Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Technology of the flight of a baseball written for laymen.
Excellent treatment of the variables that affect the flight of a thrown or batted ball. Reveals facts that explain why the ball does, or doesn't do what people think it does. For example, most players, coaches and spectators are not aware that a fastball decelerates on its' flight from the pitcher to the catcher at a rate of about one mile per hour for every seven...
Published on October 2, 1999 by aldilz@gateway.net

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good book if you have the background
The Physics of Baseball is not physics text - it uses the principles of physics to explain things like why a curveball curves, what happens when the bat hits the ball, how far a ball can be hit, and so on. The book is not math-heavy, but it does assume the reader has some knowledge of basic physics and can follow technical discussions.
The only part of the book that...
Published on December 11, 2003 by Jeffrey Lichtman


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Technology of the flight of a baseball written for laymen., October 2, 1999
By 
Excellent treatment of the variables that affect the flight of a thrown or batted ball. Reveals facts that explain why the ball does, or doesn't do what people think it does. For example, most players, coaches and spectators are not aware that a fastball decelerates on its' flight from the pitcher to the catcher at a rate of about one mile per hour for every seven feet of travel. Thus the ball speed, as it reaches the batter, 60 feet six inches away, is about 8-9 MPH slower than the speed when it leaves the pitcher's hand. The Professor also explains the dynamics of the curve ball; and why a ball hit at Coor's Field travels farther than those hit at most other ballparks. His theories are interesting, enlightening, and provocative. I strongly recommend the book to any baseball fan who wants to understand why a thrown or batted ball does what it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Change-Up Your Perspective on Pitching, Hitting and Running, June 30, 2000
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
When I was a teenager, I did a science fair project looking at statistical analyses of baseball games to help understand how one could improve the strategy of the game from a general manager's perspective. In The 2,000 Percent Solution, I wrote about the potential levels of perfection for a baseball team. So I have long been hooked on what measurement could add to my understanding of baseball. What a pleasant surprise it was when I discovered this fine book that used measurements and analyses to go even further!
Whenever I listen to former Big Leaguers talk about baseball on television, I get lost by half of what they say. While I can see fast balls falling on the way to the plate, the broadcasters are describing a "rising" fast ball. Suddenly, the ball moves strangely, and they refer knowledgeably to the pitcher throwing a "splitter." Then a knuckle ball pitcher comes in, and the catcher can't seem to ever control the ball because there is little spin. Why is that happening? What's going on here?
If you have ever wondered about questions like these, The Physics of Baseball will fill you in and actually give you the ability to amaze others with your precise explanations why the unexpected is either perceived to be happening or is actually happening.
When I was a teenager, baseball games usually lasted about 2 hours. Now, they are much longer. This book gives you a way to take advantage of that, by giving you more interesting things to talk about during the prolonged games.
The author also takes on the many controversies of recent years, such as corked bats, scuffed balls, and extra pine tar on the bat. Although he did not have the resources or information to definitively answer some questions, his educated guesses are probably good enough for now.
If you don't really want to understand physics, you can mainly focus on the graphs and illustrations that simply show the conclusions of Professor Adair's analyses. That simpler approach makes the book a much quicker and more exciting read.
Physics is not my favorite subject, but I was impressed by how much this book was able to add to my understanding and potential enjoyment of watching a baseball game. I think it will probably do the same for you.
Although he is a professor, the author has the humility to consider whatever the players talk about as a potentially important subject. One of the most interesting topics is an evalutation of why Babe Ruth used a bat that was both longer and heavier than any modern slugger would ever consider using. There are also references to "juiced balls" and playing baseball in Denver, and what the impact might be on home runs and a pitcher's e.r.a.
Play ball!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why and How a Baseball Behaves As it Does, March 20, 2000
By 
Spencer K. Stephens (Rockville, Maryland USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ever wondered why a curve ball curves? Why major leaguers stretching for third often take a wide turn between first and second? Why bats seem to break much more often than they used to? This wonderful book contains the answers. Written by a Yale physicist, it contains well-documented but sometimes densely worded explanations of why and how a baseball, a bat and even the players behave as they do. Any serious fan of baseball will finish this book with an enhanced appreciation for the game. Not to mention the ability to speak intelligently about how grip and mechanics differ between pitchers throwing curves and sliders. The author has wisely chosen to address the questions posed most frequently by baseball lovers who aspire to higher knowledge. His only failure is his heavy reliance on technical academic language and somewhat mysterious graphs. It makes for a very enlightening but slow read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new look at the national pastime, November 1, 1998
By A Customer
Before my wife and I married, she had to pass the "basketball" test by sitting through a University of Illinois game in a crowded bar and at least feigning interest. The first nights of our honeymoon were taken up with the World Series (luckily for her, the winning team swept the series). I thus consider myself a sports fan (I am obviously a reader). Accordingly, I was delighted to receive for a recent birthday Robert K. Adair's The Physics of Baseball. The book itself, however, did not quite meet expectations. I encountered two key problems. First, Adair writes in the dry, passive-voice-laden prose of the scientist lacking a good editor. Second, much of the scientific analysis was simply beyond me. What I enjoyed -- and found useful -- were the qualitative discriptions of the game: how and why curveballs curve; how far a batted ball can be hit; the differences between metal and wood bats. While I could not follow each step of his scientific description, the general, non-technical account which he also gave was clear and persuasive. From henceforth, I will watch the game somewhat differently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book in its class, August 25, 2001
By 
The author does a very good job of explaining the basic physics behind national pastime for those who are willing to understand and do a bit of their homework (you just need to be able to read figures and graphs). The various aspects of the game such as the flight of baseball, breaking balls, batting the ball, and the effect of the properties of bats are discussed concisely, without being bogged down into the details of physics. Since the book is targeted for the mass audience (though not including casual baseball fans), readers who studied physics and math at high school or first-year college level should find it very manageable to read and understand. The use of equations is kept at minimum (the author does not use much of mathematical argument anyway), so mathematically challenged readers can also enjoy and extract the most important part of discussions fully. It somewhat reads like a textbook, and will turn away those who have no fond memories in school. The otherwise fine book has its own place in the library of baseball books, since it is the only book in its class for over a decade. This is a very unique baseball book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Closer Look At Beseball, April 11, 2004
By 
This review is from: The Physics of Baseball (3rd Edition) (Paperback)
Trajectory lines, momentum, and distance vs. velocity from a batted ball aren't exactly what you think of when you watch the great game of baseball are they?
This book keeps the reader thinking outside of the box and it lets them get a closer look at which part of the bat will send the ball to a certian place-like in the stands, how fast the ball can be hit, and where the perfect hitting point-or 'sweet spot' is-among other things. It answers the questions of many 'rookies' like why their hand stings after a certain hit and how they missed that 'perfect' pitch. This book gets inside the game of baseball and it contains explainations for why the ball does 'what it does'.
This book is very informational and it provides great detail and extreme elaboration on virtually every topic that is covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why curve ball curves; effects of bat and ball properties., February 15, 1999
By 
Irv (Houston, Texas) - See all my reviews
A fantastic book for any baseball fan with a scientific interest. Discusses in straightforward terms (with equations relegated to back of chapters) such things as why and how much a spinning ball curves, the interaction of bat and ball, how an outfielder gauges a fly ball, effects of atmospheric conditions, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confirmation....., November 5, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Physics of Baseball (3rd Edition) (Paperback)
This little book, while it can be difficult to understand for the verbal first segement of the population like me it is, nonetheless, a wonderful treatise and was desperately needed.
What I enjoyed most about it was the section on hitting which was a wonderfull confirmation of Ted William's theories in THE SCIENCE OF HITTING.
Hiting a baseball is an incredibly complex action and Adair unravels its mysteries. If you want to finally understand hitting for your self, your child or as a coach it is a must buy along with William's book and THE MIKE SCHMIDT HITTING STUDY which details all the schools of hitting in its first five chapters.
While one might be able to poke amateurish holes in his work by saying Adair knew nothing firsthand about the game on the field he demonstrates throughout the book a good knowledge by bringing in the exploits not only of current players but also of players past. Being a student of the history of the game his analogies were always right on.
Unless you are a gifted person mathmatically you will find it hard to comprehend at times. It requires study but is well worth it if you are serious about wanting to maximize your understanding of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for laymen or experts, in both physics and baseball.., June 1, 2001
By 
Kirk Allen (Washington DC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I thought this book was good for the most part. It gives great discussions on topics like bat types and different pitches (curve, fastball, etc). It dispells myths about corked bats (they don't really help) and rising fastballs (they don't rise).
Most results of his studies are presented in tabular format, so it will be easy to get the basics of the book even if you don't understand all of the physics. Personally, I had trouble understanding the sections about curve balls. I think this is more of a personal hang-up. Even though I have an engineering degree, I have never quite grasped the physics of spinning objects.. Otherwise, I thought this was a good book. Just not quite great to earn a 5 Star..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good book if you have the background, December 11, 2003
This review is from: The Physics of Baseball (3rd Edition) (Paperback)
The Physics of Baseball is not physics text - it uses the principles of physics to explain things like why a curveball curves, what happens when the bat hits the ball, how far a ball can be hit, and so on. The book is not math-heavy, but it does assume the reader has some knowledge of basic physics and can follow technical discussions.
The only part of the book that disappointed me was the discussion of corked bats. Adair uses a theoretical model to prove that a corked bat doesn't help - that corking a bat will make the ball travel only a few feet farther at most. While he may be right in his conclusion, I think his theory should be tested with experiment. A batter hitting a pitched ball is a complex system, and it's quite possible Adair's model is too simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Physics of Baseball (3rd Edition)
The Physics of Baseball (3rd Edition) by Robert Kemp Adair (Paperback - May 7, 2002)
$12.99 $10.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.