Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


137 of 166 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enlightening
I bought this book solely because the adds for it said it covered how "the Bible made modern science possible (which is why it started in the middle ages)." I looked in the table of contents and could not find a chapter that was obviously on this topic, so started reading from page 1 and read until I finally came to it on page 137. This chapter was poorly documented, but...
Published on March 1, 2008 by The Professor

versus
51 of 78 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but very biased
The format of the book reads almost like a conversation. The two "characters" in the conversation are the atheist and Christian perspectives. The atheist will speak first, with Hutchinson using deliberately exaggerated and inflammatory language to describe the, of course, completely false atheist views. Then the Christian response to the criticism is generally argued...
Published on April 6, 2008 by L Gray


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

137 of 166 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enlightening, March 1, 2008
I bought this book solely because the adds for it said it covered how "the Bible made modern science possible (which is why it started in the middle ages)." I looked in the table of contents and could not find a chapter that was obviously on this topic, so started reading from page 1 and read until I finally came to it on page 137. This chapter was poorly documented, but this may be because the book is intended for laypersons. Nonetheless, the chapter (and the whole book) was well done and presented a good outline in support of the author's position. The book was so engaging that I finished it, and I am glad that I did, for I normally would not have read a book on the Bible. The chapter on slavery was especially useful, as I had assumed the common stereotype that many Christians were in bed with the slaveholders due to the claim that of the Bible condones the modern Western slavery system such as practiced in America, and the atheists and humanists were the main persons who opposed this slavery system. This common story, as this book documents (and as my outside reading, such as the book Inhuman Bondage: The Rise and Fall of Slavery in the New World by David Brion Davis (Oxford University Press) also documents, is inaccurate. I have concluded that Hutchinson's account is generally accurate, although incomplete. The section on the rights of women was especially interesting to me. Hutchinson writes that Christianity's stress on human equality (quoting the apostle Paul that there is neither Jew nor Greek, slave nor freeman, female nor male distinctions in Christianity, as well as historical writings) that "Christianity was undoubtedly the most pro-female religion in history" (page 191). He then discusses why this is true, noting that a large number of women became Christians partly because of how well they were treated in the early church. An example is Christianity accorded women greater social status, even administrative positions in the church, such as deacon. Hutchinson then lists numerous other reasons why the church was very pro-women in stark contrast to the other major religions and social systems of the time. The author is clearly an ID supporter, and may best be described as a long age creationist. This shows in several chapters, such as in chapter 6, page 87. Highly recommended. My only concern is documentation is less than ideal, but I could not point to any major claims that were clearly inaccurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Main focus of the book is the Hebrew Bible, and presents traditional defenses afresh, January 29, 2010
The popular book series by the name "Politically Incorrect Guide" (P.I.G.) is a collection of generally conservative defenses of traditional beliefs largely dismissed today because of their lack of resonance with politically correct values and beliefs.

For this reason, I suppose I shouldn't be surprised by the apologetic (interacting with arguments as opposed to saying "sorry") tone of Robert Hutchinson's, The P.I.G. to the Bible. Yet I am. I'm pleasantly surprised by the sustained apologetic nature of the book. From the outset, Hutchinson launches a counterattack against the atheist crusaders (Richard Dawkins, Christopher Hitchens, Sam Harris et al.) and liberal scholars of today; those who are in the business of disparaging the Bible as barbarous, unreliable, oppressive, suppressive, (insert negative descriptor of your choice here).

Just as most assaults on the Bible today are as old as Christianity (e.g., the Bible endorses slavery, totalitarianism, capital punishment for planting crops side-by-side, etc.), Hutchinson presents afresh the traditional defenses to these assaults.

It should be pointed out that the title to the book has the potential to mislead readers. Although Hutchinson does address the New Testament, the main focus in the book is the Hebrew Bible or what Christians call the Old Testament, given his advanced studies in Hebrew and Judaism. Very little time is spent on alternative Christianities in the New Testament as we're so accustomed to hearing from the likes of Dan Brown, Bart Ehrman et al.

As a conservative Christian, I find this focus on the Old Testament refreshing. Many Christians have ignored the Old Testament for years and have, consequently, fallen prey to the official view of the Old Testament as barbarous and cruel. Hutchinson demonstrates that nothing could be farther from the truth. He argues, in fact, that such things as inalienable human rights for everyone and liberal democracy have as their fountainhead the Hebrew Scriptures.

To Christians in search of answers to some of the toughest questions about the Bible, this book will provide a good many answers and bolster the faith. To those who are persuaded by the likes of Dawkins and Company, much could be learned about the arguments of the "other side."

As with other books in the P.I.G. series, this one is a pleasure to a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and Compelling, October 31, 2007
By 
What a relief to find a well-informed, carefully crafted, sprightly written explanation of the place of religion in ethics, history, and moral action. Impressive statistics and data, convincing reasoning. I started out somewhat skeptical but found myself drawn in as Hutchison built his thesis step by step. So much of current writing, movies, news, political speak assumes that religion is harmful or irrelevant. Hutchison esposes the dangers of that lie with skill and humor and power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discovering the Influence of the Bible on Western Civilization, November 21, 2011
No matter how good the argument, some won't believe it. In the case of this book, the author makes a good argument for the idea that the law, as well as many of the scientific discoveries of Western Civilization, were made as a result of some who believed not only in God, but the teaching of the Bible. If you want to learn why Christians believe what they believe, then this book is a great place to start.

The Politically Incorrect Guide to the Bible explains how the Bible has influenced not only Western Civilization but also the world as a whole. It covers a wide variety of topics, including slavery, and what the Bible has to say about it, as well as Old Testament Law and how it was really applied. For Christians, as well as non Christians, this is an excellent way to find out what the Bible actually has to say about these, and many more topics.

I learned a long time ago that it's arrogant to believe you know everything there is to know about any topic. Even though this book is written at a basic level, similar to a 100 level college course, there's still a lot to learn. The author covers just about every subject that has caused controversy. He also covers, in some detail, how atheism has been used to hijack some of the relevant discoveries of Western Civilization. What makes this book really useful though is that the author includes many resources, i.e. additional books you can read, to explore further and decide for yourself whether or not what this book has to say is true. It's a fascinating study of a complex topic, and it's well worth reading.

Regardless of what your stance is on God, the Bible, or even religion, you'll find something interesting in the book, and I'm sure, as I did, you'll learn something you didn't know. There's plenty of quotes by famous atheists like Christopher Hutchins and Richard Dawkins. Reading what they have to say on some of these topics is also fascinating, and it can either reinforce your faith or make you reconsider your opinion of the Bible. It's well worth the exploration, and I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in what the Bible really has to say, not what you've been told. It really doesn't matter if you're a Christian or not. There's something here for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Politically Incorrect Guide to the Bible, November 16, 2007
Robert Hutchinson presents a witty, scholarly, and well-documented look at the Bible. A superb wordsmith, Hutchinson treads on holy ground with various topics, including slavery in the bible, homosexuality, origins of universal human rights, elites against the people, today's culture war, and children, blessing or burden. It's a compelling book. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made me question biases I didn't know I had, November 21, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Both theist and atheist alike must come to terms with some of the compelling arguments presented in this book: mainly that the Bible has shaped modern society as we know it today. Though his worldview may offend some, his reasoning is solid and supported by references which the reader can examine himself. Also some good quotes by various historical figures concerning the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shows that my beliefs are just as ( if not more ) credible than the accepted data., November 17, 2007
Great book, no pretences at 'fundy' infalibility, but shows their views alongside the thinking persons Christianity, as well as the atheist/agnostic/liberal point of view.
Explains that belief in a higher being is just as much a 'leap of faith' as is the belief that everything sprang from nothing.
Shows that the Bible is the most accurate, historical and intrigueingly spiritual ancient text known to man.
Okay, I'm a Christian, but seriously, this is well worth a read, if you want to know what we believe, even if you don't believe, read this book because if you want to debate Christians and tell us we are wrong, this is the material you will be up against.
God bless us all.
Everything did not (and could not possibly) come from nothing!
Ian McKenzie
(A believer in Love as taught by Jesus).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly balanced, meticulously researched and full of information!, March 27, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The biggest surprise for me was how balanced this book was towards all major religions who use the Bible as a holy text. It is very respectful towards Judaism and Roman Catholicism. I was afraid this would be another super right wing, evangelist knee-jerk response to
the "New Atheists" but this book is far from that. It is written by a scholar of Ancient Hebrew who is also a professor of Bible Studies.

There is no pushing young earth creationism for example, nor pushing of any other agenda.

The reviewer who complained this is "like a textbook" is somewhat correct, as you have to have a thirst for knowledge about not only the Bible but other Near East religions of the time. The Chapter that compares the laws of the Torah with other law codes is an eye opener and especially good value. The language and format is easy enough for the lay person but you must already have an interest beyond the passing.

The author does use the worst examples of immoral atheists for his "soundbytes" of "Atheist Wisdom" and the best Bible verses and quotes from Christians to "counteract" them. You can't quote Adolf Hitler as example of Atheism and then quote John 8:32 as example of Bible Wisdom and expect your reader to keep taking you seriously, for this I docked a star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, would be great for church Youth Group!, November 29, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this with D'Souza's _What's So Great About Christianity_ and read them back to back. They cover many of the same topics, but are aimed at different reading levels. I'd recommend this one to young adults and adults who either hate to read or are too busy to sit down and concentrate for a block of time. Serious well-educated readers are likely to find this book too glib and simplistic; for them, I'd choose D'Souza.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read your scriptures - Read this book!, August 5, 2010
By 
C. Carlson (Arcadia, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There is nothing like reading the scriptures to be able to discern truth in these latter days, but with all the distortions in the world today, armor up with some of the material in this book too.
A must read for those who care about human freedom and progress, who are revolted by good being called bad and bad being called good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Politically Incorrect Guide to the Bible
The Politically Incorrect Guide to the Bible by Robert J. Hutchinson (Audio Cassette - November 1, 2007)
Used & New from: $24.43
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.