Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pleasant stroll describes the read as well as subject
The Path is exactly what the title says it is, a one-mile walk which lends Raymo the small details of life and the world (monarch butterflies, a minor brook, blooming loosestrife) so that he may expand on them to larger, grander issues: the birth of the universe and our world, global warming, the impact of technology, etc. Both the stroll and the read are "pleasant"...
Published on October 12, 2004 by B. Capossere

versus
1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting bits of info
The author's "start-stop start-stop" style of writng is a turnoff. Some sentences seem run-on while entire paragraphs consist of really short sentence-comments. It feels uneasy. The path itself is literally a one mile jaunt from the author's home in MA to a local college campus, making it primarily of interest to those in New England. However, the author...
Published on July 23, 2004 by Bette


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pleasant stroll describes the read as well as subject, October 12, 2004
The Path is exactly what the title says it is, a one-mile walk which lends Raymo the small details of life and the world (monarch butterflies, a minor brook, blooming loosestrife) so that he may expand on them to larger, grander issues: the birth of the universe and our world, global warming, the impact of technology, etc. Both the stroll and the read are "pleasant" --short little jaunts that will seem at least somewhat familiar to many, especially those who would tend toward a book of this sort especially. The mini-essays on these larger issues dip in and out, offering the reader just enough information to keep them interested and while sometimes the brevity seems perfect, at others it comes across as a bit superficial. Raymo keeps the book grounded in the literalness of his walk and also in the local history, which though certainly less important and obviously more proscribed than the universe as a whole, at times is actually more interesting. Overall, Raymo keeps a nice balance on the three-legged stool of his physical walk along the path, his historical walk through the village's past, and his rational stroll through the science of nitrogen-fixing and star formation. Overlaying all three, permeating the entire work, is a spirituality that is warm, familiar, conversational, rarely didactic, often passionate, and always sincere. While the book was interesting and well-written throughout, I thought the writing ticked up in the last quarter or so to a more poetic, lyric style that was a true pleasure to read. Overall, the book is a good intro to the topics, its local history nicely balances the grander view, and if it reads a bit superficially or disjointed at times, those flaws don't outweigh the positives. It isn't a great book by any stretch, nor does it aspire to it. It is just as it's advertised, a pleasant stroll that now and then catches you by surprise in a moment of joyful appreciation. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Path worth taking, May 16, 2003
By 
Mr. Raymo takes a very unique perspective on a seemingly mundane topic - his daily commute. He takes the idea of stopping to smell the roses to a whole new level. Every day for over 30 years he has taken the same mile-long walk to his office. This book takes none of that walk for granted as Mr. Raymo examines every step of the way with fascinating detail. He explores the history of the city, the background of the path, and gives insightful, yet easily readable, scientific explanations of the wonders of the world that surrounds him.
At times the book feels disjointed. After all, the only glue that holds this work together is the mile-long path through nature. However, the patchwork writing allows Mr. Raymo to explore his world - a world he happily gives to the reader. I recommend this book; you'll never view your commute the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The miracles lie in the detail, July 23, 2005
By 
Jerome (Luxembourg, Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
For 37 years now Mr Reymo is walking the same one-mile path between his house in North Easton, near Boston, and his workplace, the Stonehill College, back and forth, nearly everyday. And he uses precisely this short path as starting point to his exploration of the miracles of Nature.

First he emphasizes on things he notices along his way (like the river, the forest, the rocky ground, animals, fossils, and so on) to make you aware of the all-abounding, but often overlooked, wonders that surround you. And then he gives scientific, but very readable, explanations of why these things are they way they are or where they came from. His elaborations cover multiple themes like biology, botany, astronomy and anthropology. To only name a few.

But what makes this book so intriguing is especially the fact that he focuses on little, simple, everyday things and then shows how they fit in the greater frame. It makes you curious and want to just start exploring your own backyard. And you will definitely see it with other eyes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A path from the particular to the universal, August 13, 2004
At the end of the last chapter (before the epilogue) Raymo writes that the "ideal of humans living in harmony with tamed nature ... is a sturdy old myth, and in it we might still hope to combine the Enlightenment, with its confidence in the power of the human mind to make sense of the world, and romanticism, with its belief that all of life is a miracle."

That neatly sums up the main themes of this book, that describes the author's daily walk through the woods to work. The author wanders the path and all the thoughts and associations it provokes, seeking both ends: to make sense of the world, and to celebrate that life is a miracle.

The book does indeed wander. Under T in the index (unusual to find such a good index in a small book), for example, you can find Tao (Way); Technology; Thales of Miletus; Third World; Thoreau, Henry David; Thousand-monkey metaphor; Tibetan Plateau; Timber, harvesting; ...

In part they are connected by Raymo's story of how everything _is_ connected, and how in the particular we can find the universal. That is what he shows as he wanders the path from start to end. He starts with the particular - the names of streets, local history - and ranges in his genial, learned way - through the amazing journey of monarch butterflies, the DNA that shapes and is shaped by life - to the universal - the laws of nature, the mystery that so much is explicable, yet not entirely.

That is where the story touches on its deeper themes. Though he quotes Oscar Wilde, that "the true mystery of the world is the visible, not the invisible," he warns that "our senses are dulled by the tedium of the commonplace" and tries to remind us, and show us, vividly "that the ordinary is not ordinary at all, that the commonplace is miraculous."

Then The Path is at its best (and best read, not reviewed).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Book, June 17, 2003
By A Customer
I am a 15 year old from North Easton, Massachusetts. My highschool, OLiver Ames, has their cross country course throughout Sheep Pasture, where much of this book takes place. IT was SO interesting finding out the history of the place, because I run there nearly every day. I would definently reccommend you to purchase this book, it is a bit chopppy, but overall you can learn a lot about nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Jenny Lind Street dead-ends at Seaver Street.", January 30, 2010
By 
frumiousb "frumiousb" (Amsterdam, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This book was recommended to me by a friend. It came up in a conversation about good adjective use. And I take his point about the example; Raymo is a good author. His text is rich, but doesn't have that irritating sing-song quality so many naturalist writers cultivate. Based purely on prose strength, I look forward to reading more by him.

The book itself was good-- a lesson in how marvelous things are all around us, even in the most familiar paths. If I have any quarrel, it is perhaps simply that the book is a little bit slight. It reads to me like a very good extended magazine article more than a book. This isn't specifically in the length, although that's part of it. It just feels a little bit thin in places.

Glad to have had the introduction to Raymo's writing. Suggestions about which book to try next gratefully accepted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neat synthesis of life, the universe and everything..., November 2, 2009
By 
Physicist Chet Raymo walks the same path to and from his office at Stonehill College in North Easton, Massachusetts. He has ruminated upon the history of the rocks, the flowers, the water, and the people existing along this one mile path. There are human stories, and stories that involve the forces that shape the universe. From Ames iron shovels to gigantic sheets of flowing ice to the nature of gravity, Raymo has pondered life, the universe and everything (yes... this comes straight from Douglas Adams' The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, but this is my observation, not Raymo's).

And he is broad in these ruminations:

"Although bluebirds are again thriving at Sheep Pasture, malaria continues to be the world's biggest killer of children. Since the withdrawal of DDT for malaria control in South Africa, cases of the disease have quadrupled. Many public health officials now call for renewed use of DDT in certain malaria-ridden parts of the globe, at least until a vaccine or genetic fix comes along. Did Silent Spring save songbirds in New England and put babies at risk in Mozambique. Our technological interventions in nature usually involve a muddy moral arithmetic" (p. 128).

"A tiny fraction of the Sun's energy falls upon the Earth's oceans and evaporates water molecules into the air. It takes about 1,000 calories of energy for the Sun to evaporate a thimbleful of water from the sea; each thimbleful of water in the atmosphere represents 1,000 calories of stored solar energy. The Sun does the heavy lifting on Earth, heaving tens of thousands of cubic miles of water up out of the seas and into the atmosphere each year. Most of this water precipitates back into the oceans, but some of it falls on land as rain or snow, from whence it makes its way downhill to the sea in a great recirculation called the water cycle" (p. 15). And this is the source of the water flowing down North Easton's Queset Brook, which powered the Ames shovel manufacturing shops, which modified the local communities and allowed people to modify their habitats.

I had a couple of disagreements with Raymo. In discussing evolution, he wrote, "Let's say that every time a monkey types by chance a string of 'A's I give it a banana. And I give the other [999] monkeys a boot in the behind. Pretty soon we'd have lots of monkeys hitting the 'A' key incessantly. And no one would call it random. Selection has been at work. If I had supervision of a thousand monkeys not for a thousand years but, say, for a million generations, a sufficient supply of bananas, and a durable boot (the well-fed, unbooted monkeys being the most successful at procreation), sooner or later I would almost certainly witness a creature who sat at his or her machine and typed: 'Arise, fair sun, and kill the envious moon,who is already sick and pale with grief that thou her maid art far more fair than she.' And the same dynamic applies exactly to the evolution of organisms, where competition for scare resources provides the bananas or boot" (p. 85). I'll bet you could train monkeys a lot faster than this. This is learning, not evolution. What is the genetic basis here for selection to act upon?

And Raymo also writes, "Computer chips are not as sentient as human brains..." (p. 89). "Sentience" is commonly defined as awareness or consciousness. I'd assert that computer chips are not sentient at all. Has AI advanced further than I am aware?

I wonder if a reader has to be aware of New England habitats and history to get the most out of this book. Being from the West but growing up in the East, I felt somewhat familiar with the plants he notes, and the effects of glaciers on the landscape. But I was oblivious to the stories behind many of the names he mentions. That did detract me from his message, I think. I wonder if a reader from the East would have similar problems with a western author, such as Edward Abbey's Desert Solitaire.

Still, I'm glad I had the opportunity to read this book. Raymo always links and stitches the universe together in unique ways; that is the talent of his writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Walk Through Life With Prof. Raymo!, May 5, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Chet Raymo, a physics and astronomy professor at Stonehill College, poetically and lyrically takes us on a "stroll" with him while he walks from his home in North Easton, Massachusetts to the college campus. He has walked this path for 37 years and by careful observation of the forested landscape, he has garnered an eternities worth of insights. One is immediately reminded or the keen observations and musings of Henry David Thoreau and John Muir, et al. "The Path" is written in an uncomplicated, approachable style for all audiences, and yet deep with wisdom and knowledge producing a broad spectrum view of the workings of the world.

And from Raymo's musings, we see the history of the Stonehill region come to life and how it has shaped the lives of generations of people, the flora/fauna and the "natural" landscape with special attention to the early entrepreneurs who most influenced the region, their motivations of nation building, personal wealth and the current display of their legacies.

We get an over-view of geologic transformations, biological processes, and the building blocks of all physical manifestations through the coding of DNA strands. The interconnectedness of all life and our tinkering with nature resulting in such side-effects and backlashes as global warming and broken down natural resource distribution cycles.

From the wintertime stroll, we get observations of: "The tiny six-pointed snowflake is, on a deeper level, a buzzing hive of molecular vibrations. And so, too, the lush diversity of life in the water meadow, examined more closely, resolves itself into a fandango of dancing molecules. The seen is a mask for the unseen. Our eyes open at birth to a flood of photons, but we must learn to see." (p. 146)

The careful observations of nature in action through all four seasons from a stroll on this path creates a summation of our evolving human relation to life on the planet in such thoughts as: "Knowledge once gained cannot be unlearned, and knowledge is power. For better or worse, the future of the planet has been handed to us, not by a deity but by fate. Stewardship of other creature is in our hands." "...an understanding of the ecological wholeness of the Earth suggest that our altruism should extend to other creatures, too: plants, animals, even microbes." And, "Environmental conservation-clean water and air, a steady climate- is in the interest of our species." (p. 171)

This is a beautiful melding of the thoughts and observations of such greats as the sociobiologist, E. O. Wilson, "The Future of Life", Thomas Berry, "The Dream of the Earth", et al. who are all in unison with the profound need for humanity to seriously embrace an ethic of life stewardship for the survival of our beautiful blue planet Earth. Thank you again, Prof. Chet Raymo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, August 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Everybody should read this book. Chet Raymo writes so well. I have purchased this book 5 times so I could pass it along to friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Take The Path, June 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Chet Raymo has done it again. He can take a scene that looks familiar and average to most of us and make it into a a wide path of connected thoughts. His eclectic nature defines a life more full than what most of us know. Thanks Mr. Raymo for making something invisible right there before our eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Path: A One-Mile Walk Through the Universe
The Path: A One-Mile Walk Through the Universe by Chet Raymo (Paperback - March 1, 2004)
Used & New from: $1.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.