Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting sequel to the first movie, only about 20s later.
Please don't expect a re-make of the original 80's film. This is definately a sequel. It's interesting to see Michael Pare' as the bad guy character when he was a good guy in the first movie. I'm just wondering why it took them so long to make the sequel. If you really want to understand this movie, see the original first.
Published 13 months ago by Waltie

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A SyFy Television Remake That Works Best When Not Compared Against The Original
4 Stars on the SyFy Movie Scale
2 Stars as a so-called remake

The 2012 SyFy Channel Original movie "The Philadelphia Experiment" has one major factor working against it. It is called "The Philadelphia Experiment" to associate it with the popular 1984 feature film of the same name. People expecting a modern version of the older film will likely be...
Published 15 months ago by K. Harris


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A SyFy Television Remake That Works Best When Not Compared Against The Original, May 10, 2013
This review is from: The Philadelphia Experiment (DVD)
4 Stars on the SyFy Movie Scale
2 Stars as a so-called remake

The 2012 SyFy Channel Original movie "The Philadelphia Experiment" has one major factor working against it. It is called "The Philadelphia Experiment" to associate it with the popular 1984 feature film of the same name. People expecting a modern version of the older film will likely be unsatisfied with this interpretation. Why? In regards to story, the movies are quite different. They are linked through the title and the principle themes only (although Michael Pare, star of the original, pops in for a brief role). Furthermore, this is a television production that lacks the big budget finesse and effects that might be associated with a feature film. That's the negative. And most of the backlash and vitriol I've heard about this film stems from these two components. However, if you frequently watch SyFy fare, I'd like to defend this production as one of their more sophisticated efforts. It still might not be a terrific movie by conventional standards. But compared to other films on the network, it is much better than you might expect. If they had released it with an alternate title, I think it might have been received far more favorably.

In case you don't know, The Philadelphia Experiment refers to an actual WWII project. In the simplest terms, the theory was that you could affect a ship at its molecular level using radiation and gravity to make it invisible. I'm no scientist, however, so please don't berate me for this rather simplistic explanation. It is rumored that a real battleship met with disastrous results under this program and it has subsequently been covered up by governmental agencies. This is the jumping off point for both movies, which then also incorporate an element of time travel to explain the disappearance. In this SyFy presentation, a brainy scientist (Ryan Robbins) is working with this technology from the forties under the watchful eyes of a sinister appearing Gina Holden. He makes a car disappear, but this starts a chain of events that leads to the reappearance of a missing WWII warship with one person left alive (Nicholas Lea).

The rest of the movie plays out as a race against time. Lea poses a threat, in several major ways, and instantly goes on the lam. He connects with his granddaughter (Emilie Ullerup), evades a crazed Michael Pare, and enlists the help of a wacky scientist (Malcolm McDowell) to help work out a strategy that won't rip apart the continuum of time and space itself. Of course, the more they try to explain things, the less they make sense. You didn't expect a lesson in real science, did you? But for what it is, the pace is brisk and the actors are committed. Lea is a veteran in these kinds of pictures and has the necessary gravitas to hold it all together. The supporting cast is appealing, and the effects are decent to good for SyFy. If you have modest expectations, this is a suitably engaging (if occasionally silly) entertainment. But for my taste, it all kind of works because the cast is wholeheartedly invested in the lunacy. As I said, this won't replace the original in your heart. But for SyFy, it is way above average as a stand-alone movie. KGHarris, 5/13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting sequel to the first movie, only about 20s later., July 15, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Philadelphia Experiment (DVD)
Please don't expect a re-make of the original 80's film. This is definately a sequel. It's interesting to see Michael Pare' as the bad guy character when he was a good guy in the first movie. I'm just wondering why it took them so long to make the sequel. If you really want to understand this movie, see the original first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars THE ELDRIDGE IS BACK, June 22, 2013
This review is from: The Philadelphia Experiment [Blu-ray] (2012) (Blu-ray)
This is not a remake of the original film for those who actually saw it, but rather one that builds upon the myth of the incident known as the Philadelphia Experiment. In the superior 1984 film, 2 sailors transport to the future, not the entire ship.

In modern times, a private company contracted to the military recreates the magnetic flux from the first experiment (actually I thought it was radar, but who cares). They managed to make the WWII destroyer appear in Pennsylvania. Lt. Bill Gardner from 1943 (Nicholas Lea) leaves the ship in 2012...in the same town where he lived. His granddaughter's boyfriend happens to enter the ship and get trapped on it. This coincidence was less believable than the magnetic field which can transport huge objects through space and time. Oh BTW for some poorly explained reason, the government wants Bill dead which leads to ridiculous conflict between people who both want to make the problem go away.

The special effects were CG and at times worse than others. The film incorporates the myth the men were trapped inside metal bulkheads. Bill adjusts to modern times fairly well, something they could of had more fun with, if they hired a comedy writer.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'll keep it short and sweet, and name NO names...., April 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Philadelphia Experiment [Blu-ray] (2012) (Blu-ray)
The BAD guy in this one was the GOOD guy in the film of the same name from 1984.
The, 55-year-old, BAD guy in THIS movie has "bulked-up", and actually looks better
than his 1943-counterpart in the 1984 movie. All-in-all, the Computer Generated
Special Effects in a mini-budget TV-special cannot --- fairly --- be compared with
even ONE minute of seamless CGI in a 10 Minute Preview of "Men In Black 3".

While the rendering of the ship was devoid of barnacles and running-rust, it was
an entertaining "what-if" with the required TWIST of time and space at the finale.

I own BOTH films. Got a Blu-Ray double disc case, cut the liner for the DVD down to
fit in the BLUE box. Both of THESE keeper-movies are together --- for ALL time.

I enjoyed BOTH of these better than, for example, The Philadelphia Experiment 2.

I am pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a super-production, but really nice to watch!, September 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Philadelphia Experiment (DVD)
May it no be a super-production, but I Found this movie really entertaining since it appears to be a "Sequel" to the original 80's film starring the great Michael Paré (sadly, The Philadelphia Experiment 2, didn't work as such...), which appears now in the bad-guy team to give it an unexpected twist to the story! Great visuals effects with the "Eldrige" Ship, and since it's a Urban-Military-Historc Legend, it would have been great to include a Nikola Tesla or Einstein into the whole plot, and having Mr. McDowell as the inventor of the process is a must-see! Even the smallest roll can be a delight with this fabulous actor on scene! and, to bring the parellelism of the story into the future, was a nice idea! it would have been great to intermix both films (The original and this) into one solid story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lame, July 18, 2013
By 
James (Allendale, NJ, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bad acting, bad effects. Think of one of those bad made-for-TV-movies. I'd give this one a pass if I were you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should have paid to watch a re-run of the original, June 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Could have been a great remake....
Didn't make it.
Not worth watching. You would be better off watching the original again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I was expecting, July 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was exactly what I was expecting -- cheesy "Saturday afternoon", rainy day sci-fi. The villain(ess) was ridiculously imbecilic, and you're truly glad when she meets her pre-ordained demise. The time-displaced guy is decently sympathetic, and while the science doesn't completely hold together, its not a bad movie, and definitely worth watching if you're a sci-fi fan who can stomach a little cheese with your movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nicholas Lea, displaced in his socks, July 19, 2014
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Philadelphia Experiment [Blu-ray] (2012) (Blu-ray)
Four really cool movies out of Michael Paré's ouevre that are on heavy rotation on my DVD playlist: Streets of Fire (1984), Eddie and the Cruisers / Eddie and the Cruisers II: Eddie Lives! (Totally Awesome 80s Double Feature) (1983, 1989), and The Philadelphia Experiment (1984). Maybe you can see why I was equal parts hyped and perturbed when I tuned in to this 2012 remake of The Philadelphia Experiment. Excuse me, that's Syfy's The Philadelphia Experiment.

As with the first flick, the remake takes its cues from the controversial, (supposedly) real-life secret experiments conducted by the U.S. Navy in the 1940's to produce a cloaking device that makes its warships invisible. Today, Gravewatch, a private corporation specializing in weapons development and with ties to the government, has dusted off the old WWII research project in another attempt to perfect invisibility. Cue the big snafu and the crackling light show and the panicky faces, and abruptly there's the WWII destroyer, the USS Eldridge 173 - failed subject of the first Naval test in 1943 - but now manifested on an airstrip 12 miles west of Philadelphia. Phrases like "direct apportation" are bandied about to explain away the phenomenon.

I always get stoked about time travel stories. There's just something about that fella from out of time. Here, our fish out of water is Chief Technician Lt. William Gardner (Nicholas Lea a.k.a. The X-Files' Krycek!). Gardner is the sole survivor of the Eldridge experiment in 1943 and when his ship got catapulted forward in time, he went along for the ride, regaining consciousness sometime after and marveling at how his shoes had somehow fused with the deck. An unsteady Gardner disembarks from the Eldridge and into the 21st century, roughly shod.

But Nicholas Lea ain't no Michael Paré. Lea doesn't have that fancy forward slash on his e (like Léa). Seriously, though, Paré in the original 1984 flick had me engrossed in his story arc. Lea, not so much. He doesn't get interesting until, in the 21st century, he stumbles across his grown-up granddaughter Molly Gardner (Emilie Ullerup). Molly, to me, is the more compelling character. She's a barista AND a hacker, and she's plucky. I do like the interaction between them, she the modern woman, he the old guard with the old-fashioned sensibilities. When he gets a peek into her closet, of course he can't help but ask: "I don't mean to pry, but do you think that it's proper to have men's clothing in your home?"

Family dynamics aside, the other big plot revolves around the possible doomsday brought about by Gravewatch's dabbling with theoretical science. Its messing about has triggered wild energy spikes within the electromagnetic field and has bo11ocksed the phase generator... or something. The result is that the Eldridge is jumping from location to location and wreaking sciency havoc. I've bagged on Syfy for its poor production values, but that sight of the Eldridge precariously perched on top of that skyscraper in downtown Chicago is pretty badass.

What's a sci-fi thriller without a bad guy or two? Lovely Gina Holden plays a steely government agent who aims to ensure that the situation is secured properly, even if that means offing a witness here and there. In something of a swerve, Michael Paré plays her relentless field operative, Hagen. Can the Gardners, with their seventy year generation gap, avoid capture and duck bullets and also save the world? Maybe with some help from Malcolm McDowell.

So, the 1984 version is better. This one is watchable but mediocre. The original just had more heart, to go with the bigger budget, the superior storyline, and the more dynamic lead. Was it wrong that even though Paré was clearly the bad guy here, that I was still rooting for him?

A few notes: Molly's boyfriend, local deputy in jeans Carl (John Reardon), is introduced early on and seems on his way to play a significant role. But then he touches the weird, shimmery stuff - and you should never ever touch the weird, shimmery stuff - and promptly gets sucked into the Eldridge, his hand fused into the bulkhead (that's squid talk for "wall"). It's a wasted opportunity to indulge in dual storytelling where you can take a break from one thread to cut to the other. Instead, for most of the film, Carl is this useless hand-stuck-in-the-wall creature.

The Philadelphia Experiment (2012) falls somewhere in the middle, and that's the kiss of death. It's not excellent enough for a word-of-mouth push, but neither is it gosh-awful enough to elicit those mocking laughs. The cast can't be faulted. I thought the acting was decent - Emilie Ullerup, pretty good; Nicholas Lea, wooden but serviceable; Paré, older now but imposing and menacing. Instead, blame a script without distinction, those onerous chase sequences, and, on principle, the soulless Syfyness of it all that probably damned the movie from jump. A strictly middle-of-the-road 2.5 out of 5 stars.

I did like the coda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, June 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Philadelphia Experiment (DVD)
very good better than the original
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Philadelphia Experiment [Blu-ray] (2012)
The Philadelphia Experiment [Blu-ray] (2012) by Paul Ziller (Blu-ray - 2013)
$19.99 $13.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.