Customer Reviews


660 Reviews
5 star:
 (213)
4 star:
 (259)
3 star:
 (105)
2 star:
 (48)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooks you from the very first scene
I never get tired of seeing this movie. I'm so glad I bought the DVD. This is a model what an action-suspense-politcal thriller should be.

Basically Clooney and Kidman are trying to track down stolen nuclear warheads ripped off by a formenr Soviet general and for sale on the open market.

I can't think of anything I disliked about this movie. The plot...
Published on September 30, 2004 by Alexander E. Paulsen

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful.
Cliché, cheesy, but the saving grace is the early 90's haircuts, too-roomy button-ups, and Where's Waldo glasses on everybody. A 1990s style anthropologist's dream. Makes Red October look like the best film ever shot.
Published 4 months ago by R. Oswald


‹ Previous | 1 266 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooks you from the very first scene, September 30, 2004
By 
Alexander E. Paulsen "AlexP" (Jacksonville, Fl United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Peacemaker (DVD)
I never get tired of seeing this movie. I'm so glad I bought the DVD. This is a model what an action-suspense-politcal thriller should be.

Basically Clooney and Kidman are trying to track down stolen nuclear warheads ripped off by a formenr Soviet general and for sale on the open market.

I can't think of anything I disliked about this movie. The plot was chilling, it made "Sum of all Fears" look like a kids cartoon in comparison. Clooney and Kidman had spectacular chemistry and played their parts to the hilt.

By the time you finish this movie you'll be out of breath. It has a nightmare inducing beginning, the most spectacular car chase I've ever seen in a movie with Clooney ending it with a cold and hard finish as I've ever seen. Watch Kidman through this whole thing, her reactions are perfect.

Plus the terrorist villan was not some faceless unknown manic bent of gratuitious destruction. You actually felt for the villan, maybe even understood what drove and motivated him. What a great change for the normal way these guys are portrayed in films.

The ending is pulse-pounding sorry to overuse that phrase but it fits perfectely. Not only that it was the most accurate portrayal of defusing a bomb I've ever seen, it was truly edge-of-your-seat stuff. They did none of that "red wire - green wire" sillness you see way too often in films. This was realistic folks, believe me it was very authentic. So much so I can understand if the less technically oriented viewers would be confused with the climactic ending as to what actually happened. But it was realistic.

I rate this even a better film than Black Sunday, and for me thats saying a lot.

Heck I think I'll watch it again later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VERY refreshing spec ops piece, December 25, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Peacemaker [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is the most refreshing action movie I've seen in a while. Forget the critics: director Mimi Leder has delivered a very credible film. The strategic premise is realistic, and the action scenes are hot, thanks to the inspired casting of George Clooney as Special Forces colonel Devoe.
Clooney is completely unlike the sad special operatives that Hollywood has been doping us with. He's no Rambo at a funeral, no tortured soul, no reluctant anti-hero full of dark secrets, ambiguities, or self-doubt.
Instead, he reminds me of certain Navy SEALs I've met: intelligent, cocky, self-assured, grinning. Ready for immediate action. Direct, practical, and unhesitating in dealing out whatever destruction and demolition will get the job done ... fast. Clooney's character metes out punishment equally well in military and civilian settings, and he is VERY clear about why he does what he does. The man has energy and snap.
If you like the fast, decisive action of special operations, do yourself a favor and check out The Peacemaker. Bear with the muddled plot; the hard action scenes are worth the wait. The fact that overweight film critics didn't like the movie, shouldn't trouble you in the slightest. They're paid to sit in armchairs and pontificate. This movie was made for you, not for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Action-Based Thriller!, July 14, 2002
By 
Barron Laycock "Labradorman" (Temple, New Hampshire United States) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Although it moves like it came from the pages of a Tom Clancy techno-thriller novel, it is really just a terrific action film that pays proper homage to the well-proven formulas of great story, fast paced sequencing, and bankable stars. Nicole Kiddman does a real star turn in this one, showing she is a very versatile and saucy type, as well as a femme fatale. yet this really is George Clooney's movie, one that shows he can safely leaves the environs of TV land for the silver screen for good. Playing the part of a street-hardened veteran who understands the way the world works outside the Washington beltway, this is a Clooney tour-de-force!
He meets one's expectations for an action hero easily, showing he can talk the talk and walk the walk. When they need to get information from a sophisticated European businessman-crook, Clooney first asks nicely, and then simply terrorizes him into giving them the information, advising Kiddman on the side that they just don't have the time to fool around with this guy. Shortly thereafter, he shows just how crusty, clever and murderous he can be in one of the most imaginative car chases and set of action scenes yet filmed in the streets of Vienna.
And the movie has barely begun to cook, with some terrific high-tech elements as well as good old fashoned skullduggery and suspense, as well, as the film reaches its climax and denouement in the streets of the Big Apple. This is a handsome film, one that is well traveled and extremely easy on the eyes. It is also plausible, given all that we have learned in the last year or so about the dangers that suround us. I can highly recommend this. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Peacemaker" is super-charged with suspense!!, February 21, 2002
This review is from: Peacemaker [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Man, I don't know how many times that I have seen this movie, but every time I watch "The Peacemaker", it gets better and better and so on! "The Peacemaker" is the very first film from DreamWorks SKG, the motion picture studio that was developed by Steven Spielberg, David Geffen, and Jeffrey Katzenberg. And I just have to say that DreamWorks did a brilliant job in bringing this adrenaline-pumping thriller to the big screen! This is also the first time that stars George Clooney and Nicole Kidman have shared the screen together (Clooney starred in "Batman & Robin", Kidman starred in "Batman Forever"). "The Peacemaker" focuses on the event about a train carrying atomic warheads being mysteriously crashed in the Soviet Union, and U.S. nuclear specialist Dr. Julia Kelly (Kidman) discovers that the crash was not an accident, it was a cover-up due to the fact that the warheads have been stolen. Unexpectedly, Julia is teamed up with a gruff and brash U.S. special forces Colonel, Thomas Devoe (Clooney). And of course, Devoe and Julia must put their personal differences away in a race against time to find the remaining stolen warheads that leads to a final showdown in New York City! The fast-paced direction by Mimi Leder ("Deep Impact") was outstanding! To me, I think that Leder should direct more films like this one day, even though her directing in "Deep Impact" was just as powerful as this film. And also, I think that "The Peacemaker" is the absolute best apocalyptic thriller ever, filled with action, suspense, and surprises at every turn! "The Peacemaker" never lets up on the action for a second! To anyone that hasn't seen "The Peacemaker" before, then I urge you to go out, buy it, and get ready for George Clooney and Nicole Kidman's best film ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful., May 18, 2014
By 
R. Oswald (West Hemisphere) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Cliché, cheesy, but the saving grace is the early 90's haircuts, too-roomy button-ups, and Where's Waldo glasses on everybody. A 1990s style anthropologist's dream. Makes Red October look like the best film ever shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars plot not worthy of the actors, June 2, 2014
Great actors, weak plot. sometimes a movie requires more than just 2 pretty faces. disappointing to see Cloony in such a bust
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unrealistic, June 8, 2014
Too far out there to be even somewhat believable which made it hard to watch. I would not waste my time watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it., May 23, 2014
It reminded me of a play written by 6th graders with an obscene big budget. The action was very unrealistic and the whole movie was predictable. Clooney and Kidman did their best with what they were given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this movie sucks, February 15, 2014
By 
Snarky "S" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This is hollywood crap at its worst. Can anyone say "Made for TV"? The director and writers should be prosecuted for wasting my time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars highly entertaining eye-candy, April 17, 2002
By 
Jason (fairfax, va United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Peacemaker (DVD)
awesome action!....awesome storyline!....and AWESOME actors!...."i'm not scared of the guy who steals 10 nuclear weapons....i'm TERRIFIED of the guy who only steals ONE"...this movie has got to bed on your MUST HAVE list, and as a serious dvd movie collector...it made mine by a mile...i would've given it 5 stars if it had a couple more intense action scenes, and for whoever has seen this, knows what i'm talkin bout, and for those who haven't...a great action flick! and a definite recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 266 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Peacemaker
The Peacemaker by Mimi Leder
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.