Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars we loved this book!
This is our favorite of the 68 Room Series yet (it's the 3rd) . My 4th grader plowed through it and it was so fun to answer all the history questions that came up. The illustrations are beautiful too.
Great book, great series!

Highly recommended!
Published 20 months ago by Nicki

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Slight improvement
Originally posted at Fantasy Literature.

The Pirate’s Coin, the third book in Marianne Malone’s SIXTY-EIGHT ROOMS fantasy adventure series for children, is a slight improvement over the first two novels, The Sixty-Eight Rooms and Stealing Magic, which three of us here at FanLit agreed did not meet the potential of Malone’s excellent premise...
Published 4 months ago by Kat Hooper


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars we loved this book!, June 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Pirate's Coin: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure (The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures) (Hardcover)
This is our favorite of the 68 Room Series yet (it's the 3rd) . My 4th grader plowed through it and it was so fun to answer all the history questions that came up. The illustrations are beautiful too.
Great book, great series!

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Granddaughter loves this series, June 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Pirate's Coin: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure (The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures) (Hardcover)
This is the third in the Thorne Room mystery series and my granddaughter says they are her most favorite books. She was so excited to know this one was coming out, we couldn't wait for the paperback and ordered the hardback. Fun, interesting stories with the added intrigue of taking place in the Chicago Art Institutes Thorne Room exhibits, one of the most fascinating things I have ever seen. I bought a book about them for her so she could see the actual room pictures while reading the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hasn't lost the magic!, June 12, 2013
By 
This review is from: The Pirate's Coin: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure (The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures) (Hardcover)
I'm still loving this series! There is not a dull moment and the adventures through history are vividly described. I love the two characters, Ruthie and Jack, and it's a pleasure to get to see them growing up a little through the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm 10 and "The Pirate's Coin" is a great third book in this excellent series!, June 7, 2013
By 
Esther "KST" (Northern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Pirate's Coin: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure (The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures) (Hardcover)
I'm writing here in KST's reviews as a relative, and I'm 10. I've read the entire series so far. This book, the Pirate's Coin, is just as good as the previous two books in the series. The plot is excellent and surprising. Her writing style creates a lot of good visuals. It's just as well written as The Water Castle by Megan Blakemore. If you like that book, you'll love this. The magic was cool, and it wasn't overdone. Can't wait for Marianne Malone's 4th book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the last one!, June 8, 2013
By 
Counselor lady (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
I can't decide if the third book of the 68 Rooms Adventure series is better than the first two or if I'm just getting more and more attached to the main characters, Ruthie and Jack. In either case, I jumped right into the story and was happily ensconced in it until the end. This is such a good story. I especially like the part involving one of Ruthie and Jack's classmates whose ancestor was a slave. The Thorne Rooms contain so much history and that history comes alive in these pages. Ms. Malone has a genuine understanding of how children think and act which makes Jack and Ruthie so believable and loveable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm 10 and "The Pirate's Coin" is a great third book in this excellent series!, June 7, 2013
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Pirate's Coin: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure (The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures) (Hardcover)
I'm 10 and I've read the entire series so far. This book, the Pirate's Coin, is just as good as the previous two books in the series. The plot is excellent and surprising. Her writing style creates a lot of good visuals. It's just as well written as The Water Castle by Megan Blakemore. If you like that book, you'll love this. The magic was cool, and it wasn't overdone. Can't wait for Marianne Malone's 4th book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Slight improvement, October 28, 2014
By 
Kat Hooper "Kat at FanLit" (St. Johns, FL, United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Pirate's Coin: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure (The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures) (Hardcover)
Originally posted at Fantasy Literature.

The Pirate’s Coin, the third book in Marianne Malone’s SIXTY-EIGHT ROOMS fantasy adventure series for children, is a slight improvement over the first two novels, The Sixty-Eight Rooms and Stealing Magic, which three of us here at FanLit agreed did not meet the potential of Malone’s excellent premise. Readers who haven’t dropped out yet, presumably because they have enjoyed the series so far, should also be pleased with this installment.

Ruthie and Jack just can’t stay away from the Thorne Rooms in the Art Institute of Chicago. This time the plot involves two separate threads that (again) take place in the worlds of two of the Thorne Rooms. One involves a classmate that Ruthie and Jack discover is a descendant of Phoebe, the slave girl they met in Stealing Magic. Because Phoebe learned to write (thanks to Ruthie), she transcribed the recipes for her herbal remedies. These were stolen by mobsters and Phoebe was ruined and disgraced. For their classmate’s family’s sake, Jack and Ruthie set out to clear Phoebe’s name.

The second plot involves the pirate’s coin of the book’s title. When Jack discovers that one of his ancestors was a famous pirate, he goes to 1753 Cape Cod to meet him. In doing so, he changes history in such a way that he was never born. When he returns to the present, he starts to fade away and Ruthie’s memories of him start fading, too. They must go back and try to fix the mess they made, even though they don’t know what they did wrong.

As with the previous novels, The Pirate’s Coin is full of unbelievable coincidences, obvious solutions, and easy resolutions. However, its premise is wonderful, its protagonists are likeable, and the plots might spark a child’s interest in history. This third novel is slightly better than the first two because the kids spend more time in the fantasy worlds and the plot with Jack fading away brings in some much-needed tension. I particularly liked Ruthie’s internal struggle as she decided whether to take the easy way out and just let Jack fade away.

I listened to Listening Library’s audio version of The Pirate’s Coin which was narrated by Cassandra Campbell who does a nice job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent,, September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Pirate's Coin: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure (The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures) (Hardcover)
the grandson loves it ant wants to collect pirate cobs... he now wants a metal detector to go to the beach and search for coins....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great adventures of magic and courage, June 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
these young adult tales weave engaging stories that capture the imagination of all ages. The magic is simply the context that allows for stories of courage and compassion to unfold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, March 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was a great read with an unknown ending. Just the type of book to read over a snowy weekend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Pirate's Coin: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure (The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures)
$16.99 $15.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.