Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A paradigm for the cosmos...'
Whilst the release of �Every Breath You Take - The DVD� sees a long overdue release of fourteen of The Police's videos in the DVD format, it is the bonus material that has been included which undoubtedly forms one of the main attractions of this release. Chief amongst this material is the full 47 minute documentary "Police in Montserrat". This BBC...
Published on March 4, 2003 by Sting.com

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD w/cool bonus stuff - but die-hard fans get [...]
I had been waiting eons for A&M to release this collection on DVD. As a fan of the band since Synchronicity was released (I was 6 years old in '83), the VHS collection was the only way to spark the nostalgia of being enchanted by the video for "Wrapped Around Your Finger" when it was released. However, aside from the bonus material featured (which is GREAT - especially...
Published on March 21, 2003 by S. Agovino


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A paradigm for the cosmos...', March 4, 2003
By 
Sting.com (London / New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Police - Every Breath You Take (DVD)
Whilst the release of �Every Breath You Take - The DVD� sees a long overdue release of fourteen of The Police's videos in the DVD format, it is the bonus material that has been included which undoubtedly forms one of the main attractions of this release. Chief amongst this material is the full 47 minute documentary "Police in Montserrat". This BBC documentary was only shown on UK television a couple of times back in the 1980's - indeed it's first showing almost pre-dates home video recorders! - and to the best of our knowledge it has never been broadcast outside of the UK. To make this release even more interesting this version includes several clips that did not make one of the previous broadcasts (the second we believe). These take the form of an extended intro, and additional footage of all three band members being interviewed.
So, what's the story behind the documentary? Well, in mid 1981, a youthful pre-'Tube' Jools Holland flew out to Montserrat with a small camera crew to film The Police at work recording their fourth album, �Ghost In The Machine�. After cold Leatherhead and rainy Holland where the first three albums were recorded, the island of Montserrat and George Martin's homely Air Studio offered a welcoming, warm environment for the recording of what many fans still consider to be the band's best album. After Jools' introduction to the island we see Sting running up a hill to the studio, and are thrust straight into a series of fascinating interviews and videos. Jools talks to each band member in turn, asking Andy to explain how he gets some of his effects and gets him to demonstrate his Roland guitar synthesiser. Andy plays licks from several songs including �Message In A Bottle� to demonstrate and �Bring On The Night� and Jools ask him about his influences before unceremoniously pulling out his guitar lead after Andy plays a little 'funk' for him with the comment "I think that's best left to James Brown...". Joined by Jools on keyboards the pair then jam some blues tune and we get to see Andy play a little bottleneck guitar - quiet a rare sight.
Sting is interviewed in the studio where he explains to Jools a little about the pressures of songwriting, the desire to always try and better your last hit, and tells how he wrote both �Message In A Bottle� and �Invisible Sun�. The explanation for Sting's almost boyish enthusiasm during this interview can now be revealed - he had just written a new song, �Invisible Sun�, and this clip was not in one of the previous broadcasts. These few minutes are practically worth the price of the DVD alone, with Sting breaking the songs down and explaining in detail how they were constructed. In further 'new' footage, Sting then introduces his customised stand-up Van Zalinge bass, 'Brian', before he and Jools start jamming away where they are joined by Andy Summers.

Jools moves to Stewart Copeland and gets him to explain his drum set-up and demonstrate some of the effects he employs. Stewart describes how important the role of the drummer is at the start of recording and explains in layman's terms his fascination for reggae, demonstrating the key differences between the reggae beat and the traditional backbeat. Stewart's obvious enthusiasm is almost contagious, and at one point he neatly sums up the reggae beat as 'a paradigm for the cosmos'. As if this wasn't enough, intercut between all these clips are four full length videoclips shot in the studio for �Spirit's In The Material World�, �One World (Not Three)�, �Demolition Man� and �Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic�.
Other special features include a discography, and two live tracks from October 1978's appearance on the "Old Grey Whistle Test" TV show �Can't Stand Losing You� and �Next To You�. This was The Police's big break on UK television and featured The Police at their bleach blonde best. Although memorable to many for Sting's nose twitching and lip curling, this wasn't 'attitude' but explained by the fact that moments before going on set he'd had an accident in makeup when trying to help out a make-up assistant with a jammed aerosol. Result? Stinging, painful eyes that he hid behind an oversize pair of sunglasses that kept sliding down his face - hence the twitching! Despite this, these two tracks are great performances.
In addition, a TV promotional clip for the �Synchronicity� album is included. This atmospheric black and white film features music clips from a variety of album tracks as the camera swoops around a room full of objects and imagery related to the album and close ups from the album sleeve photo session. Speaking about these photographs back in 1985, Sting said "My idea was that each member of the band would just go out and be photographed in an environment that he chose and that the three things would somehow relate, and they actually did. Mine was all involved with skeletons; the skeleton of a dinosaur... I guess mine was concerned with extinction." Prophetic words as this of course would be the band's last studio album...
Lastly, we must not overlook the fourteen full length videos - all the hits are covered from �Roxanne to� 1986's reworking of �Don't Stand So Close To Me�, and it is wonderful to see them get a crisp transfer to DVD. Coupled with a choice of audio formats in Dolby Stereo, Dolby 5.1 and DTS 5.1 they sound terrific too! It is also worth noting that the Montserrat documentary is subtitled in both Spanish and Portuguese. All in all, this is a wonderful release that really reinforces the magic of The Police and demonstrates just why they were the biggest band around in the early '80's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some surprises, some disappointments, April 7, 2003
By 
M. Campbell "mhfoster" (Hermance, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Police - Every Breath You Take (DVD)
I, along with many others, have waited for the release of this DVD for quite some time. The official videos are the same ones (even the same order) included on the VHS tape released in the mid-80's (at the time the group remixed "Don't Stand '86" for a greatest hits album). Having nearly worn out my copy of that video from dozens--if not hundreds--of viewings (and memorizing the quirks and facial expressions of Andy, Stewart, and Sting in every single video), it's nice to have these videos on a digital copy.
Like the reviewer from New Jersey, though, I was shocked and somewhat disappointed with the audio remixing of the videos. While there are some audio surprises (such as the echo effect of Stewart's drums on songs like "Can't Stand"), some of that "Police sound" has been distorted, muffled, and/or flat out eliminated in the remastering. Andy's wonderful ethereal guitar work on songs such as "Message in a Bottle", "Wrapped Around Your Finger", "Every Little Thing She Does...", and "Walking on the Moon" (that wonderful jangling chord that introduces each line in the verses) has been minimized or removed entirely. Sting's vocals are too loud, echo-y, and overshadow the work of his band members (for example, in "Every Little Thing" or "Every Breath"--in the case of the latter, his fadeout vocals are completely gone). Stewart's drums are at times too loud and tinny; at times his wonderful drum fills are missing completely. Overall, the sound has a more hollow and sterile feel, and the goal to create a crisp digital sound has taken away the warmth of the evenly-mixed masterpieces this trio created in their all-too-short career.
The standout among the "extra features" is the Monserrat special hosted by Jules Holland. Though the videos included in the special will be familiar to many (including "Every Little Thing" and "Spirits"), Holland's conversations with each band member are the most interesting, shedding light on Sting's songwriting process, Andy's guitar effects, and Stewart's adaptation of world percussion rhythms. Everyone also should have a copy of the Police's "Grey Whistle" performance, featuring Sting with a large pair of sunglasses (Stewart's), the remedy for hiding eyes irritated by an aerosol spray prior to performance.
Buy this DVD to have a digital copy of the Police videos (as well as for the extras); keep your old videotapes of their videos for the true Police audio that we all know and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great 5.1 DTS Sound!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, April 21, 2005
By 
j. (Upstate NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Police - Every Breath You Take (DVD)
I just finished watching this DVD on a 50 inch widescreen TV, with a Yamaha RX-V1400 amp. As many people point out, the videos have not been re-processed, but I have seen worse out there. For the age of the material the transfer was not that bad, and was not so distracting. The videos are full screen, but do not look overly stretched on my widescreen TV

The best part is the DTS 5.1 remix on the videos, which is superior. The quality stands next to the Sting DTS Music DVDs. There is the obvious separation of instruments and backing vocals in the surround speakers, and the .1 bass is done very well. NOTE: The special feature live music does not have the 5.1 remix. There are also interviews in the special features, for those interested. Overall, I enjoyed the DVD, and will watch/listen to the videos again. Just listening to the 5.1 mix of the videos is worth the price of admission. Great Sound!!!

I picked this up locally for less than the on line price, and recommend this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD w/cool bonus stuff - but die-hard fans get [...], March 21, 2003
This review is from: The Police - Every Breath You Take (DVD)
I had been waiting eons for A&M to release this collection on DVD. As a fan of the band since Synchronicity was released (I was 6 years old in '83), the VHS collection was the only way to spark the nostalgia of being enchanted by the video for "Wrapped Around Your Finger" when it was released. However, aside from the bonus material featured (which is GREAT - especially the Police in Montserrat segment), those of us who have grown up listening to the band should feel jaded with the "new" audio mix featured on this collection. I am disappointed with the absence of the backing chorus in "Every Breath You Take", the removal of the intro synthesizer melody in "Wrapped Around Your Finger" (which defines the dark mood of the song), and several other changes to the original mixes of "Can't Stand Losing You," "Every Little Thing...," and "Walking On The Moon," among others. Some people may find these new mixes fascinating, but to Police purists like myself, there should have been some sort of indication that the DVD contained "alternate audio mixes" of the songs. I was going to sell my old VHS compilation on ebay, but knowing now that that tape is the only place to hear (and see) the true videos, I think I'm going to hold onto it. So to the Police fan buying this for the bonus material, it's definitely worth it, but caveat emptor - you won't be *hearing* what you would have expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD has plenty of 're-watch factor', November 10, 2003
By 
This review is from: The Police - Every Breath You Take (DVD)
If you enjoyed the 80's, chances are you liked the Police. Here we have a collection of most of their 80's videos - although as others have stated, some are missing or are alternative videos to what we're familiar with.
The missing videos are:
- Bed's Too Big Without You
- King of Pain
The videos that have been replaced with alternative versions are:
- Roxanne
- Can't stand losing you
Besides all this, it's nice to see many of the Police videos - most of which I have not seen in a long time. We should be grateful that some of the videos haven't been replaced with live footage - such stuff is best left for concert DVD's.
Many reviewers have voiced their opinions about the odd 5.1 remix. Yes, it does sound strange in parts - but the good news is, the original stereo 2.0 option is also included, as is DTS (for people who want surround sound at an impressive level).
While the DVD is not my favourite music DVD in my collection, it definitely has plenty of re-watching in it - such an important factor with any music DVD. Why bother buying a music DVD only to watch it once??? So, if you're a Police fan then grab a copy, you won't be disappointed.
Sting remains one of the greatest songwriters to grace our earth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great SURROUND (hint, folks) mixes. Nice extras, March 28, 2003
By 
Dane E. Petersen "thedaner" (Plano, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Police - Every Breath You Take (DVD)
Just want to point out to the people who wrote the first few reviews: The reason the mix sounds so strange is you probably aren't hearing it in true surround. I thought something was strange with songs like "Spririts In The Material World" with no keyboards, or "Synchronicity II" without the opening guitar feedback, until I realized I had it setup in the STEREO mix, but not the 5.1. Make SURE you listen to this in 5.1! Certain instruments/parts have been "relegated" to their own channels.
As far as the videos go, I've seen these millions of times, having owned the original video of this collection. Same feeling many others have--the early videos are cheesy; goofy, and the later ones are superb. The transfer is great--very clear! Would've been nice to find the original negatives of the early videos and clean up a bit of noise, but the color transfer and clean up is nice. The extras are GREAT. Monsterrat documentary--A+; Old Grey Whistle Test, same. "Can't Stand Losing You" sounds closer to the record than how it developed live over the years. Let's keep rolling out more Police DVDs. I see the Hatfield concert is coming out; How 'bout that Synchonicity concert with bonus material next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BUT NOT GOOD ENOUGH!!, May 18, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Police - Every Breath You Take (DVD)
Okay, I'm torn between anger and glee about this DVD. I'm really pissed about the missing instruments in some of the songs, particularly, Wrapped Around Your Finger. Yeah, they're the videos, which are great, but how could STING and the others let those people screw it up?! If you listen to Wrapped Around Your Finger AND you love the song like I do... you'll most surely notice the missing synthesizer. I just saw the fricken video on VH1 Classic and heard the synth loud and clear. What's up w/ that crap!? Man, I could just go download the video the way it should be FOR FREE!!! I expect nothing less than a new corrected DVD in the near future. When you change those songs... you mess with peoples' fond memories over years of time. Changing them is just wrong: Sting + P. Diddy = :(
Break out your CDs... listen to some others... you'll hear stuff missing. Why? Oh yeah, and the videos are okay. (the music is more important) I vaguely remembered a girl being in the old Don't Stand So Close To Me. Either the Police guys couldn't stand not being on camera the whole time or the director was going through a lazy phase. I think showing Sting driving up to a rainy bus-stop when he sings about it would've been cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, April 14, 2003
This review is from: The Police - Every Breath You Take (DVD)
Like a lot of other Police fans, I eagerly anticipated the release of this DVD so I could stop wearing my old VHS tape to death. And while certain features are great--the Montserrat documentary, the Old Grey Whistle Test footage--there are also a lot of disappointments, and a lot more that could be included.
For instance, why not include the "red room" videos for "Roxanne" and "Can't Stand Losing You"? These have never been officially released anywhere. Why not at least attempt to clean up some of the video footage? There are still some of the same scratches and faults in the picture that are on my old VHS tape.
And why the new audio mixes of each track? While some are interesting from the standpoint of presenting a new way to hear old, familiar tracks (and I quite like the "Walking on the Moon" mix that really brings the drums up front), it's still distracting and one wonders why there was a need to "mess with success".
All in all, I still recommend it for any Police fan (if only to finally have the Montserrat documentary), but don't toss out that old VHS collection yet, either. Also, there is so much great Police footage out there that has *never* been officially released, at least not in the US, how about seeing some of that get put out instead of just remixing and re-releasing what we've already got?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy It for the Videos, April 19, 2007
By 
Anthony Ian "anthony_ian" (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Police - Every Breath You Take (DVD)
Yeah it's got all their videos, problem is: The Police didn't make really good videos. Most of them are just them mugging in front of the camera, lip-synching the song.

That changes--dramatically--with "Every Breath You Take," one of the all-time classic videos. Still gives chills, 25 years later. "Invisible Sun" is ooookay, "Wrapped Around Your Finger" is a boring but admirable attempt, as video was still a brand-new art form. "Synchronicity II" seemed cool at the time but now seems a little primitive.

The video for "Don't Stand '86" is just depressing, because it was the end of them, the song was atrocious, and the video is nothing special.

HOWEVER for Police die-hards there are two classic things about this to recommend it:

1) The two numbers from The Old Grey Whistle Test, a live-in-the-TV-studio British TV program where they do "Can't Stand Losing You" and "Next to You." They're sloppy performances and Sting looks ridiculous, but must-have footage for Police fans.

2) The REAL hidden treasure is when Jools Holland goes down to Monteserrat while they're recording "Ghost." He gets interviews with all three of them and it's FASCINATING. Sting shows him how he came up with "Message in a Bottle" (and then plays a killer harmony guitar part not on the original version) and "Invisible Sun," which he apparently had just written. Amazing stuff, and Sting looks very comfortable and open with Holland.

You also get interviews/demos with Andy and Stewart which are great, and even an impromptu blues/jazz jam with Jools on piano, Sting on upright and Andy joins on guitar. I have never seen this footage ever, and I've seen a lot.

For this alone, this DVD is worth owning. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but worthy, March 30, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Police - Every Breath You Take (DVD)
OK, so first off, I will recommend this DVD - it's a great collection of videos from one of rock's greatest bands ever. But as a purist, I do have issues with this release. First off, the "new mixes" are clumsy, uninspired and utterly pointless. The DTS versions are better than the regular 5.1 mixes, but many of them are NOT the original. For shame. (And why is the intro omitted from the 5.1 version of "Synchronicity II? It's there on the DTS version. Sloppy, slopppy, sloppy.) There's another video for "Roxanne," where is it? Certainly the technology exists for including more than one version of a video on a DVD. Did a Police fan actually compile this thing? Are they unaware that multiple versions of "Every Breath You Take" exist? There's a version to match each of the three colors representing particular band members on the Synchronicity album cover. It would have been so cool to be able to switch to different versions each time I watch the disc, but alas, no one cared enough to make this happen. Oh well. I suppose most fans won't care about these details. Go ahead, buy this disc. You won't regret it (but you may have some issues...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Police - Every Breath You Take
The Police - Every Breath You Take by Police (DVD - 2003)
$19.98 $16.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.