Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a MUST READ FOR ONLINE DATERS
Ms. Spira's book is a MUST READ FOR ONLINE DATERS. There are various books out there about online dating. Some of them are very mechanical, others purely anectdotal. This book seems to have the best of both. The Perils of Cyber-Dating does a great job of not only discussing how to navigate the online dating world, but also shares the joy and heartaches that people will...
Published on March 1, 2010 by LT in L.A.

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hate to spoil the fun...
I hate to spoil the fun, but this was one of the worst books I've read in a long time; and I'd sure expected it to be nothing short of awesome based on the previous reviews.
The book is all over the place. There's absolutely no flow to it, no consistency - some chapters are very short recollections of a few first dates gone bad, others sound like an advice column...
Published on August 22, 2009 by Viktoria


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a MUST READ FOR ONLINE DATERS, March 1, 2010
By 
LT in L.A. (LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Perils of Cyber-Dating: Confessions of a Hopeful Romantic Looking for Love Online (Paperback)
Ms. Spira's book is a MUST READ FOR ONLINE DATERS. There are various books out there about online dating. Some of them are very mechanical, others purely anectdotal. This book seems to have the best of both. The Perils of Cyber-Dating does a great job of not only discussing how to navigate the online dating world, but also shares the joy and heartaches that people will experience in dating in general.

The author is extremely brave: her candor is so "out there" that you can't help but feel vicariously her ups and downs as she sifts through the myraid of dating profiles. These personal stories and episodes really "tell it like it is" for those of us who are trying to find love in an Internet world.

As a guy, I came away with lots of insights about how to write a profile that will attract more responses from women. I also learned about what kind of things you don't want to put into a profile. In addition, I found the book to be very helpful with guidance on handling the first 2-3 dates with someone who you meet online.

Indeed, the book discussed a great deal about dating etiquette in the 21st Century. In some ways, this books shows that many of rules or "best practices" about dating have not changed. On the other hand, the book also spells out the "new kinds of behavior" that are acceptable, and well as inappropriate conduct, in today's high tech world.

I found the book to be well written. It is well paced: there are just enough relevant details to keep you turning the pages. Moreover, she does an excellent job of laying out the theme or message of a particular chapter or episode within a chapter, by selecting the appropriate amount of detail. Unlike other "tell all" books, Ms. Spira does not bury you or overwhelm you with petty or irrelevant facts.

What really makes the book credible and authentic is the fact that Ms. Spira really tells her stories from the heart without embellishment or exaggeration. Some of her stories reflect great pain, and/or great humor. Some have something in between. This authenticity creates a book that is very believeable, and allows the reader to come away with "real life" insights that can be applied to his/her own online dating efforts.

In addition to baring her soul and talking about her mistakes, Ms. Spira also talks about triumphs or positive experiences that give the reader hope of finding true love in Cyberspace. In that respect it is a balanced, well thought out book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book. Great Insight., September 16, 2009
This review is from: The Perils of Cyber-Dating: Confessions of a Hopeful Romantic Looking for Love Online (Paperback)
Julie Spira has really done it with this book -- a virtual primer on internet dating, using her experiences as a guidebook for either the uninitated or frustrated. Describing herself as a "hopeful romantic" Spira addresses the topic with both the sophistication of a veteran of the cyber dating scene along with this charming naivete of hers that someday, someway she'll find that special someone through the internet. The book runs a gamut of emotions -- from romance, disappointment, excitement and, of course, humor. Great job, Julie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the author, love the book!, July 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Perils of Cyber-Dating: Confessions of a Hopeful Romantic Looking for Love Online (Paperback)
Julie Spira is one of the most charismatic, sassy and smart women I know. I'm a big fan of her website and recently bought her book to read on my Kindle. Her voice is so honest and her anecdotes are both funny and cringe-worthy, a perfect combination for a book about dating. I highly recommend this book for all of my single friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reading, July 19, 2011
This review is from: The Perils of Cyber-Dating: Confessions of a Hopeful Romantic Looking for Love Online (Paperback)
Congratulations, Julie, on writing a terrific book about internet dating. Reading about author Julie Spira's life as a hopeful romantic on the internet is great fun and a real eye-opener. In her memoir, she shares both her success stories and her heartbreaks as she seeks Mr. Right in cyberspace. Aside from a presenting a series of personal tales, Julie also shows she uses technology to improve the odds in the new realities of dating in the 21st century. As just one example, she shows to spot red flags in online dating profiles by providing side-by-side definitions that compare "What They Say" with "What They Mean." Because of Julie's positive attitude, anyone shy about internet dating will be ready to take the plunge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hate to spoil the fun..., August 22, 2009
By 
Viktoria (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Perils of Cyber-Dating: Confessions of a Hopeful Romantic Looking for Love Online (Paperback)
I hate to spoil the fun, but this was one of the worst books I've read in a long time; and I'd sure expected it to be nothing short of awesome based on the previous reviews.
The book is all over the place. There's absolutely no flow to it, no consistency - some chapters are very short recollections of a few first dates gone bad, others sound like an advice column (with little to no valuable information to anyone who knows anything about human nature,) yet others consist of some out-of-place reminiscing over a past love interest.
Proof reading has been invented for a reason. I hate to sound like a spelling-Nazi, but this book is full of mistakes: spelling, punctuation and tenses are used incorrectly way too many times.
The book offers little to no literary value, it's short, absolutely NOT funny, and even depressing (it seems that even though the author describes herself as smart, witty and attractive, any man she has ever been truly interested in completely fooled her; it's actually quite embarrassing.)
It wasn't worth the two hours it took me to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous dating advice., March 7, 2012
This review is from: The Perils of Cyber-Dating: Confessions of a Hopeful Romantic Looking for Love Online (Paperback)
This book has made a great change in my dating life. It has taught me the amazing adventure that dating can be with it's up's and down's. Although I was previously skeptical about the world of dating in general, weather it be online or not, I found this book to be a great guidance in helping me find a place to start and now with much success! Thank you to an awe-inspiring author for giving me the belief I needed to make the right moves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous! Must Read!!!!, August 24, 2009
This review is from: The Perils of Cyber-Dating: Confessions of a Hopeful Romantic Looking for Love Online (Paperback)
This is a must read! As a relationship expert, we love to recommend Julie's online dating advice to our clients! So, if you are looking for love online? The Perils Of Cyber Dating Confessions of a Hopeful Romantic Looking For Love Online, is just the book you need to take from the city to the beach this summer!

Julie Spira dishes it all as a hopeful romantic looking for love online. From her fabulous Rules of "Netiquette" that map out what men and women say vs. what the actually mean, to one hilarious story after another, she has mastered it all in a few clicks of her keyboard. This tell-all memoir spans over 250 dates in almost 15 years online. Way to go Julie!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book--In Several Ways, September 14, 2010
The author's been dating online, off-and-on, basically since the beginning of online dating. Her real life account chronicles the experience, and we get a voyeuristic view of her love life throughout the years. We benefit with an entertaining education.

As an intelligent LA businesswoman and socialite, her's is an interesting love life--and she's alarmingly open about it. (How does she face the people she's written about?!) Even if an anecdote doesn't show her in the best light, she doesn't hold back.

From a male perspective, it was fascinating to scrutinize--and sympathize with--the dating female's mind. A lot of men could dramatically boost their dating prowess with this book.

It's also great for women. The author offers tips and rules about online dating and shows them in action. (We see that some rules can be bent, and the consequences when the wrong ones are broken.)

It's also very well written. Despite the abundance of material, it's a surprisingly fast read. It's humorous and entertaining, and it's jammed with lessons and advice. She doesn't indulge in over-analyzing every move or repeating points unnecessarily--she keeps everything moving at a fun, energized pace.

Bottom line: Great book with lots of personal experiences and information packed into a lively narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, Funny, and Honest Book about Online Dating, February 3, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Perils of Cyber-Dating: Confessions of a Hopeful Romantic Looking for Love Online (Paperback)
A great Valentine's Day gift to someone looking for love. "The Perils of Cyber-Dating" is THE classic book for those dipping their toes into the scary waters of Online Dating. Julie Spira, noted author on the cyberdating dot.com site, bares her soul and her romantic ups and downs in funny and poignant short stories about her cyber search for true love.

The books reads like a very interesting conversation with Julie. You learn about her failed dates (the man who talked about his colonoscopy) and those who swept her off her feet. You also learn about the perils of having your personal information available to anyone who wants to find out about your past.

It is no wonder Julie makes regular appearances on online dating on Network and Local TV and Radio stations, as well as You Tube!

It's simply the best book written so far about online dating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this Book about Looking for Love, August 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Perils of Cyber-Dating: Confessions of a Hopeful Romantic Looking for Love Online (Paperback)
Inspiring Memoir That Reads Like a Novel

I picked up Julie Spira's book The Perils of Cyber-Dating based upon a recommendation from a friend and found it to be a terrific summer read. I admire the author's courage to share her collection of stories and life lessons with the world.

Julie brings her humor and wit, and stays optimistic, even under the most difficult of situations. I found her insight in the online dating world to be enlightening. I know so many people who have dated online who would enjoy this memoir and could relate to her tales.

The book offered dating advice, especially for those who are going on first dates, and first hand experience from someone who was one of the first in the online dating industry. It was well-written, paced well, and a page-turner. It truly reads like a romance novel.

Although I am happily married, I recommend this book to singles and couples, male and female, who care about matters of the heart and appreciate the sincerity and emotions involved with looking for love online.

If you've ever had your heart broken and needed to start your life over again, this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Perils of Cyber-Dating: Confessions of a Hopeful Romantic Looking for Love Online
$16.95 $14.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.