Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars insightful, well researched, encouraging investment book: a must read
I am a physician who also enjoys teaching personal finances. This book should be a must read in every medical school curriculum. It is practical, full of insights, and easy to read in a weekend. I loved it so much, I bought a hardback copy as well so that I could loan the paperback to my colleagues. Although some of the advice is tailored to physicians, the book has...
Published on March 31, 2007 by N. Almond

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not realistic
The author is out of date or living in a different world. He assumes that physicians make at least $250,000 per year and that a 4000 square foot house with a little land can be had for $350,000. He also assumes a very high (unrealistic) rate of return for his investments. However, the book does offer some practical advice.
Published on January 8, 2008 by yogamom123


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars insightful, well researched, encouraging investment book: a must read, March 31, 2007
I am a physician who also enjoys teaching personal finances. This book should be a must read in every medical school curriculum. It is practical, full of insights, and easy to read in a weekend. I loved it so much, I bought a hardback copy as well so that I could loan the paperback to my colleagues. Although some of the advice is tailored to physicians, the book has valuable information for non-physicians as well. A great resource that is motivational as well as informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Bang for the Buck, August 25, 2007
By 
Mr. Grey (palm beach, fl) - See all my reviews
I really liked this book! It's one of the best investments I have made. I believe that it is cheaper and much more valuable than most financial advice you can get from a third party.
It starts with general advices on how to prioritize your needs. Then, as you continue to read, it tells you what options are there for you to do with your money. In particular, the author highlights ways for you to avoid common mistakes that could threaten your financial future.
I would recommend this book to anybody, particularly well paid professionals (doctors, lawyers, dentists, etc.), who are looking for a means of getting a good foundation for their financial knowledge and independence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not realistic, January 8, 2008
By 
yogamom123 (Nashville, TN) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The author is out of date or living in a different world. He assumes that physicians make at least $250,000 per year and that a 4000 square foot house with a little land can be had for $350,000. He also assumes a very high (unrealistic) rate of return for his investments. However, the book does offer some practical advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for every new physician., February 9, 2008
By 
Any physician graduating medical school or finishing residency should read this book if they have not exposed themselves to studies or practical experience on the financial side both personally and professionally. The author is a physician and provides a good basic theoretical approach with several real world practical examples. It is a quick read and can provide significant guidance to helping a physician make the leap from just cash flowing to building significant wealth. The author helps dispel the myths of high incomes versus high net worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is the tool to build your personal wealth, January 1, 2006
This review is from: The Physician's Guide to Investing: A Practical Approach to Building Wealth (Hardcover)
Although the title implies it is for physicians, the book is truly a practical guide for all investors. It is useful for anyone who wants to save and build a dollar. The vignettes and bullet points are extremely helpful. This book will pay for itself many times over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars personal finances, January 5, 2006
By 
Anna (Konigsberg, Prussia) - See all my reviews
An excellent account of money management and personal finances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Physician's Guide to Investing: A Practical Approach to Building Wealth
The Physician's Guide to Investing: A Practical Approach to Building Wealth by Robert M. Doroghazi (Hardcover - July 25, 2005)
$74.95 $58.61
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.