Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Photographer's Mind: Creative Thinking for Better Digital Photos
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Periphery Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$20.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon December 2, 2010
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
There are many, many books on photography that will teach you about f-stops, depth of field, shutter speeds, and effective film speeds. There are also many guides to getting all the megapixels, gigabytes, stops of image stabilitization, photoshop plugins, and focal lengths you want, and perhaps even need. This isn't one of those books. This is instead about the art, about visualizing the image, about moving beyond snapshots into "good" photos. Though "good" is not absolute in photos, there is a strong consensus of opinion and there are huge differences in approach between the taking of snapshots (by no means a negative thing! we take them for our memories, and to bring others to far-off places) and artful images.

Michael Freeman is well known for The Photographer's Eye (The Photographer's Eye: Composition and Design for Better Digital Photos) for which this book can logically be considered the follow-on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 21, 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book was not quite what I expected. Considering that the title says "creative thinking for better digital photos", I expected the overall content to contain ideas on how to think creatively for better photos. Unfortunately that was not the case. In my opinion, the main writing focused more on history, what painters and other artists did, and how aspects of photography pertain to different arts. It was more of a 'why' you should do something a certain way and why other people did it that way, rather than 'how' to do something. Considering that the title also said "the photographer's mind", I was hoping for more info on photography aspects - especially since photographers DON'T generally see things in the say way as other types of art. Fortunately this book was not a complete loss. The more instructional part of how to think creatively was contained in the photo examples and captions. Also, mainly at the end of the book where it shows examples of different film effects to show how to make your picture have a unique quality. I ended up just skimming the majority of the content and just reading the photo captions. While it could be an interesting book for someone, I was just hoping for something that would give me more inspiration for something different and this book didn't give me that. The one thing that I did truly get from the book though, and again was located at the end, was the question to ask yourself about what do you focus most on when you are shooting? Is there something that you don't like to focus on when shooting? Some examples of these are light, timing, color, subject, size balance, etc. That was the only thing that truly made me think about what it is I'm shooting and how I can expand what I'm doing and hopefully improve. Overall I just felt let down by this book.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2011
If you are fretting about the 'meaning' of your photography - which quite obviously in photography is an issue - (when do the happy family snaps stop to be snaps and start to be 'art') this is the book for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2012
This is such a great book, not sure where to start other than saying anyone interested in taking their photography to the next level absolutely NEEDS this book. The author is extremely good at presenting the subjects one by one with lots of examples and is kind enough to give web search details for further exploration. If you can afford to take a 4 yr college course in photography then don't bother with this book. However, if you're like me and looking to push the envelope with your photography and do not have the time or money or desire to take college level courses, then this book is a "must have"!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 25, 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Honestly, my review of this title has been a difficult one to come up with. The words "thought provoking" are used in the description/promotional material and those are most definitely the most appropriate words for this book. It does inspire thought and provokes readers to be more creative as photographers and in the end it delivers on the promises it makes.

Rather than trying to replicate the words of the editorial staff here at Amazon, or of other reviews that have so adequately written other reviews for this title, I'll stay brief and just give this book a very high recommendation as a must purchase. It is a great investment for any photographer or want to be photographer and a great addition to most libraries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 5, 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I enjoyed this book a lot. It gives you a great insight into composition and artistic choices one makes as a photographer. If you're interested in taking the next step in your photography, this book could provide the inspiration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Many people (myself included) have a visceral appreciation of a artfully-composed photo without a real understanding at an intellectual level what it is exactly that makes the shot so appealing. Many budding photographers, likewise, often struggle with identifying the appropriate techniques to employ in order to make their composition compelling or evocative. They are often heard lamenting about how a picture they've taken of -- say, a door -- looks like, well... an ordinary door, while a shot of the same subject taken by a seasoned photographer looks nothing short of extra-ordinary. Sound familiar?

Thankfully, The Photographer's Mind: Creative Thinking for Better Digital Photos shows that we can *learn* to see creatively and that creativity isn't this nebulous quality that is bestowed upon a select few.

The book takes a very holistic approach to the topic of creativity -- it not only grinds through the topics like "play on light and shadow," "rule of thirds," and a whole host of other tried-and-true techniques (that any intermediate photographer should be familiar with), but explores the interplay of these elements. It shows, throughout the book, alternative ways that a shot of the same subject can be composed (high quality photos/schematics illustrate the alternative shots) and explains why one alternative makes a stronger composition than another. I find this approach a very effective means for helping the reader to gain a very concrete understanding of the distinct elements and concepts that go into the making of a "creative" shot.

The book is extremely well-written and easy-to-understand. The illustrations (color photos and schematic diagrams) are superb; they are very high quality and amply sized. The book is well-organized and offers a remarkably thorough treatment of how to see creatively. I truly find it immensely helpful and a real pleasure to read. I have no doubt that it will help any photography neophyte understand and master the principles behind seeing creatively and turn an ordinary shot into an extraordinary one -- just like the pros. I can't recommend this book highly enough!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 21, 2010
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The Photographer's Mind would be a great addition to your concept and composition materials - those ideas that help you see other ways to compose a shot. I have the paperback version of this book, and I'm really impressed with it. It's done with really nice color, and used an easy to read font for text.

I have about 50,000 photographs on file, so I'm more than an amateur but not close to a professional. We've all hear about composing using "the rule of thirds" and getting something into the shot to "establish a perspective" and some of you have taken classes or read other books, but I still believe this would be a great addition for you to you think in new ways as you look at many subjects. This is not just about people or landscapes or buildings or traditional locations, it goes beyond those and hits many different subjects - how to look at them, how to think about them, so when you press the shutter, you'll have something more than a snap-shot.

You can skip around in this book, it's not a novel. The author shows different options for many photographs, how to crop them, what to focus on, how to compose them. It's not a step by step 1 2 3 type of book, but it will talk you though what he was thinking and why (the why is important). It includes a good index at the back, so if you want to hear what he has to say about a topic, technique, you don't have to thumb through the 192 pages to find it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2014
I'm not sure why the author included such small jpegs to illustrate the Kindle edition. But they are almost unusable. You would be much better off buying the print edition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2011
Most books of this type go over the "rules" of photography how how to make pleasing images by following them. This book breaks that down further but explaining the why behind the "rules" and how to start training your mind to see things in a way that will help build great images from the start. If you're interested in learning more on how to think along the "rules" of photography, this is a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse