardness is what drives the story, as it drove their life together. As much as I grew to dislike him, and even Hadley at times, their story is tragically beautiful; so even though there were moments when I felt a lackluster performance from McLain's writing, the story of these two lovers carried me through to the end, like a good love story should.

Fans of historical fiction will enjoy Hadley's story, but Hemingway fans will bypass The Paris Wife in favor of his memoir, which I plan to read now that I know a bit more about the tragedy and triumph of this man, and his wife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hadley and Hemingway, March 7, 2011
This review is from: The Paris Wife (Hardcover)
Ernest Hemingway was a jerk and he had a wife who loved him. Older by about seven years, Hadley, Hemingway's first wife, married him when he was only a promise of a writer. But she believed in him. She encouraged him through his insecurities about his skill, how he matched up to other writers of the time, and through his fears about life. It is the sad story of Hadley's deep love and devotion to a man with whom she fell in love long before there was hope of The Old Man and the Sea, or The Sun Also Rises.

Ernest and Hadley strive to live an honest, if even at times painfully honest, life together. Hadley doesn't shy away from the knowledge that Hemingway loved deeply before she came along, and sadly, continued loving him even after their divorce and his remarriage to wife number two, Pauline.

Soon into the marriage, Hadley is shocked at herself for how much she absolutely depends on Hemingway. She hates the weakness and determines to appear strong even if she can't be entirely strong. Hemingway's life with Hadley seems so right and then he goes and spoils it all.

Moving to Paris, instead of the originally intended Italy, gives the Hemingways access to some of the most interesting parlors of the day: Gertrude Stein, Ezra Pound. Bad company seems to corrupt, their association with all the free love artists and writers has its effect.

If you are at all acquainted with Ernest Hemingway's life, you know this is not his only marriage, you know he commits suicide, and you know he becomes a very great writer. But, Paula McLain does such an excellent job of getting inside the head of Hadley that you find yourself hoping that history might rewrite itself as you read. Alas.

Paula McLain is herself such an excellent writer that it was pure pleasure to read of Hemingway's journey to being a great writer through McLain's words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful read, February 4, 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I will admit my bias for this book right now. "The Paris Wife" was excerpted in a magazine and I fell for it like a ton of bricks. M's McClain's gifted writing draws the reader into Chicago in 1920. Whatever you know or think you know about Ernest Hemingway is about to change to give you a completely different view of Mr Hemingway. And all because M's McClain's gift for bringing Hadley Hemingway and the Jazz Age to life.

M's McClain did extensive research to write this book from Hadley's point of view. The reader knows the marriage is doomed, that Ernest Hemingway is doomed, but I couldn't help trying to read it as fast as I could.

Hadley is a 28 year old "spinster". Ernest is a mere 21 years old but has led a much more exciting life. Both Hadley's and Ernest's early life had strange co-incidences. Both of their fathers committed suicide in very similar ways. All of this and more is underneath their lives together. M's McClain weaves her story so well that the back story is explored without disrupting the flow of the narrative.

Though much of the book is from Hadley Hemingway's point of view, there are sections told from Ernest Hemingway's view. The creation and culmination of "The Sun Also Rises"The Sun Also Rises occurs during this period of Hemingway's life.Hadley is loving and giving to Ernest, ever supportive, ever flexible. She knows of Ernest's faults, the womanizing and the drinking, his psychological problems left over from World War I and she still stands by him. After all, in the Hemingway's social group were mistresses and wives under the same roof with full knowledge of affairs. Drinking alcohol was the same as breathing air to this crowd.

M's McClain does an excellent job bringing the 1920s and this couple to life. If you are interested in Ernest Hemingway and his life, if you want to view him as his first wife did before the fame, you owe it to yourself to read this book.

And finally, the most telling reason you should read this book if you are interested in Ernest Hemingway - A Moveable Feast: The Restored Edition this is what Ernest Hemingway thought of Hadley, his first wife.

"I wish I had died before I loved anyone but her."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Importance of Being Ernest's...Wife!, February 22, 2011
Before Ernest Hemingway was ERNEST HEMINGWAY - one of the most revered, studied, analyzed, and parodied authors of American literature - he was a young man with a burning talent, staking his claim to a bright future.

And part of this future included Hadley Richardson, his first wife, a woman who was his equal in many ways - a risk-taker, adventurer, and big drinker. Paula McLain - in an addictive and mesmerizing debut book - breathes life into their life together in Paris in the 1920s, when everything was just starting to come together.

It was a golden time in Paris. Ernest Hemingway was a writer on the cusp; he was championed by Sherwood Anderson -- whom he eventually turns on - and he hung out with expatriates Gertrude Stein and Alice Tokias, Ezra Pound and his lover, Shakespear (no "e" at the end), and later, with Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald and Gerald and Sara Murphy. He eagerly sought advice, learning to fine-tune his craft, especially with the guidance of Gertrude Stein: "She'd hit on something he'd recently begun to realize about directness, about stripping language all the way down."

Yet the book is always, definitively, Hadley's to narrate - and indeed, she does so quite sympathetically, in the first-person. In many ways, it is a re-telling of Hemingway's A Moveable Feast, as Ms. McLain pushes deeper into the lives of her characters while remaining true to the facts.

Hadley meets Ernest not long after the death of her overprotective mother, and marries him after a short courtship. Nearly a decade older than her new spouse, she lets him lead the way; when Sherwood Anderson convinces him to go to Paris, she gladly signs on. In many ways, she becomes the personification of Hemingway's famous "True Woman" - someone who is true and gentle and good and strong - without losing her essence.

As their life becomes more and more colorful - ski trips, visits to Ezra Pound at Rapallo, wasted drinking weekends at Pamplona for the running of the bulls, Hadley asks one of their friends, "What is it we want, exactly?" The answer, "Everything, of course. Everything and then some." Hadley retorts, "If this is a festival, then why aren't we happy?"

Happiness is hers in fleeting moments, as Ernest begins to attract attention for his work, after her son is born, and when she loses herself in her piano playing. But Hemingway is crippled by what would now be diagnosed as PTSD as a result of his war years, and is way too self-destructive. Followers of Hemingway know that he will leave her for another woman -- the hypocritical Pauline Pfeiffer, who embraces them both, calling them "her cherishables" and "her dears."

Hadley is, of course, immortalized for the famous lost manuscript incident. When her husband was covering the Lausanne Peace Conference, Hadley paid him a visit in train and packed all of his manuscripts including the carbons in a small valise, which was stolen and never recovered. This is but one of the story lines depicted in this page-turning debut.

With a few tiny missteps - a little too much foreshadowing and sometimes, an over-awe of her subject - Ms. McLain eloquently captures the innermost feelings of Hadley as well as the Paris life at a heady and exhilarating time. Years later, Ernest Hemingway - who married four times in all - writes of Hadley, "I wish I had died before I loved anyone but her." I closed the pages of this book wondering how much better his life might have turned out had he remained with the woman he called "the best and truest and loveliest person I have ever known."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can an Uninteresting Character Sustain a Novel?, April 5, 2011
By 
'Paris Wife' is the story of the first Mrs. Ernest Hemingway, Hadley Richardson. It covers their courtship and five year marriage during which Ernest struggled for recognition as a writer. The novel ends with his publication of 'The Sun Also Rises. During their brief five years together they drink heavily, hang out with famous people like Gertrude Stein, Ezra Pound and F. Scott Fitzgerald and travel a lot from their home in Paris to Spain to Austria and back to Paris. During that time Hadley gives birth to Ernest's first son, endearingly nicknamed Bumby. The question, though, is whether a story that focuses on Hadley and is told from her point of view can be interesting enough to sustain a novel. My answer is yes and no. I found the first two-thirds of the novel not terribly interesting, because Hadley is not a terribly interesting person. Hemingway is egotistical, self-centered, jealous and a drunk. In a word he is an obnoxious bore (as are their circle of famous friends). Hadley is the long-suffering wife, a complete doormat for Hem. She has no life of her own, other than to create an atmosphere where the Great Man can work, and absorb the the abuse he dishes out including bringing his mistress Pauline Pfifer into their household. (Hadley sleeps with Hem at night, and Pauline has him in the afternoons in the room next door). It is not until the last third of the book when Hadley is attempting to save her disintegrating marriage that the book held any real interest for me. There is a poignancy and horror in watching Hadley accept first the presence of the mistress in their lives and then come to terms with the need to end the marriage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been an exciting read..., April 7, 2011
The Paris Wife is a well-researched fictional account of Ernest Hemingway's early years from the point of view of Hadley Richardson, his first wife (of four).

Before I delve into the review, a bit about me - I prefer reading non-fiction over fiction. Upon reflection, I think it is because prose can make or break a book for me and in my experience, more often than not, it breaks. Novels can be particularly prone to hollow voices, unconvincing dialogue and painful efforts to move a story along.

I think I could really have enjoyed The Paris Wife, but for the prose. It contained so much material that could be exciting subject matter for a novel: Paris in the 1920s, eccentric artists, bohemian values, travel, great love affairs, cameos by F. Scott Fitzgerald, Gertrude Stein, Ezra Pound and, of course, the giant personality that was Ernest Hemingway himself! I was so looking forward to reading about all of the above.

McLain is a good writer, so I managed to get through the novel, but despite the great many interesting events in Richardson and Hemingway's life, the characters and their circumstances never managed to come alive for me. Hadley's narrative, and even Ernest's voice, came across flat and boring. But, I do think many people will love this book - the reviews on Amazon are overwhelmingly positive. Maybe it is because I am not a big fiction reader that it didn't do much for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars either read Heimgway's biography or The Moveable Feast, this is not worth it, April 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Being a Hemingway fan, I was excited (at first) to have come across this book. I ordered it instantly and I felt reassured by lots of positive reviews on Amazon. I was expecting it to be at least 'above average.' How wrong I was. Like one of the other reviewers noted, it feels like the author merely took Hemingway's and Hadley's biography and inserted dialogue into it. The other characters, including Stein and Pound, feel so one-dimensional. I would be ok with this kind of depiction if it were a REAL biography and the book was just trying to portray what actually happenned. However, it is not. It claims to be a fictionized version of the two people's lives, so I was expecting a bit more 'bite' to the story and its development. (The fictionized) Hadley here comes across as very passive and uninteresting, to put it mildly, and it is very hard to relate to her or any other character to the book. There is no real story arc, it feels like Hadley the character is citing every single incident in chronological order. Some scenes are so repetitive and mundane that it made me wonder if I was on the wrong page reading what I had read a couple of pages ago. I was ready to quit reading around page 143. I somehow managed to finish it, but my opinion hasn't changed. I'd rather recommend the real Hemingway, The Moveable Feast. I don't understand why this book has gotten such favorable reviews on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2199 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Paris Wife: A Novel (Random House Reader's Circle)
The Paris Wife: A Novel (Random House Reader's Circle) by Paula McLain (Paperback - November 27, 2012)
$15.00 $11.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.