Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like Zinn, you'll like this
If Howard Zinn's "A People's History of the United States" is your type of history, this is a must have for your collection. The primary sources are good and the performances are powerful. Teachers might like this as a companion to teaching the use of primary source documents. Zinn gives the right amount of context to the pieces so that they make sense.

This...
Published on December 13, 2009 by Susan B. Anthony

versus
8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No where near as good as the real shows
The real shows of this were far better. This is a butchered, sanitised, half-baked version despite the DVD claiming to be 20 minutes longer. Many of the performances are no where as powerful as prior efforts and some content is cut down to small portions of the prior pieces heard on DEMOCRACY NOW and found on YOUTUBE. Kilcher's reading of Chief Joseph is murdered on this...
Published on February 16, 2010 by H S Marks


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like Zinn, you'll like this, December 13, 2009
This review is from: The People Speak (Extended Edition) (DVD)
If Howard Zinn's "A People's History of the United States" is your type of history, this is a must have for your collection. The primary sources are good and the performances are powerful. Teachers might like this as a companion to teaching the use of primary source documents. Zinn gives the right amount of context to the pieces so that they make sense.

This review is based on the program that aired on The History Channel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth in History - what a concept, December 21, 2009
By 
Rob C. (Millville, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The People Speak (Extended Edition) (DVD)
I watched the video and plan to buy the book for myself and others.

It's sad to see accusations that Zinn loves to leave out information (even though his facts are true) when our school system teaches history without most of the mitigating facts.

We as a society can never grow if we cannot look upon our past actions in the context of truth.

Hearing the words of everyday people that helped change our society in this country makes me proud to be in America.

Name calling and accusations about such a fine work mystifies me, but so does slavery, why women were not able to vote, and treatment of Indians and so on.

I applaud the work of Howard Zinn and others who show the True beating of hearts in our democracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic approach to American History, December 14, 2009
This review is from: The People Speak (Extended Edition) (DVD)
(This is based on the version that aired on History -- this DVD is that plus more).

This is a fantastic approach to U.S. history -- the words of real people who struggled to make their lives (and ours) better; read by a fantastic line-up of actors. These are the voices that are too often left out of U.S. history.

If you like Howard Zinn's A People's History of the United States, you'll like this. If you don't know that book, check out this movie (watch it with others!) and then go read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Important Film I Have Ever Seen, May 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The People Speak (Extended Edition) (DVD)
I find it somewhat difficult to express how impactful this film was on me. I've seen a lot of films. I don't know how many exactly, but it's into the thousands. This film probably left the deepest impression upon me that any film has. I read all of the critical reviews. After seeing the film I can so easily discard them. This was an amazing film to say the least. The musical performances, though they weren't of musicians that I particularly care for, I found myself very moved by them. One of the critical reviews here claims that there is a highlight of the bad things in America. The critical reviews are so feverish that it raises the question to my mind; "Did they even see the film?". This is a beautiful history from the bottom, our history. I find it shameful for these reviewers to disgrace our history. And it is OUR history. I will set aside my bitterness of those who seek, for whatever reason, to omit our history from our schools and from our minds, to say only this: WATCH IT! DECIDE FOR YOURSELF! HAVE FAITH IN YOUR ABILITY TO JUDGE FOR YOURSELF! DON'T LET ANYONE TELL YOU NOT TO WATCH IT! It's important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique and powerful theatrical piece captured on film., July 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The People Speak (Extended Edition) (DVD)
A number of actors, musicians., etc. read writings and letters by the
rebels of American history, like John Brown. Others read quotes showing
some of the darker side of our history, like Abraham Lincoln's early
determination NOT to free the slaves. And still others read words by
unknown 'regular people' commenting on their times.

Mixed with this are political folk songs old and new performed by
Eddie Vedder, Bob Dylan, Bruce Springsteen and others.

Moving and informative, this is not, 'fair and balanced', nor does it
pretend to be. The idea is to take a specific perspective on America,
from the time of the Declaration of Independence on, as a
nation forged, and constantly changed by rabble rousers and
revolutionaries, from Thomas Jefferson to Fredrick Douglas to Susan B.
Anthony.

I was fascinated and disturbed to read the vitriol that this project
has brought out from the right, and the mindless knee-jerk
counter reactions from the left - quickly degenerating into the old
'you're a commie who hates America!' 'Oh yeah? Well you're a fascist
who hates what America stands for!' childish spats.

Zinn and his approach is neither the first nor last word on American
History, but it surely raises important questions, and teaches ideas
that were certainly not part of my public school education. (e.g. the
fascinating distinction between the Declaration of Independence as a
more revolutionary, idealistic document ('All men are created equal') and
the Constitution, which was more conservative, and enshrined ideas such
as slavery, and voting as only for white males as part of the very basis
of the country).

And while it's clear the film has a 'liberal' political point of view,
to say - as many have - that a film full of the words of those who
helped fight to change America for the better is somehow 'anti-
American' astonishes me.

The greatness of this country has been it's willingness to change,
grow, challenge itself, right its wrongs and attempt to be a nation
that gives voice to people from countless backgrounds and
points-of-view. This film reminds us of that. Not quite sure how that
makes it 'anti-American'.

There is no contradiction between patriotism and a questioning mind
that seeks to look honestly at our past, uncover historic wrongs,
determine to right them and avoid them in future and celebrate those
who fought for the freedom of their race, or sex, etc.

That said I do have couple of qubbiles with the film;

a) not all the readers bring the same level of passion, commitment
(or, let's face it, acting talent) to their readings.

b) some of the readings and musical performances seem unfortunately
truncated. On a 'director's cut, extended version' DVD, why not let it
run 3 hours if need be?

c) The one point I will cede the anti-Zinn folks is that he is sometimes
guilty of cherry picking facts, or leaving out facts that might soften his point.
Of course, everyone from Fox news on the right to Michael Moore on the left
is guilty of far more extreme versions of the same sin, but it's still
a fair nit-pick. (I also think Zinn would admit it more freely than most,
since, again, he never makes the claim he isn't expounding a point-of-view).

But none of these minor flaws were enough of a problem to keep me from
being constantly involved, eductated and moved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, Howard Zinn, June 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The People Speak (Extended Edition) (DVD)
I'm watching this (and reading Zinn's "A People's History...) with my 10 year old daughter. I'm so grateful to be able to share this with her. Zinn is the history prof I missed in my education, but with the video (and the book) my daughter can get a different perspective on US history that can help to make her a thinking person. The performances on the DVD are inspiring. Thanks, Howard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The People Speak, January 28, 2010
By 
This review is from: The People Speak (Extended Edition) (DVD)
I was astounded by this dvd! Powerful and important. Have I been living so long with my head in the sand - ignorant of what the poor and unprivileged people experienced through out American history? Sad how so many relevant voices from the past have routinely been squelched by the powerful and inconsiderate. Thank you Zinn for giving them voice and doing the research to bring a bit of equality to our understanding of history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, January 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The People Speak (Extended Edition) (DVD)
Anyone who criticizes the book or the performances has not been paying attention to how this country has lost its way! The book is majestic in its scope and very highly recommended. I caught bits and pieces of the performances and can't wait to purchase the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing!, January 19, 2010
This review is from: The People Speak (Extended Edition) (DVD)
I was happy to see this on the History Channel. Everyone remembers their high school and college textbook versions of history's heroes and oppressed (Natives, Slaves...), but this program is an essential supplement. Being the "people's" history, it presents stories from the neglected and negated perspective of regular folk. In my book, Zinn is an American of the highest order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughts about History for the original source, March 16, 2010
This review is from: The People Speak [DVD] (DVD)
What was great about this was how it drew from original accounts at what was going on at that time in history. History is often taught to us by "being told by someone else" in the form of history books and from teachers in school. The best part about this presentation was it taught through first-hand accounts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The People Speak (Extended Edition)
The People Speak (Extended Edition) by Anthony Arnove (DVD - 2010)
$19.98 $11.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.