Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Maxwell Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars9
5 star
78%
4 star
22%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$18.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 18, 2010
I was little worried about buying this because the specs on Amazon indicate 70 minute run time and a 1.33 aspect ratio. Well, the main programs are 16x9 1080i/60. The electric set is 92 minutes and the acoustic set is 78 minutes. Audio tracks include 2.0 LPCM and 5.1 DTS-MA.

There's also a couple SD extras that are about 20 minutes each: a featurette and some old footage from 1986.

Enough said. This is a no-brainer for any Pixies fan.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2013
The songs are all well done. The cover doesn't do justice to the quality of this DVD, as the Pixies album cover art was always intriguing and matched to equally intriguing albums. Great to have acoustic as well as electric versions. The Pixies are often excellent in concert, and this is no exception. Kim Deal looks like she's having a lot of fun, big wide smile on her face, I think loving to be back--and sometimes, on Black Francis' screams and yelps she'll stop just short of busting up laughing--it's fun to watch. Great alternative rendering of The Holiday Song, less harsh and more melodic in a way. If you enjoy Pixies music, chances are you'll enjoy this. And if you're not into their sometimes harsh sound, the acoustic version will probably be more enjoyable for you than the electric. Enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2012
This is a great deal in my very biased opinion. Visual & adio quality are great. And all three shows are on 1 disc. Take into consideration that I would buy a total piece of crap with the word pixies written on the side.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2012
At the price I paid, this is an excellent although not perfect blu-ray experience. I've only listened to the stereo LPCM track of both the acoustic and electric shows and they sound great. Maybe I just wasn't following along as intently to the electric set as I was to the acoustic show but oddly it didn't seem to have the same energy or immediacy of the non-electric. You'd think it would have been the reverse. Somehow I enjoyed the songs more during the acoustic show. I'm not a huge Pixies fan but find their style and sound enjoyable for the most part so I really enjoyed this blu-ray overall. While the sound seems up to snuff, the video is not always "blu-ray pristine" but it's never horrible either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2014
The live electric concert is great. However, I was a little disappointed, as the performance was not as good at the performance I used to have on video tape from Austin City Limits. The sound quality just did not seem to be as good overall in Blu-ray, as it was from a VHS recorded concert. I think this might be due to Joey using that new black guitar, instead of the gold one he used in Austin City Limits.

Either way, it is good...and the old archive footage from the 80s is worth the price.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2014
Great concerts!! Any Pixies fan will want this for sure!! Great sound & the acoustic concert was fantastic. Great shows for a great price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2015
Incredibly great audio and visual quality. Don't be scared off by the cover art. Good stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2016
Love the pixies great seeing both acoustic and electric shows. A++++++++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
Bought as a gift for my bro in-law, he seems to enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.