Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Advice on Campaigning
I have worked on or volunteered for several campaigns and thought I knew a lot about grassroots campaigning. I have to say this book taught me so much more and in such a practical way. It is very easy to read and has so much helpful information. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is running for office themselves and their campaign staff. I particularly found the...
Published on September 22, 2008 by Campaign Gal

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book but
It is a very dated book now and the skills in it are outdated because the political scene has changed so drastically.
Published 3 months ago by Luellen Hoffman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Advice on Campaigning, September 22, 2008
This review is from: The Political Campaign Desk Reference: A Guide for Campaign Managers and Candidates Running for Elected Office (Paperback)
I have worked on or volunteered for several campaigns and thought I knew a lot about grassroots campaigning. I have to say this book taught me so much more and in such a practical way. It is very easy to read and has so much helpful information. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is running for office themselves and their campaign staff. I particularly found the section on fund raising helpful as that was my area of weakness. Worth every penny!The Political Campaign Desk Reference: A G for Campaign Managers and Candidates Running for Elected Office
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to win an election, buy this book, December 8, 2008
This review is from: The Political Campaign Desk Reference: A Guide for Campaign Managers and Candidates Running for Elected Office (Paperback)
This book is a great tool even for those who have previous campaign experience.

Mike McNamara lives, eats and breath political campaigns. He knows how they are won, and just as important, he knows how they are lost.

McNamara will walk candidates and campaign managers through every aspect of planning and executing a political campaign - he covers the ins and outs of everything from the obvious (yard signs) to the not so obvious (dealing with candidate's family members) - from technical issues (computer network security) to major financial considerations (TV ad budgets).

This book is a comprehensive guide that, if followed, will give your campaign a shot at success on election day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT REFERENCE!, September 29, 2008
This review is from: The Political Campaign Desk Reference: A Guide for Campaign Managers and Candidates Running for Elected Office (Paperback)
I have worked in all types of races from local to federal and the material presented here is a MUST READ for anyone considering getting involved in the political process, especially candidates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, Smart, Filled with good info., April 14, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Political Campaign Desk Reference: A Guide for Campaign Managers and Candidates Running for Elected Office (Paperback)
Great book, I have worked on lots of campaigns and this is a great book for beginners and pros alike. I bought it as a gift but started reading it on the plane and had to finish. A great primer for someone who wants to know more about running for office or someone who just wants a quick reference or second opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you can only buy one book....BUY THIS ONE!, April 16, 2009
This review is from: The Political Campaign Desk Reference: A Guide for Campaign Managers and Candidates Running for Elected Office (Paperback)
If you are like me and you are a campaign "junkie" then you probably own a huge collection of books on campaigns and strategies and ideas. Most of these books I have read once and put them on my shelf...to collect dust! All of us know that the best campaign advice comes from those who "do", and the author of this book obviously is a "doer"!! The most valuable campaign tips and advice comes from the trenches and I believe that Michael McNamara has been in those trenches, so BUY THIS BOOK!! I promise you......it won't collect dust!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good comprehensive guide!, February 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wasn't expecting much for a book that's $3.99 on kindle, but it was absolutely phenomenal! I have highlighted at least 33% of the book and will be referring back to it frequently. The one thing I noticed missing, however, would be a chapter or section on how politicians and their campaigns can effectively utilize social media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of basics, May 22, 2011
By 
Carlos Avalos (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Political Campaign Desk Reference: A Guide for Campaign Managers and Candidates Running for Elected Office (Paperback)
I was looking for a book that could deliver a detailed overview (an oxymoron?) but that's what I got!!!
Well written, well structured. At the time I bought it I was evaluating the chance of helping a candidate run for re-election. Things did'nt work out because of agenda problems, but McNamara's book gave me a conceptual framework that would have been crucial for the task.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great handbook, November 26, 2010
By 
L. Atkins (Eureka, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Political Campaign Desk Reference: A Guide for Campaign Managers and Candidates Running for Elected Office (Paperback)
Everything you need to know about running a campaign (well almost). Will save the novice a lot of mistakes and wasted time. Local campaigns often don't have professional campaign staff, this handbook can bring those volunteer staffers up to speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Arrived in good condition., April 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Political Campaign Desk Reference: A Guide for Campaign Managers and Candidates Running for Elected Office (Paperback)
A very helpeful guide that arrived in good condition. I have referenced it several times for critical concerns and questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book but, March 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Political Campaign Desk Reference: A Guide for Campaign Managers and Candidates Running for Elected Office (Paperback)
It is a very dated book now and the skills in it are outdated because the political scene has changed so drastically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Political Campaign Desk Reference: A Guide for Campaign Managers and Candidates Running for Elected Office
$16.95 $16.10
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.