Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Breath of Fresh Air
A story never properly told before now because of a shared dishonesty of those who needed to believe a new and better world was rising in the Soviet Union, comes brilliantly to life with an energy that blends the authors'extraordinary skills as not only dramatists but also novelists and screenwriters; it takes all three abilities to tell, with such clarity, that the three...
Published 20 months ago by Lionel Chetwynd

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok play
I usually like plays
This one is based on real events but seems a bit wooden and obvious (bad guys cartoonishly bad, etc.)
Published 6 months ago by Ben


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Breath of Fresh Air, December 3, 2012
This review is from: The Party Line: A Play in Two Acts (Paperback)
A story never properly told before now because of a shared dishonesty of those who needed to believe a new and better world was rising in the Soviet Union, comes brilliantly to life with an energy that blends the authors'extraordinary skills as not only dramatists but also novelists and screenwriters; it takes all three abilities to tell, with such clarity, that the three dimensional chess becomes as understandable as checkers. It's a remarkable intellectual feat but, curiously more seductive, is the way it moves in and out of time with such grace. In a moment when leftist dogma is again clouding truth, "The Party Line" is a breath of fresh air. One wishes it were required reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If 7million People are murdered and no one reports it..., December 4, 2012
By 
B. Zelkin (los angeles, ca USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Party Line: A Play in Two Acts (Paperback)
I can't recommend "The Party Line" enough. Engaging from start to finish this play is nothing short of wonderful. At its core it is a cautionary tale about the power of the modern media and its role in shaping perception.

As facts and events unfold they become history and that history has to be told. Regardless of whether it is told accurately or not - the narrative, the prism through which the events are presented to us, becomes a powerful and defining touchstone in our perceptions and recollections of those events; In the end, after the events have faded we are left with stories about them and the perceptions that those stories generated.

This is a play about the gate-keepers of events, the storytellers, the myth-makers. It is a play about those who in large part determine how we know of and whether we know of the events that shape our lives and the lives of those around us. It is a meditation that deftly contrasts one man's faithful pursuit of truth with another's cynical obfuscation of it. It is a tale that elucidates the clear bright line separating a person who served as a mouthpiece for a murderous state and another who refused to let societal pressure determine his voice and commentary on events.

By the play's conclusion I was sad to see it end. I wanted more and would give it six stars if I could.

This is the kind of art that we need. An honest critique of the power of modern media and an insightful lens through which to see the corruptibility of the worst of us contrasted with strength of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRUTH Be Told (Finally!), December 2, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Party Line: A Play in Two Acts (Paperback)
The pens of playwrights Sheryl Longin & Roger Simon are mightier than the sword, or as in the case of this powerful new drama, THE PARTY LINE, mightier than the hammer + sickle of repression and murder in Stalin's Russia. The truth of what was, and the eyewitness reporting that choked out the truth, makes this work a non-stop page turner, perfect for readers of drama, history and theatre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional!, December 4, 2012
This review is from: The Party Line: A Play in Two Acts (Paperback)
Communism meets Islamism in a riveting historical drama I would love to see on stage. Very timely - this should be a must read for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Exciting, Suspenseful Page-Turner, with Great Characters, December 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Party Line: A Play in Two Acts (Paperback)
This play combines brilliant historical insights with the personal stories of fascinating characters. You see how the main characters helped to drive the history of their times - and how they themselves were personally impacted by the history they helped create. Remarkable and highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real eye-opener, February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Party Line: A Play in Two Acts (Paperback)
This play is very easy reading, I hope it goes on broadway because I learned a lot and was entertained throug-out. Americans need to know how media can be swayed, if not out-right bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I don't really buy into the argument that the works of Duranty and the current deliberate silence over the role of Islam in public events are essentially parallel, but this is an interesting attempt to make the argument. Although I am a seasoned play reader, it could be that the work plays better on stage than it does on the page. Of course, anything that breaks through the current Hollywood bluster of half-truths and outright lies has to be a major plus, if only for the fresh air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great play, January 1, 2013
By 
kmaine1133 (Ca (United States)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wish it displayed in black-on-white mode on Kindle Fire. I like the story very much. The main character is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok play, February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Party Line: A Play in Two Acts (Paperback)
I usually like plays
This one is based on real events but seems a bit wooden and obvious (bad guys cartoonishly bad, etc.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A perceptive look at a gay Dutch sociologist who left the left and took up the cause of freedom, December 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is not the usual conformist cant that our culture is filled with. A perceptive look at a gay Dutch sociologist who left the left and took up the cause of freedom and who was then murdered by the left for his thought crime. A fine read too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Party Line: A  Play in Two Acts
The Party Line: A Play in Two Acts by Sheryl Longin (Paperback - November 1, 2012)
$15.95 $13.98
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.