Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by econgo
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: minor cover wear. Used - Good Item may show signs of wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • The Pop Side
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

The Pop Side Original recording remastered

1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Original recording remastered, April 10, 2001
"Please retry"
$4.99 $2.99

Editorial Reviews

Did you know that Les Baxter had a pop side? Here it is, 25straightforward tracks, many of which were chart-toppers inthe '50's including several #1 hits for Capitol. Standard jewelcase. 2000 release.

1. Zing Zing - Zoom Zoom
2. The Roving Kind
3. Because Of You
4. Unless
5. Shrimp Boats (A Comin' - There's Dancin' Tonight)
6. Blue Tango
7. Please, Mr. Sun
8. I'm Yours
9. Kiss Of Fire
10. Auf Wiedersehen Sweetheart
11. Indian Summer
12. Suddenly
13. April In Portugal
14. Ruby
15. I Love Paris
16. Gigi
17. Tropicana
18. Elaine (Gitane)
19. Wake The Town And Tell The People
20. The High And The Mighty
See all 25 tracks on this disc

Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 10, 2001)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Original recording remastered
  • Label: Collector's Choice
  • ASIN: B00005ABIS
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #213,479 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Matthew G. Sherwin HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on April 23, 2007
Format: Audio CD
Les Baxter's true love may have been writing exotica music; but his pop music exceeded many people's expectations as well. Between the years 1951 and 1956, Les Baxter scored numerous ballads and hits that frequently charted and always pleased his audiences. This CD proves why his work was so successful.

The CD opens with the light, playful "Zing Zing - Zoom Zoom;" this melody is infectious and the chorus sings the lyrics to perfection. This upbeat number is the perfect way to start off the album.

There are several instrumental tracks on this CD, including the magnificent number "The Poor People Of Paris;" "April In Portugal" with its excellent use of the percussion and strings and "Gigi" with its use of the strings and percussion. Although these numbers reflect great judgment and a sophisticated musical arrangement; for me the tracks with vocals or at least a chorus work somewhat better.

Some great tracks that include lyrics include the haunting "I Love Paris" originally written by Porter; the playful "Shrimp Boats (A Comin'-There's Dancin' Tonight) sung so well by Dick Beavers with a chorus so joyful you can't help wanting to dance to this tune yourself and there's also the gorgeous and elegant "Because Of You" penned by Hammerstein and Wilkinson. Awesome!

Other great numbers on this CD include the love ballad "Wake The Town And Tell The People" sung by a chorus to perfection; "The High And Mighty" which begins with a wistful whistling that accompanies the music and the very familiar melody entitled "Kiss Of Fire" featuring Dick Beavers again with a stunning chorus. I dare you not to enjoy this classic music!
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in