Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Knock snow out cold Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2 Valentine's Day Cards  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:$10.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 10, 2016
Great book. I really enjoyed it. The idea of it being a letter to someone unknown to the reader is really different.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2016
Touching tale.
The book the inspired the movie of the same name.
This fictional tale is one that any teen (or adult) can enjoy, identify with, and be moved by.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2016
This coming-of-age epistolary novel centers around Charlie and the letters he writes to an unknown friend about his freshman year experiences. These letters touch on depression, molestation, mental illness, addiction, homosexuality, abuse, drug use, abortion, suicide, and the roller-coaster days of being in high school. Charlie starts off as an introverted, socially awkward, and lonely 15-year-old boy who is coping with the death of his best friend. His observant and intellectual mind is revealed through his explanation of events, people, and his past. Early on in the year, Charlie meets Bill, his English teacher, who challenges him with books and reports and shows him how intelligent he is. This becomes Charlie’s creative outlet and becomes a way for him to cope and deal with the stress he is faced with. He spends most of his time with friends at Big Boy, the Rocky Horror Picture Show, and parties. After meeting his new best friends, Sam and Patrick, Charlie is introduced to alcohol, drugs, and girls. This experimentation helps him understand events from the past and gives him a role among his friends - the wallflower. A wallflower is a person who has no one to dance with or who feels shy, awkward, or excluded at a party. Charlie was never excluded, just enjoyed observing what was happening around him. That is until he makes a few mistakes with his girlfriend Mary Elizabeth. He is asked to remain distant for some time until all are healed. When he is finally rejoined with the group, it is almost time for graduation. All his friends are preparing to leave for college and he is left feeling alone and depressed again. This dark time, and intimate moments with Sam, wind him up in the hospital for the summer in order to recover from repressed memories from his childhood. With support from his family and friends, he hopes to have a very involved and successful sophomore year.
I believe most people can relate to one of the characters when looking back at their years in high school, including the author. Stephen Chbosky wrote this novel with influences from his own life. He says that when he was younger he related closely with Charlie and based Bill of off a mentor of his. I would recommend this book because it truthfully explains situations involving topics that most people are afraid of opening up about. It is also interesting how the author organized the story in separate letters from Charlie. This makes it feel as if the letters are addressed to you, which allows you to have a connection and attachment to the characters. I would not change anything about this book, and I would recommend it for any young adult.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2016
awesome book, must read, my mom, my daughter and i all loved it
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2016
One of the greatest novels for teens and young adults. I have loved this book for many years and will continue loving it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2016
It was exactly what I ordered, the book is hardcover and is brand spanking new!
review image review image review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2016
Good!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2016
great book and great writing
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2016
Compelling
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
Love the movie, the book is just as good if not better
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.