Customer Reviews


951 Reviews
5 star:
 (745)
4 star:
 (157)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must See!
Oh, how excited my children and I were learn that The Pirate Fairy movie would be releasing to Disney Blu-ray/DVD & digital copy on the 1st of April! This movie is the fifth in the DisneyFairies collection and I'm most certain with such a overwhelmingly loved response from fans both young and old, it won't be the last. This movie we found to be non-stop full of action...
Published 9 months ago by Ellybean

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The weakest of the series
This review is intended for parents, rather than the target audience. First, a little background. The single character of Tinker Bell is (loosely) based on James Barrie's Peter Pan, but the fairy kingdom (called Pixie Hollow) and its inhabitants originate from the recent book trilogy written by the award winning children's writer Gail Carson Levine (in my opinion, a much...
Published 6 months ago by aeronaut


‹ Previous | 1 296 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must See!, March 30, 2014
Oh, how excited my children and I were learn that The Pirate Fairy movie would be releasing to Disney Blu-ray/DVD & digital copy on the 1st of April! This movie is the fifth in the DisneyFairies collection and I'm most certain with such a overwhelmingly loved response from fans both young and old, it won't be the last. This movie we found to be non-stop full of action and fun songs from those fancifully fun fairy friends. The story obviously centers highly on pirates and most of the adventure takes part on the high seas! I thought the imagery looked very good!

**Spoiler Alert **

My nearly six year old daughter really liked everything about the movie and has watched it many times. I will have to say it was quite a treat to learn all about dust keeper fairy Zarina and what choices made turned her to becoming a pirate fairy. And if you remember, pirates aren't really thought highly upon in the world of Tinkerbell. In fact, this spunky fairy gets tangled up with a pirate we will all come to learn it Captain Hook himself! Tinkerbell and her friends set off on a mission to set things right and oh what an adventure that was! The tick-tock-croc even makes an appearance! Speaking of which, there's a whole bonus feature about crocodiles that we found to be quite educational as it was fun! Even I learned a thing or two! Other bonuses included a few shorts, sing-a-long songs, and more!

We would highly recommend checking The Fairy Pirate out! Any lover of Tinker Bell and the Disney Fairy movies are sure to be pleased. The run-time is about 90 minutes and there's much more playtime with all the included bonus features! Kids will learn about the importance of friendship, never giving up, self-discovery, & forgiveness. Overall, we can't say enough good things!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving the character introductions!, April 2, 2014
By 
Erin Rippy (Nashville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Spoilers below.

In just 24 hours, my family has watched this through 3 times already! Cute story, great new character: Zarina, a Dust Keeper fairy who is curious about the mysteries of Pixie Dust, and does some experimenting with unexpected consequences. When Zarina makes a mess of one of her experiments, Fairy Gary relieves her of her Dust Keeping duties -- permanently. Zarina leaves Pixie Hollow. We later find out that she joins up with Pirates when she returns to Pixie Hollow to steal the BLUE pixie dust!

The story that follows about Zarina's fall from grace and her rise again is full of suspense, drama, and humor. Tinkerbell and her friends get a taste of each others' talents, and we're introduced to the pirate first mate James, who will some day become Captain James T. Hook. We also see how baby Tick-Tock Crock is born and comes to swallow a ticking clock.

If you watch the credits, you even see Mr. Smee!

This was an exciting edition to the Disney Fairies series. My girls are 5 and 7 and just love these movies. Peter Pan has always been my own favorite Disney movie and story from childhood, so it's really exciting to see some introductions to Pan's story. I've been wondering when Disney would get to the story of how Tinkerbell comes to be Peter's companion. It's on the horizon, but I do hope this series will last several more movies. So much more to tell! There is a brief preview of another Tinkerbell story at the beginning of the Bluray disc, but merely says 'coming soon.' With the time gap between the last few fairy movies, I'll take that 'soon' with a grain of salt.

It's hard to choose our favorite Tinkerbell movie, they're all so good! This one is fantastic and already a family favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meet Zarina, The Pirate Fairy!, April 2, 2014
This review is from: The Pirate Fairy (DVD)
Tinker Bell and the Pirate Fairy is a new Disney DVD addition to the Disney Fairies franchise and features the voice talents of Mae Whitman, Christina Hendricks, Tom Hiddleson(Thor: The Dark World), Raven, Lucy Liu, Megan Hilty, Angela Bartys, Pamela Aldon, Kevin Michael Richardson, and Anjelica Huston. In this latest adventure, Zarina(Hendricks), an inventive and curious dust keeper fairy has always been fascinated by pixie dust, so she creates many uses for the dust. But her actions causes problems with the other dust keepers and run off on her own, only to join a band of vicious pirates and made Zarina their captain. And at the Pixie Hollow seasons festival, Zarina and her crew returns to steal the blue pixie dust and when Tinker Bell and her friends tries to stop her, Zarina uses her custom-made pixie dust to switch talents with Tink, Vidia, Fawn, Rosetta, Silvermist, and Iridessa. Now tink and her friends in their new powers must find Zarina and convince her to change her ways and must fight back against the pirates that betray her and now under their new captain, a cabin boy named James(Hiddleson), who happens to become Captain Hook! The special features includes two very funny Disney Fairies shorts and sneak peeks of other Disney favourites like Sleeping Beauty, and the upcoming Disney summertime hit Maleficent, starring Angelina Jolie. The Pirate Fairy is the perfect Disney Fairies DVD for fans of Tinker Bell and Zarina, the Pirate Fairy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pirate fans will like this one!, April 2, 2014
We loved it! Takes you to the very beginning to meet Captain Hook before he had his hook. It's a really cute story and my kids loved it. My daughter loved the fairies, and my boys loved the story of Captain Hook and the tick took crock before the Peter Pan days. Great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Special Story !, April 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We bought this one for our 5 year old grand daughter, but I think I enjoyed it more than she did!
Great story line --- I don't want to put any spoilers in this review, but I was wonderfully surprised as the story developed to find some of my favorite Disney characters from the past showing up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This little film is a delight, April 1, 2014
What an absolute gem. Every one of the voice actors put their all into their roles and obviously enjoyed their work. This kind of enthusiasm is just delightful to listen to. Charming animation, wonderful characters, and a story about how one can do something very naughty and still be loved and cared about by one's friends. This is a good message for small children, and a good reminder for adults. I also really enjoyed the little nods to continuity with the Peter Pan films. Highly recommended for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney does it again. Tinkerbell & the Faries vs Captain Hook & the Pirates packed with action adventure and moral, March 27, 2014
Tinkerbell and the Faries square off against the charismatic and cunning Captain Hook and his band of misfit Pirates. This story is an early prequel to Peter Pan and is great fun for boys and girls alike. The animation is great, the songs are memorable, and the moral is meaningful.

This is a must see for your family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The weakest of the series, June 27, 2014
This review is intended for parents, rather than the target audience. First, a little background. The single character of Tinker Bell is (loosely) based on James Barrie's Peter Pan, but the fairy kingdom (called Pixie Hollow) and its inhabitants originate from the recent book trilogy written by the award winning children's writer Gail Carson Levine (in my opinion, a much more talented author than Barrie). The direct to video film series were launched in 2008, with the first three episodes featuring original, surprisingly deep stories and remarkable musical scores (especially the outstanding "Lost Treasure", often shown on Disney's cable channels). The last two episodes, produced by a different director, are quite inferior to those, with simpler, less though provoking stories, recycled plot elements and music, and a focus on fashion and pop culture - in other words, similar to the host of low cost TV series featuring pretty looking fairies, mermaids, princesses, and similar characters found on many cable channels. This film is easily the weakest of the series.

The plot is, plainly, dumb and full of holes. The title character is one nasty specimen of fairykind, a criminal and mastermind behind the pirates' evil plans. However, the character is also very pretty and fashion conscious, and so cannot be held accountable for her actions, which are instead blamed on the pirates' bad influence. In the middle of the movie the character switches over to the "good" side and evades responsibility. There should have been a remorse scene somewhere, but I looked away for a second or two and so apparently missed it entirely. There is no character development or morale; everything is black and white and clear from the start (there is, however, no shortage of alike looking action sequences despite the short running time). The hero vs. villain/mindless buffoon division is straight along gender lines. The magic and enchanting ambiance of the early episodes are gone. Pixie Hollow now boasts a gaudy sport arena, where crowds of fairies gather to watch circus shows (that look much like Disney on Ice), gulp soft drinks from oversized containers, and follow with an inevitable rush for outdoor lavatories. Still want to believe in fairies after this?

To tell the truth, many pre-teenage children are attracted to this kind of low grade fare (for the same reason they prefer candy to vegetables), and the film studios are well aware of this. The animation is very pretty, and the story is predictable and unencumbered by moral dilemmas (and, if anything, seems to endorse irresponsible behavior). The film is bound to boost sales of (pirate edition!) fashion dolls and similar licensed merchandise. But to those who still remember the magic of the original Peter Pan animated feature, this flick would be a very different experience. Tinker Bell is a unique and historically significant character, and she deserves better than this. Much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, May 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is adorable for all the reason that it's a kids movie and It just follows through all the other movies perfectly and has own cute characters and when introducing a new main character they blended in with a good background and even so entertaining at my age
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very cute!, April 1, 2014
This movie is very entertaining! I love how it shows hook, crock, and smee! Nice to see the fairies learn to work other talents. It was absolutely cute!!! I am glad I purchased this item!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 296 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Pirate Fairy
The Pirate Fairy by Peggy Holmes
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.